10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 01:45 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ May 25 2011, 11:12 PM)
successfully flashed in.. so many FCs when restarting, did i need to factory reset or wiping?
stock one? try factory reset.
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 02:16 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ May 25 2011, 11:40 PM)
guys,help me please..im confused whether to get this phone or galaxy ace...
big budget: galaxy s
lower budget: ace

IMO, if you want true android experience, you should go for high-end models. cut unneeded spending to save more money so that you can increase your budget.
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 02:51 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ May 26 2011, 12:00 AM)
aite2 sorry..i noe how u feel.....k last q ....been following galaxy ace thread..d main probs is SOD(screen of death) which i find it very serious coz this happens 2 unrooted new mobile...how bout samsung galaxy s phone? any probs wif new set? thanks everybody for fast reply
never heard such problem in sgs yet.
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 08:42 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ May 26 2011, 07:31 AM)
why when i moved the application to micro sd,the icon at home screen will disappear.any setting to do?
if you move apps to sd, things like widgets won't work.

QUOTE(bestofel @ May 26 2011, 08:57 AM)
I've experienced it and I've warning about it before at V16 thread and I've ask to put the warning to 1st page. With Titanium Backup, restoring the system file (or data only) like contact and SMS/MMS from froyo to gingerbread ok, but restore from gingerbread to froyo will give u force closed. So, for contact and SMS/MMS, u need to backup by other way like using gmail etc.

BTW, wellcome back to Froyo.  rclxms.gif
never restore system app. IMO, backing them up using TB is very clumsy. best is sync them up with the cloud, e.g. google contacts.

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 26 2011, 10:09 AM)
any of you guys OC your SGS?
OC is useful if you are a gamer. I don't OC, not necessary since battery life is more important to me.

QUOTE(sliqueliques @ May 26 2011, 12:06 PM)
guys..what music player that can play flac file?
yup. stock app and also poweramp.

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ May 26 2011, 01:40 PM)
guys...if i buy sgs now and go back home, what is the things that i need to do 1st?if i want to use stock rom atm. or root and flash custom rom instead? what is the best rom for sgs currently? thanks!  notworthy.gif
go back home?

QUOTE(Witchblade @ May 26 2011, 01:42 PM)
better u try bro...MIUI very eye catchy..and CM7 build summore...current ver is 3.1.1 stable release....
Indeed. But not to apple haters tongue.gif

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 26 2011, 02:29 PM)
mean u lose the imei, u lose the apps.. thumbup.gif
I cannot stress the importance of backing up IMEI before flashing roms

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ May 26 2011, 02:31 PM)
Dunno, I am a positive person, I always use legit apps, no warez if I can help it unless for some reason I am blocked from installing something I need/want.  nod.gif  nod.gif
+1

QUOTE(janov @ May 26 2011, 02:58 PM)
i can answer that, so that the authorities can track and spy on every single person on this planet one day. even on FB, its a good tool to track and see what we are up to, for us we just think FB is a fun thing. but of course they use the whole terror reasoning as an excuse to track everyone but in reality, the authorities want to keep a check on all of us. this is all in tune with the ultimate goal of global governance which is currently taking place. google "New World Order" and judge for yourself. tell me who controls the way we think. of cos most people are just gonna call me a conspiracy theorist. all about perception i guess, only time will tell.

sorry for the of topic. but sifu kmrdeva positive reasoning does make sense as well, its good to be positive but not all the time  brows.gif
Never post personal infos/rants/hate in the facebook. My university dean actually snoops his students fb activity shakehead.gif

QUOTE(sora_world07 @ May 26 2011, 03:33 PM)
sold off my galaxy s... will now convert to s2 soon. bye bye thread smile.gif
good for you!

QUOTE(Witchblade @ May 26 2011, 03:54 PM)
but S2 overrated...and overpriced
I beg to differ. IMO sgs II is currently the best smartphone. Surely it can hold for a few months. I'm expecting kal-el processor
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 09:07 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 26 2011, 05:17 PM)
but the price now is only 2099? many rumours say 2099 only. feel like buying also.even buy also wont sell my sgs.  tongue.gif
I thought RM2099 is the current retail price for our sgs. sgs II cannot be that cheap.
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 09:21 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 26 2011, 06:47 PM)
yeah SGS II is absolutely the best smartphone right now. but it can't be an audiophile device.
supercurio did a little analysis and he found out that Samsung uses Yamaha audio chip on SGS II, which doesn't perform quite as well as Wolfson WM8994 on its predecessor (SGS)
Very unfortunate for audiophiles sad.gif
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 09:29 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 26 2011, 06:51 PM)
then how to sync sms?
I use sms backup+. I made it to automatically backup sms into gmail every 24hrs. can restore after flashing a new rom. the other popular app is "sms backup and restore"
TSgmhafiz
post May 26 2011, 09:38 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ May 26 2011, 07:04 PM)
Whats is the most smooth and less bug prone GB custom ROM now?

