5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

kmrdeva
post May 25 2011, 06:04 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(syeng @ May 25 2011, 06:01 PM)
i see most of u guys with cm7 using stock kernel.. custom kernel not good?
No la, am pretty happy with stock cm7 kernel.
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 12:02 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ May 25 2011, 10:29 PM)
Use root explorer to clear up some space on your /system partition. According to the error message, you just need about 700KB of space for the CF3D driver installation.
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 09:28 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 26 2011, 09:19 AM)
opera way of browsing fb is not so nice..when you click 'see more stories', it will expand the page, not taking you to 2nd page like stndard browser..

or am i missing any setting to disable this?

other then that, this is my fav browser  thumbup.gif
not sure, buddy. I use fb app and tweetdeck for my Facebook stuff.. maybe need to change opera mobile user agent string to desktop browser mode?
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 09:56 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(cloud666 @ May 26 2011, 09:52 AM)
miren browser ftw
I used to really like Miren in the earlier days when Dolphin Mini was crappy. But recently, I found that the new versions of both are the other way around, Miren is nice but UI sometimes stutters or doesn't feel as smooth. Dolphin Mini very slick UI now. Miren has more features, though, like forum mode, reading mode etc.

Currently hooked on Opera Mobile with Dolphin Mini as standby.
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 03:16 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(anonymus @ May 26 2011, 03:09 PM)
Hmm.. thinking on trying MIUI.. it got stated it is gingerbread 3.3.4.. but in the instruction stated need to flash froyo 1st?No need to flash to ginger 1st? blush.gif
2.3.4, not 3.3.4.

MIUI is based on CM7 which needs to run on top of Froyo bootloader, not Gingerbread bootloader on the SGS. Hence the need for you to be on Froyo + bootloader before u consider moving to MIUI or CM7.
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 04:40 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ May 26 2011, 04:10 PM)
guys...if i buy sgs now and go back home, what is the things that i need to do 1st?if i want to use stock rom atm. or root and flash custom rom instead? what is the best rom for sgs currently? thanks!  notworthy.gif
You should probably read the first few posts of this thread first smile.gif Trust me, loads and loads of great info available.

Added on May 26, 2011, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(VinceLee @ May 26 2011, 04:36 PM)
hey guys, i currently using this app : https://market.android.com/details?id=com.lbe.security

i see that many apps are ask to get IMEI like GoWeather, titanium backup, etc
why these apps need IMEI?
Thinking positively, I'd say maybe the makers of the apps want to track how many unique devices install their apps. For example, if I have 3 android devices signed into the market with the same google account, I can install Titanium Backup paid license in all 3 devices but 1 time purchase only.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 26 2011, 04:44 PM
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 05:01 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ May 26 2011, 04:57 PM)
but if think negatively? what will happen?
Dunno, I am a positive person, I always use legit apps, no warez if I can help it unless for some reason I am blocked from installing something I need/want. nod.gif nod.gif
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 05:42 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(janov @ May 26 2011, 05:28 PM)
i can answer that, so that the authorities can track and spy on every single person on this planet one day. even on FB, its a good tool to track and see what we are up to, for us we just think FB is a fun thing. but of course they use the whole terror reasoning as an excuse to track everyone but in reality, the authorities want to keep a check on all of us. this is all in tune with the ultimate goal of global governance which is currently taking place. google "New World Order" and judge for yourself. tell me who controls the way we think. of cos most people are just gonna call me a conspiracy theorist. all about perception i guess, only time will tell.

sorry for the of topic. but sifu kmrdeva positive reasoning does make sense as well, its good to be positive but not all the time  brows.gif
Ha ha, of course not always positive la, that's a bit 'mental' already.

It's like sex, some level of protection is needed - try to be an informed user and be wary of what you click/install/do/say online. No need to be paranoid though, I don't think Google or Obama really wants to know what colour my shit was this morning. Nevertheless, do realise that information is power, so don't leave your privacy settings especially on social networking sites all open like a prostitute's legs. All those contests and games u play on FB, every one of them can harvest your data and access your profile. It's not possible to be 100% protected, but try to minimise your level of exposure only la, I guess.

Added on May 26, 2011, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 26 2011, 04:59 PM)
mean u lose the imei, u lose the apps.. thumbup.gif
Sure ka? I think not many apps on Android platform actually track licensing/purchase by IMEI, some exceptions being RockPlayer and PhoneWeaver (both which I am stupidly stuck with on my SGS IMEI after I purchased them).

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 26 2011, 05:44 PM
kmrdeva
post May 26 2011, 05:46 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(janov @ May 26 2011, 05:45 PM)
Good thinking, thats why ur a sifu  tongue.gif
No la, still learning also sweat.gif sweat.gif
kmrdeva
post May 27 2011, 12:31 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(s30ckf @ May 26 2011, 11:45 PM)
Where u get the Dolphin Mini apps? I try to get it at market.android but it say "This item cannot be installed in your device's country"....
On my rooted phone, I always run MarketAccess to emulate a US SIM before I launch the Market app to download, install or update apps. Backup 50216 (Digi) and restore after I am done.
kmrdeva
post May 30 2011, 11:29 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 30 2011, 11:18 PM)
I am using Darky v9.5 Extreme.  When I first install this rom with faster fix I did get pretty fast gps lock, but then most of the time it just won't work.  When a read sgs forum post, i notice this is a very widespread problem.  My friend have Samsung Wave and he is facing the same problem too.
quite an old custom rom u have there, I think. I never have any issues with GPS lock and foursquare lock with my sgs running cm7.

