☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!

fix24311
post Jul 30 2012, 06:33 PM

139 posts

excuse me all sifus, is this a good place to ask for assistance? blush.gif
I am driving Naza Sutera, and would like to know if I can change all 4 of the tyres to 175/60/r14
currently front: 165/60/r14
back: 165/55/r14

i think, wider tyres meant better cornering right? hmm.gif
can I still use the same stock rim? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by fix24311: Jul 30 2012, 08:04 PM
fix24311
post Aug 3 2012, 07:43 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Aug 1 2012, 07:02 PM)
fix24311@
Refer to 1st post in 1st page for better understanding. few useful link is there.
if you want better handling, better choice should be 175/55/r14. slightly lesser tires' flex during hard cornering.
Also, lesser chances of inner parts contact.
then again, it's not advisable to drive harder in corner with naza sutera  smile.gif

usually it was the lower profile tires which is always in front. but there are compromise
between tires width and profile size / purpose.
can I still use the same stock rim to fit in 175/55r14 tyres? unsure.gif
will it be too much a gap between 165 and 175? blush.gif
fix24311
post Sep 2 2012, 05:11 PM

139 posts

hello guys. i just changed my ducaro ga 165/55/r14 tyres to continental cc5 165/55/r14 for rm168 a piece. (include balancing, but not allignment as the shop can't do it for my Naza Sutera, dunno why though..) good or not? hmm.gif

the mechanic also said to me that for the same rim to change to 175 is possible, but not very good for driving, he propose me to change rim to 15" instead for 175 width, is it true?

and he also said if i want greater balance while cornering, i can maintain 165 width, but put in adjustable absorber,making it stiff. what do u guys think? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by fix24311: Sep 2 2012, 05:33 PM
fix24311
post Sep 18 2012, 07:51 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Sep 17 2012, 11:21 AM)
btw, quite a number of the tires' shop that i've had come across with electronic alignment actually doesn't do the job properly. they simply hook it up for the lulz, pretending they're doing something and bingo! even when the monitor is still showing 0.25 left and 0.65 right!
this is especially when they're busy with lots of car waiting.
yeah...i asked the mechanic "Hey, u still haven't alligned it accordingly" and he said "it's like that"
are there any shops that can do proper allignment? hmm.gif
fix24311
post Oct 14 2012, 09:09 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Oct 14 2012, 01:44 AM)
dry and wet grip means performance, no ?
no...i think performance mean sport tyres that are stiff and can be use on track and on road
fix24311
post Nov 1 2012, 11:14 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Oct 30 2012, 06:16 PM)
Yes you can change only the front tyres if the rear are still okay.  But you must change both the front tyres, i.e. 1 pair / 2 front tyres.
u know what funny is? last time i changed my tyre, got this one customer, an Atos car, each of its 4 tyres are different brand, i mean really different like silverstone, goodyear, sime (and another one i forgot). i just lol with myself. i dunno what he trying to achieved tongue.gif
fix24311
post Nov 6 2012, 11:02 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Nov 6 2012, 06:28 PM)
Falken ZE912 195 50 16 RM260x4
steel valves x4 RM40
alignment RM30
others (?) RM19
trade in -RM140

total RM989

july 2011, price may change
about steel valves, will it be usable again if changing rims? unsure.gif
fix24311
post Feb 15 2013, 08:35 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Feb 14 2013, 02:47 PM)
yoko a-drive aa01 has 155/65/13 and 165/60/13

the bestest for the size is michelim xm1(if you can find it)
2nd bestest is continental cc1
3rd --- yoko a-drive aa01
do shops still selling conti cc1? unsure.gif
i thought it has stop production when cc5 came out?
fix24311
post Feb 15 2013, 09:19 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(orzirius92 @ Feb 15 2013, 05:17 PM)
hmmm xm1 and xm2 is there much diff between them? how bout the price i check the internet both hv 155/65/R13 and 165/65/R13. Btw one weird thing is my goodyear gt3 155/65/r13 punctured yesterday and i replace my spare tyre which is the same model but 165/60/r13 but my steering turned out to be lighter then before, both of them are in 30psi @.@
it is weird...usually spare tyres are less wider than stock tyres hmm.gif
fix24311
post Feb 16 2013, 09:21 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Feb 16 2013, 01:03 AM)
hello guys,

i wondering for those who had changed their tyres,  do you offer to sell your old tyres to the tyre shop?or they just take the old tyre just like that?
well, i don't tongue.gif
since my thread is too thin already (it looks like super slick F1 tyre), i'm sure it won't have any value for trade in

usually shops have their own standards on how many percentage of thread wear to be considerable for trade in
i'm not too sure myself wink.gif
fix24311
post Mar 5 2013, 02:02 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(jayro_88 @ Mar 5 2013, 10:43 AM)
Maybe around RM 200 - RM 230 per tyre. I saw CC5 is in my budget. Can anyone recommend me others? icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif
i love cc5 wub.gif
my previous tyre was nct5 and ducaro. not yet tried yokohama tongue.gif
fix24311
post Apr 2 2013, 10:59 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Mar 23 2013, 06:04 PM)
I am going to change tyre for 2nd time.
For first time, I has been conned to get 2 Silverstone tyre + balancing and alignment for RM500. After that only know the price is overprice.

In the Perodua book , it's say that my type specifications is 175/65R14. What is that mean? I'm totally noob here.

