10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

TSgmhafiz
post May 13 2011, 09:02 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(isaaclimhw @ May 13 2011, 06:09 AM)
well i think that darkyrom final v10 is super stable. what problems are u encountering? ic3joker?

Added on May 13, 2011, 8:52 ambtw. what launcher are u guys using? i'm using zeam so far liking it! smile.gif
zeam is a minimalist and a very fast launcher.

i use go launcher ex since it is very functional while still being smooth.

TSgmhafiz
post May 13 2011, 10:14 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

there's an excellent piece of journalism here, thisismynext.com/2011/05/12/google-android-skyhook-lawsuit-motorola-samsung/

now i know why my Google maps reported me being in Seattle while i was in India (when using wifi instead of GPS). later firmware upgrades fixed this later on.
TSgmhafiz
post May 13 2011, 10:03 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(itman2000my @ May 13 2011, 02:12 PM)
Guys and Gals,

Something weird i want to clarify when using CM7 kernel + MIUI v4.1....

When the HP is OFF, and i charge the HP, somehow after u plug in, the HP becomes ALIVE!! tongue.gif hehehehe....

ALIVE means, the HP started by itself and then the HP is at the homescreen!! tongue.gif

Anyone hv this issue??

TIA
known issue.

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 13 2011, 03:50 PM)
what I heard from others and my own deduction:
-Tweaky JVH got some issues, less stable. but got XME CSC and TW4
-Juwe JBH is stable and smooth. but UI kinda sucks (full black)
-Goatrip JVH is even smoother, can add/remove system apps easily with Goatool. but got problem with kernel coz it use DamianGTO kernel. I really hate that guy. dah lah english broken.

I'm still on Goatrip 1.9 with CFroot kernel. sometimes my phone freezes and my front camera not working, but too malas to flash new rom. unless someone "poison" me.
hmm, so no perfect jvh rom yet? seems like no one wants doc's rom.

QUOTE(digilife @ May 13 2011, 06:38 PM)
my Galaxy is on Froyo 2.2 and rooted ( i din do the upgrade and rooting myself as i am a noob)

when i do a factory reset on the fon, and reboot i am stuck at the left and right keys blinking stage sweat.gif

what should i do now?
can you pull out battery and try reboot? if still can't, pull battery again, reinsert, go to download mode. (press volume down, home and power button simultaneously).

QUOTE(Bap3 @ May 13 2011, 06:53 PM)
where to find stock JVH with bootloader..in order to flash Juwe's ROM..must flashed stock JVH with bootloader..
correct, can use ezbase 3.0. jpu is also possible but ezbase is easier.

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ May 13 2011, 07:11 PM)
can anyone tell me what is bootloader?
in simple terms, it loads things and boots(open) your phone.

if you got a corrupted bootloader, it is bricked (blank screen). no choice but to send to samsung repair centre.

Added on May 13, 2011, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(Bap3 @ May 13 2011, 07:30 PM)
xda server overload...cannot visit the page..walauweiii
happened before. I feel your pain.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 13 2011, 10:06 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 13 2011, 11:29 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(FormalCat @ May 13 2011, 08:50 PM)
guys, can you recommend me a good notifier? noled doesnt seem to be working for me.
Alternative to noled is BackLightNotification (BLN)

I'm not aware of JVH battery bug. Is it documented somewhere?
TSgmhafiz
post May 13 2011, 11:44 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ May 13 2011, 09:09 PM)
Found a lot of CRT + Overscroll grow for JVH.... But could not find a with CRT + Overscroll grow + Extended power menu... Wanna keep the theme as stock as possible.. Anyone help?
See xda sgs theme list: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=953450

Find one compatible with JVH. See there's any. If not, you can make your own smile.gif
TSgmhafiz
post May 14 2011, 01:52 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(farouksters_69 @ May 13 2011, 11:03 PM)
help!
i'm stuck quite a long time at factoryfs.rfs when im trying to flash ezbase as suggestion on post #4..is it normal?
should i wait for more?
Still having this problem after 15-20 minutes??

If yes, pull out battery, reboot to download mode. Pray that you won't brick your phone.

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ May 13 2011, 11:18 PM)
erm...

y is DamianGTO kernel been mentioned as 'warez'?? went to check out Goatrip, but it seems no dl link available.. the thread closed pulak.

wat the .. amender tu GPL ke aper.

edit. lately, my goatrip 1.8 been givin prob. apps force close and stuff. tried wipe cache  / dalvik still occurs. thus thinkin of upgrading to jvh goatrip. but. aduh! huhu
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNU_General_Public_License

One important reason why linux has been successful and in turn, android.
TSgmhafiz
post May 14 2011, 11:51 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(farouksters_69 @ May 14 2011, 08:40 AM)
ok. manage to enter download mod now. Which one is the official rom to flash back then?
latest for south east asia is dxjpe (2.2). the phone will start lagging in no time, not mentioning about GPS problem.

odin flashing can be a hit it or miss. since the size of the bootloader is very small, chance of bricking is extremely small as well. as long as you can enter download mode, you are fine.

if you have cwm in recovery mode, you can try skipping dxjpe and flash any custom froyo/gb rom. if got problem, you'd have to use ezbase.