anyway, I do agree that for out of the box smooth and excellent functionality, the iphone4 is one of the best if not the best smartphone for users. however for a techie like me, ios for all its wide app collection and great functionality is too limiting for me. different strokes for different folks, I guess.
kmrdeva
post May 30 2011, 11:33 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 30 2011, 11:23 PM)
Will CM fix the horrifying battery issue? That's the only major complaint I have, aside from the hunt for Swype and some necessary goodies bundled with Sammy.
what horrifying battery issue? latest cm7 nightly seems to drain slightly more (very slightly) than stock jvo rom, for me. nothing compared to the old days of cm7, but your mileage may vary.. depends on usage, apps loaded, user behaviour etc, which is why for every happy cm7 user, there is at least another unhappy user.
kmrdeva
post May 30 2011, 11:36 PM

4,776 posts

zero lag and no fc so far on cm7 for me. maybe I am just lucky or maybe I don't stress my phone much. plus I never install any warez at all - everything installed is really foc, donate version or paid app.
kmrdeva
post May 30 2011, 11:52 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 30 2011, 11:36 PM)
Running on HSDPA with my usual sync, on weekends (meaning LNT was synced at every 2 hours instead of push)

Unplugged at around 1pm, dried at 6:30pm. With occasionally surfing and minimal GPS (for testing).  sweat.gif
dunno what LNT is. on weekends, my phone leaves the charger at 8am, with 100%. 3g/hsdpa always on, wifi always on, bt always on (more convenient for me), gps always on, brightness at auto, gmail/gtalk/whatsapp always enabled for push notification with maybe total of 1 hour active usage, foursquare checkins everywhere I go, tweetdeck manual refresh with some posts/comments on tw/fb, occasional web browsing, about 30mins of voice calls, 5-10 SMS, some light camera usage, heavy xda premium (tapatalk) usage. back home around 10pm with 40% left in my 2700mah battery. not sure if the stock 1500mah batt can handle my usage though.
kmrdeva
post May 30 2011, 11:59 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 30 2011, 11:50 PM)
Not really an old rom.  Gingerbread is still very new for SGS and I am still waiting for custom GB too be more stable before I flash again.  I am thinking of flashing to Darky's Extreme Edition v10.1 ★ JVH ★ Fast. Sleek. Beautiful.  How is Darky compare to Juwe?
you can always try gb stock rom (jvo?) with tweaked kernel supporting ext4 lagfix (cf-root?) first while waiting for custom gb roms to stabilise (are they not stable already?). I install this combination for all my sgs buddies who are either technically not familiar with flashing tasks or not comfortable with bleeding edge stuff.

so far no complaints, other than them making noise about my cm7 being so much quicker.

darky, I left that rom some months back and juwe, I've never tried, sorry. can't comment on either.
kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 12:11 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ May 31 2011, 12:00 AM)
for those who are on cm7. can you please check your video recording? try to record anything that is moving for 30 seconds and then playback. does it choppy? no matter what nightly i try, the playback is choppy, but the sound is fine
haihh..
motion is choppy, yes. playback choppy due to recording issue, I think. nothing I can't live without for now. have just applied unofficial nightly 'kang' release, will test again. have u also tested with codeworkz's 'darknightly 28/5' release?
kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 10:59 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 31 2011, 10:53 AM)
Actually we are in a shade and not indoor when that happen but i have to go out from the shade into the open and wait like a minute to get a lock on the gps while the apple thing can do it happily in the shade. 

Anyway, i will try other rom and hopefully things will improve.  But one thing for sure is that my next phone for my wife will be iphone 5.  She has always wanted an iphone4 but i thought i give android a try. And if its good, i might be able to convince her to use the SGS, but looks like android is a no no for me as I am also very disappointed with the applications as compare to my ipad.  No point having a great hardware without fancy apps.  That is just my opinion.
I empathize with you, buddy. It does look like iOS platform suits your needs very well. As for me, I don't need so many apps on my phone, so far I have everything I need on my SGS and being able to be almost totally free of the PC (ala iTunes) is one of the main reasons I am sticking with Android. My SGS is like a portable PC for me, no longer just a smartphone.
kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 11:27 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 31 2011, 11:18 AM)
Iphone 5 will be for my wife as almost all her friends is having iphones.  Its simple and works like a charm.  I will stick with my SGS. Cheers
You're quite resilient then smile.gif

A close buddy of mine is using a HTC Legend and is about to move to SGS2. His wife carrying an iPhone4 always asks him, 'Aiya, why you always troubleshooting your phone one, see my Apple always working fine'.. rclxub.gif
kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 03:22 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 31 2011, 11:37 AM)
did ur frend ask back his wife "can u bluetooth that song to my phone?"
I don't even think his wife knows the ip4 has bt laugh.gif
kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 08:15 PM

4,776 posts

Seems a top-secret latest nightly dated 30/May was leaked for CM7. Using it now, everything that was fast before seems even faster now.. biggrin.gif

Note : No official acknowledgement by the TeamHackSung guys about this signed nightly, could be malware for all I know. Try at your own risk.

http://www.multiupload.com/9XXN11YPBR

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0491sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:13 AM