126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v12, Let's Blu-ray :D

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 20 2011, 09:44 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ May 20 2011, 09:25 AM)
Is it cheaper to buy in Amzon uk than Amazon US ..

in terms of Disc or Delivery?
Its your personal preferences i would say. And i believe Amazon UK delivery is lot quicker than US (depending on shipping factors)
Looking at the price tags, UK titles are far reasonable compared to US ; again it depends on the titles you would like to purchase though..
tankiasu
post May 20 2011, 10:50 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(johnsontys @ May 20 2011, 09:04 AM)
Great buy, The Green Hornet selling at RM169.90 at Speedy.
They have both the HMV steelbook edition as well as the clear casing edition - both at RM169.90
I think The Green Hornet 3D is selling at RM150.00 while the Tron 3D is selling at RM169.90.

But this Tron I got from Amazon US comes with 3 discs (3D, 2D, and DVD) + digital copy and somemore so much cheaper than Malaysian stores.

So for 3D titles, definitely you'll get much more savings buying from Amazon than from the local 'potong' shops. hmm.gif

Added on May 20, 2011, 10:51 amCan anyone help me?

I'm thinking of getting I, Robot from Amazon UK.

The title of that BD doesn't stated its Region Free, but if you click to read details & description, its stated as All Regions. Confusing....

This post has been edited by tankiasu: May 20 2011, 10:51 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 20 2011, 11:38 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(tankiasu @ May 20 2011, 10:50 AM)
Can anyone help me?
The title of that BD doesn't stated its Region Free, but if you click to read details & description, its stated as All Regions. Confusing....
I, Robot by TCF , Region Free
dirtrun
post May 20 2011, 12:29 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(tankiasu @ May 20 2011, 10:50 AM)
I think The Green Hornet 3D is selling at RM150.00 while the Tron 3D is selling at RM169.90.

But this Tron I got from Amazon US comes with 3 discs (3D, 2D, and DVD) + digital copy and somemore so much cheaper than Malaysian stores.

So for 3D titles, definitely you'll get much more savings buying from Amazon than from the local 'potong' shops.  hmm.gif

Added on May 20, 2011, 10:51 amCan anyone help me?

Hey..

As de sayin goes YMMV.. local shops sell instant gratification.. buy pay n go home n use.. buyin frm US/UK online stores need waitin n de occasional luck for everytin to cum thru 'unscathed'..

One way to bypass tis confusion is to a get a rgn free bdp.. once wif tat .. dont hv to worry liao.. tongue.gif
I suffered tis as well until I got d oppo.. n then a dune.. blush.gif

D
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 01:05 PM

1,069 posts

just received 2 more package from AMZ UK today, arrived in 8 days, as usuall, everything cool.
terranova
post May 20 2011, 01:14 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ May 19 2011, 09:19 PM)
Guys, any1 know where to buy some reasonable priced blurays in seoul, korea? Thx...
not cheap in seoul. amazon cheaper for western titles. local releases of western titles have korean text.

blu-ray takeup in S.Korea hasn't really gone mainstream yet. probably due to their "download" culture (fast internet speeds and local seeds). also, HD is nothing new to them (they've had HD channels for years).

for tourist friendly place, you can try COEX Mall. If you want to be more adventurous, try Yongsan electronics market. but may not be worth your while, depending on what you're looking for. my 2 cents.
sunnyK
post May 20 2011, 01:43 PM

663 posts

amazon UK is still the place to buy . tempted to try amazon france but postage is far more expensive
low98944
post May 20 2011, 02:24 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

Just received my copy of Human Planet and The Way Back. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: May 20 2011, 02:24 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 03:03 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ May 20 2011, 02:43 PM)
amazon UK is still the place to buy . tempted to try amazon france but postage is far more expensive
some sharing/analysis on the freight cost:

i always chhose the cheapest mode, my ranking as below:

