10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 06:45 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 04:03 PM)
yeah, im on 2.2.1, and my recovery mode is 3e recovery.
and i just downloaded the ZSJPG-Modem.zip from xda. is this CWM flashable zip file? sorry for so much question sweat.gif
it should be. but you won't be able to flash it since you have 3e recovery. you'd need to flash a froyo custom kernel like speedmod. (this will give you lagfix option, CWM and root)

once you have CWM, you can flash any modem. (download link can also be found in first page)

But before that, how did you get TUBJP9 2.2.1 update? it is not available in malaysia and kies. I can't find it in samfirmware.com either.

Added on May 23, 2011, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 04:11 PM)
u flash too many custom rom izit? 2e only available stock on 2.1..
2.2 onward are 3e already..
haha, you are right!

so mike86, check your rom version again. speedmod kernel for froyo is avaiable here: http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...to-install.html
ROM manager won't work for you yet.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 23 2011, 06:48 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 06:54 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 04:19 PM)
opps, forgot to mentioned that i was using an AP set, so i think this is the reason that im using TUBJP9 2.2.1.
and now getting into more and more complicated...newbie here can't handle that much now blush.gif
just wanted to get the GPS fix already making me so headache rclxub.gif
For starters, try
- gps aid: https://market.android.com/details?id=ltodo...e=search_result
- open back cover, put double sided tape at a particular site. I couldn't remember which part. try search it in xda

- other methods will require either rooting or flashing custom kernel/rom
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 07:20 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(notroxcity @ May 23 2011, 04:48 PM)
hi guys, potential buyer here. um...have u guys updated ur i9000s to gingerbread yet? its officially announced last week i think, that the gingerbread update will start rolling in mid of May 2011. so, have u guys updated urs, officiallY? or do u guys juz use internantional ROMs or sumthing. android newbie here. smile.gif
Hi, welcome to the thread!

It is officially announced but not available for download officially yet. There were many leaked gb rom and we have been flashing them smile.gif
TSgmhafiz
post May 24 2011, 02:39 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(notroxcity @ May 23 2011, 05:09 PM)
i see in ur signature that ur using CM7 ROM? i suppose ur flashed it on ur i9000? how's da experience? 9 out of 10 ? very skeptical about buying an android smartphone. not looking forward to digging forums and da internet to optimize or to get the phone working. considering the hardware-spec, definitely wud be a good buy.

on the side note, i am considering to buy an AP set. smile.gif any advice?
yes I flashed it to my I9000. it is an excellent rom, no lag at all. but there are still few issues. for beginners, it is better to flash samsung firmwares instead.

hardware wise, it may be the best single core smartphone. unfortunately it has problems like GPS and lag which can only be resolved by tweaking the phone.

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 23 2011, 09:43 PM)
so that's how you guys do it!  hmm.gif  hmm better try this myself.
btw,where do I download modem files for CM7?

EDIT: the instruction posted on CM7 thread and website are incomplete. is this some kind of deliberate tactic to avoid noobs? dammit
yes biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 23 2011, 09:55 PM)
i dont think cm7 will have video call. and if i am not mistaken sgs is the only android phone supported video call right?
the video call software is closed source. it is possible in samsung phones because they hacked it to work, probably using non-standard ways. it will be hard for cm7 team to reverse engineer it.

alternatives are tango, qik, fring, yahoo messenger, etc.

Added on May 24, 2011, 2:42 am
QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 24 2011, 12:07 AM)
@greengoat
got no signal after flashing quorra 10. flashed jvo modem package, still nothing. what should I do now?
btw, its speed is unbelievable!
check if imei number is still intact. make sure you only flash modem zip file made for cm7 only.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 24 2011, 02:42 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 24 2011, 11:04 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 24 2011, 06:03 AM)
Yup, you are right. Somehow, Gingerbread was supposed to have 3g video call capabilities. I wonder what happened to Google's initial plan. Maybe they wanna make ways for their Gtalk video call and dropped the implementation?  hmm.gif
hmm, not aware that 2.3.3 has any standard video calling api.

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 24 2011, 06:41 AM)
hey guys. wanna see something effed up? PlugIns for ChainFire3D

I just tried "Samurai II: Vengeance", a Tegra 2 exlusive games, and it's working SUPER smooth on my SGS with CM7.
this is another BS from Nvidia, after so many years doing dirty works in desktop gaming. damn you, Nvidia!  vmad.gif
wow, very good progress since the last time I learned about it!

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 24 2011, 07:12 AM)
Probably sometime in 2025, based on what I've read in the xda-forum thread.  blush.gif
yes, you are correct wink.gif but nevermind. we will still get ice cream sandwich by the end of this year even if samsung decides not to make one for our phone.
TSgmhafiz
post May 24 2011, 11:15 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Kenneth225 @ May 24 2011, 08:26 AM)
hi guys new user reporting. just bought galaxy s from lowyat plaza. reached home only notice the model is gt i9000t latin america. wan to ask all sifu here is this model i9000t using the same kernel with i9000 international? TQVM smile.gif
hi, welcome to this thread!

I believe I9000t is also available in australia on telstra network. just make sure you have 3 button combo working and can enter download and recovery mode. your model should be able to flash international I9000 kernels.

enjoy!
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 02:37 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 24 2011, 08:01 PM)
the GPS performance is severely below par, running on stock Froyo now, but my SGS is an AP set, is that possible I can bring to Samsung center to fix for free? doh.gif
you can definitely try that. else, upgrade to gingerbread.

QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ May 24 2011, 11:06 PM)
GMHafiz, the 1st page should be updated with latest market info smile.gif

We can buy paid apps now, right? So i guess we must have guides on buying apps like what types of payment accepted, whether we have any alternative if we don't have credit card, etc.
true. but guide has to be written by someone who has actually did such transactions in malaysia smile.gif

anyone can do it and I'll update first page.
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 10:51 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ May 25 2011, 06:29 AM)
Eh.. Gingerbread still can't do call record eh? Who have follow this function development status?
of course you can. there are tango, qik, fring, yahoo messenger.

if we are talking about 3g video calls, then I believe 2.3.4 has it (gtalk). there was no standard video calling api prior to that. samsung hacked the dialer to make video calling work since eclair.

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 25 2011, 06:45 AM)
no official Gingerbeard has been made available right?
not yet.

Added on May 25, 2011, 10:56 am
QUOTE(systemX @ May 25 2011, 07:33 AM)
has anyone successfully flashed the CM7 nightly #13 without getting the IMEI as unknown?
wow, we got another sifu coming in here. welcome to this thread! (if I don't mistaken you for someone else la sweat.gif)

haven't flashed that yet. try restoring /efs folder and see if that works.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 25 2011, 10:56 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 11:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 25 2011, 08:30 AM)
i believe he is asking for call record..not video call.. smile.gif
zzz, post on-call time. better get some sleep now.

don't expect call recording to be available on a stock gb rom or cyanogenmod.

Added on May 25, 2011, 11:13 am
QUOTE(systemX @ May 25 2011, 08:37 AM)
@gmhafiz, you referring to xda insanity? tongue.gif I found a guide on how to restore the imei but its from the captivate thread at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880223, wondering if anyone has tried this tongue.gif
no, not insanity specific.

but restoring is possible only if you made a backup.

if you don't have a backup then I suggest flashing to an earlier nightlies like 9 or 11. If imei is still not restored, try flashing back to stock froyo or ezbase 2.0

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 25 2011, 11:13 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 04:17 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 25 2011, 01:40 PM)
Wipe 'data' partition? Doesn't that wipe all apps off? I thought just wipe cache and dalvik?
yes, cache and dalvik cache.

wiping /data partition will erase all of your downloaded apps.
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 04:42 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 25 2011, 02:07 PM)
mind tell me the program name?
swiftp most probably. link and guide to set it up at first page. me OTOH uses qtadb for its added functions.
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 11:47 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 09:11 PM)
nothing matched it.

only 5 results

captivate sgs tools
nitrality
galaxy_s unlock
samsung galaxy s unlock
system toolbox

which?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=775154

will update first page
TSgmhafiz
post May 25 2011, 11:59 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 09:20 PM)
is okay thank..

already installed ahem* root explorer then copy paste the efs folder to external sd card already wink.gif
actually the link to sgstools is already at the first page but one of the links was broken. of course, using rootexplorer is possible as well. make a backup into your computer and the cloud as well. better be safe than sorry.
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 12:12 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 09:34 PM)
ok,, now on the way to flash the XXJVH.

can i skip no.1 procedure? 1. Flash to EZBase 3.0 first EZBase 3.0
If you are flashing stock/deodexed jvh by odin, sure.

ezbase 3.0 is there for a fresh restart if you encounter any problem
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 12:37 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 09:52 PM)
now downloading the cooked jvh rom zip file wink.gif

if want to flash using odin need to use .tar file right?
wait stop!

If you are moving to gingerbread for the first time, you need to use odin so that you will get gingerbread bootloader - otherwise you'll run into problem

flashing cooked rom cwm zip file will not work over froyo. those cooked rom will not work with froyo bootloader. you must flash ezbase 3.0 or stock gingerbread using odin first in order to get the updated bootloader.

after you have properly flashed with odin, then you can flash any cooked rom cwm zip file of your choice (provided that you have CWM in recovery of course)

Added on May 26, 2011, 12:39 am
QUOTE(s30ckf @ May 25 2011, 09:56 PM)
Do you all using phone's default internet browser? When I using that, go to some website, it will become lag... like going into www.yes.com.my, then choose "take me to the homepage"... after going in, the page will become lag....

Anyone using other browser that can work better ?
see first page for alternative browser. in addition to that, try boat browser mini as well. opera mobile OTOH is highly recommended

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 26 2011, 12:39 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 12:46 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(sora_world07 @ May 25 2011, 10:11 PM)
hey guys im on MIUI MCGv3 and i want to return to stock gingerbread. i would like to flash jvo. i can just straight flash it using odin rite?
yes
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 12:52 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 10:17 PM)
i see..

then which rom i need to choose from here?

http://www.samfirmware.com/WEBPROTECT-i9000.htm
i believe all samsung's gb firmware has the the updated bootloader. but i recommend flashing ezbase 3.0 instead. you'll get root and cwm in recovery included, thus less steps to flash your gb cooked rom of your choice.

TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 01:11 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 10:31 PM)
may i know what is DEODEXED Gingerbread?
In non-technical terms, it allows you to theme your custom rom among others. remember that theming is only possible on custom rom, not stock rom.

http://www.google.com/search?btnG=1&pws=0&...dexed+vs+odexed
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 01:27 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 10:46 PM)
thank you..

downloading GT_I9000_XWJVH_XXJVO_NEEJV3_Sbl.exe

later i will follow this guide: http://www.theandroidsoul.com/how-to-insta...galaxy-s-i9000/

to install deodexed XWJVH

then follow this guide again: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1058221

to install the  GalaxII: TW4,GSII Lockscreen & Theme - JVH
everything ok?
Not sure what GT_I9000_XWJVH_XXJVO_NEEJV3_Sbl.exe is but as long as
- you have gb bootloader
- and flashed deodexed rom

then you can apply that mod.
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 01:35 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 11:01 PM)
ok, you are good to go!