36 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC

b00n
post Feb 27 2014, 09:56 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 26 2014, 11:04 PM)
I got a funny call today, automated voice call from Ambank to approve or disapprove a large charge to a credit card. There was an option to talk to a representative but no rep answered the phone so I hung up.

I have never had an Ambank credit card in my life, might be time to call them up and check my credit report at Bank Negara. Suspicious about identity theft now...
Advisable to call in to AmBank for checking.
saki_kawaii
post Mar 12 2014, 08:25 AM

61 posts

yesterday, i received a call from this number: 01110718185

caller was a lady named Maria. it seems that she knows about my cc was charged without authorization by an insurance company (i filed a dispute and got back the money, bank blocked the card and issued a new one with new numbers). she even knows the name of the insurance company.

then she offered a protection program for my cc, so that next time if things like that happen again, i can immediately report to them and they will refund back my money.

it sounds good at first, then suddenly she asked me if i know about MyKad Smart Shopper. then she explained about it.

lastly she mentioned about the fee to be paid for the protection program. rm499 once until your cc expires. i said if have to pay then i dont want. i dont want to do any transaction through telephone.

then she got a bit annoyed and said the number that she called from is her office number and i can call her back anytime (to show that she's not a scammer). i didnt said anything but in my head i think office number must start from 03-.......

then when i kept refusing, she said this: "Puan, insurance company boleh access puan punya credit card details dgn guna no IC puan saja, walaupun puan dah tukar nombor kad yg baru"

that scared me a bit, but i told her to give me time (to stop the conversation) and she said she will call me again today

i will not answer her phone call.

ps: a friend of mine said her sister who is working in BNM told her insurance company does not have such access to the database that links your IC number to your credit card details.
Human Nature
post Mar 12 2014, 10:54 AM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(saki_kawaii @ Mar 12 2014, 08:25 AM)
yesterday, i received a call from this number: 01110718185

caller was a lady named Maria. it seems that she knows about my cc was charged without authorization by an insurance company (i filed a dispute and got back the money, bank blocked the card and issued a new one with new numbers). she even knows the name of the insurance company.

then she offered a protection program for my cc, so that next time if things like that happen again, i can immediately report to them and they will refund back my money.

it sounds good at first, then suddenly she asked me if i know about MyKad Smart Shopper. then she explained about it.

lastly she mentioned about the fee to be paid for the protection program. rm499 once until your cc expires. i said if have to pay then i dont want. i dont want to do any transaction through telephone.

then she got a bit annoyed and said the number that she called from is her office number and i can call her back anytime (to show that she's not a scammer). i didnt said anything but in my head i think office number must start from 03-.......

then when i kept refusing, she said this: "Puan, insurance company boleh access puan punya credit card details dgn guna no IC puan saja, walaupun puan dah tukar nombor kad yg baru"

that scared me a bit, but i told her to give me time (to stop the conversation) and she said she will call me again today

i will not answer her phone call.

ps: a friend of mine said her sister who is working in BNM told her insurance company does not have such access to the database that links your IC number to your credit card details.
Just ignore it. contact your bank directly, if there is any case.
TheEvilMan
post Mar 12 2014, 10:58 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

There's many dispute calls which somehow get a hold of ur personal information, when receiving suspected calls that involve debts or some strange offer that require ur password, please just ignore them and call the phone to reconfirm the situation yourself.
BugFace
post Mar 13 2014, 08:06 PM

733 posts

<Deleted Wrong Section>

This post has been edited by BugFace: Mar 13 2014, 08:20 PM
rufey
post Mar 24 2014, 03:48 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(plurbuddyskuppy @ Jul 16 2013, 12:49 PM)
0162274710 - she call said from takaful bla bla.. policy bla bla..i just said yes yes yes. she mention my cc number correctly, my ic, expired date and my full name. then ask me to paid RM399 for this year only. next year no need. i said owh ok. then she said want call me later for approval. i said ok. after hang up just realize this may scammer. ask google and lowyat. lucky got similiar case. now call me like hell. 40 miss call aldy. i do not answer. sleep.gif"
same with me just now... she said from takaful for maybank card credit holder.. one year free insurance protection.. so i said ok la..
then she started asking about my ofiz address, i ask for her email so i can send her my office address, but she insist for me to sms the address to her.. really sound fishy..

the she said need to confirm my credit card no and ask me to read my exp date on card..

then i ask her why she need it? she insist me to read it.. i keep asking until she hang up..

haih these people, senang2 jer mau dpt duet dgn tipu org..

be careful guys.. there are sharks everywhere.. @.@ rclxub.gif
ck23
post Mar 30 2014, 01:04 PM

717 posts

Good Day,

Please kindly send your full information through my email: walterjack857@yahoo.com or u can always call me at : 0166412914
I shall appreciate an urgent reply.

