150 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V11, Intel SB vs incoming AMD Llano

simon3041
post Jul 3 2011, 01:48 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 2 2011, 11:28 PM)
lolx... i spent 1month adi trying to choose a perfect llapppyy for me....zzzz

although narrow down...till now aso cant decide on 1.... lolx

but... just some tips... go have a feel of the lappy u shortlisted... really let u make up ur mind whether it 'feels' right.. lolx
Bold statement.. I think i spent 2 months already... laugh.gif
siaokialeong
post Jul 3 2011, 03:00 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 3 2011, 01:06 AM)
Laptop experts lai , i need some advice. First time buying laptop.

I budget ~RM2200  for a laptop i5 intel  2nd generation, 4Gb RAM for my son to go study in U. Study Science, not graphic design. He plays Dota game, but not my intention for him to do more heavy gaming.

Found out best price is from Acer Aspire 4750G -2414G50, 500GB HDD, 4GB Ram, NVidia GEforce GT520M, webcam, DVD writer, WIfi, Bluetooth and all. with a lot of freebies now, YES dongle 3.5GB worth RM217, Free Titanium antivirus for 3 persons, free 3 years warranty - RM2149 only.

But i also found out comments about "dont buy Acer" quite alot in the old forumn (2 years ago).,  said Acer parts poor quality, screen can go blank ,keyboard poor quality cant last long,  bottom can get heated and rosak.

Any current users can verify these weakneses of Acer Aspire?Has Acer improved on these in currrent models?

My son said his frens are using Toshiba, HP and Lenovo. Are these 3 brands significantly better built with better parts that can withstand daily usage better than Acer laptops? I see their warranty mostly 1 year only.

Is it worth paying abit more to get Toshiba/HP or Lenovo?

How about Dell? all  these are more expensive than similar spec Acer right?

Thanks for recomendation on which laptop that i should buy.
since your budget is Rm2.2k..u can consider asus A43SJ( i3)/A43SV (i5) as well..very decent metallic case build, go check out and touch the real machine, u will get what i mean XDD.. oh ya..actually an i3 2nd gen is more than enough for normal uni works eg. presentation slides, assignments, light gaming and etc..

A43SJ(i3)
http://my.asus.com/Notebooks/Versatile_Performance/A43SJ/

A43SV (i5)
http://my.asus.com/Notebooks/Versatile_Performance/A43SV/

This post has been edited by siaokialeong: Jul 3 2011, 03:08 PM
IvanWong1989
post Jul 3 2011, 03:12 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jul 3 2011, 01:34 AM)
i will prefer to watch horror movies or play horror games like fear 2 with backlit keyboard biggrin.gif i personally think that thinklight will spoilt the mood and potong my steam while backlit keyboard provide a dim light source that actually mix very well with those genre  tongue.gif and of course, with light off in the room smile.gif
the horror.... i cant sleep afta playing horror games or watch horror movie.... blink.gif

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 3 2011, 01:46 PM)
haiyo.. Not yet... SN  disappear.. SV no shadow... SF unknown, DV6 without beats RM3499! in so called "rich city"  laugh.gif
QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 3 2011, 01:48 PM)
Bold statement.. I think i spent 2 months already...  laugh.gif
zzzzz...... hahax.... cheers to us to find our perfect lappy. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 3, 2011, 3:20 pm
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 3 2011, 01:06 AM)
Laptop experts lai , i need some advice. First time buying laptop.

I budget ~RM2200  for a laptop i5 intel  2nd generation, 4Gb RAM for my son to go study in U. Study Science, not graphic design. He plays Dota game, but not my intention for him to do more heavy gaming.

Found out best price is from Acer Aspire 4750G -2414G50, 500GB HDD, 4GB Ram, NVidia GEforce GT520M, webcam, DVD writer, WIfi, Bluetooth and all. with a lot of freebies now, YES dongle 3.5GB worth RM217, Free Titanium antivirus for 3 persons, free 3 years warranty - RM2149 only.

But i also found out comments about "dont buy Acer" quite alot in the old forumn (2 years ago).,  said Acer parts poor quality, screen can go blank ,keyboard poor quality cant last long,  bottom can get heated and rosak.

Any current users can verify these weakneses of Acer Aspire?Has Acer improved on these in currrent models?

My son said his frens are using Toshiba, HP and Lenovo. Are these 3 brands significantly better built with better parts that can withstand daily usage better than Acer laptops? I see their warranty mostly 1 year only.

Is it worth paying abit more to get Toshiba/HP or Lenovo?

How about Dell? all  these are more expensive than similar spec Acer right?

Thanks for recomendation on which laptop that i should buy.
welll.... it's also common consensus nowadays that Acer laptop quality have improved.. haha... personally... my own opinion la... it's all down to luck..... every manufacturer sure got defects.. lolx... depends whether you got the jackpot or not. icon_rolleyes.gif

if ur not into acer. can go for asus.. almost similarly priced... default 2 years warranty. with a budget of 2.2k... can go for the a43sj or a43sv... you can find shops that can give u discounts.. haha.

the a43 series are quite solid in their built...

Dell.... not to say not good.... their after sales are really nice... just abit little expensive....abit la.

toshiba also... abit itty bitty more expensive... no more further comments.. lolx.

edit: erm... to have some point why i say brand doesn't matter in deciding toughness of notebooks

1 fren using hp have heat issue.... battery also dead in one year although he take care of it very much(take it out everytime don't need use)
another fren using dell have motherboard issue...
another fren using BenQ have graphics card malfunction..

