131 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

- Alienware Mothership V8 -, Waiting for M18x...

rc2x
post Sep 9 2011, 11:23 AM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Sep 3 2011, 09:28 PM)
Anyone change the coin cell battery before? I need help here on how to change it. The battery is covered with blue plastic and glued to the board.  icon_question.gif
Bump. Anyone knows how to place new battery? It's covered with plastic and should i just tear it? Anyone? Any help are appreciated. icon_question.gif
kelvin_hata
post Sep 9 2011, 02:14 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Sep 9 2011, 11:23 AM)
Bump. Anyone knows how to place new battery? It's covered with plastic and should i just tear it? Anyone? Any help are appreciated.  icon_question.gif
ur batt KO edi?? u can tear the battery out from the maiboard... it jus stick with doubleside tap.
but the problem is the battery quite hard to find... ur R2 still valid for warranty?
hans18
post Sep 9 2011, 04:35 PM

19 posts

Julchin,

Have u tried undervolt your 6970m ?
mine stable at 700 / 900 at 1.0V
after 2 hours of crysis temp 80C
Im sure u will be better since u have better thermal pad/ paste

[PF] T.J.
post Sep 9 2011, 05:29 PM

24,193 posts

To all AW m14x users,
You guys probably noticed how hot the processor can get when on load, probably because the chip is farther away from the cooling fan, which blows on the GPU.
The temps can be lowered by 10-20C by going to Nvidia's Control Panel>Set PhysX configuration>GT555m [or change to auto-select, whichever which reduces the temps]
This will put some load on the GT555m, but since the M14x's GPU cooling is superb, it won't matter lol XD

credit to the NBR guy who found this : http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...20-degrees.html

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

**Will try folding later and see whether the temp decrease is significant or not

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 9 2011, 05:54 PM
rc2x
post Sep 9 2011, 06:16 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 9 2011, 02:14 PM)
ur batt KO edi?? u can tear the battery out from the maiboard... it jus stick with doubleside tap.
but the problem is the battery quite hard to find... ur R2 still valid for warranty?
Ohhh, warranty has ended few months ago. I’m so tired of it, every time boot up; my time will change far back few weeks ago. vmad.gif
kelvin_hata
post Sep 9 2011, 07:01 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(hans18 @ Sep 9 2011, 04:35 PM)
Julchin,

hans... sorry i was forgot to reply ur pm...
jus notice that... sorry sad.gif

QUOTE(rc2x @ Sep 9 2011, 06:16 PM)
Ohhh, warranty has ended few months ago. I’m so tired of it, every time boot up; my time will change far back few weeks ago.  vmad.gif
hmm... ur bios battery is 2 pins or 3 pins?? let me know... mb i can find 1 for u... haha
julchin_09
post Sep 9 2011, 10:06 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 9 2011, 12:56 AM)
@julchin_09
i order 2x 580m  drool.gif
oh... ur fren all over 20 years and fully with experience... good good  thumbup.gif 

BTW, it still left 0.01% in my statement rite??? mb u get mad is not because the percentage but my statement. so, i sorry to you ya.  notworthy.gif

580M not at the moment la.
6990 is as powerfull. If I can get good price abroad with trade in maybe I'll swap... icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(hans18 @ Sep 9 2011, 04:35 PM)
Julchin,

Haven't tried bro. Been all week testing and testing and benchmark. Which method did you use to undervolt. Also which Crysis did you play with?
You should try Crysis 2 put at ULTRA Settings for all, and enable DX-11 mode as well as HIGH TEXTURE settings. Both these 2 settings you'll have to download from Crysis 2 site. About 2GB size file.
rc2x
post Sep 9 2011, 10:39 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 9 2011, 07:01 PM)
hans... sorry i was forgot to reply ur pm...
jus notice that... sorry  sad.gif
hmm... ur bios battery is 2 pins or 3 pins?? let me know... mb i can find 1 for u... haha
It has 2 wires, so 2 pin eh. Thanks in advance. smile.gif
hans18
post Sep 10 2011, 12:34 AM

19 posts

kelvin. received ur reply.hehe.thanks

julchin. yes i mean its crysis 2 full hd resolution with extreme setting.its playable with around 30fps++ . max temp 80c.
fifa 11 max everything 1 hour plus gaming. max temp 74c.. DA2 max 78c.
idle temp about 48c.
basically around 10c drop after undervolt.
u can use atitool to undervolt default voltage.but i dont recommend below 1v.

btw. fyi 3d mark score will be less 1 to 2k compare to default voltage (1.1v) in my case
Q-fays
post Sep 10 2011, 12:48 AM

48 posts

Wah.... ready units are quite hard to find... perhaps you can try those larger stores like ALL IT etc.? hmm.gif

[/quote]

yaa quite hard to find...n all it also do not have allready
kelvin_hata
post Sep 10 2011, 01:46 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Sep 9 2011, 10:39 PM)
It has 2 wires, so 2 pin eh. Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
pm me ur address... if u mau fast service den, pay for the postage lo.. i think pos express wil do the job.. haha else 60cent stamp i can do free for u de. laugh.gif

julchin_09
post Sep 10 2011, 02:05 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(hans18 @ Sep 10 2011, 12:34 AM)
kelvin. received ur reply.hehe.thanks

julchin. yes i mean its crysis 2 full hd resolution with extreme setting.its playable with around 30fps++ . max temp 80c.
fifa 11 max everything 1 hour plus gaming. max temp 74c.. DA2 max 78c.
idle temp about 48c.
basically around 10c drop after undervolt.
u can use atitool to undervolt default voltage.but i dont recommend below 1v.

