5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!

kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 10:18 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 31 2011, 10:03 PM)
hey bro to flash to cm7 i just have to ezbase 2.0 and straight flash latest nightly and done?no need to flash kernel anymore right?
Should be correct (it's been some weeks since I started using CM7, memory is hazy).

From http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...252&postcount=1

- First time flashing CM 7 to your Galaxy S (or coming from another ROM)?
Make sure you're running a Eclair/Froyo Firmware (2.1 or 2.2) and Eclair/Froyo Bootloaders!
Root your device and install ClockworkMod Recovery.
Do a Nandroid backup!
WIPE (wipe data/factory reset + wipe cache partition)
Install the ROM from internal sdcard using ClockworkMod Recovery
Optionally install the Google Addon

kmrdeva
post May 31 2011, 10:53 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 31 2011, 10:36 PM)
thanks bro need double confirm damn scare to brick my phone.haha. so any big bugs  for latest version?
Well, you can read the steps listed on the forum URL I shared earlier. Should be hassle free as long as you have Froyo bootloader and CWM on your SGS after flashing ezbase 2.0 properly.

Big bugs for latest version? 720p video recording still jerky, mkv playback is crap, tv-out not working, fm radio not perfect yet, battery consumption still higher than samsung stock rom - do you consider these to be 'showstoppers'?
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 12:01 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ May 31 2011, 11:17 PM)
Can you please try record some video and take a look at it's playback? Is it still choppy? notworthy.gif
Sudden choppiness here and there during playback. Probably same as earlier nightlies, I think.

Added on June 1, 2011, 12:03 am
QUOTE(nasrulbond @ May 31 2011, 11:21 PM)
yo pcboyy, so now the miui already near perfection? no more choppy 720p video recording?
Choppy recorded 720p video playback or not, I could only tahan miui for a few hours. Flashed it off within the same day, maybe I got turned off by the iOS-like UI whistling.gif

Oh well, one man's meat is another's poison, choice is the power of Android notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 1 2011, 12:03 AM
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 12:09 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 12:05 AM)
can link me the latest gapps>?

one more thing, i should flash via update or install zip from sdcard? previous want using update so not sure with new want.
Didn't I give you the link to the CM stuff earlier? The gapps addon link is in there.
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 12:12 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 12:10 AM)
ohya forgotten. haha.
Here you go, anyway. Should be here if not in the xda-dev post I shared before. smile.gif

http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/18070-c...post__p__196605
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 12:17 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Jun 1 2011, 12:13 AM)
i think malaysia official gb coming real soon... miss the chinese input =.=

n i notice that mms cant send n auto retrieve on JVH dun know wads wrong. last time on offical froyo can send n receive without any prob
Chinese input can be had even in European roms, some of my friends are using euro JVO stock ROM with touchpal chinese keyboard and google pinyin ime keyboard.
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 01:46 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 01:42 AM)
hey bro u on secret right? how is it? any different compare to 14?
14 was slower, first thing i noticed when compared to the secret 28/05 and 30/05 nightlies. Also, tethering (usb and wifi) works again now. Me happy!
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 02:14 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 01:48 AM)

Added on June 1, 2011, 2:00 amafter tried up so many custom rom and stock rom still dont feel any one of them can beat the speed of cm7. only that they got more advantage on video calling and themes. tongue.gif
Good thing for me, the wife hates video calls (sh1t quality) tongue.gif A number of themes available for cm7, but for me the default one is fine.
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 11:08 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 1 2011, 10:47 AM)
I guess most people bought the iphones/ipads not to customise it but to use it.  Only a minority like us actually interested and know how to do it. 

I have an ipad and i'm fine with it not able to do much customisation.  But what i love about the ipad is the amount of quality  apps available and it hardly crash when I am using it.  My 2 girls, one 4 years old and the other 6 years old both love the ipad and my wife love it too.  I don't think they need all the cusomisation on the ipad at all.  What makes the iphone/ipad so successful is that it is simple and that is why my 2 kids know exactly how to operate it.  Just tab on the apps icon to launch it and home button to close it....it just work!

I will skip the ipad 2 and get the ipad 3, but one thing i know is that I will not get a andriod tablet.
I had an iPad 64GB 3G for 5 mths until I found someone on Mudah and barter swapped it for a new Galaxy Tab 3G. During that time I was installing apps and games left and right on the iPad (yes, the app collection is big!), and my 2 yr boy really liked to play the edu-apps on it.

However, in the end, the sheer size and weight of the iPad coupled with overdependence on iTunes (imho, the sh1ttiest part about the iOS ecosystem) and very poor web and file browsing experience made me go back to Android after the last 2 months of carrying the iPad around and rarely actually using it. Happy now, the Tab is light, not too big and suits my lifestyle (for now).