Anyone can search who is this guy? look like a scammer.

This post has been edited by ck23: Mar 30 2014, 01:05 PM
chongaik82
post Mar 30 2014, 02:57 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(ck23 @ Mar 30 2014, 01:04 PM)
Anyone can search who is this guy? look like a scammer.
Since you have his info. Report to Bank and also Bank Negara.
DarReNz
post May 2 2014, 11:33 AM

7,496 posts

anyone received this automated call from +60321788888 claiming to be from ambank and said that you have outstanding ? I didn't wait to hear the whole thing and cut off the call
saldopullt
post May 7 2014, 11:02 AM

536 posts

I've just received a call from an unknown ID ("No Caller ID"). But no sound after answering the call and hang up after 5sec. I got missed call from No Caller ID before.
Seems fishy to me.
I heard there are cases where ppl phone bill/credit card get charged for expensive usage after answering the call. Is that real?
beyond86
post May 7 2014, 12:26 PM

1,956 posts

QUOTE(saldopullt @ May 7 2014, 12:02 PM)
I've just received a call from an unknown ID ("No Caller ID"). But no sound after answering the call and hang up after 5sec. I got missed call from No Caller ID before.
Seems fishy to me.
I heard there are cases where ppl phone bill/credit card get charged for expensive usage after answering the call. Is that real?
"No Caller ID" normally is private phone, Amex used to call by using this
saldopullt
post May 7 2014, 06:03 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ May 7 2014, 12:26 PM)
"No Caller ID" normally is private phone, Amex used to call by using this
Not quite understand why amex wanted to hide its caller ID.. So that their customer cant call them back? doh.gif
beyond86
post May 7 2014, 07:15 PM

1,956 posts

QUOTE(saldopullt @ May 7 2014, 07:03 PM)
Not quite understand why amex wanted to hide its caller ID.. So that their customer cant call them back? doh.gif
i remember standard chartered also same when i apply new credit card, they call for verification
tishaban
post May 8 2014, 12:05 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ May 2 2014, 11:33 AM)
anyone received this automated call from +60321788888 claiming to be from ambank and said that you have outstanding ? I didn't wait to hear the whole thing and cut off the call
I got the same call as well, hung up. I have never had an account with ambank before. Very obviously a scam.

chng5255
post May 8 2014, 11:23 AM

109 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by chng5255: May 8 2014, 07:53 PM
saldopullt
post May 8 2014, 12:19 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ May 8 2014, 11:23 AM)
Dear all, please DO NOT IGNORE to all the automated calls from all bank. Your respond is very important. This is what I encounter in 1 hour time.

At 10:14 Ambank 03 2176 3833 called me (again) and request my approval for a transaction at Rm 3xxx. This time I pressed 9. A banker answered. I clarified I don't even apply for Ambank credit card. Unfortunately he is helpless. All he can do is provide me information according to his bank system. He then advise me to call Jabatan Siasatan Card Palsu. MAKE SURE you note down all the information from the bank before you call bank Negara.

At 10:37 I have telephone conversation with a guy from Bank Negara. I gave all related information by Ambank to Bank Negara. The guy says 3 working days for investigation and will get back to me.
1. The guy from the Bank Negara, they called u or u called them?
2. If u called them, u called by the number that Ambank provided u or official Bank Negara number where u can found on its website?
chng5255
post May 8 2014, 01:18 PM

109 posts

Well. I just realized I am being conned. On my way to police station to lodge a report for god sake.
Human Nature
post May 8 2014, 01:24 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ May 8 2014, 01:18 PM)
Well. I just realized I am being conned. On my way to police station to lodge a report for god sake.
That is bad. It is one of the standard modus operandi by these scammers.
WhitE LighteR
post May 8 2014, 01:44 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ May 2 2014, 11:33 AM)
A friend of mine got it too. And he doesnt have any Ambank acc. Definately a scam
WhitE LighteR
post May 8 2014, 01:46 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ May 8 2014, 01:18 PM)
Since you get con, u better alter your previous post so as not to confuse other reader here.. and inform them that its a con n to ignore all such calls.

36 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.1182sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:05 AM