7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

All About Badminton Equipment V5, Racket, Shoes, Grip, String, Shuttlecock

radmaszeal
post Jul 26 2011, 08:28 PM

boredom is caused by lack of ignorance
1,546 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Jul 26 2011, 05:19 PM)
comparing wilson's n-reflex(or something like that) against prince tt 2700?
sorry, never used them before. not popular rackets, not sure if anyone here uses them. u can try asking badminton central forums.

QUOTE(zero_hour @ Jul 26 2011, 07:57 PM)
if overlap sikit nipis sangat nanti  sad.gif
i overlap alot using karakal super PU on my other racket, from slightly head heavy become head light already, smash no more power sad.gif
no more using that racket due to that.. tongue.gif
radmaszeal
post Jul 30 2011, 12:52 AM

1,546 posts

kena tapao today. played 9 sets, lost 5. haha. doubles used slayer 99, getting used to defending using it abit, can respond faster. then play 1 set singles with the wilson k blaze, only 2nd time playing it in 3 sessions after getting it strung. really hard to use a head light frame in singles even though using NBG98 at 26lbs. laugh.gif

slayer 99 best racket i've used so far, thinking of getting something similar as backup. hmm.gif
radmaszeal
post Jul 30 2011, 08:23 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(zerigemok @ Jul 30 2011, 06:34 AM)
Guys is there any racket with good resell value? I'm thinking of buying one for around one month usage and then selling it off
yonex voltric 80, victor super waves 35-37, victor brave sword 9-12, all good resale value. i am considering getting either of these rackets used in 1 months time also blush.gif

QUOTE(mavischuen @ Jul 30 2011, 01:20 PM)
Yonex bg 66 or yonex bg 65 titanium for moderate player? What do u guys think?  blink.gif
Tension: 26LBS
26lbs any string also feels hard, i think not much difference. not sure, all my strings are hard or repulsion type, 23-26lbs, not much different. bg80@23lbs, nbg98@26lbs, bg66@26lbs, feel not much different. but just tried the nbg98, cannot feel much difference.

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Jul 30 2011, 01:37 PM)
just got a nano 100 as my first racket.
if i do the sweep up to get the shuttercock one ar
how do i prevent the paint from coming off?
can i wrap it with something? lol
can. but might alter the racket balance.

QUOTE(zero_hour @ Jul 30 2011, 05:31 PM)
u go buy apacs feather weight 200,the sell to me next month,..
thumbup.gif
radmaszeal
post Aug 11 2011, 07:39 PM

1,546 posts

wah. got size 42. ngam my size. but already using mizuno wave blocker. laugh.gif
radmaszeal
post Aug 19 2011, 07:24 PM

1,546 posts

tweet and tantrum 500 all also flex 8.5, medium flex.

already used to my slayer 99' 7.5 stiffness, use medium flex (voltric 5) and wilson k blaze timing abit off when smashing sweat.gif
radmaszeal
post Aug 22 2011, 06:28 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(zaffti84 @ Aug 21 2011, 05:54 PM)
good day to all sifu. just want to ask some noob question. i bought yonex NS800 today at sport horizon bukit jalil with BG66 string. i read some post in badmintoncentral.com suggest that tension for cross must be higher than main string tension. but the ladies at sport horizon recommend me to put main string tension higher than cross. is there any different between those 2?
cross should be higher than main. main is strung first, so it is straight. when you put in the cross string, it will force the main string to stretch and increase the tension higher than when it was initially put in. but dunnola if that shop do the other way around, string the cross first then only the main laugh.gif
radmaszeal
post Aug 31 2011, 11:17 PM

1,546 posts

Any1 used forza ti550 S b4? Any reviews? Either this or rsl x5 gold, both under rm220 used. Going for a stiff or between medium to stiff, even balance or slightly head heavy.

Any1 can confirm that the x5 is headlight? Basically looking for a second go to racket comparable to apacs slayer 99, stiff and even balance. After string and grip bp is 295mm.

Any opinions? Or just wait for good deal on BS series?
radmaszeal
post Sep 2 2011, 07:37 PM

1,546 posts

I play just as bad with stiff or medium stiff racket, but I just like using the stiff one more. Maybe cos its more expensive. laugh.gif
Now either going for forza ti550 S or li ning bp300c. Testing the forza on sunday, but the li ning is unstrung and more expensive. Nobody here used these rackets b4?
radmaszeal
post Sep 7 2011, 08:22 PM

1,546 posts

just got forza ti 550 nforze used. shaft is just slightly stiffer than my slayer 99, abit head heavier but not by much. bg66@27lbs. only had time for 2 sets, shoulder not hurting. yet. laugh.gif
radmaszeal
post Sep 9 2011, 12:45 AM

1,546 posts

bought fz forza ti 550 n forze power S. bg66 at 27lbs, but 2 months old, so the tension should be around 26lbs. 96 holes and 26~27lbs damn nice sound, stiff shaft also, yesterday managed to complete 9 sets in a 3 hour session, 7 sets in a row (last set was singles), shoulders hurt abit, but not more than the usual pain compared to other rackets.

heavier head than my voltric 5, its at 305mm while the voltric 5 is at 300mm, but the vt5 has 2 layers of grip on it, can still be head heavier.