Im running darky9.4 now and been bugged by bug where sometimes I cant receive calls and sometimes I cant hear what the other ppl talk.

I was tempted to upgrade to darky 10.1 but heard there is still a lot bugs. Especially user reported bloodly lag in gallery...

Btw, how is CM7 now?It is stable to flash?
cm7&miui are not recommended. they are lag-less but are still under development.

I heard juwe's is stable.

Added on May 26, 2011, 9:49 pm1. For those following cm7 dev thread. a repository of system fonts (300 of them!): http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=801160

edify version for cm7/miui: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...&postcount=1006

other roms, use the normal zip file.

2. you can also use font changer (root) from market. tried that and it also works
- download the app
- copy the .ttf font file into your sdcard and move it into /system/apps
- open the app and set fonts directory to /system/app
- select the app and reboot

- I now use Gabriola.ttf
- launcher pro with custom dock background
- xperia arc cm7 theme

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 26 2011, 10:17 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 27 2011, 01:04 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(medichloreans @ May 26 2011, 07:50 PM)
I think i can share latest google maps.
it's a freeware rite?

which file i should choose. I'm using ramad's JVH

and about ADB, can i just use File Expert and delete Maps.apk from system/app
- not freeware, it is a hacked version of google maps
- don't know. try each one
- I believe so, or root explorer

QUOTE(basSist @ May 26 2011, 10:29 PM)
anyone know how to replace the battery icon for a percentage displaying one?
ultimate online kitchen
http://uot.dakra.lt/
TSgmhafiz
post May 27 2011, 06:16 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Orcamaniac @ May 27 2011, 11:49 AM)
Hey Guys, you are welcome to join ADF (Android Developers Forum) on facebook to discuss the latest android news and topics. BTW, there are many SGS owners too!

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_111276488950928
I've joined that group since it was first mentioned here (when it was intel android forum) . It's more like a news portal with malaysian android users.
TSgmhafiz
post May 28 2011, 01:04 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lutfie @ May 27 2011, 10:27 PM)
hello guys... mind if I ask a question?
why my sgs cant play mp4?
cry.gif
you should be able to, by using stock video and music app
TSgmhafiz
post May 28 2011, 01:25 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lutfie @ May 27 2011, 10:39 PM)
before this, I'm running Darky's 9.5 and it's fine to play mp4.
now, I'm running Juwe's 4.3.1 with DamianGTO kernel and it cant play mp4.
Is it comes from the kernel or rom's problem?
all samsung photoshop rom like darkyy, juwe, docs, etc should be able to play mp4 format. couldn't be kernel or rom problem unless the codec was removed/broken by the rom author. did you played the same mp4 file?

try searching the xda juwe thread if anyone else has the same problem.
TSgmhafiz
post May 28 2011, 03:20 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

first time trying swiftkey: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.t...key.phone.trial

also, miro4 music & video management is out. can sync with android www.miro.com http://arstechnica.com/open-source/news/20...tm_campaign=rss

Added on May 28, 2011, 3:26 am
QUOTE(lutfie @ May 27 2011, 11:39 PM)
rock player, vplayer, stock video player...
How about applying lagfix?
anyone know how to apply lagfix for video?
there's no lagfix for video

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 28 2011, 03:26 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 28 2011, 08:25 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ May 28 2011, 01:40 AM)
Tweaky Rom is the only rom that gives me superb batt life. I've tried few GB roms before and still got batt drain but not with Tweaky!

at least it last for 1 day, unlike cm7 which lasted me 8 hours on heavy use

I'm a very happy user now happy.gif

Added on May 28, 2011, 4:32 amsorry for noob question, is there any OC kernel for GB?
my cm7 rom lasts all day thanks to greenpower battery app. it works since i don't need data to be switched on all the time.

however, i will try tweaky rom

QUOTE(lutfie @ May 28 2011, 06:17 AM)
DamianGTO is a super fast kernel...
one that I will not touch and should be sued for violating GPL

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 28 2011, 07:57 AM)
errrr...photoshop rom??
edit formatting lari
photoshop rom is modified samsung roms. they are all relied on sasmsung touchwiz framework. aosp rom doesn't use this. this explains why samsung's app are incompatible with aosp rom such as cm7

