108 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V2, Dual Core 1.2 Ghz - best Android phone ?

TSbenny888
post May 4 2011, 09:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ May 4 2011, 07:55 AM)
i'd rather asking help from friend at UK buying it for me..even it is including VAT..it is still cheaper than custom tax + sirim.. sweat.gif
That is provided he bring in for you. If he sent by post/courier you will still be subjected to customs examination and possible hold up. One trick you can use ask him just to send you the phone with an alternative box and all accessories opened up. In this way it will resemble a set not meant for resale. I use this when I bought a PDA ( worth US500) from ebay and same time under declared it at US300 - the unit I received I noticed was with Msian customs stamp, opened and checked but I need not pay a single sen extra

Added on May 4, 2011, 9:45 am
QUOTE(ventrilocks @ May 4 2011, 08:45 AM)
how about, i buy from clove..but asking clove send to my friend address (UK)..then my friend post it to me (as a gift)?
can i? or clove will charge VAT to me??
VAT is applicable once you buy in UK irrespective where you wish it to be sent in UK. VAT is not necessary if set is directly exported out from UK. If you buy in UK and declared it at airport leaving the country, you can claim back the VAT paid. I have 2 children in London ( one working and another studying ) - they'd been buying stuffs for me from UK. Infact my daughter said she can buy for me if I can wait till year end when she plan to come back.

This post has been edited by benny888: May 4 2011, 09:49 AM
ccm
post May 4 2011, 09:49 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ May 4 2011, 08:26 AM)
congratz to ccm ... if ccm case successfully, then i follow .... brows.gif
the phone already with DHL.. successfully or unsuccessfully in your sense
is regarding to the package will arrive to my doorstep or no ?

Added on May 4, 2011, 9:52 amwhen we import things from overseas,
government will charge you duty fee, tax, and bla bla bla..
for me this is necessary, otherwise our country earn what?
you will pay tax to LHDN for your PCB too..

if you wait for local original set, they pay tax as well.
Just that the price I bought from oversea is their region recommended
selling price, or their company market price. Of course local distributors
will get their distribution price and sell to dealers with dealers price, and
yet the phone has been taxed after all. So when you go to the shop to buy,
normally people will think this is the safest way.

for me, I'm not aiming for the cheapest deal, but I just want to get my phone as early as possible wink.gif

This post has been edited by ccm: May 4 2011, 09:52 AM
Angelpoli
post May 4 2011, 09:57 AM

995 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 4 2011, 09:42 AM)
That is provided he bring in for you. If he sent by post/courier you will still be subjected to customs examination and possible hold up. One trick you can use ask him just to send you the phone with an alternative box and all accessories opened up. In this way it will resemble a set not meant for resale. I use this when I bought a PDA ( worth US500) from ebay and same time under declared it at US300 - the unit I received I noticed was  with Msian customs stamp,  opened and checked but I need not pay a single sen extra

VAT is applicable once you buy in UK irrespective where you wish it to be sent in UK. VAT is not necessary if set is directly exported out from UK. If you buy in UK and declared it at airport leaving the country, you can claim back the VAT paid. I have 2 children in London ( one working and another studying ) - they'd been buying stuffs for me from UK. Infact my daughter said she can buy for me if I can wait till year end  when she plan to come back.
i tot those studying or working in uk is not applicable of getting the tax back? only those traveler can get those tax back right? correct me if i'm wrong. btw, can i ask that how did ur children claim the vat back? i tried buying things from the uk outlet and when i want to claim the tax back, it's not possible cuz i couldn't get the tax form "chopped" at newcastle airport. if it's possible, pls explain to me how ur children get the tax back. thanks.
TSbenny888
post May 4 2011, 10:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ May 4 2011, 09:57 AM)
i tot those studying or working in uk is not applicable of getting the tax back? only those traveler can get those tax back right? correct me if i'm wrong. btw, can i ask that how did ur children claim the vat back? i tried buying things from the uk outlet and when i want to claim the tax back, it's not possible cuz i couldn't get the tax form "chopped" at newcastle airport. if it's possible, pls explain to me how ur children get the tax back. thanks.
I am just illustrating the point of the need to pay VAT based on my children's experience in UK. I did not say they could claim back the VAT. If you are a visitor, you can claim it when you leave the country. So even if my daughter buys it , she still has to pay VAT - I only save the courier costs, duties , sirim etc as bringing in personally is never an issue just for one or two sets. But end year is too long, might as well wait for local release

