GrynnRyder
post Jun 1 2011, 10:39 AM

64 posts

my speed still slow~ sad.gif
zephyr3d
post Jun 1 2011, 01:00 PM

13 posts

hi guys... i'm seeking an opinion or two regarding U Mobile. Price wise, it looks reasonably priced.. I'm planning to get Voice & Data Plans U Lite (RM68).

I've been a stubborn Digi customer for donkey years.. since 1997 I think. But I have to admit that I'm (finally) calling it a day. The coverage and strength hardly came on par with other telcos. Either I'll lose 3G at certain area (even in my own house at Kinrara it fluctuates!!). Plus Digi is also famous for "zero coverage" in enclosed areas.. sometimes 'no line' in shopping complexes.. .frustrating! imagine no line at certain parts of Pavilion or The Gardens? Its a joke.

So..... main questions. How's the coverage and strength of U Mobile? 3G as well. Hopefully you guys can give me your honest opinion.. and don't tell me to go thru hundreds of pages in this (and other) topic.

Thanks a bunch smile.gif

Added on June 1, 2011, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(liciece @ May 29 2011, 10:01 PM)
U're not alone.  tongue.gif
Sometimes I even can't get EDGE connect when roaming,sometimes no problems.Don't know what happen in celcom roaming network.And previously my phone will show a small 'R' when roaming on celcom network,but recently I found that under some Celcom network,the little 'R' disappears.  tongue.gif
Hi.. i'm a little confused. Why are you guys roaming with Celcom? In M'sia? Would there be additional charges?

Thks.

This post has been edited by zephyr3d: Jun 1 2011, 01:10 PM
Icehart
post Jun 1 2011, 01:12 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(zephyr3d @ Jun 1 2011, 01:00 PM)
hi guys... i'm seeking an opinion or two regarding U Mobile. Price wise, it looks reasonably priced..  I'm planning to get Voice & Data Plans U Lite (RM68).

I've been a stubborn Digi customer for donkey years.. since 1997 I think. But I have to admit that I'm (finally) calling it a day. The coverage and strength hardly came on par with other telcos. Either I'll lose 3G at certain area (even in my own house at Kinrara it fluctuates!!). Plus Digi is also famous for "zero coverage" in enclosed areas.. sometimes 'no line' in shopping complexes.. .frustrating! imagine no line at certain parts of Pavilion or The Gardens? Its a joke.

So..... main questions. How's the coverage and strength of U Mobile? 3G as well. Hopefully you guys can give me your honest opinion.. and don't tell me to go thru hundreds of pages in this (and other) topic.

Thanks a bunch smile.gif

Hi.. i'm a little confused. Why are you guys roaming with Celcom? In M'sia? Would there be additional charges?

Thks.
If no UM signal they will redirect to celcom roaming laugh.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 1 2011, 07:03 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

hi guys... i'm seeking an opinion or two regarding U Mobile. Price wise, it looks reasonably priced..  I'm planning to get Voice & Data Plans U Lite (RM68).

Thanks a bunch smile.gif

Thks.
Different area different broadband performance. That i s why i always advise people to test out the prepaid broadband first. In bandar Sunway, the performance is fine with me.
GrynnRyder
post Jun 1 2011, 08:15 PM

64 posts

today speedtest...
z_ahutd
post Jun 1 2011, 09:17 PM

42 posts

Thanks a bunch smile.gif

Thks.
regarding 3G signal, to be honest, u mobile has limited coverage compared to maxis or celcom or even digi. However, they are rapidly expanding their 3G network. I've been using u mobile prepaid for the past 2 months now since i ported from maxis to u mobile. This is because of the unlimited mobile internet which is simply irresistable. So far, everything works perfect and satisfying except if you use the internet in 2G network. Read my previous posts here to see what i mean.

Speaking about 2G network, the thing that you are confused about is the domestic roaming on celcom network. U mobile has only its own 3G network. They hv no 2G. So in order for its customers to get nationwide coverage, they allow us to log onto celcom network when there are no 3G signal in that particular area. This is their 2G network. Charges are the same. There are no extra charges for roaming on celcom. You will see the CELCOM network on your phone but you are definitely still on U. I hope this explains everything you need to know smile.gif
Noobish
post Jun 2 2011, 12:09 AM

I just got my sim today. Is MB plan the same as UB plan? Because when I go to *118# there's only MB plan instead of UB. Just want to make sure I don't do any mistake before I go further. Thanks.
chuahcs79
post Jun 2 2011, 12:14 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(Noobish @ Jun 2 2011, 12:09 AM)
I just got my sim today. Is MB plan the same as UB plan? Because when I go to *118# there's only MB plan instead of UB. Just want to make sure I don't do any mistake before I go further. Thanks.

