U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #3, Internet for just RM28/month

xelamil
post Jul 22 2012, 10:18 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(CnY Garage @ Jul 21 2012, 09:57 AM)
hmm that mifi is ok speed is faster also, but worth to try in rental ?  cool2.gif
up to you, the plan consider cheaper and good on sharing and the speed compare to yes 4g, but hard to make a decision on rental or 1 time buying
for georgetown, coverage till tanjung bungah, speed is as same as kl, for 7.2mbps modem, can reach 2-6mbps, but usually <>2-3mbps
So far I only managed to get max <5Mbps in Penang. Same results using a 7.2Mbps Huawei Mifi or the USB modem from U Mobile.

Has anyone gotten higher speed than that in Penang?

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 22 2012, 05:21 AM)
I'm currently getting 2-3Mbps. Will using higher speed of modem/mifi give me better results?

No matter what, I still need a router to share connection within the house. So, I guess should opt for a simple USB router... am I right about this? Any recommendations?
Do you need the sharing to be mobile or portable?

hkboey
post Jul 23 2012, 01:39 AM

749 posts

Bro Mr Lai & palmjack,

I managed to get 8.7Mbps with the U mobile sign up from you in Penang. I was using the broadband with Huawei Honor.

Got this speed near Gurney Mcd area. rclxms.gif
CnY Garage
post Jul 23 2012, 02:16 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Jul 23 2012, 01:39 AM)
Bro Mr Lai & palmjack,

I managed to get 8.7Mbps with the U mobile sign up from you in Penang. I was using the broadband with Huawei Honor.

Got this speed near Gurney Mcd area.  rclxms.gif
i am going around there tuesday, gurney plaza cool2.gif then i test test with zte mf190 and huawei e173, maybe with mifi zte mf60 also
hkboey
post Jul 23 2012, 02:22 AM

749 posts

bro... call me.. we go yum cha.. and you can bring me my MNP simcard also smile.gif)
kimhoong
post Jul 23 2012, 08:02 AM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(xelamil @ Jul 22 2012, 10:18 PM)
So far I only managed to get max <5Mbps in Penang. Same results using a 7.2Mbps Huawei Mifi or the USB modem from U Mobile.

Has anyone gotten higher speed than that in Penang?

Do you need the sharing to be mobile or portable?
Well, I just need Internet Sharing at home, not necessarily to be mobile or portable (but if the price difference is not much, why not?). Was told by the U Mobile SA to get some TPLink USB modem if I'm on tight budget, but please advise your recommendations.
vostro78
post Jul 23 2012, 09:14 AM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 23 2012, 08:02 AM)
Well, I just need Internet Sharing at home, not necessarily to be mobile or portable (but if the price difference is not much, why not?). Was told by the U Mobile SA to get some TPLink USB modem if I'm on tight budget, but please advise your recommendations.
get a huawei modem if you want good speed, like e353,e367, then invest a tplink 3420 3g modem router for home wifi...
kimhoong
post Jul 23 2012, 10:20 AM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jul 23 2012, 09:14 AM)
get a huawei modem if you want good speed, like e353,e367, then invest a tplink 3420 3g modem router for home wifi...
Thanks for your advice. So, I guess the very first thing I need to do is to purchase is router - followed by a high(er) speed modem (which I think can be considered at later stage).

From a simple search in the Sales Garage, I found these:

3G Wireless Router
TL‐MA180 (Coming Soon) 3.75G HSUPA USB Adapter RM105
TL‐MR3040 (New) Portable Battery Powered 3G/3.75G Wireless‐N 150Mbps Router RM110
TL‐MR3020 (New) Portable 3G/3.75G Wireless‐N 150Mbps Router RM89
TL‐MR3220 3G Wireless‐N (150Mbps) Router 4 UTP RM88
TL‐MR3420 3G Wireless‐N (300Mbps) Router 4 UTP RM99
Source / Credit: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1015038

Is TPlink MR3420 a 3G Modem Router whereby no Modem is needed? If yes, then at RM99, it's a good deal.
Otherwise, I would consider MR3020 or MR3040.

More sharing on this is welcomed smile.gif
xelamil
post Jul 23 2012, 12:22 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Jul 23 2012, 01:39 AM)
Bro Mr Lai & palmjack,

Got this speed near Gurney Mcd area.  rclxms.gif
Indoors or outdoor?

Added on July 23, 2012, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 23 2012, 08:02 AM)
If not mobile, I think there are more option 3G routers.

