Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

TSstimix
post Aug 5 2011, 12:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Oh Ok, din read properly haha. Anyway. as far as I know, there are no private money changers in Taipei except banks. The fastest way to change is from the airport.

Changing at the local banks in Taipei will be almost similar to airport except no comission. Too bad lotsa red tapes.. They will asked for passport, and need to wait for verification & etc..took me almost 30-45 min waiting inside the bank last time
hwachong
post Aug 6 2011, 12:40 AM

773 posts

best u change money at the airport. rate for rm is low. bring usd or sgd
MandyG
post Aug 6 2011, 12:46 AM

181 posts

best way is exchange in airport b'cos not all bank accept MYR.... When I at Taiwan previously, i check with mostly all bank... All don't accept our MYR until I need go SongShan Airport for exchange money... If go to shop does the exchange rate is more worst rate.... my 2cents
just1223
post Aug 6 2011, 05:56 PM

68 posts

im going to taiwan around end of sept~ is it suitable to go the eastern area?
yeezai
post Aug 7 2011, 08:25 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

wow guys thx for all the help...im not changing RM coz it sux here and most dun accept them...im changing NTD to Yen ...need some yen few days back...yea i wait for about 15mins ...they need to see passport n my visa see got expired or not...zzz ...
aiyume
post Aug 8 2011, 09:35 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(just1223 @ Aug 6 2011, 05:56 PM)
im going to taiwan around end of sept~ is it suitable to go the eastern area?
according to general advise it's best not to go especially hualien area coz that time is typhoon time.
yeezai
post Aug 8 2011, 11:39 AM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 8 2011, 09:35 AM)
according to general advise it's best not to go especially hualien area coz that time is typhoon time.
typhoon jux missed taiwan few days back..but my place still have little bit of rain...
aiyume
post Aug 8 2011, 12:33 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 8 2011, 11:39 AM)
typhoon jux missed taiwan few days back..but my place still have little bit of rain...
u are working/staying in taiwan? which part?
yeezai
post Aug 8 2011, 04:48 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 8 2011, 12:33 PM)
u are working/staying in taiwan? which part?
im in taichung...still rains today....
just1223
post Aug 9 2011, 10:33 AM

68 posts

ohhh i see i see . thanks all XD
ukiya
post Aug 10 2011, 04:55 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Dear All,

I'm heading to Taiwan via Cathay Pacific end of this year, will be stop over at HK International Airport for transit.

Well, I had a couple of question here:

How's is Cathay Pacific Airline? Is their economy class seat good? I m heard many bad review bout it. Going for the round trip wonder is there on-board entertainment?!

How is HK International Airport? Many shop to walk around? Since I m going there for transit, tat means i had a couple hours to spend?

Any budget clean hotel to recommend to stay in Taipei? Near ximending or shilin or MRT station? Going there for about 9days.

Exchange MYR to USD first only then change to NT in Taoyuan airport for better rate? feel like paying double commision?!

Please do advice me. Thanks! thumbup.gif
MandyG
post Aug 10 2011, 01:23 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 10 2011, 04:55 AM)
Dear All,

I'm heading to Taiwan via Cathay Pacific end of this year, will be stop over at HK International Airport for transit.

How's is Cathay Pacific Airline? Is their economy class seat good? I m heard many bad review bout it. Going for the round trip wonder is there on-board entertainment?!

There is on-board entertainment... So far, I never heard people say Cathay Pacific Airline bad review...

How is HK International Airport? Many shop to walk around? Since I m going there for transit, tat means i had a couple hours to spend?

Any budget clean hotel to recommend to stay in Taipei? Near ximending or shilin or MRT station? Going there for about 9days.

You can try serach by the first page... There are many budget been offered....

Exchange MYR to USD first only then change to NT in Taoyuan airport for better rate? feel like paying double commision?!

You can try to activate your atm card then you withdraw over there and its also a good rate but you needed to check with mastercard or visa exchange rate... also the transaction fee that been imposed roughly around RM10-12 for each transaction...

Please do advice me. Thanks!  thumbup.gif
aiyume
post Aug 10 2011, 06:29 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 10 2011, 04:55 AM)
Dear All,

Please do advice me. Thanks!  thumbup.gif
1. i took Cathay to HKG 3 years ago, not bad just a little cramp at the leg space especially if u sitting at window seat need to go toilet....there's tv screen for every seat so you can choose what u wanna watch.

2. depends on how long is your transit time.

3. go to hostelworld.com and find those with higher rating. i booked Fun Taipei Backpackers in Shilin, so far recommended by quite a few ppl but i'm yet to see it next month. it cost about NTD400-600 per nite depends on which type of room u choose. the more ppl the cheaper it goes.

This post has been edited by aiyume: Aug 10 2011, 11:31 PM
andrekua
post Aug 10 2011, 07:30 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 10 2011, 06:29 PM)
1. i took Cathay to HKG 3 years ago, not bad just a little cramp at the leg space especially if u sitting at window seat need to go toilet....there's tv screen for every seat so you can choose what u wanna watch.

2. depends on how long is your transit time.

3. go to hostelworld.com and find those with higher rating. i booked Fun Taipei Backpackers in Shilin, so far recommended by quite a few ppl but i'm yet to see it next month. it cost about NTD40-60 per nite depends on which type of room u choose. the more ppl the cheaper it goes.
NT or RM? So cheap NT40?
kiawin
post Aug 10 2011, 10:30 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

Recommend all Tree House Hostel, located beside Shida MRT. New, clean,friendly & cheap smile.gif
aiyume
post Aug 10 2011, 11:31 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 10 2011, 07:30 PM)
NT or RM? So cheap NT40?
opps....RM....NT about 400 - 600/nite blush.gif
ukiya
post Aug 11 2011, 02:33 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Well, thanks for the response to all...

For Cathay Pacific, i heard bad review bout their seat and minor on cabin crew attitude: many reviews here :
http://www.airlinequality.com/Product/Yseat-CX.htm

Well, for taiwan hostel/hotel, too many until I m dunno where should I m start to find. Wonder is there any local tour going on?!
aiyume
post Aug 11 2011, 12:22 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 11 2011, 02:33 AM)
Well, thanks for the response to all...

For Cathay Pacific, i heard bad review bout their seat and minor on cabin crew attitude: many reviews here :
http://www.airlinequality.com/Product/Yseat-CX.htm

Well, for taiwan hostel/hotel, too many until I m dunno where should I m start to find. Wonder is there any local tour going on?!
from what i researched there are many taxi around city do day trip. it's like u book them for the whole day, they will bring u around. or you can check out taiwan tour bus http://www.taiwantourbus.com.tw
LameCouple
post Aug 11 2011, 03:41 PM

31 posts

Can i get cheap air tickets to taiwan in the coming week Matta Fair? hmm..or i should wait? icon_question.gif
aiyume
post Aug 11 2011, 04:40 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(LameCouple @ Aug 11 2011, 03:41 PM)
Can i get cheap air tickets to taiwan in the coming week Matta Fair? hmm..or i should wait?  icon_question.gif
if u are taking their tour package, normally the air ticket can be cheaper. if u just wanna get the air ticket cheap and go on your own, i think air asia promo cheaper.

146 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:48 AM