10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

TSgmhafiz
post May 21 2011, 01:54 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 20 2011, 11:14 PM)
cant i just flash it? since i now already on jvh base.(tweaky rom)
Yes you can, if you are on a jvh kernel (cf-root/speedmod). maybe you'd need to do a factory reset after flashing to the new rom.
TSgmhafiz
post May 21 2011, 03:40 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 21 2011, 12:36 AM)
after flash to insanity 8.5 resolution problem, tweak also same ,useless. sigh anyone know how to twick? wifi not working keep obtaining. zzz. so now downloading and gonna flash to gingerReal v3.7 final. disappointed with insanity.
that's odd. insanity has always been a reliable and a very fast rom.

there's nothing wrong with resolution. it is set to 182dpi instead of default 240. you can change this by using nitrality app from the market.

I suggest flashing to ezbase 3.0 or stock gb rom & custom kernel. then reflash a custom rom of your choosing. remember to wipe cache and dalvik cache in the recovery mode as well.

hopefully you'll get no issues after this by starting clean. nobody else had that WiFi problem.
TSgmhafiz
post May 21 2011, 12:49 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

I'd like to ask, is there edge connection in malaysia? I don't need 3g or hspa on all the time. in fact I only switch them on from edge when I want to browse the internet.

I only ask this because edge power consumption is significantly less than 3g or hspa.
TSgmhafiz
post May 21 2011, 01:22 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ May 21 2011, 10:34 AM)
dun install.me after install video recorder force to close.

Added on May 21, 2011, 1:08 pmnow me on froyo 2.2.ord root and flash kernel speedmod.still stock rom.if now i wan flash to gb,wat i need to do?speedmod can use for gb or i need to flash to others kernel?
- If you want gb, you must flash a rom with gb bootloader included and flash with odin. example, stock gb rom or ezbase 3.0

- there are other kernels for gb as well. But if you want speedmod kernel, make sure it is the gingerbread version, not froyo one.
TSgmhafiz
post May 21 2011, 06:45 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ May 21 2011, 12:09 PM)
I guess some of u on CM7 might want tis to replace the Samsung stock music player brows.gif

wow, app link?

QUOTE(lch78 @ May 21 2011, 01:45 PM)
Most of big cities area support Edge, but some place further might only has GSM. I am not sure how fast your Edge speed in India, but Edge speed here in Malaysia for browsing,  hmm.gif  very subjective...
edge speed is sufficient and consistent for a quick browsing. got 2GB bandwidth a month for rm6.59. depending on area, can get edge/3g/hspa. I'm sure it is much more expensive in my home country :s

QUOTE(sliqueliques @ May 21 2011, 02:49 PM)
Which ROM is better now?.. Planing to change my stock 2.2 Froyo. Im just get my SGS 4 days ago..Already do the speedmod kernel. If i get other ROM does it improve battery life?. Currently my battery can last about 1 day. Izzit normal?
1 day is normal. do some more reading in xda dev forum and learn. no need to rush smile.gif

TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 01:36 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 21 2011, 10:01 PM)
this WP7 music player is really cool biggrin.gif

works with latest nightly CM7 build
very nice ui indeed. only that it is very basic. I'm sure more featured will be added.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 10:11 PM)
Trying insanity v8.5 from CM7 Nightly. Can't use EZbase 3.0? sleep.gif"

Will try re-Odin using EZbase 2.0, cause EZb 3.0 said rfs format fail.
ezbase 2.0 won't work because you need gb bootloader.

if ezbase 3.0 doesn't work, you have to use any stock gb rom, then flash jvh kernel. finally apply the insanity 8.5 zip file

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 10:29 PM)
Aiyo, pengsan.

I thought Odin to EZb 2.0, I could straight away flash insanity 8.5 WIPE.
But now stuck at Galaxy S (white text) screen.

Was it because the partitions still on EXT4/YAFFS2?

EDIT: EZb 2.0 CWM has Lagfix options. Does that mean the kernel already has EXT4 support?
cannot use ezbase 2.0 to go to insanity 8.5. you'll run into problems. I thought I've guided you in a couple pages back?

ezbase 3.0/stock gb > jvh kernel > insanity 8.5

TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 01:48 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 11:10 PM)
Ouw, gotta find JVH files now. Thanks!