QUOTE(aiklone1314 @ May 28 2011, 10:27 AM)
may i know why my applanet cant connect to the network? i used to be able to connect using 3g or wifi before, but now when i try to connect using 3g solely, it shows network error,why??previously can one, no problem..
maybe your phone doesn't want you to pirate app tongue.gif

QUOTE(silentser @ May 28 2011, 12:18 PM)
dont you afraid about burn the AMOLED pixel?
but the pictures move around the screen. should prevent pixels from burned. if you guys use the dock and have the screen switched on during the night, you could get pixel burning (especially the notification bar burn)

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 28 2011, 09:02 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 29 2011, 12:50 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 28 2011, 10:07 PM)
wanna ask that is it locked bootloader phone will not get any official update anymore?like froyo to gngerbread. only stuck at froyo cant update to gingerbread?
locked bootloader = can root but custom not possible
unlocked bootloader = can root and have custom rom

samsung's smartphone including our sgs and sgs II have no locked bootloader. locking bootloader is done by OEM (htc, samsung, motorola etc). If you root and install custom rom, you won't be able to get official update by official means (like kies) unless you flash back stock rom.

off topic but slightly related: htc was pressured to unlock bootloader in their future smartphone lineup. otherwise people will buy sgsII over htc sensation for cyanogenmod
TSgmhafiz
post May 29 2011, 01:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ May 28 2011, 10:32 PM)
boss, is it possible to restore to factory settings when the phone is on custom rom?

kinda needa restore the phone but i believe it's running of custom rom now, just gotten it yday 2nd hand  icon_question.gif  sweat.gif
wow, it's been a couple of days and you already run a custom rom? You are a true androidian!

Please describe what you mean by factory settings. If you mean going back to the original state of the phone from samsung, then the answer is yes. The original, or stock roms are available for download. They are available for download. Our rom is south east asia region (version DXJPE 2.2). Download link can be found in the first page. They are odin package. Once you flashed that, samsung repair centre would never knew you had rooted and install custom rom on your phone.

If factory reset, they only delete all downloaded apps. But your custom rom is still there.
TSgmhafiz
post May 29 2011, 01:39 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ May 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
err it's actually my dad's phone n i want it to be as stock as possible b4 he starts using it

baseband version - i9000DXJPA

Kernel version - 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1

build number - froyo.DXJPA

so it official stock rom n safe to just restore to factory settings from the phone itself?
Yes you can do factory reset. although DXJPA is not the latest, it is still an official rom.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 28 2011, 10:58 PM)
Just flashed to Turbo Ginger.

After done, booting up. First impression, kena spammed with apps FC. I haven't even start the registration steps yet!!! doh.gif

EDIT: then it rebooted itself and forever kena boot-loop. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
- If flashing to a new rom always clear cache and clear dalvik cache. Format data apps if you get FC - can do in CWM recovery mode.
- If upgrading from the same rom, no need to do the above steps although wiping cache and dalvik cache won't do any harm at all. Just that first boot will be longer.

TSgmhafiz
post May 29 2011, 01:46 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 28 2011, 11:01 PM)
Ok, I go wipe it now. Hope it works.

I flashed back to the JVK leaked rom then CF it then only flash TG.

EDIT: cache wipe whatever there is to clear done. Still boot-loop. I shouldn't use CF kernel flash perhaps?

According to this link, author asked to flash Speedmod... Froyo version. doh.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1010860

Dunno to laugh or cry.

Added on May 29, 2011, 1:35 amOk, try GingerReal now instead.
haha, next time read the instruction carefully. btw I looked into gingerreal rom first page. very clean like insanity, not messy like darkyy or simplyhoney. Now I'm tempted to try that rom

Added on May 29, 2011, 1:47 am
QUOTE(2kia @ May 28 2011, 11:14 PM)
aight thx a lot bro, appreciate it!

gotta get it done by this weekend n teach dad a thing or two bout android in general.

i myself am using the el-cheapo csl mi300 so nvr had any exp wit samsung.  tongue.gif
all the best!

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 29 2011, 01:47 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 29 2011, 01:55 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 28 2011, 11:24 PM)
LOL! half a day?! never mind, practise make perfect. next time u will flash your phone within 15min.haha.
Or flash in the toilet, and while riding a scooter. I did that. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSgmhafiz
post May 29 2011, 02:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 28 2011, 11:29 PM)
WTF?! riding a scooter? notworthy.gif  the max i did was flash while driving.
Booted into recovery and navigate my through the cwm with one hand. The other hand I use to ride the scooter. This was during doc's rom earlier days. I was alone at the road anyway tongue.gif

Warning: Kids, don't do this!

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0550sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:52 PM