KilJim
post Jan 16 2006, 11:47 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jan 16 2006, 08:30 AM)
kiljim,
i can never get the flange to fit into my ears... i dont know why.
i have been using the foams and the colour is starting to change... ear wax! eeewww!
the foams dont go deep enough into my ears for some reason...think they expand too fast before i put them in
KilJim
post Jan 17 2006, 11:09 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Jan 16 2006, 08:25 PM)
Appreciated the help provided.

Between Audio Technica ATH-CK5 (Black) - RM 97, ATH-CM3 GD - RM 107, ATH-CM4 (Black) - RM 104 and Philips SHE9500 - RM80, which is a better choice?

Btw, currently I am using another Philips Clip-On and found that it is not loud enough.

If u dont mind clip-on phones, try a pair of Koss KSC-75
They're supposed to be superb for their price (around RM100)

Audio Technica stuff are pretty rare, and if u can find them at shops they're totally overpriced
Would be better to order them online
KilJim
post Jan 18 2006, 09:26 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

i've never tried either, never read a comparison on both phones so cant say much

but try reading this, the CK5 should have a very different kinda sound from the 9500
http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread....9&highlight=ck5
KilJim
post Jan 25 2006, 03:24 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(lgs @ Jan 24 2006, 12:56 PM)
SHE 9500 quite popular lah , many plp using ..
hmm .. guess is somethings like tht
EX71 do better then SHE9500 ...
but EX71 is RM159 and SHE9500 is RM80 ,its almost x 2 , and the sound quality not x 2 , anyway I am using EX71 ,but previously I own a SHE9500 , I can tell u I like EX71 more then SHE9500 interms of
sound quality , bass , comfortable.
lol, how do u rate sound quality to say its twice or 3 times better? laugh.gif
KilJim
post Jan 31 2006, 12:09 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(falynx @ Jan 30 2006, 01:14 PM)
I didn't get an answer for my previous post, can any1 please recommend me a headset (headphone wif microphone)?

My budget is below RM200.

It'll be used for online gaming using TeamSpeak, and maybe used for other VoIP programs as well. Thx.
the normal recommendations for gaming headsets are :
Plantronics Audio 90
Sennheiser PC150 / PC155
Icemat Siberia

but only the Plantronics are within your budget i think laugh.gif
no idea where u can get a pair now sweat.gif
KilJim
post Feb 1 2006, 01:22 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(hyyam85 @ Feb 1 2006, 01:14 AM)
hello everyone. i m using a laptop n i would like to buy a decent headphone. i m thinking about getting Philips SHP895. but i wont hav tat extra money to buy a hp amp. so is tat pair of cans worth the money even without using a hp amp? i m using a laptop meaning the sound not as good as tat coming out from a soundcard
yes its pretty well off without an amp
dont wanna spend more, just dont ever listen to it with an amp tongue.gif
thats my plan laugh.gif
KilJim
post Feb 1 2006, 09:41 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Feb 1 2006, 07:32 PM)
hi guys. im currently interested in purchasing EX71. Just like to ask if theres any other canalphones (noise isolation) other than by Sony that is worth trying... My budget is approximately RM200... Currently staying in KL, so, i can't get those canalphones like Shure and Etymotic, cause transportation is a big problem for me >.<

Besides, i've heard complaints that the bass are too loud for EX71... Nice stuff cause im bass freak. Besides, is there any reviews from EX71 users???? Any second hand EX71 seller here???

THx in advance
try out a Panasonic HJE-50
it's supposed to have a better sound quality, less muffled and less bass
KilJim
post Feb 2 2006, 12:41 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Feb 2 2006, 12:26 AM)
Erm.... sweat.gif sounds good but a lot of discomfort >.< Thx for the feedback though..... bet like me, you are a first time canalphones user too ^.^
do you mean the HC-50???
no, i meant the HJE-50
Bluetin.com check under in-earphones
KilJim
post Feb 3 2006, 02:08 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

those Koss Plugs have pretty bad reviews/comments
save RM50 more and get the HJE-50 instead
KilJim
post Feb 5 2006, 04:03 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 5 2006, 01:37 PM)
if i get an iBud and equipped it to my earphone bundled with my Sony NW-E507 will it be the same as a normal canal earphone??
nope
there's more to canal phones than simply having the buds in your ears
KilJim
post Feb 6 2006, 04:39 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

davis, i think the real problem is you're confusing ppl with your twisting comments

after all that posts, i'm still not sure if you're saying that the HD497 is good @ RM200 or not?
or whether its better than the HP895?

btw, what do u guys mean when u say "it's a hi-fi headphone?" blink.gif

This post has been edited by KilJim: Feb 6 2006, 04:41 PM
KilJim
post Feb 7 2006, 11:37 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Feb 7 2006, 01:07 AM)
-hi-fi headphone generally means those that are of high fidelity (duh tongue.gif), aka audiophile level phones. usually cost more than RM1k.

-mid-fi phones are around entry level to hi-fi phones. i'd say the grado sr60,80, hd497, px100, and etc are all around mid-fi level.

different people gauge them differently, it depends on how many you have explored.
ohh....i was thinking something related to hi-fi as in your hi-fi set of speakers which ppl generally refer to their normal speakers at home sweat.gif

KilJim
post Feb 9 2006, 01:20 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

just bought the HD595 off mysticaldodo, its the 120ohm version

first thing i noticed was the soundstage and instrumental seperation
TBH, i never really understood soundstage with my previous phones laugh.gif

KilJim
post Feb 9 2006, 02:00 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Feb 9 2006, 01:50 AM)
base on my experience of the phone that has 80-90% similarity to the 595, the 555.....tongue.gif the soundstage is still "nothing" to scream about yet.....now go get urself a pair of 650 and a proper amp. Seriously, sometimes I really wonder if people who doesnt have access to all these stuff know wth they are talking about...you know what i mean? biggrin.gif
nooo...i dont wanna try those stuff....dont make me! tongue.gif
actually i'm still not sure if what i'm hearing is great soundstage
does instrumental seperation = soundstage in any way? blink.gif

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Feb 9 2006, 01:55 AM)
Just grab it cmoy la bro.Boost more your headphone. Unfortunately, i'm stuck to be audiophiler. sad.gif
using it through an Edifier HA11 right now, it supposed to be like a basic CMOY anyways
maybe something from thedoctor would do the job?
KilJim
post Feb 9 2006, 03:42 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

3D effect huh laugh.gif
is the 595 with flat drivers too?
there's qutie a big difference when placing my ears in the cups. nearer to the front makes it a lot closer to the drivers and vice versa
oh yeah, the drivers are nearer to the front sweat.gif

ifer, *may* be selling soon, depending on whether i can afford to keep them tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KilJim: Feb 9 2006, 04:13 PM
KilJim
post Feb 10 2006, 11:48 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Feb 10 2006, 11:23 AM)
Still expensive ler.. I'm just a university student. Just an ordinary headphone with neckstrap will do.Any more recommendation?
wow u want something lower than RM50? blink.gif
KilJim
post Feb 10 2006, 06:12 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

but u might as well stick with whatever stock earphones u have till u save up more

or did he mean RM150 is too much?
KilJim
post Feb 13 2006, 04:14 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

which shop did u see them at?

yeah they're better than the HJE-50
can check out some reviews and stuff at head-fi.org
KilJim
post Feb 14 2006, 02:54 PM