For the typical mainstream user, iOS offers a very compelling experience. Once you scratch the surface, though, for a user like myself, the experience is very limiting and I felt like a retard everytime I turned my old iPad on. I get the same feeling with Safari browser and OSX too, dunno why.. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Maybe Apple stuff is like durians. You either love them or you absolutely detest them. I have no problems with Apple the company, though, their constant innovations and market leadership have made computing and mobile technology all the more fun for everyone.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 1 2011, 11:40 AM
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 03:41 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 03:33 PM)
anyone on cm7? how to control those bln? using go sms and i already set to blink but still not blinking?
Latest nightlies don't support BLN anymore, if i am not mistaken.
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 03:54 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 1 2011, 03:46 PM)
flash a kernel will do? zach or bilbao or glitch?which one better?
codeworkx from teamhacksung (the guys who do the cm7 work for sgs) stated that we should not use custom kernels with latest nightlies (all those leaked after the official '14' nightly). I don't use BLN and I am staying away from custom cm7 kernels for now.
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 09:42 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jun 1 2011, 09:36 PM)
oh shiett I'm on #16 now.
you think this modem is compatible or not? they don't say anything about #16.
hmm can you give me list of all modem for #14 onwards? thanks in advance
modems compatible with cm7 #15 and above are at www.codeworkx.de/download/cyanogenmod/

Added on June 1, 2011, 9:44 pmI would say that 28/05 is #15 and 30/05 is #16..

Added on June 1, 2011, 9:45 pmand there was 'kang' nightly that I consider to be #14.5

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 1 2011, 09:45 PM
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 11:15 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 1 2011, 11:07 PM)
bros..if im starting cm7, i should flash this cm_galaxysmtd_full-14 right?
then can i update straight to the secret 16?
Assuming you have the pre-requisites fulfilled (e.g. Froyo bootloader), you should be able to flash to the secret #16 straight away.
kmrdeva
post Jun 1 2011, 11:40 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 1 2011, 11:25 PM)
is it?so its not like an update type of file?

just finished dl ezbase2.0..not sure want to try now or during weekend..
my hand is so itchy now
I don't think so. Seems that now you can apply any of the nightlies without needing any CM7 base - the recently leaked 'secret' nightlies are about the same size as those *full* files on http://download.cyanogenmod.com/?device=galaxysmtd. Give it a try, will probably take 15 mins or so. If it doesn't work, there's another 15 mins of ezbase to recover smile.gif

Myself, I was from ezbase 2.0 then to full*1-6-9-10-11-12-13-14-'kang'-0528 and now 0530, all updates (other than ezbase itself) were non-wipe upgrades.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 1 2011, 11:41 PM
kmrdeva
post Jun 2 2011, 07:07 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 2 2011, 01:03 AM)
always saw this when i hang up, DSPManager stopped unexpectedly. any one know what happen?
Not getting this, but then again, I have not enabled anything in DSPManager because I use Voodoo Control Plus.
kmrdeva
post Jun 2 2011, 10:50 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ Jun 2 2011, 10:24 AM)
yeay..im on cm7..not as hard as i expected..lol

question for cm7 senior users over here:
1) how to turn off camera shutter sound?
2) which gapps should i dl? this one gapps-gb-20110307-signed.zip? i flash this one and when it try to dl some google apps from market, most of it is not available
3) do we need to update the modem?what is the default modem came with the zip file?
4) CM7 rocks biggrin.gif
Not really a senior, but quite ok with CM7 la.

1) not sure, you may want to check the xda-dev forum thread on cm7-sgs for more info
2) correct zipfile. normally i marketaccess first to emulate US SIM, then I download the google apps I need
3) default modem should be fine unless you wanna experiment with others. default modem is xxjvk, I think
4) yes it does, and the newer the nightly release, the more CM7 rocks!

kmrdeva
post Jun 2 2011, 12:05 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Jun 2 2011, 12:01 PM)
guys. hows the batt life of the latest cm7?

Not a showstopper, about 3-5% drain per hour when idle for me. I am too addicted to CM7's speed to consider going back to Samsung stock or photoshop roms.

76% now at 12:07pm, 4hours27min on battery (since 7:30am). Momax 2700mah battery, so I don't know how things will be with the stock 1500mah batt.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 2 2011, 12:07 PM
kmrdeva
post Jun 2 2011, 12:09 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Jun 2 2011, 12:05 PM)
wat the advantage gb over froyo
I asked uncle Google - http://www.differencebetween.com/differenc...-3-gingerbread/
kmrdeva
post Jun 2 2011, 02:35 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Jun 2 2011, 02:28 PM)
bored dy. wana try MIUI or CM7
BTW, on CM7, Google Maps locks in my position very accurately and very very quickly, sometimes within 5-8 secs. Very useful for Foursquare check-ins. smile.gif
kmrdeva
post Jun 2 2011, 02:42 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Jun 2 2011, 02:39 PM)
i just flashed to CM7 last night, CM7 rocks!
Never felt my phone smooth like this before!
btw, i have received 1 mail about i recently bought a Nexus S, is it everyone flashed to CM7 received this?
Welcome to CM7 club smile.gif. Nope, no email received like you described.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0512sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:26 AM