I think I missed your guide, or were you referring to CM7 related stuff? Cause this is my first time flashing Insanity, coming from CM7.
oops wrong person. but it's there: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=42497970

someone has got to make a guide flashing to gb rom. maybe make something like a flowchart? my froyo flowchart is obsolete as a lot of users are going for gb smile.gif
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 01:51 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 21 2011, 11:14 PM)

Edit : still not working. com.android.phone stop working. zzzz. have to reflash jvh. doh.gif
try factory reset? reflashing with odin should fix the problem though.
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 01:55 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 21 2011, 11:20 PM)
can i use jvo kernel for nightly?
for CM7? only cm7/miui kernels are compatible with cm7/miui. e.g. bilboa, platypus, zach, tk glitch.

stock samsung kernels and its derivatives (speedmod, cf-root, etc) aren't compatible.
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 01:58 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 21 2011, 11:21 PM)

Added on May 22, 2011, 1:54 am
yup. the first thing i try after bootlooping. then only the com.android.phone force close happen. i go into about phone found out that i dont have a baseband so finding a modem flashable file. hope can work then no need reflash everything.haha. any idea where to get?
missing baseband? weird. what rom are you flashing into again? with odin?
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 02:06 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 11:26 PM)
Will try it out. Now still downloading XXJVH off Doc's Kitchen.

So sleepy. Can I just skip the JVH part, from Sammy's leaked 2.3.3 ROM -> Insanity 8.5? tongue.gif

I tried EZb 3.0, it has only 3e recovery.
no. you don't need docs rom. these are possible routes:
1. leaked 2.3.3 rom > gb speedmod kernel or cf root > apply insanity 8.5

2. ezbase 3.0 > gb speedmod kernel or cf root > insanity 8.5

- ezbase 3.0 or stock gb rom is important because it contains the gb bootloader needed to prevent screen corruption

- insanity 8.5 only works if you have jvh kernel prior to this. thats what i read in the forum.

- after custom jvh kernel is installed, you'll get cwm in recovery mode. this allows you to flash the insanity zip file.

TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 02:15 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ May 21 2011, 11:30 PM)
I think what ts meant is to get a JVH kernel, not rom
exactly.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 11:32 PM)
Oh, sure...
Thanks for the reminder.  laugh.gif

*goes back to first page and look for JVH link...*
can get stock or deodexed gb rom from ramad's thread in xda dev.

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 21 2011, 11:33 PM)
ya. didnt flash anything. just now i try "learn" things in auto killer advance setting. then simply tick a few things then my phone keep bootlooping. so i try nandroid restore,FAIL! (dont know what happen) then i try factory reset. then missing baseband LOL. can i flash using odin only put phone.tar and flash?
well, if the modem file, zimage I believe, is not in the phone.tar file, you'll get a missing baseband!

nandroid restore shouldn't fail though. I don't know about that.

QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ May 21 2011, 11:35 PM)
my boot animation sound is missing. i'm on deodexed JVH. missing after flashing CWM. also happens when i root odexed JVH.
did you flashed cfroot kernel? maybe boot animation sound depends on the kernel. if that's the case, you won't get the sound when cfroot doesn't support it.

rooting will not affect boot animation sound.
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 02:25 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 11:46 PM)
rclxms.gif very detailed!

When I do a search on google for Speedmod Gingerbread, it gave me this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1044519

In the thread, it bolded K15E/F works only with JVH based ROMs!. Does that mean, I still have to hunt for JVH first, b4 actually using this speedmod? I have already download Voodoo kernel from here though: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=975349 (Gingerbread-GT-I9000-stock-kernel+hacks.tar)

Maybe I shouldn't be flashing phone when I'm dead sleepy.  doh.gif  doh.gif
then you have three options:
1. just use that voodoo jvh kernel. check if it gb rom is not a prerequisite.

2. use cf root kernel instead. check if it gb rom is not a prerequisite.

3. simply flash a jvh rom like leaked jvh or deodexed jvh rom by ramad. then flash any jvh kernel to get cwm. finally flash insanity 8.5

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 22 2011, 02:29 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 02:33 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 21 2011, 11:57 PM)
I took a risk and flashed supercurio's JVH rom. Now it's converting my partition to ext4.  doh.gif

I thought it's gonna be an option in CWM menu. lol.