I am salesperson, so I do travel lot. What is the best tyre that suite my car and the price range?
it means the tyre width is 175mm
the height of the tyre wall is 65% of your tyre width
and the rim fit for the tyre is 14inch
*all legend2 here feel free to correct me*

stray from the spec size and your speedometer reading won't be correct. say u read it 80km/h, but ur actual cruising speed is 120km/h (just an example of course tongue.gif )
but who cares, right? bigger rim are a beauty to look at drool.gif

This post has been edited by fix24311: Apr 2 2013, 11:01 PM
fix24311
post Apr 3 2013, 10:16 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Samurai X @ Apr 3 2013, 07:23 AM)
Lol...this argument had been around for so long  laugh.gif .
No matter what size of tyres you use, you speedometer is always correct la. Its just that when you compare to the actual speed (maybe speed trap for example), yours is not accurate anymore. That is why recalibration is important
but not many people can do or do it .

Example" More than 4% upgrade, your speedometer will show about 4% different compare to stock tyres and actual world. But you car speedometer is still showing your correct car's speed(unless recalibration done after changes) as it generate the reading from gearbox or drive shaft rotation  tongue.gif
The changes in tyres diameter  affect the speedometer reading due to rev per miles different but no matter what, the speedometer reading generated always follow your car's speed which may not tally with real world speed.
how much for recalibration? unsure.gif
fix24311
post May 29 2013, 02:30 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 29 2013, 02:08 PM)
typically people run on negative 2-3 camber or even more, toe in (or out) depends on how they prefer their handling/cornering characteristic, typically is toe in though, 0.5-1.5 degrees.

almost any shop can do, it is after the setting, if there's a person able to bring your car for some hard runs to test out the results of those settings (provided the owner is willing to let the mechanic whack their car)
any effects on the durability of your lower arm if done like that? unsure.gif
i've always wonder long why people wanna camber in their everyday car tyres. seems the tyre would have uneven thread wear if done that hmm.gif

i was shocked when doing allignment the mechanic show my tyres were camber out for 2-3 degrees. didn't even noticed it from outside appearance sweat.gif

and i set back the chamber to 0.5

This post has been edited by fix24311: May 29 2013, 02:37 PM
fix24311
post May 29 2013, 02:54 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 29 2013, 02:45 PM)
not sure of my lower arm, it's f***ed up already anyways, gonna replace it once i can figure out/solve the ATF/engine oil leaking issues so they don't damage the new bushes should i replace my lower arm lol.

and the negative camber is offset by frequent aggressive cornering, so technically our cars are straight anyways tongue.gif
so no, i don't have uneven treads at all. besides negative 2-3 is barely even noticeable from eye view, it's those that go further than that like those hella flush people.
hell, you also never noticed yourself despite having 2-3 degrees on the camber, no? wink.gif

bad caster/toe settings would unevenly wear tires even more btw smile.gif
yes, sorry. i mean the hella flush people. how many degrees were that? sweat.gif

i saw myvi, vios, kelisa do this kind of things. as u said, if it's corner, understandable but only on track days cars. but apply it on everyday cars? i just can't see the benefit of hella flush sweat.gif how many corners we would have on everyday road realistically, most is straight tongue.gif
fix24311
post May 31 2013, 09:51 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(Samurai X @ May 31 2013, 07:35 AM)
Yes! in fact you need it on daily ride. Here is my feedback after years of using it on the road...
1. Nitrogen doesn't heat up as fast as oxygen. So you've got an extra lap prior to hitting near optimum temperature to beat personal's best blush.gif
2. Used to check every 2 week. Using nitrogen, unless there is a leakage or puncture, after almost 3 months, the drop is less than 10kpa. That mean if you pump 235kpa, after 6 months later, tyres pressure just meet manufacturer recommendation of around 210kpa front.
3. We actually measure the tyres weight (including single new tyre and wheel, mount and measure again) at friend's shop using those human's measuring weight  doh.gif  laugh.gif , one with 100% oxygen and another with nitrogen + oxygen as you don't get 100% nitrogen. One with nitrogen is lighter by few hundred grams... We're having a good laugh while doing it for the lulz  laugh.gif
Don't lol'ed at me la. Me very slow driver. Driving a dolphin with B18CR doing very late braking also cannot dip below 2:50.00 in Sepang. Maybe I need slick
and more laps on PSP sad.gif .
how to get nitrogen insertion for normal ppl like me? unsure.gif
any shop knows the ratio and how to do?
fix24311
post May 2 2014, 10:38 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(jonlee @ May 2 2014, 07:39 PM)
Need opinion
Having a hard time choosing between these two

Toyo
T1 Sport 224/40/ R18 RM630
C1S 215/45/ R18 RM650
it must've been breaking bank to change 18" wheels.. sweat.gif
if that were the price for one piece tyre....aiyo rclxub.gif

no wonder la my friend who bought the R3 inspira mention to me he just change second hand tyre instead of new one for his wheels
fix24311
post Nov 1 2014, 01:34 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 1 2014, 11:42 AM)
is it? this 1 hard. visit few shop they don't have, end up have to go proton service center and take few days for them to order.

Brand: GT Radial Champiro bax 2
Size: 205/55/R16
500 a piece of 500 for 4 piece? unsure.gif
fix24311
post Nov 1 2014, 01:43 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 1 2014, 01:41 PM)
1 piece. last time punch through buy a really big steel thing. hence cannot fix and have to replace a new tyre.
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

so mahal SC sell... u can buy Michelin PS3 already sweat.gif

EDIT:
I'm definitely gonna use other brands after this. i dislike Champiro Bax feel anyway sweat.gif
my local shop suggest Yokohama A.drive R1. gorgeous thread pattern too

This post has been edited by fix24311: Nov 1 2014, 01:50 PM
fix24311
post Nov 1 2014, 02:10 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Nov 1 2014, 02:01 PM)
ohh, preve user? ya, I also want to use alternative, cheaper and deliver performance better than this. road traction is come from tyre right?
yes, good road traction comes from tyre. smile.gif
i haven't try the yokohama yet, but it seems great reading from reviews, and knowing that drifters love this tyre brows.gif

0.0243sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:54 AM