QUOTE(Witchblade @ May 14 2011, 09:10 AM)
wanna try latest MIUI ROM..
pls guide me how to downgrade from Darky rc6 to stock froyo 2.2
flash ezbase 2.0.
TSgmhafiz
post May 14 2011, 12:00 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Witchblade @ May 14 2011, 09:25 AM)
ezbase 2.0 or 3.0
ezbase 2.0 for froyo - flash this if you are going to flash froyo custom rom later.

ezbase 3.0 for gingerbread - flash this if you are going to flash gb custom later.

both version files can be downloaded from the same thread.
TSgmhafiz
post May 14 2011, 12:39 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(farouksters_69 @ May 14 2011, 09:55 AM)
always got stuck at <ID:0/006> factoryfs.rfs . Is this because of bootloader version? BTW im using with bootloaders version. Please help  icon_question.gif
maybe you got a corrupted download. check file integrity with md5.
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 02:01 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(farouksters_69 @ May 15 2011, 03:23 PM)
1st im trying to flash EZbase 3.0 as on post#4. But get stuck for 4 hours at factoryrs.rfs.
Then try to pulling out battery put it back. Cant turn on phone. But after few hours. Manage to put into download mode.
Try to flash http://www.theandroidsoul.com/how-to-insta...galaxy-s-i9000/ this. And stuck again at same spot.
After hours pull out battery again. Dang! cant turn on phone up until now.
rclxub.gif
Have you tried ezbase 2.0?

Added on May 16, 2011, 2:07 am
QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ May 15 2011, 03:29 PM)
how to install CWM? other than using rom manager..
flash custom kernel

QUOTE(chris7524 @ May 15 2011, 04:10 PM)
I notice that my gf sgs superamoled is different with mine.
I bought mine on 21 July 2010 ori set from maxis (m/d May 2010)
My gf bought on 10 May 2011 ap set (m/d April 2011)

My gf sgs superamoled is more yellow (warm) than mine
My gf sgs is very yellow (warm color) when look from low angle compare to mine
can change colour profile in voodoo infused kernels like spedmod kernel

QUOTE(zambosan @ May 15 2011, 07:21 PM)
Is it safe to use ezbase3.0 using the guide from 1st page
It should. Check the thread and read through it.

QUOTE(s30ckf @ May 15 2011, 08:44 PM)
When I use mp3 file as ringtone, the volume is smaller than Samsung default's audio file from the phone. Is there the way to make the mp3 file can play same level with the default audio file ?

Beside, how to set the SMS tone to the desire tone?
Use ringdroid

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 16 2011, 02:07 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 03:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(paull98 @ May 16 2011, 12:37 AM)
Hi Guys,

I just bought this phone and was using other android phone with Digi smart plan previously. After changing my sim card to this new phone i couldn't get the data to work, the data enabled sign beside the signal bar just wouldn't appear no matter what settings i have. I got Use packet data checked and network mode set to GSM/WCDMA (auto mode). After resetting the phone to factory default still can't solve the problem. I am sure the data plan on the sim is activated because i was using previously on my old android phone.

Please help if anyone know what's happening.
Hi, welcome to thread.

have you checked with the first page under APN settings subheading for digi?
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 03:24 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(anDers0N86 @ May 16 2011, 12:51 PM)
Hi there..i'm new here and i'm using Galaxy S now..it's a maxis set and still stock 2.1 Eclair..and i read alot in this thread but still can't understand how to root or custom flash..my friend say he can do it for RM150 and he say just wait for 2.3 Gingerbread and he help me to root too..is that worth/? icon_question.gif
don't let your friend scam you. rooting & flashing custom rom is easier. we are all here to help you FOC.

just tell us which part in the first page you did not understand.
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 05:07 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 16 2011, 02:33 PM)
Hi All, I'm on CM7 already, GB 2.3.4.  thumbup.gif

But how do I get back all the necessary Google Apps?

Market, Gtalk, Gmail (for contact sync), Maps and etc?
You need to flash gapps through CWM: http://goo-inside.me/gapps/gapps-gb-20110307-signed.zip

refer: http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/17020-a...s-experimental/
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 05:39 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 16 2011, 02:51 PM)
Thanks Bro!

My phone felt like a "stupid phone" now, without all these value added stuffs. tongue.gif
Hi gmhafiz,

Mind adding these links to the Flashing CM7 mod section?

Instructions on XDA was wayyyyyyyyyy too long to read.  laugh.gif
done. i've just reflashed the whole thing back (from ezbase 2.0). I believe I've switched on HSDPA. Now i need to go to an HSDPA covered area to test this out.
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 06:58 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 16 2011, 04:18 PM)
I haven't use 3G yet cause haven't restore my watchdog apps. sad.gif

I used EZBase 3.0 to flash to CM7, cause I can't find a copy of EZBase 2.0. It's fine, right?

BTW, I can't use *#CSC*IMEI# anything, nothing happens. Aside from that, it prompts me for SIM PIN. It doesn't reset all the settings, or this is normal?  Should I redo?

