Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Lowyat Forum V17, Super Amoled Screen with Gorilla Glass!
kmrdeva
May 22 2011, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 22 2011, 01:34 AM) guys dont simply set things in auto killer. just now i wanna lear more about auto killer and simply tick thing in advance seting now my phone keep bootlooping. LOL. have to flash my phone again. I kena this once or twice before, bootloop like crazy. Easy fix, boot to CWM then use ADB shell commands to delete the autokiller apk from the phone so that it will not start at boot again.
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(AnNamir @ May 23 2011, 09:14 AM) Noob Q: Is there any way to use Opera and it will not charge your prepaid credit? My friend using this phone and using default android 2.1. Thanks in advance  Wifi.
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 11:41 AM) if flash to the latest cm7, will it wipe? Flash to latest CM7 from which rom, buddy?
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 12:05 PM) from nightly built 05152011 I updated from 05152011 too, but via multiple nightlies (05152011 to _full-1, then _full-6, then _full-7, then _full-9, then _full-10 and now _full-11). http://cm-nightlies.appspot.com/?device=galaxysmtdNothing lost. I did the updates this way: 1. Boot into Recovery Mode (CWM 3.x for me) 2. Nandroid backup 3. Wipe Cache and Dalvik Cache 4. Apply Zip from SDCARD 5. Reboot Incidentally, I just paid for ROM Manager Premium, am gonna try the so-called easy update way next time
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 01:18 PM) i plan to download the latest and st8 boot into cwm and apply zip..can i do that without losing anything(sms, apps, etc)? In theory you should not lose anything. I have been doing CWM updates a few times now, nothing lost so far. However, it's always a good idea to do 3 things first before you flash via CWM - these steps don't take too much time (hardly 15 mins). 1. Titanium Backup 2. Nandroid Backup 3. Wipe Dalvik and Cache
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 02:44 PM) haha..i know but last i try to restore titanium backup from jvk to cm7, it crash and i have to reflash again.. then now i scare if i backup then titanium backup will mix with the jvk apps and data..so not dare to backup.. as for nandroid, i never tried b4 so no idea at all.. I always only restore user apps and data when moving from rom to rom. Never restore system data or system apps. So far no issues, nothing lost till date.
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 23 2011, 04:53 PM) then how u backup ur sms those? no backup? I am a paid user of Handcent. Backup to cloud, my friend  BTW, Titanium should also be able to restore messaging database as long as you're updating within the same android version (so far ok for me). I think you can consider backing up your messaging stuff to Gmail, I remember there are some apps for that. This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 23 2011, 05:38 PM
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 07:08 PM
It's always nice to see changelogs and then be able to click to download the latest nightly. http://cm-nightlies.appspot.com/?device=galaxysmtdDownloading as I type this. ROM Manager is really nice for getting and installing CM7 updates
kmrdeva
May 23 2011, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 23 2011, 09:22 PM) not necessary  paid license is for push notification of updates and automated backups.. you can still update cm7 via the free version of rom manager.
kmrdeva
May 24 2011, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(lch78 @ May 24 2011, 09:29 AM) CM7 is so tempting... I wonder when will the camera issues be rectified.. Probably sometime in 2025, based on what I've read in the xda-forum thread.
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(Tenggiling_Besi @ May 25 2011, 12:08 AM) sorry if i sounded so noob...just got my SGS this morning...is the official gingerbread already available? how can i update my beloved SGS? Welcome to the club. Enjoy reading, lots of info on the first few posts of this thread. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=42261558
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 03:46 AM
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 25 2011, 02:37 AM) true. but guide has to be written by someone who has actually did such transactions in malaysia  anyone can do it and I'll update first page. sadly, I still emulate US sim with marketaccess before launching the market to buy/update my apps. without marketaccess, sometimes certain updates for my paid apps don't appear. apps in market are bought via Google checkout and paid with my uob visa card - some problem with MasterCard e-security feature hence usage of visa card.
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(systemX @ May 25 2011, 10:03 AM) has anyone successfully flashed the CM7 nightly #13 without getting the IMEI as unknown? No problems here. I even used ROM Manager (Premium) to download the #13 zipfile, then I allowed it to auto nandroid backup, auto wipe dalvik and apply #13 in CWM. Reboot and tada!! I am on the #13 release in less than 15 mins. Added on May 25, 2011, 12:02 pmQUOTE(systemX @ May 25 2011, 11:57 AM) Did you come from stock or CM7 #11/#12? I came up to #13 from #12. This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 25 2011, 12:02 PM
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 25 2011, 02:04 PM) wanna ask if there anyone having bluetooth problem with cm7? In what sense? I only use BT for calls (daily) and music (sometimes). So far no problems using CM7 with my BT headset (Jawbone Icon).
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 25 2011, 02:18 PM) i try send file from my pc to phone..but so far only succeed once..after that always fail..not sure why.. Never tried that before. I use FTP for wireless file transfers from PC to phone (and vice versa).
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 25 2011, 03:36 PM) everytime u update, ALWAYS wite data partition and dalvik cache before install nightlies. otherwise weird things might happen  Wipe 'data' partition? Doesn't that wipe all apps off? I thought just wipe cache and dalvik?
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 25 2011, 04:37 PM) mind tell me the program name? Free app on phone, runs as an FTP server (can work over wifi and 3G if you want, can disable 3G connection too). It's called FTPServer by Andreas Liebig, can get it from the Market, From my PC, I just use filezilla ftp client to connect and do uploads/download tasks to the phone. Added on May 25, 2011, 4:45 pmQUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 25 2011, 04:42 PM) swiftp most probably. link and guide to set it up at first page. me OTOH uses qtadb for its added functions. SwiFTP does the same thing too. I prefer FTPServer because the WIFI IP and activity log are shown on the main window of the app. This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 25 2011, 04:45 PM
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 25 2011, 04:49 PM) ok..thanks..btw,cm7 14 out  Downloading.. 9 mins to go
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(syeng @ May 25 2011, 05:33 PM) i hate adw on cm7... can i delete it n replace it with launcherpro? I do it all the time. I remove ADW after every nightly update, using Titanium Backup.
kmrdeva
May 25 2011, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(syeng @ May 25 2011, 05:46 PM) sorry for the noob question.. but where can i find the latest gapps? rom manager gives me the old one.. http://goo-inside.me/gapps/Latest available now is 20110307. The May release (gapps-gb-20110503-signed.zip) has been pulled back, maybe by Google.