1st and 2nd set sucked, but by the 3rd was quite used to it, even at 305mm BP also can still play at the net for doubles. was abit rusty though, hadnt played alot cos of fasting month.

my review on the fz forza (in case anyone wants to know) tongue.gif

power: 4.5/5
control: 5/5
feel: 5/5
vibration dampening: 4/5, still can feel abit. vt5 has a more dead feel, but that could be due to the nbg98 on that racket.
speed: 3.5/5 (abit head heavy, not the best for fast response)

btw the metallic sound it makes is awesome. got alot of comments from other players about the sound. hahaha

btw i suck, so my review isnt the most professional one out there. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by radmaszeal: Sep 9 2011, 12:50 AM
radmaszeal
post Sep 15 2011, 01:34 AM

1,546 posts

if buy yonex, get 1 with power cushion

if buy mizuno, get 1 with wave

if buy asics, get 1 with gel

other i dunno.

used to hurt my heels alot playing badminton (cement floor) using futsal shoes when i just started. changed to mizuno wave blocker, no problems anymore. dare to join more often, not scared of problematic landing.

next shoe might be a yonex, heard that the durability, stability and support is good for pretty much all the shb models. ultima series no power cushion, people use 1 year already ruined. shb series cheapest is 200+ though.
radmaszeal
post Sep 16 2011, 01:30 AM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(weingseen @ Sep 15 2011, 01:45 AM)
Yes I believe so everyone have their preference .  blush.gif
I know some might find it comfortable with the cushion but from my own POV, I'm quite comfortable with normal cushion as my weight is not really that heavy  tongue.gif

Really appreciate your time for giving your recommendation.
@radmaszeal,
Hmm asics seems quite rare.
Just a question though, which shoe are you using and do the mouth of the shoes is sewed instead of glued?
For a recreational player like me, durability is what I'm really looking for after comfort.
Few blister don't kill though  tongue.gif
yeah, i used to weigh much less, but once i started working my weight ballooned, then knees and heels started hurting after playing badminton. but more cushion and padding wont hurt. prevention is better than cure.

2 shops i regularly go to have yonex and asics, but not mizuno. i think more shops have asics compared to mizuno, although i just might be visiting the wrong stores. laugh.gif

using a mizuno wave blocker 7, got it cheap2, 50% off, RM150 after discount. size 10 US, abit big, but the width is nice. 9.5 US is nice, 9 US is the best length, but must be wide, if not my feet would hurt near the toes. need to tie it abit tight so that the foot doesnt move back and forth. but still dont regret buying it even though its not exactly my size. haha. the front is sown, still ok. using for over 6 months now, play 3-5 nights a week, up to 3.5hours a session (endurance, play until KO, free court. laugh.gif)
radmaszeal
post Sep 17 2011, 09:11 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(weingseen @ Sep 17 2011, 12:09 PM)
Isn't this ultima?

from http://sport-wear.blogspot.com/2010/09/yon...pro-shb-85.html

Well I have no complain on the cushion on the previous pair I wear but doesn't mean I said it was very good.  wink.gif

Anyway I'm really looking forward to these shoes, Asics and Mizuno.

Added on September 17, 2011, 12:11 pmOh ya if you're comparing the Asics' volleyball shoe, of cos it have more cushioning.

As far as I saw from reviews, it was meant for volleyball(the one you mentioning) and volleyball required a lot of vertical jumping hence the cushion and these American fella is fat as well! tongue.gif

Added on September 17, 2011, 12:19 pmJust another add on, correct me if I'm mistaken.

Asics model of badminton shoes is Gel Rocket and Gel Blade while
Mizuno model of badminton shoes is Fang, Smash, Angle and Gate.

