Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

TSstimix
post Apr 25 2012, 09:13 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wait for AAX big sales.. now is small sales nia.. Big sales normally ~ RM300-RM500/pax but ~ 9mths to a year in advance.. Current small sales probably to fulfil some of the unocupy seats haha
Icehart
post Apr 25 2012, 09:16 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 25 2012, 09:13 AM)
Wait for AAX big sales.. now is small sales nia.. Big sales normally ~ RM300-RM500/pax but ~ 9mths to a year in advance.. Current small sales probably to fulfil some of the unocupy seats haha
When is AAX big sales held normally?
TSstimix
post Apr 25 2012, 09:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not so sure.. have to ask Unker Tony.. but from my past experience, should be ~ Nov (For travel from May till Nov) , Feb (For travel oct till Feb & ~ Jul/Aug (For travel ~ nxt yr Mar till Jul).. agak-agak only haha

Current sales from what I see just to fulfill empty seats bcos travel period so short..within 2 mths nia so dun expect cheap fare..

Otherwise go via Singapore using their newest SCOOT esp those from JB
zstan
post Apr 25 2012, 09:51 AM

15,856 posts

anybody have experience with this:

if a hostel says they scared you ffk and ask you post proof of train ticket all those... but you haven't even get any yet.. how a? help please :/
kiawin
post Apr 25 2012, 12:16 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 25 2012, 09:51 AM)
anybody have experience with this:

if a hostel says they scared you ffk and ask you post proof of train ticket all those... but you haven't even get any yet.. how a? help please :/
yup, unfortunately Malaysian's reputation ain't that good anymore in Taiwan smile.gif

maybe pay a deposit? I did that for guesthouse in QingQing. Some guesthouse actually have bank account in malaysia, hence easy for payment.

This post has been edited by kiawin: Apr 25 2012, 12:17 PM
vincentwmh
post Apr 25 2012, 05:03 PM

476 posts

is year 2006 $100 US dollar a problem for exchange in taiwan. i have read somewhere certain series are not acceptable.

any1 can give opinion, urgently?
TSstimix
post Apr 25 2012, 06:02 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Old US currency issue already posted on pg 1:

Should you bring American currency, please be sure to bring newer bills as the banks will only accept the newer bills (bills from 1996 and 2003 are not accepted at most places, due to a high proportion of forgeries bearing these years). Bills which are torn or damaged will probably not be changed, and old-style small-bust bills are not accepted.
SOURCE FROM http://wikitravel.org/en/Taiwan

zstan
post Apr 26 2012, 09:21 AM

15,856 posts

Alright managed to secure all my accommodation liao.

Leopard garden hostel in Taipei. Hualien 11 in Hua Lien obviously. Tomato garden in Taichung. All in the region of rm100. Not exactly very budget I know. Cause travelling alone can't share. And I'm bringing camera gears worth more than 6k I quite scared to sleep in those backpackers hostel. all booked through hostel world.

Last but not least, harbour resort hotel at Sun Moon Lake which costs about rm220 but right in front the lake. No lake view though. Agoda promotion. Ori price I think more than double.
vincentwmh
post Apr 26 2012, 09:43 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 25 2012, 06:02 PM)
Old US currency issue already posted on pg 1:
thanks stimix!! mint 2006-$100 notes are acceptable in taiwan then, i suppose
aisumomo
post Apr 26 2012, 10:05 AM

59 posts

just got back from taiwan few days ago. I'd advise anyone going soon to bring an umbrella/raincoat n shoes that dont soak in the rain. It rained more than half the day out of the 9 days i was there. Had to change a lot of our plans. Skies were gloomy....sad coz i carried a whole load fo camera gear n tripod.
evanyi
post Apr 27 2012, 04:04 PM

I just came back from Taiwan last two days!
But i only spent the whole trip in mostly Taipei, went to places like Jiufen, Yehliu etc.

I love the weather there seriously. It was very cooling and i walked quite a distance for breakfast and we wasnt sweating at all.

We were lucky as there is only two raining days and it actually start to rain when it is at night and after we went back hotel. So i didnt use the umbrella i brought there.

As for the sim card, i purchase Taiwan Mobile for 5days unlimited Nt$500 with NT$150 call credit. IF anyone need it, can PM me. Mine is microsim. smile.gif

Will definitely go again!

Oh Ya, I bump into Amazing Race Asia host, ALAN WU at Yehliu. He was actually shooting for the upcoming China Rush AMazing Race. wub.gif

This post has been edited by evanyi: Apr 27 2012, 04:08 PM
nicodemus88
post Apr 28 2012, 12:03 AM

202 posts

Anyone went to Taiwan during July before? Planning to go to Taiwan this coming July, read that it might be a very hot & humid month, somewhat similar to Malaysia... Is it a nice month to go? Any feedbacks?
zstan
post Apr 28 2012, 12:18 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Apr 28 2012, 12:03 AM)
Anyone went to Taiwan during July before? Planning to go to Taiwan this coming July, read that it might be a very hot & humid month, somewhat similar to Malaysia... Is it a nice month to go? Any feedbacks?
i will be going on july as well! hope this heat is not too bad :/
annychua
post Apr 28 2012, 03:30 PM