1 - AMZ UK - Cheapest, average GBP1.80/unit for 8 units & above - AMZ UK refund 17% of VAT, if your disc is around GBP10, the VAT refund is good enough to cover your freight. choose the box set, eg. BORNE TRILOGY 3 disc at GBP17, VAT refund is around GBP2.5 & freight is only GBD1.8 for 3 disc, so u actually paid less, usually arrived within 10 days. no custom nor finas

2 - AMZ GERMAN - EURO14/SHIPMENT - so don't just buy 1 or 2 disc, try 7 disc, average EURO2/DISC, usually arrived within 2 weeks. AMZ GERMAN disc $ is cheaper than AMZ France

3 - AMZ US - average U$4.70/disc for 8 disc & above - slow speed if AMZ US use IPARCEL

4 - AMZ CANADA - tricky one, average cost is C$4/disc for 5 disc & above, but if AMZ canada use normal post, the espected delivery time is around 90 days. so far we are lucky to enjoy DHL 1st class by paying normal freight cost, however, we need to visit FINAS if u are in PENANG.

5 - AMZ FRANCE - most expensive - EURO5/disc for 4 disc & above - usually arrived in 2 weeks

after buying from all 5 above, i love UK the most, i believe the package is direct from UK to Penang without going to KL 1st, it saved at least 1 week.

AMZ US is 2nd chooice, original disc packing, good quality, but will wait for sales season. sometimes it took 50 days to arrive

AMZ CANADA is for cool steelbook, same zone a with amz us
AMZ DE is for cool packing,
AMZ France is for some weird/available titles.

u can buy from lowyat garage sales if u always buy in small quantity. the $ is not much dif after u included the freight/risk/time for waiting

fufu_80
post May 20 2011, 03:04 PM

88 posts

Hi to all,

I'm a newbie here which haven't try to purchase direct from Amazon US or UK before...

Would want to ask whether i need to pay anymore tax from our custom side if i just purchase 3 to 4 pieces of blu-ray in one shipment?

Thanks....

johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 03:06 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(fufu_80 @ May 20 2011, 04:04 PM)
Hi to all,

I'm a newbie here which haven't try to purchase direct from Amazon US or UK before...

Would want to ask whether i need to pay anymore tax from our custom side if i just purchase 3 to 4 pieces of blu-ray in one shipment?

Thanks....
the malaysia custom rule is "postage below RM500" no tax, so always keep your $/shipment (included freight) under RM500
peter32
post May 20 2011, 03:18 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Johnbluraylover, thanks for your sharing, your comparison chart above really answer my curiosity. Appreciate it.
TSAndrewtst
post May 20 2011, 03:36 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 20 2011, 03:03 PM)

u can buy from lowyat garage sales if u always buy in small quantity. the $ is not much dif after u included the freight/risk/time for waiting

Perfect comparison! love it biggrin.gif , due to slow delivery on US, that why I sometimes choose Priority Courier. For UK, DE - no need, just Standard is fine.

dirtrun
post May 20 2011, 03:48 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 20 2011, 03:03 PM)

1 - AMZ UK - Cheapest, average GBP1.80/unit for 8 units & above - AMZ UK refund 17% of VAT, if your disc is around GBP10, the VAT refund is good enough to cover your freight. choose the box set, eg. BORNE TRILOGY 3 disc at GBP17, VAT refund is around GBP2.5 & freight is only GBD1.8 for 3 disc, so u actually paid less, usually arrived within 10 days. no custom nor finas

2 - AMZ GERMAN - EURO14/SHIPMENT - so don't just buy 1 or 2 disc, try 7 disc, average EURO2/DISC, usually arrived within 2 weeks. AMZ GERMAN disc $ is cheaper than AMZ France

3 - AMZ US - average U$4.70/disc for 8 disc & above - slow speed if AMZ US use IPARCEL

4 - AMZ CANADA - tricky one, average cost is C$4/disc for 5 disc & above, but if AMZ canada use normal post, the espected delivery time is around 90 days. so far we are lucky to enjoy DHL 1st class by paying normal freight cost, however, we need to visit FINAS if u are in PENANG.