Google Maps is not in *sigh*

Lots of work to be done.
- should use ezbase 2.0 because it contains froyo bootloader. ezbase 3.0 has gingerbread bootloader.

- those are samsung secret codes. they only work with stock samsung and its derivatives.

- don't know about sim pin.

- you should be prompted to select google maps after flashing gapps. otherwise, just install one from the market. CM7 is an AOSP containing only open source softwares. google apps, unfortunately are not this is why they are excluded from cm7 package.
TSgmhafiz
post May 16 2011, 07:32 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 16 2011, 04:44 PM)
Anyway, the phone managed to boot, so it's ok. But I noticed CM7 also removed the phone off battery animation, right?

There are some weird feel to CM7, still coping with it.  sweat.gif
There are screen on & off inside CM7 settings > Display

also I immediately switch to GO launcher ex. default adw launcher with its live wallpaper is too ugly for my taste. I tried cyan. I also uses mau5KANG theme.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 16 2011, 07:34 PM
TSgmhafiz
post May 17 2011, 03:25 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ May 16 2011, 06:13 PM)
Ok there's something seriously wrong with my SGS...

Flashed to JVH 2 days ago, was ok not much problem only slight choppy since i got weather widget, clock widget, and so on...

The main annoyance is this... I LOCKED my phone and put into my pocket which is empty by the way so no way of unlocking it unless i bring it out and unlock it myself, the problem is when i look at the SMS...there's some weird msges saved as draft on MULTIPLE of my conversation (dont think the phone so smart knows how to spam a bit then go out and spam another conversation of mine right).

Another thing is, PARTS of my touchscreen including the touch sensitive buttons (menu and back) malfunctions randomly...

I dont know wats wrong and i havent done anything to it yet...

My configurations now is as below
Ramad's deodexed JVH rooted with CF-root with ext4 enabled
TW4, with SGS2 lockscreen applied as well.

Can someone pls help me with this issue
do a factory reset or reflash that rom. then check each app installation for possible malware. install lookout antivirus as well.

if the problem persists, flash to official stock rom, dxjpe

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 16 2011, 07:35 PM)
Nah, I think that's another extended April Fool's day joke by Samsung. biggrin.gif

Flahed Gtalk v1.3 over my CM7 GB 2.3.4. Video feed still not working, nor can my Gtalk pick up calls. That's unfortunate, as it works just likw on 2.3.3.

HTC Desire already able to receive/send video/call feeds on its Gtalk on 2.3.4. Haih...
HTC desire do not have front facing camera right? I have the pulled gapps 0503 (2.3.4 nexus s version) which supposed to have partial gtalk video chat. but I'm still finding someone to test this on hsdpa.

on another note, edge and hsdpa switching works but I needed to switch off data first. this is a cumbersome procedure but at least it works.

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ May 16 2011, 08:17 PM)
after root the phone and flash the kernel but maintain stock,next time can update though kies?will all contact will gone if save at the phone?it is any different after root and flash kernel but using stock rom?currently so lag
there will be a significant improvement after you use custom kernel with stock rom.

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ May 17 2011, 12:35 AM)
my sgs video recorder not working.message show - the application camera (process com.sec.android.app.camera)has stopped unexpectedly.pls try again.How to fix it?camera is working.only video recorder cant work
clear app cache in settings, then force close it. after that try reopen the camera app.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 17 2011, 03:29 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 17 2011, 03:44 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ May 17 2011, 01:07 AM)
where to find the app cache in setting?i ord root my phone but i open titanum backup why it show - i could not acquire root privileges.pls verify that your rom is rooted and includesmbusybox
settings > applications > manage applications > all > camera

click clear cache, clear data, force close

then reopen the app. see if that works.

i guess you've flashed speedmod kernel only but you didn't root by going into recovery mode right? you need to go there. I forgot the exact steps since I'm on CM7. you'd need to root and install busybox.

use volume rocker to navigate up and down, back button to select.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: May 17 2011, 03:48 AM
TSgmhafiz
post May 17 2011, 03:50 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 17 2011, 01:18 AM)
i suggest we should fill in a form to ask about problem facing,with that we can save more time and let others more clear about the situation.
the form should include something like this,
current rom and kernel:
previous rom and kernel:
rooted or not:
what u did before this problem occur:
problem :
just my suggestion. :-)
great idea. will do that.
TSgmhafiz
post May 17 2011, 11:11 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 17 2011, 05:04 AM)
Eh.. you flash custom rom and they flash it back to official rom for you? I'm thinking of going back to official rom (to test the Wifi & heat issues) but seeing tat most documentation says I need ODIN which I cant run on my OSX. I was wondering how to get it to stock form before sending it back to the service center. Wanna check it before out of warranty
can use heimdall for osx.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 17 2011, 08:23 AM)
No 1 has any advice on getting Swype (with Chinese as well) back into CM7? sad.gif
I don't remember reading about swype.on cm7. try searching for it in cm7 q&a and dev section.

you can try insanity swype package as well. I don't think it'd work but what's the harm.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:19 AM