79 posts

hi everyone,
who can help to recommend me any hotel or homestay which nearer to taoyuan airport since i reach there quite late around 11pm..
of course with budget..hehe...tqvm
PradaLee
post Apr 28 2012, 05:54 PM

183 posts

May I know if you guys book a trip with travel agency or DIY with Airasia and book own hotel? I plan to just loiter around Taipei city. Any good hotels to recommend and what to do in Taipei? Good food?
TSstimix
post Apr 28 2012, 10:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes DIY. very easy. Just follow prescribtion on 1st page & the hotels there too..If kenot find than only ask specific questions.. General questions dunno how to answer haha
raist86
post Apr 29 2012, 05:50 PM

1,577 posts

hi, just want to check on the currency exchange. Is it still bad to change myr to ntd here in malaysia or in taiwan? Still better to change to USD first here then change it to NTD in taiwan?
taxpayer
post Apr 29 2012, 09:42 PM

118 posts

Has anyone been to Kinmen Island? It is a 30 min ferry ride from Xiamen, China. Check it out if you guys want something more exotic. It is Taiwanese territory and also too close for comfort to China
vcj1992
post Apr 30 2012, 08:05 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Apr 28 2012, 12:03 AM)
I've been to Taiwan for the past two summer holidays during August 2010 and 2011. Yes, it is a very hot and humid month but for Malaysians we should be able to get used to it already. biggrin.gif The only thing you have to be aware of is the potential typhoon. Nothing big really just that it might rain very heavily when typhoon is approaching so you might need to prepare umbrella! Otherwise, just enjoy your trip in Taiwan!

This post has been edited by vcj1992: Apr 30 2012, 08:29 AM
tyj82
post May 1 2012, 05:56 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

Just back from Taipei yesterday, the weather getting hotter but Malaysia/Singapore still hotter.

I stayed in couple hotel and wanna give short review here.
1. Nei Jiang [Ximen] (NT1440 and NT1880 this is cooperate price you may not able to get this price)
The hotel is pretty clean and the service is good until they throw away all my gf contact lens(all no yet open) on the basin. All the contact lenses we gone and we were rushing for the wedding photography. Lucky, I managed to find on shop near ximen open at 9am. I made the hotel to pay for all the contact lenses after big argument as the cleaner refuse to admit she throw it away. The cleaner say it already in the bin when she clean the room. Waste so much time looking for contact lens and argument with the hotel. The manager took 1 hour and 30mins to arrive but told us 30 mins
Breakfast: Sandwich + box drink.

2. Windsor B&B [Juifen] Recomended by kampongboycitygirl (NT 3200 and NT 3600 Weekday price)
The first impression of the B&B is pricey but i still go ahead as I never stay in this kind of place before. The distance of the B&B is far from the main road(about 15 mins walk) and climbing stairs is unavoidable. The view from the room is nice especially the windows is design with web to prevent mosquito so you can enjoy the natural breeze. I booked 2 different from for 2 days. Both have different design and style. Go ahead try it if you have extra cash to spent. The onwer of the B&B Mr Hzu Da Ge(Hzu big brother) is very kind, he even purposely bring us around Juifen by car to show us around Juifen waterfall and Green copper rock.
Breakfast: Sandwich+Fruit+Coffee/Tea/Chocolate

3. Rotherburg B&B [Loudong] (NT3600 Weekday price) Recomended by kampongboycitygirl
This B&B every nicely decorated, you can feel the different of the quality compare to other B&B. Everything here carefully installed. The light/wall/wood/sofa/table deco. I managed to speak to owner and he told me most of the things here imported. Bad thing about this B&B there is nothing around. Need to take 15 min taxi to night market in Loudong. We just take a rest and have plenty of photo shooting in the house.
Breakfast: Too many thing to describe. They forget to give us yogurt as other guess have it. I did not request since the food already over kill.

4. Forever ocean [Hwalien] (NT2500 Weekday price)
This the most friendly staff compare to any B&B i stayed. They carefully explain everything to me in details and I can feel they do happy explaining word by word in map(I asked alot of it). Both staff day and night(Vivi) very very nice. I would praise them in every way. Vivi speak mandarin like singing to you because she is Indonesia. B&B is walking distance to some shop lots but not night market. They have discounted price for taxi NT100 to anywhere in hwalien.
Breakfast: Sandwich+Fruit+Coffee/Tea/Chocolate very large portion. Male and Female breakfast are different. haha

5. Julie House B&B [Ximen] (NT1800 and subsequent NT1200 same price for weekday or weekend)
I booked this B&B because i could not find any other place to stay. All fully book even it is 2 month advance. The room very small, I got no place to move after putting 1 cabin luggage and 1 big luggage. I have to leave my another luggage back outside the room. Breakfast only provided for 1 day, no breakfast for subsequent day. It pretty far from the MRT and the owner refuse to give exact location before booking.
Room condition quite dirty as the floor filled with some dust, the water from bathroom leak to the room cause bad smell. No lift. Water dispenser in common room has no water for 2 days. Good thing is washing machine can be use.
Owner help me to bring my 2 x 20KG luggage bag up and down the stairs. She is quite friendly and helpful.

Will provide more detail in blog next few weeks. 14D13N in Taiwan

146 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:12 PM