5 - AMZ FRANCE - most expensive - EURO5/disc for 4 disc & above - usually arrived in 2 weeks

after buying from all 5 above, i love UK the most, i believe the package is direct from UK to Penang without going to KL 1st, it saved at least 1 week.

AMZ US is 2nd chooice, original disc packing, good quality, but will wait for sales season. sometimes it took 50 days to arrive

AMZ CANADA is for cool steelbook, same zone a with amz us
AMZ DE is for cool packing,
AMZ France is for some weird/available titles.

I d Like to add on d part in bold.. I dont tink u can bypass de main customs entreport in Sepang if u r importin anytin frm abroad by mail..
De reason I believe is becos there are more direct flights from UK to KL.. which de cargo 'tompang'..

At least tat was wat I was told by a postal worker..
D
PS.. all de rest is veri informativ n gud to know..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: May 20 2011, 03:49 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 04:27 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 20 2011, 04:48 PM)

I d Like to add on d part in bold.. I dont tink u can bypass de main customs entreport in Sepang if u r importin anytin frm abroad by mail..
De reason I believe is becos  there are more direct  flights from UK to KL.. which de cargo 'tompang'..

At least tat was wat I was told by a postal worker..
D
PS.. all de  rest is veri informativ n gud to know..
ya brother, maybe u are right, reason i think UK direct to PG is just my personnel thought. recently, i saw most of my parcel got the stamp "dilepaskan" OLEH KASTUM is the PG stamp, not the KL stamp. my US parcel usually got 2 stamp. anyhow, this is just my personnel opinion.
TSAndrewtst
post May 20 2011, 04:27 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

Got people received - Kubrick Limited Edition Collection already! Wow! I want mine now! Still got at least 2 weeks before it can arrived in my hand!

http://forum.blu-ray.com/blu-ray-movies-no...tml#post4749163
fufu_80
post May 20 2011, 04:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 20 2011, 03:06 PM)
the malaysia custom rule is "postage below RM500" no tax, so always keep your $/shipment (included freight) under RM500
Thanks for the info... notworthy.gif
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 04:29 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 20 2011, 04:36 PM)
Perfect comparison! love it biggrin.gif , due to slow delivery on US, that why I sometimes choose Priority Courier. For UK, DE - no need, just Standard is fine.
speed = $, i used to choose 1st class shipment by DHL, but always kena FINAS, so now stick to normal post.

haha, maybe i ordered to much, i have a calender of when my shipments out & when expected to arrived.

i just bought 120 disc in this 2 months! i am gonna to eat instant noodles like u.
TSAndrewtst
post May 20 2011, 04:30 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 20 2011, 04:27 PM)
ya brother, maybe u are right, reason i think UK direct to PG is just my personnel thought. recently, i saw most of my parcel got the stamp "dilepaskan" OLEH KASTUM is the PG stamp, not the KL stamp. my US parcel usually got 2 stamp. anyhow, this is just my personnel opinion.
I think my case, all Standard Shipping went thru KL before came to JB, but Priority Courier from Amazon US is from Singapore to JB.

Added on May 20, 2011, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 20 2011, 04:29 PM)
speed = $, i used to choose 1st class shipment by DHL, but always kena FINAS, so now stick to normal post.

haha, maybe i ordered to much, i have a calender of when my shipments out & when expected to arrived.

i just bought 120 disc in this 2 months! i am gonna to eat instant noodles like u.

120 discs! wow! ... yalo! I need to eat grass soon!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 20 2011, 04:31 PM
johnbluraylover
post May 20 2011, 04:33 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 20 2011, 05:27 PM)
Got people received - Kubrick Limited Edition Collection already! Wow! I want mine now! Still got at least 2 weeks before it can arrived in my hand!

http://forum.blu-ray.com/blu-ray-movies-no...tml#post4749163
wow, i though it has not been release yet. anyhow, patient my friend. yours is yours.

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:48 PM