Thank you very much.
shb85 is not ultima 85. the picture is shb85, got power cushion, but the ultima 85 does not have power cushion. RM300+ for shb 85 compared to RM100+ for the ultima

the ultima series is not in yonex international catalogue, only shb (with power cushion) is in the catalogue. the ultima series if not mistaken only asia pacific, only sunrise sports stocks it.

just went to KD sports, had racket restrung with bg66 ultimax, rm35 only. havent been using the racket in a while, play abit on thursday 1st set string snapped already. the guy promoted me new shuttlecocks also, apacs 800 super grade, bwf certified, goose feather. testing it out in half an hour.

now got 5 rackets, with mostly different strings. laugh.gif
fz forza ti550 bg66 27lbs
apacs slayer 99 bg66 ultimax 26lbs
vt5 nbg98 26lbs
wilson k blaze nbg98 26lbs
yy carbonex 8300 bg80 24lbs.

thinking of selling either the vt5 or the k blaze, not using them often, the forza and slayer too fun, very nice for aggressive players.
radmaszeal
post Sep 18 2011, 01:02 AM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 18 2011, 12:03 AM)
Shit. I accidentally told the shop to restring a BG85 instead of a BG80 doh.gif
feel alot of difference or not?

just tested out the apacs super grade 800. played 3.5hours, started using the shuttle at around 2.5hours, so the players were abit tired. managed to last 4 sets of doubles, 21 points. for our group usually rsl tourney classic lasts 2 sets, tourney no 1 and protech gold around 1.5-2 sets, so the apacs is actually very nice. worth the RM60 it costs. managed to get the 1st tube from the box also, the fella opened the box in front of me. hope the quality can last, will probably buy more if the other shuttles from the tube are as durable. hmm.gif
radmaszeal
post Sep 26 2011, 12:31 AM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 26 2011, 12:20 AM)
Okay. Now my badminton shoes are ruined. The sole came off and condition is not good already, scratches and torn patches here and there, so it's time for new shoes! tongue.gif

Any brands or models to recommend for about RM100-150? smile.gif
if u are using a size US10/UK9 go world of sports at subang parade, get mizuno wave blocker 7. RM150 only, 50% off RRP. still got stock. using that for 4 months already, play 3-5 times a week, 2-3.5 hours each time, still holding strong. really worth it. only problem is lack of ventilation, feet gets abit hot.
radmaszeal
post Sep 27 2011, 10:34 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 27 2011, 09:44 PM)
Gonna get my new Mizuno Wave Blocker 7 shoes tomorrow rclxm9.gif
what sizes available? other mizuno models got discount?
radmaszeal
post Oct 1 2011, 12:38 AM

1,546 posts

i use a vt5, and it is quite head heavy. not as head heavy as it can be, since i wrapped a karakal grip over the original grip, making the balance point 305mm. with the vt5 clears and strokes are easy to go from baseline to baseline, and smashes have alot of power. if you replace the grip and increase the BP i'm sure it would have much more power. problem for me is that its medium flex, while my 2 favourite rackets are stiff. sweat.gif

considering selling mine if anyone's interested. only used for about 6 sessions, total time in play less than 6 hours since i always change to my other rackets, got timing issues when smashing due to the flex. laugh.gif

willing to let go cheap2, pm if interested smile.gif

btw, injured my wrist. cannot play with my forza ti 550 today, sucked to the max. performed much better with the slayer 99. dunno if i should stop playing for awhile or get a light head and stiff racket laugh.gif
radmaszeal
post Oct 11 2011, 09:01 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 11 2011, 09:34 AM)
Stupid question I know---> Contact point for forehand clear is  lower/higher than contact point for forehand smash?
for smash higher is better. for clear anything also can. as long as racket face is upwards, not downwards. laugh.gif

QUOTE(wee1030 @ Oct 11 2011, 01:33 PM)
ziggy, tx for comment...i just got a pair yesterday around kepong area for rm190, gel rocket 5 black colour. Does it overpriced ??
considering another shoe at the moment. mizuno wave blocker 7 not enough ventilation, feet gets damn hot. saw the gel blade and other models got more mesh, and hole in the bottom for ventilation. i think a few li ning models also got. dunno which is cheaper and has good padding and shock absorption, at least as good as the wave blocker. hmm.gif
radmaszeal
post Oct 24 2011, 12:23 AM

1,546 posts

china was in all the finals, but only won womens singles, mens singles and womens doubles.

sad that dato' lost though. not playing as sharp as usual. and chen long didnt make many mistakes in the game, deserved to win i guess.
radmaszeal
post Oct 25 2011, 09:39 PM

1,546 posts

just went to the badminton shop at kota damansara, near old town, same row as standard chartered bank. there got stock for sw37, got 2 units available. i think 1 is 4U, the other one not sure. got sale at the moment, can get discount.

asics gel rocket for RM199 ok ar? or got any others that are better at that price? want something with good cushioning and ventilation.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0908sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:51 PM