126 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Nov 12 2015, 10:17 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

Double post.

This post has been edited by [Ancient]-XinG-: Nov 12 2015, 10:19 PM
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Nov 12 2015, 10:18 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

Why no go for Ps 3?
leehernandez
post Nov 13 2015, 10:50 AM

[quote=jimmy lai,Nov 12 2015, 04:36 PM]
[quote=leehernandez,Nov 12 2015, 05:00 PM]
don't go for ep200 if u need durable tyres. wear very fast..
conti and xm2 is okay.xm2 is famous for durabilty and quiet.

[/quote
Thanks bro,just change today xm2 for 4 pcs tyres.Total bill include gst rm1020. is it cheap or overpriced?

[/quote]
price is okay la..can get cheaper for this size i believe,but also not too overpriced as some place sell higher than this the price u bought.
Yohan
post Nov 13 2015, 04:14 PM

Hi guys, any recommendations for 205/45r16?i know someone asked this recently but I'm looking more for performance instead of comfort. Budget:rm250-rm300. Thanks in advanced!
ask_dino
post Nov 13 2015, 04:19 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

QUOTE(Yohan @ Nov 13 2015, 04:14 PM)
Hi guys, any recommendations for 205/45r16?i know someone asked this recently but I'm looking more for performance instead of comfort. Budget:rm250-rm300. Thanks in advanced!
I just change to Bridgestone Potenza RE003, so far so good. The same size as yours but quite pricey RM340
Yohan
post Nov 13 2015, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(ask_dino @ Nov 13 2015, 04:19 PM)
I just change to Bridgestone Potenza RE003, so far so good. The same size as yours but quite pricey RM340
I dun mind paying abit more if its really good haha. What car u using? How does it handle on wet roads? Which shop u go?
fix24311
post Nov 16 2015, 04:57 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Oct 25 2015, 11:45 PM)
OMG guys! Bridgestone RE003 is really the best tyre in the world!! rclxm9.gif

Okay, so I was driving in heavy rain tonight, in a dark lit road. I did not see a large puddle of water in front on me. I hit it at speed of 100-110 kmh, and guess what? My steering didn't shake, didn't turn away on its own, my ESC didn't light up, and my car move through without a even tiny bit of aquaplanning felt. The car moves as straight as my steering direction! I wanna feel scared, but RE003 really makes me feel very safely cruising that high speed on a large and deep puddle of water.

Not once I felt I lose control over my car. The grip still maintains. I never felt so safely planted in deep water like what RE003 gave, in my whole life. This is even better than PS3! I am rating this tyre higher than PS3 now. nod.gif

* now time to see whether this tyre threadwear on real life usage is shorter than PS3 *
Another update on RE003 guys.

Last night it was raining, NOT even heavy, just a drizzle. Location is ELITE highway, nearby MSU university. The road is a climbing slope with left curve, NOT even a sharp corner and NO PUDDLE at all. Speed is 120km/h.

I have to do counter-steering while climbing, as my car move to the right lane by itself, even though at the time I am turning the steering to the left dry.gif
My ESC doesn't even turned on. It was only after I slow my car to 90km/h, only then the car moves normally the way it should.
I'm starting to feel worried with this tyre. It doesn't aquaplan on a deep puddle, but is aquaplanning on a climbing-non-sharp-curve-slope-road... doh.gif

I'm not confidence driving fast on the rain with this tyre anymore. shakehead.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 16 2015, 05:48 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Nov 16 2015, 04:57 PM)

Last night it was raining, NOT even heavy, just a drizzle. Location is ELITE highway, nearby MSU university. The road is a climbing slope with left curve, NOT even a sharp corner and NO PUDDLE at all. Speed is 120km/h.

I have to do counter-steering while climbing, as my car move to the right lane by itself, even though at the time I am turning the steering to the left dry.gif
My ESC doesn't even turned on. It was only after I slow my car to 90km/h, only then the car moves normally the way it should.
I'm starting to feel worried with this tyre. It doesn't aquaplan on a deep puddle, but is aquaplanning on a climbing-non-sharp-curve-slope-road... doh.gif

I'm not confidence driving fast on the rain with this tyre anymore. shakehead.gif
iinm preve right? how come the ESC didn't light up? how come the need to counter steer despite decent UHP tires (the latest in bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin lineup in fact), very deep/wide water channeling grooves, boasting a ton of improvements over the past RE002 (which had damn good feedback, albeit the crazy pricing lol) http://www.bridgestone.com.au/tyre-treads/re003.aspx ?

i believe there could be other matters at work here, maybe the ESC isn't responding as it should/fast enough? (need to check fault codes)

to clarify, ESC totally doesn't light up at all?

it could also be a matter that the car orientation/direction and steering input shows no fault
although if you did in fact countersteered, then no matter what the ESC should light up as car direction go > while you turn <, conflict in ESC logic

what about tire pressure? under or over inflated?

was the drizzle just started or has it been some time already? possibility of spilled oil?
may refer: http://www.nhtsa.gov/people/injury/buses/u...ic_8/page5.html
The first 10 minutes after light rain begins are the most dangerous
The rain mixes with oil from motor vehicles and oil from new asphalt

The result is a slippery roadway
If it rains hard and long enough, the rain washes off the oil and the slippery conditions are reduced

fix24311
post Nov 17 2015, 01:12 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 16 2015, 05:48 PM)
iinm preve right? how come the ESC didn't light up? how come the need to counter steer despite decent UHP tires (the latest in bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin lineup in fact), very deep/wide water channeling grooves, boasting a ton of improvements over the past RE002 (which had damn good feedback, albeit the crazy pricing lol) http://www.bridgestone.com.au/tyre-treads/re003.aspx ?