Angelpoli
post May 4 2011, 10:12 AM

995 posts

i guess if i'm happened to see any sgs2 selling at tax free shop at the manchester airport, i'll just buy it. thanks.

This post has been edited by Angelpoli: May 4 2011, 10:13 AM
brotan
post May 4 2011, 10:40 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ May 4 2011, 08:45 AM)
how about, i buy from clove..but asking clove send to my friend address (UK)..then my friend post it to me (as a gift)?
can i? or clove will charge VAT to me??
why not ship to Spore, then have friend there ship over to Msia as gift?
ventrilocks
post May 4 2011, 10:56 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

That is provided he bring in for you. If he sent by post/courier you will still be subjected to customs examination and possible hold up. One trick you can use ask him just to send you the phone with an alternative box and all accessories opened up. In this way it will resemble a set not meant for resale. I use this when I bought a PDA ( worth US500) from ebay and same time under declared it at US300 - the unit I received I noticed was  with Msian customs stamp,  opened and checked but I need not pay a single sen extra

VAT is applicable once you buy in UK irrespective where you wish it to be sent in UK. VAT is not necessary if set is directly exported out from UK. If you buy in UK and declared it at airport leaving the country, you can claim back the VAT paid. I have 2 children in London ( one working and another studying ) - they'd been buying stuffs for me from UK. Infact my daughter said she can buy for me if I can wait till year end  when she plan to come back.
so i cant use the method i mention? sad.gif
ccm
post May 4 2011, 11:21 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 4 2011, 10:40 AM)
why not ship to Spore, then have friend there ship over to Msia as gift?
ship to Singapore, the courier charges not much different compare ship to Malaysia.
Then when arrived Singapore, you have to pay GST and maybe duty fee (i'm not sure about
duty fee but GST is a must) then only you bring in to Malaysia.

When you ship from Singapore as a gift, you have to repack it..
if you have no luck, custom will still hold your phone and require you to apply
the Sirim.. unless you ask your fren from Singapore to bring in to Malaysia personally..not
by any courier company.

Added on May 4, 2011, 11:24 amI got experienced a company from Singapore sending some samples for me. And those samples are F.O.C. they packed in 1 box..
when arrived here I have to pay tax..

and then another story from DHL agent told me, he has a client left a phone in HK hotel. The hotel staff use DHL to courier back the phone to the owner, arrived Malaysia Custom hold the phone.. and just happened his phone is an AP set and he has to pay SIRIM for custom..eventually he didn't want the phone he just ask for the SIM card only..

This post has been edited by ccm: May 4 2011, 11:24 AM
kazama82
post May 4 2011, 11:24 AM

1,427 posts

Plan to get with maxis..hope the price is right...
yehlai
post May 4 2011, 11:30 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(strictly @ May 4 2011, 01:08 AM)
i just across sth cool. check this out.

http://youtu.be/OC4GxxRXse0

Added on May 4, 2011, 2:02 amHTC Sensation is going to be launched on 12th May in france.

Earlier than SGS 2? samsung pls do STH! cos here comes ur challenger!

source: android-hk.com
Then i might get Sensation over GS2
brotan
post May 4 2011, 11:49 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(ccm @ May 4 2011, 11:21 AM)
ship to Singapore, the courier charges not much different compare ship to Malaysia.
Then when arrived Singapore, you have to pay GST and maybe duty fee (i'm not sure about
duty fee but GST is a must) then only you bring in to Malaysia.