and

the free talktime and free sms can carry forward to next month too,...

and now

all calls from UM to UM in a UM3G area is FOC, yes TRUE FOC
digilife
post Jun 2 2011, 05:03 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(aca1 @ Jun 1 2011, 09:58 AM)
that mean i need 2 use my phone as modem?
u hav a choice to use your fon as a modem/mifi or just buy a usb modem

i would advice u try out using your fon as a modem and if the signal is good, buy a usb modem for about rm100+/- (new)

Added on June 2, 2011, 5:05 am
QUOTE(z_ahutd @ Jun 1 2011, 09:17 PM)
regarding 3G signal, to be honest, u mobile has limited coverage compared to maxis or celcom or even digi. However, they are rapidly expanding their 3G network. I've been using u mobile prepaid for the past 2 months now since i ported from maxis to u mobile. This is because of the unlimited mobile internet which is simply irresistable. So far, everything works perfect and satisfying except if you use the internet in 2G network. Read my previous posts here to see what i mean.

Speaking about 2G network, the thing that you are confused about is the domestic roaming on celcom network. U mobile has only its own 3G network. They hv no 2G. So in order for its customers to get nationwide coverage, they allow us to log onto celcom network when there are no 3G signal in that particular area. This is their 2G network. Charges are the same. There are no extra charges for roaming on celcom. You will see the CELCOM network on your phone but you are definitely still on U. I hope this explains everything you need to know smile.gif
a very good write up

pin this up on the first page TS, thanks

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: Jun 2 2011, 05:05 AM
robertlee
post Jun 2 2011, 07:18 AM

321 posts

Just notice that, U mobile have new package.

MB-DAY:RM6/DAY,Unlimited
MB40:RM40/MTH.Unlimited
MB68:RM68/MTH.Unlimited
MB128:RM128/MTH.Unlimited.

If base on the previous chart.
RM6,500MB ,
RM40,2GB,
RM68,5GB,
so exceed all goes to 128kbps

Therefore the RM128 ? dunno how many GB given.... if 10GB nice.

digilife
post Jun 2 2011, 09:24 AM

8,025 posts

formally it was UB now its MB

UB= Umobile Broadband
MB = ? Broadband ,

i guess the rm128 must be the 10GB quota as Maxis also hav a rm198 package, quota is 12GB, 6GB is rm98

Icehart
post Jun 2 2011, 09:26 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(robertlee @ Jun 2 2011, 07:18 AM)

RM6,500MB ,
RM40,2GB,
RM68,5GB,

Therefore  the RM128 ? dunno how many GB given.... if 10GB nice.
Link?
digilife
post Jun 2 2011, 09:38 AM

8,025 posts

chk your fon/modem via USSD
ck_boon
post Jun 2 2011, 09:53 AM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(GrynnRyder @ Jun 1 2011, 11:39 AM)
my speed still slow~ sad.gif
me is slow|! hardly browse any website, always 100-200kbps, this is soo unacceptable! and i found tat postpaid cant call out even helpline also cant call out , watfg
chuahcs79
post Jun 2 2011, 11:10 AM

6,931 posts

RM6,500MB ,
RM40,2GB,
RM68,5GB,

any link?
em.kuan
post Jun 2 2011, 11:13 AM

RM6,500MB ,
RM40,2GB,
RM68,5GB,

got new plan? i didnt find it in U Mobile homepage pun...
chuahcs79
post Jun 2 2011, 11:15 AM

6,931 posts

go to *118# select u broadband then u will see the MB128 ...
em.kuan
post Jun 2 2011, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jun 2 2011, 11:15 AM)
go to *118# select u broadband then u will see the MB128 ...
soli....what mean 'go to *118# select u broadband'......
mean send from handphone ? i using maxis line de wo...
soli....i m new here.... icon_question.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jun 2 2011, 01:02 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(em.kuan @ Jun 2 2011, 11:26 AM)
soli....what mean 'go to *118# select u broadband'......
mean send from handphone ? i using maxis line de wo...
soli....i m new here.... icon_question.gif
You have to use the U mobile sim to access to that. sweat.gif
em.kuan
post Jun 2 2011, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jun 2 2011, 01:02 PM)
You have to use the U mobile sim to access to that.  sweat.gif
haha...soli soli...i understand liao...
pai sei~ notworthy.gif
u guys mean the package is only open for existing U Mobile user?
coz from thier website didnt show...
coz rm68 unlimited really attractive wo...

154 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:06 PM