For non-mobile, you can consider those with build in battery like HAME APR-M1 or TP-LINK TL-MR3040.

This post has been edited by xelamil: Jul 23 2012, 01:14 PM
vostro78
post Jul 23 2012, 02:13 PM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 23 2012, 10:20 AM)
Thanks for your advice. So, I guess the very first thing I need to do is to purchase is router - followed by a high(er) speed modem (which I think can be considered at later stage).

3G Wireless Router
TL‐MR3040 (New) Portable Battery Powered 3G/3.75G Wireless‐N 150Mbps Router RM110
Is TPlink MR3420 a 3G Modem Router whereby no Modem is needed? If yes, then at RM99, it's a good deal.

3420 is not a modem. is a router...so u still need a 3g modem.
blacktubi
post Jul 23 2012, 02:16 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 23 2012, 10:20 AM)

3G Wireless Router

Get the TP-LINK MR3420, you won't regret getting a 300MBPS for ensured connection stability nod.gif
Anyway, you still need a USB 3G modem
CnY Garage
post Jul 23 2012, 02:25 PM

1,569 posts

so at the end you need a high speed usb 3g modem for faster speed

umobile either zte mf190, or huawei e173 also up to 7.2 hspa speed only
hkboey
post Jul 23 2012, 05:18 PM

749 posts

xelamil, inside car tongue.gif

kimhoong, Im using TL‐MR3020 combo with Huawei E173. Works great. But Im planning to change to TL‐MR3420 as I dont need portable and want more LAN port.

If you are interested in TL‐MR3020 can offer me, used only 2 months.
blacktubi
post Jul 23 2012, 05:28 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(CnY Garage @ Jul 23 2012, 02:25 PM)
so at the end you need a high speed usb 3g modem for faster speed

umobile either zte mf190, or huawei e173 also up to 7.2 hspa speed only
He need Huawei E367<E372<E398 rclxms.gif

Or E355 then he won't need to get a router anymore
Wira_lover
post Jul 24 2012, 03:07 PM

315 posts

guys im planning to get the U88 plan. most of the time ill be in cyberjaya.

how is the coverage in that area? and what speed is the Umobile data plan for smartphones?

This post has been edited by Wira_lover: Jul 24 2012, 03:12 PM
wkkm007
post Jul 24 2012, 07:55 PM

3,123 posts

It there seller in LYN seller sell U broadband unlimited without quota? no gig haha
CnY Garage
post Jul 24 2012, 08:05 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Jul 24 2012, 03:07 PM)
guys im planning to get the U88 plan. most of the time ill be in cyberjaya.

how is the coverage in that area? and what speed is the Umobile data plan for smartphones?
cyberjaya coverage is ok
check it out here
http://u.com.my/broadband/coverage-locations

depends your phone, normally now smart phone support hspa so can reach 2-6mbps
if s2 and above support hspa+ can up to 11-15mbps

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jul 24 2012, 07:55 PM)
It there seller in LYN seller sell U broadband unlimited without quota? no gig haha
if there are then my post closed d cool2.gif
Wira_lover
post Jul 24 2012, 11:57 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(CnY Garage @ Jul 24 2012, 08:05 PM)
cyberjaya coverage is ok
check it out here
http://u.com.my/broadband/coverage-locations

depends your phone, normally now smart phone support hspa so can reach 2-6mbps
if s2 and above support hspa+ can up to 11-15mbps
if there are then my post closed d  cool2.gif
thanks alot bro. planning to get the line
kimhoong
post Jul 25 2012, 10:31 PM

5,154 posts

Guys I just got myself a router.

Question: How to check data usage for my case?
vostro78
post Jul 26 2012, 04:42 PM

6,804 posts

hi, may i know the umobile prepaid mobile internet detail ;

daily rm 0.88 cent we can use how many mb? how abut weekly and monthly and 2 months?

thanks.
CnY Garage
post Jul 26 2012, 05:04 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 25 2012, 10:31 PM)
Guys I just got myself a router. 

Question: How to check data usage for my case?
you can't cool2.gif haha
QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jul 26 2012, 04:42 PM)
hi, may i know the umobile prepaid mobile internet detail ;

daily rm 0.88 cent we can use how many mb? how abut weekly and monthly and 2 months?
thanks.
unlimited mobile internet ( UMI ) is for RM 28 / 500mb /1month free 100mins 30sms applicable for all phones

BB daily RM 0.88 only 10mb, after 10mb throttle to 64kbps but still unlimited

154 Pages « < 151 152 153 154 >Top

0.0339sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:38 PM