When you ship from Singapore as a gift, you have to repack it..
if you have no luck, custom will still hold your phone and require you to apply
the Sirim.. unless you ask your fren from Singapore to bring in to Malaysia personally..not
by any courier company.
actually he was thinking of asking his friend to repack in UK. since UK have to pay VAT and i assume Spore no tax, you can save some tax here

if UK and Spore tax almost the same, of course better send from UK directly (with the repack option)
ccm
post May 4 2011, 11:56 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ May 4 2011, 11:49 AM)
actually he was thinking of asking his friend to repack in UK. since UK have to pay VAT and i assume Spore no tax, you can save some tax here

if UK and Spore tax almost the same, of course better send from UK directly (with the repack option)
I mean the shipping cost from UK to Malaysia and UK to Singapore should be not much different..
then, if Singapore no tax, but still have to pay for GST..
sora_world07
post May 4 2011, 12:57 PM

111 posts

ive been checking the prices around in UK but im not sure. how much of a VAT refund would i get back if i buy SGS2 in UK?

am planing to go there next month to buy it >.<
strictly
post May 4 2011, 01:02 PM

24 posts

There's no way u can escape the tax. They even open up gift now.

I've already asked my friend about it.

His scenario was:

He asked his friend in the state to buy an iphone for him. Send it back as gift. held by custom. and had to pay the tax and also the sirim permit. it was rm 215 that time. No chance.

But sometimes if u're lucky, u can escape it. it's sort of like.. chance or luck == wouldnt want to bet on that.
sora_world07
post May 4 2011, 01:05 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(strictly @ May 4 2011, 01:02 PM)
There's no way u can escape the tax. They even open up gift now.

I've already asked my friend about it.

His scenario was:

He asked his friend in the state to buy an iphone for him. Send it back as gift. held by custom. and had to pay the tax and also the sirim permit. it was rm 215 that time. No chance.

But sometimes if u're lucky, u can escape it. it's sort of like.. chance or luck == wouldnt want to bet on that.
well i know u cant escape the tax. i would probably have to pay some when i get back from there...

im just asking how much would i get back from the VAT coz i duno the pricing...
strictly
post May 4 2011, 01:08 PM

24 posts

oh the VAT u can check via the online phone seller such as clove or handtec. around 100 to 120 pound i guess.

Added on May 4, 2011, 1:12 pmBut i'm not sure on how to claim back the VAT when u leave the UK airport. U should ask uncle benny about it.

This post has been edited by strictly: May 4 2011, 01:15 PM
ventrilocks
post May 4 2011, 01:41 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

my sis said..before entering the checkpoint you have to claim your VAT back..after entering the checkpoint..you cant claim your VAT.. nod.gif
oldKyoo
post May 4 2011, 05:06 PM

Flashing at a street near you.
961 posts

Hmm, uni doing a fire drill, got time to visit here now. wkakakakakka

Singapore has got their sgs2 thru grey market/ or from clove.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3219346

anyone who bought it from clove should have received it by now in malaysia.

unless just made ur purchase.

so ngam my mom went down for shopping..

gonna contact the seller and get my mom to get it for me 1st.

sian all the grey importers here all sked to import..

This post has been edited by oldKyoo: May 4 2011, 05:17 PM
ccm
post May 4 2011, 05:56 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ May 4 2011, 05:06 PM)
Hmm, uni doing a fire drill, got time to visit here now. wkakakakakka

Singapore has got their sgs2 thru grey market/ or from clove.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3219346

anyone who bought it from clove should have received it by now in malaysia.

unless just made ur purchase.

so ngam my mom went down for shopping..

gonna contact the seller and get my mom to get it for me 1st.

sian all the grey importers here all sked to import..
I think Handtec is the first one got stock and they are the earliest batch of dispatch ..
avaultz
post May 4 2011, 08:08 PM

202 posts

I just came back frm lowyat visiting Asia Power buyin Arc for my sis n i ask when GS2 gonna arrive.

The seller told me comin soon this month or nx month. but the price is already set to Rm2.6-2.7k.. i were like WTF..... gonna b like iphone4 price.zzz

i hope the price is not accurate.... = ="

108 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:18 PM