Nvm, at least I'm in ext4, but I need to know if I have to go back to rfs if I flash insanity 8.5.  icon_idea.gif
I think almost all custom rom are smart enough to see what filesystem (rfs/ext4) is in your rom prior to flashing the zip. no need to go back to rfs (aka disable lagfix). you should be fine.
TSgmhafiz
post May 22 2011, 02:50 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 22 2011, 12:06 AM)
Voodoo JVH keeps making my phone plays the Samsung start up animation after entering into Android for about 20 seconds.  doh.gif
Not sure if it was caused by Media Scanning completion. Was my int SD got error blocks?  sweat.gif

Ok, gonna force the Insanity in! biggrin.gif

EDIT: I am officially INSANE dy!  thumbup.gif  But the default DPI settings is quite doh.gif.

Previously I have played with DPI setting back in FroYo. It screwed up some of my game's display, and even some apps affected. This 1, wah lau, defaulted like this. Habis la, if I gonna use those apps that will be affected if change DPI.  sweat.gif

EDIT2: first run on Nitrality already kena FC.  doh.gif

I think I am better off going back to stock GB.
I'm at 210 dpi with cm7. looks nice. try reinstalling nitrality from market?

the reason why ezbase is recommended is because it will really clean up your phone from previous rom. remember a lot of people used to get problems flashing to another rom from darkyy.
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 05:59 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 03:22 PM)
ermm...anyone can tell me that if i download the modem zip file, just need to go to the recovery mode to flash the file only right??
btw it was flashing ONLY the modem firmware but not anything else am i right?
You are right. everything else will be left intact.
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 06:04 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

those who had problems with insanity 8.5 can try using ezbase 4.0 instead. then flash cf-root kernel.

should fix the random boot and wifi issue

jvh rom is a weird one.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 23 2011, 06:05 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 06:10 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 03:35 PM)
thank u gmhafiz. btw,if the modem that i flashed was not working, how do i revert back to the original 1?
Find out which modem are you on (settings > about phone > baseband version). Then find the file link on the first page.

Added on May 23, 2011, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 23 2011, 03:34 PM)
those who had problems with insanity 8.5 can try using ezbase 4.0 instead. then flash cf-root kernel.

should fix the random boot and wifi issue

jvh rom is a weird one.
looks like nitr8 is going to base his rom on cm7 plus working together with tk-glitch for his kernel. bye bye samsung rom rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 23 2011, 06:14 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 06:19 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 03:45 PM)
ok gmhafiz. very much appreciated for the assist.
my GPS was really sucks....cant even fix my location.
but the current modem that comes with my phone was I9000TUBJP9, cant find the modem at xda there hmm.gif
which rom are you on? updated from kies or downloaded?

restoring your modem will need a bit of work. you'd need to extract the rom file that you have and find the zimage file in it. then replace it with a normal modem cwm zip file. lastly flash in in recovery mode
TSgmhafiz
post May 23 2011, 06:29 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ May 23 2011, 03:50 PM)
erm, again a noob question. the built in android system recovery <3e> cant install zip file? can only use CMW to flash?

Added on May 23, 2011, 6:22 pm

gmhafiz im on ori froyo 2.2.1.
erm...so i only need to flash the file that u mentioned & not the whole zip file that download from xda? only can be done via CMW?
hmm couldn't be. 3e recovery is only found in gingerbread. 2.2.1 rom should have 2e recovery (but with no CWM)

Since you are using an ori rom, I don't know if the zimage file exists in your phone. Anyway, if you happen to have the zimage file, just upload it here and I will make a CWM-flashable zip file for you.

Added on May 23, 2011, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 23 2011, 03:53 PM)
gmhafiz.. got something for u to edit/add smile.gif

I think a minor change on how to install CM7 need to be change

Link for instruction at first page is no longer valid.. perhaps cud change to FAQ Thread in XDA located HERE

since our CM7 now in mainline, any latest nightly can be found HERE

Thanks  thumbup.gif
You are right. Will edit it. Just got back from on-call rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 23 2011, 06:31 PM

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:35 PM