btw. fyi 3d mark score will be less 1 to 2k compare to default voltage (1.1v) in my case
Extreme is lower than ULTRA. When I was gaming on EXTREME it was ok but ULTRA is pushing the card harder....
Try that and see. You might have to finish the game once first, then download the 2GB extra settings from the CRYTEK website(if you haven't already)

But anyway I agree with your point that the undervolt will reduce temps. icon_rolleyes.gif
HOW did you undervolt? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Sep 10 2011, 02:07 AM
hans18
post Sep 10 2011, 03:03 AM

19 posts

my internet connection not so good here hehe to download 2gb hehe.yup extreme is playable but not sure ultra.

anyway to undervolt. just download atitool.( google)
then right click atitool tray icon >hardware>overclock setting>got voltage setting there.
u can create profile to utilize power efficiently.like me. idle mode. just 0.85v.gaming 1.00v.can set automatically at atitool ( when detect 3d apps the software will set to gaming voltage and clock. close game auto set to 2d clock and low voltage)
julchin_09
post Sep 10 2011, 03:17 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(hans18 @ Sep 10 2011, 03:03 AM)
my internet connection not so good here hehe to download 2gb hehe.yup extreme is playable but not sure ultra.

anyway to undervolt. just download atitool.( google)
then right click atitool tray icon >hardware>overclock setting>got voltage setting there.
u can create profile to utilize power efficiently.like me. idle mode. just 0.85v.gaming 1.00v.can set automatically at atitool ( when detect 3d apps the software will set to gaming voltage and clock. close game auto set to 2d clock and low voltage)
When you have free time you try la, but I assure you that the ATI 6970 can run ULTRA + DX-11 + High Texture quite smoothly. Just that the card will run up the mid to high 80s for me depending whether Im using my cooler or not. Without the cooler it runs hotter of course.

Anyway I will try your undervolt recommendation smile.gif thanks.
kelvin_hata
post Sep 10 2011, 06:12 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 10 2011, 03:17 AM)
When you have free time you try la, but I assure you that the ATI 6970 can run ULTRA + DX-11 + High Texture quite smoothly. Just that the card will run up the mid to high 80s for me depending whether Im using my cooler or not. Without the cooler it runs hotter of course.

Anyway I will try your undervolt recommendation smile.gif thanks.
undervolt wont burn ur card, but it will drop ur gc core n ram speed. it same like ur ac adaptor undervolt. since han try edi.. den should be ok... jus dun throttling den ok. biggrin.gif
julchin_09
post Sep 10 2011, 12:31 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 10 2011, 06:12 AM)
undervolt wont burn ur card, but it will drop ur gc core n ram speed. it same like ur ac adaptor undervolt. since han try edi.. den should be ok... jus dun throttling den ok.  biggrin.gif
Actually the throttling isn't noticeable. I realise it's when the card gets really really hot then it does. Maybe I should take a look again at the thermal paste Nd the positioning of the pads. Maybe the long pads might have been over stretched or something and not suitable for use anymore. Anyways a forumer abroad mentioned that my issue could be thermal throttling cos the card too hot. High 80s celsius and some parts low 90s celcius might have caused that. Will try with my notebook cooler. Cos normally with that my GPu heat is lower.

Added on September 10, 2011, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 10 2011, 06:12 AM)
undervolt wont burn ur card, but it will drop ur gc core n ram speed. it same like ur ac adaptor undervolt. since han try edi.. den should be ok... jus dun throttling den ok.  biggrin.gif
Actually the throttling isn't noticeable. I realise it's when the card gets really really hot then it does. Maybe I should take a look again at the thermal paste Nd the positioning of the pads. Maybe the long pads might have been over stretched or something and not suitable for use anymore. Anyways a forumer abroad mentioned that my issue could be thermal throttling cos the card too hot. High 80s celsius and some parts low 90s celcius might have caused that. Will try with my notebook cooler. Cos normally with that my GPu heat is lower.

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Sep 10 2011, 12:32 PM
kelvin_hata
post Sep 10 2011, 07:29 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

Mine running at 90'c sleep.gif

Wat cooler good ya?
julchin_09
post Sep 10 2011, 09:50 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 10 2011, 07:29 PM)
Mine running at 90'c sleep.gif

Wat cooler good ya?
D.I.Y like Casperito...

Or the ready available ones like Zalman?

I opted for the Coolermaster U3 cos you can position the fans to be directly where you want them. And Added an extra single faster running fan which makes it 4 fans. sweat.gif
hans18
post Sep 11 2011, 01:55 PM

19 posts

Kelvin, so far no throttling issue when undervolt for me
but it does perform 5-10% slower compare to default voltage even though same core/mem speed.
But it help my m15x run cooler and better. no more sudden shutdown when gaming ( i have experience 1 time b4 when fan not set to full speed smile.gif )

anyway any1 here tried IC diamond thermal Paste and 3M thermal pad ?
gor significant changes ? planning to try 1
casperito
post Sep 11 2011, 04:43 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(hans18 @ Sep 11 2011, 01:55 PM)
anyway any1 here tried IC diamond thermal Paste and 3M thermal pad ?
gor significant changes ? planning to try 1
i got IC diamond but havent applied yet.. waiting for my hyperX to arrive and to it all together....

131 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0245sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:45 PM