i believe there could be other matters at work here, maybe the ESC isn't responding as it should/fast enough? (need to check fault codes)

to clarify, ESC totally doesn't light up at all?

it could also be a matter that the car orientation/direction and steering input shows no fault
although if you did in fact countersteered, then no matter what the ESC should light up as car direction go > while you turn <, conflict in ESC logic

what about tire pressure? under or over inflated?

was the drizzle just started or has it been some time already? possibility of spilled oil?
may refer: http://www.nhtsa.gov/people/injury/buses/u...ic_8/page5.html
if the ESC light up in split second, probably I didn't notice it. tyre pressure could be under-inflated. checked, and I was running 210kpA at the time than my usual 250kpA. Drizzle has been going on a long while since before the road.

oil spill most probable explanation hmm.gif
because a lorry was in front, running on the point previously.
SportyHandling
post Nov 17 2015, 09:42 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Nov 16 2015, 04:57 PM)

Looking at the tread pattern of the Bridgestone Potenza RE003, the wet performance may not be too good. The main groove along the circumference of the tyre is rather narrow and not as wide as say the Michelin PS3. From the way you are describing above, the car is sliding on its own to the right although you are maintaining the steering wheel. Meaning that the tyres are losing traction, causing the car to swerve to the right on its own due to the wet surface.

There may be several scenarios why this is happening, though I can think of two possible causes rather (rather than not-so-possible causes such as ESC not working, something wrong with the car etc.). Take this with a grain of salt as I am not a tyre expert but still, my opinion based on the tyre pattern that I observe :-

1. The tyres. There are very little "cross-horizontal" treads running horizontally across the tyre, on the middle of the tyres as well as the outer sides of the tyres near the sidewall, and the treads are spaced quite far apart especially at the outer side of the tyre near the sidewall/rims. The main groove along the circumference of the tyre is also moderately-sized and not too wide, more to a comfort/silent tyre groove size rather than a performing "all-condition" tyres.

Due to the lack of treads and moderately-sized main groove, there is a lot of rubber contact on the road and the potential of tyre sliding is higher when the road is wet. IN summary, not so good performance in heavy rain. However, on dry roads, the performance is likely to be superb as there is a lot of rubber/road contact.

2. Oil on the road which causes the road to be slippery.

Bridgestone Potenza RE003

Michelin PS3

(Although this image is smaller than the image above, look at the treads and grooves. The main grooves along the circumference of the PS3 are larger than the RE003, and the treads near the sidewall are nearer when compared to the RE003 where the treads are spaced further apart)

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Nov 17 2015, 09:58 AM
hafiez
post Nov 17 2015, 11:48 AM

2,980 posts

Sorry to interupt but why u didnt slow down during that kind of road condition?
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2015, 03:18 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Nov 17 2015, 11:48 AM)
to some people, their throttle position is either on, or off.

Riddick:
There's gonna be one speed... mine. If you can't keep up, don't step up. You'll just die.

Volkswagen2
post Nov 17 2015, 03:34 PM

439 posts

What I think when some people have installed some "good-performance" tyres, they feel that their cars must be invincible and have the ability to tackle wet roads on a rainy day at higher speeds without losing control. The thing is, there is a limit to how much a tyre can take without skidding on the wet road.

Say in the rain around a bend with normal tyres, the speed limit is 90km/h before the tyres lose control and skid. With a "superior" performance tyres, the speed limit is bumped up to 110km/h (above 110km/h and the "performance tyres" will skid). Some people may think that they can still drive at 140 - 150km/h with the "performance tyres" and expect rock solid grip on the wet road during rain, and that is courting trouble.
fix24311
post Nov 18 2015, 03:07 AM

139 posts

I did slow down until 90km/h lah. It's mentioned up there

[attachmentid=5329333]

This post has been edited by fix24311: Nov 18 2015, 03:10 AM

hafiez
post Nov 18 2015, 09:37 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Nov 18 2015, 03:07 AM)
I did slow down until 90km/h lah. It's mentioned up there

[attachmentid=5329333]
Yea..maybe i read wrongly

> speed 120kmh
> climbing slope with curves
> counter steering
> slowdown to 90kmh

Slow down after it happened. Thats why i ask. Nevermind, all in all u are safe.
vin_ann
post Nov 18 2015, 11:30 AM

10,912 posts

hi all,

wan to ask about Land Rover Freelander tyre (sorry i dont know the size of tyre as its my boss car) normally cost how much?

thank you.
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 11:31 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Nov 17 2015, 01:12 AM)

btw don't get me wrong, i'm just genuinely curious to find out "what went wrong"

afterall i am still fairly interested in RE003, unless/until bridgestone begins to jack up the price like RE002 then i'll drop my interest accordingly tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 18 2015, 12:06 PM

10,530 posts

potenza with rain? aiyoh... from last time til now still the same deal it seems...

dry=go faster
rain=slow down..ALOT
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2015, 01:58 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 18 2015, 12:06 PM)
potenza with rain? aiyoh... from last time til now still the same deal it seems...

dry=go faster
rain=slow down..ALOT
bridgestone said wet performance banyak improvement ma laugh.gif
fix24311
post Nov 18 2015, 06:14 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 18 2015, 01:58 PM)
bridgestone said wet performance banyak improvement ma laugh.gif
yeah...only on deep puddle sad.gif
i don't have control problem when I hit that deep puddle. but experience on climbing wet slope (no puddle) is as above. car don't move to my steering. 90km/h okay, 120km/h not okay.

126 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:12 PM