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Jul 3 2011, 03:25 PM
simon3041
post Jul 3 2011, 05:38 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

zzzzz...... hahax.... cheers to us to find our perfect lappy.  :peace
:

ahaha... yup...
cheers.gif wish.gif
guy3288
post Jul 3 2011, 11:01 PM

5,867 posts

Thanks Ivanwong and leong for your useful info.

Where can I get the discount for that Asus A43SV? Can recommend which shop can give some discount or free gift upnorth in penang or butterworth?

Would it be cheaper to get it from devour?
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 3 2011, 11:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:01 PM)

Where can I get the discount for that Asus A43SV? Can recommend which shop can give some discount or free gift upnorth in penang or butterworth?

hikari85 is the girl to find if in Penang laugh.gif
IvanWong1989
post Jul 3 2011, 11:34 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 3 2011, 05:38 PM)
:

ahaha... yup...
cheers.gif  wish.gif
hehe ^^ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif hope i can settle with a model....zzz

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:01 PM)

welcome.. erm... as quoted below...

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 3 2011, 11:02 PM)
hikari85 is the girl to find if in Penang  laugh.gif
+1 by tj sifu. ^^
avengers88
post Jul 4 2011, 10:11 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

Checking all the reviews from other sites and all recommend to go FullHD but in Malaysia we just dun have that option. Having hard time to decide which one to go now. N53SV i7 version, Dell new XPS 15, or HP DV6 without beats. Which one by far is the most reliable one ? I might even consider SAGER 5165 but I think sager is better to go with their 17" laptop which is abit too big for me. 15" is good enough.
fJok3R
post Jul 4 2011, 10:38 AM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:11 AM)
Checking all the reviews from other sites and all recommend to go FullHD but in Malaysia we just dun have that option. Having hard time to decide which one to go now. N53SV i7 version, Dell new XPS 15, or HP DV6 without beats. Which one by far is the most reliable one ? I might even consider SAGER 5165 but I think sager is better to go with their 17" laptop which is abit too big for me. 15" is good enough.
that dell xps got option for fullhd what brows.gif
personally, i would go for xps15 for entertainment, or dv6 for gaming
avengers88
post Jul 4 2011, 10:44 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

The thing is Dell one comes with i5 only lo and FullHD only got stock if order online through Dell and its expensive. While the other 2 comes wit i7. And HP DV6 have the autoswitching graphic card problem though the graphic card is much more powerful than 540m. Macam mana ni? LOL.
fJok3R
post Jul 4 2011, 10:48 AM

1,419 posts

how much budget can you go for?
avengers88
post Jul 4 2011, 10:51 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

3k - 3.3k. Push very high already cant go anymore higher! LOL ~
fJok3R
post Jul 4 2011, 10:53 AM

1,419 posts

if like that, xps won't be viable option anymore imo, since even the base stock already priced at 3299, so if you want to upgrade to fullhd, extending warranty and stuff will surely exceed the budget,lol
IvanWong1989
post Jul 4 2011, 10:57 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jul 4 2011, 10:53 AM)
if like that, xps won't be viable option anymore imo, since even the base stock already priced at 3299, so if you want to upgrade to fullhd, extending warranty and stuff will surely exceed the budget,lol
because of this i've ruled out xps for myself.. lolx....

i dun think there are any other fullhd around except sager..... at that budget....
avengers88
post Jul 4 2011, 10:58 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

Yeah true, so I could only get the one without full HD from garage sales seller here which would be about 3.1k. Dun need get the FullHD lo no choice LOL ~ no money le cant afford.

Added on July 4, 2011, 11:00 am
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:57 AM)
because of this i've ruled out xps for myself.. lolx....

i dun think there are any other fullhd around except sager..... at that budget....
Yeah i know right, haha. We are on the same ship dude. U decided what to get yet? I mean which one has the higher probability in ur list?
I think now that's left is HP DV6 and N53SV i7. If i can get a good deal on the DV6 then I could get it, or else I think it will end with N53SV.
I enquired from Prince J on the Sager 5165 we'll see what he replies, but Sagers 17" are better I guess with Full HD. The warranty would be another issue though.

This post has been edited by avengers88: Jul 4 2011, 11:00 AM
IvanWong1989
post Jul 4 2011, 11:01 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:58 AM)
Yeah true, so I could only get the one without full HD from garage sales seller here which would be about 3.1k. Dun need get the FullHD lo no choice LOL ~ no money le cant afford.

Added on July 4, 2011, 11:00 am

Yeah i know right, haha. We are on the same ship dude. U decided what to get yet? I mean which one has the higher probability in ur list?
I think now that's left is HP DV6 and N53SV i7. If i can get a good deal on the DV6 then I could get it, or else I think it will end with N53SV.
I enquired from Prince J on the Sager 5165 we'll see what he replies, but Sagers 17" are better I guess with Full HD. The warranty would be another issue though.
which model?

avengers88
post Jul 4 2011, 11:12 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

What u mean by which model ? LOL .
IvanWong1989
post Jul 4 2011, 11:38 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 4 2011, 11:12 AM)
What u mean by which model ? LOL .
owh... din see u edited.... paiseh paiseh....
=P

kwekz
post Jul 4 2011, 11:44 AM

40 posts

sorry if my post out of topic.. but can i find usb3.0 pendrive in lowyat??
lim_ryan
post Jul 4 2011, 11:52 AM

110 posts

my wife buying new laptop ,

shop sell me Asus A52F-XN1 = RM1250 OK mou? please advise sifu

Intel Pentium P6100(2.00ghz) 15.6 4gb Memory Ddr3 1066 320gb HDD 5400rpm DVD
Intel Hd Graphics

150 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top