36 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC

tzejinlau
post Apr 5 2012, 06:32 PM

14 posts

hi all, does / can bank ask ic for verification? is it safe to give?
Human Nature
post Apr 5 2012, 06:53 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(tzejinlau @ Apr 5 2012, 06:32 PM)
hi all, does / can bank ask ic for verification? is it safe to give?
If I am the one that make the call, then I would give.
fireballs
post Apr 5 2012, 06:57 PM

5,647 posts

give them fake ic number and see their respond
tzejinlau
post Apr 6 2012, 08:43 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Apr 5 2012, 07:57 PM)
give them fake ic number and see their respond
but if let say i apply the cc, then they will call for name, ic for verification....
is it normal for bank to verify like this?
Human Nature
post Apr 6 2012, 09:08 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(tzejinlau @ Apr 6 2012, 08:43 AM)
but if let say i apply the cc, then they will call for name, ic for verification....
is it normal for bank to verify like this?
from my experience, i never receive a verification call during the application process, and i also dont know why they need that info when all is already written in the submission form. they ought to able to read out your IC no, but if they ask you to read out then red flag dy.

in this kind of case, it is better you ask for the caller's name and department and tell him or her you will call back. then call the bank's CS number and ask for that person from the particular department.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Apr 6 2012, 09:18 AM
fireballs
post Apr 6 2012, 09:23 AM

5,647 posts

some trickers tell you the number to call, which is their accomplice :0

danieltan
post Apr 12 2012, 03:59 PM

Abuthen
750 posts

Last time received a call from 03-23326983. A malay or indian ladies sound influence in english. Try to promote MayBank VIP Credit Card.
She said that among the other, I was seletected to apply this SPECIAL CC.
At first experience taking this call, sound promising.
She asking the credit card expiry date. I was pronouce out clearly.
Second question, she asking my 16 digits number, I was numb.
Thinking again, BANK should have all my information.
Darn, almost giving out but I was having buffet. So hungry, I was hung up.

Wonder where should I log this number to Bank Negara. I think getting lot and lot scammer in Malaysia

Added on April 17, 2012, 11:38 am03-23326984

another number again.

This post has been edited by danieltan: Apr 17 2012, 11:41 AM
ZiNKaK
post Apr 17 2012, 12:49 PM

222 posts

wtf.. Just received a call from +60102209673 claiming to call from 'credit card service centre' for all credit cards. Claiming want to send me some discount card or something.. Ask me to give one of my credit card no and expiry for validation.. there I start questioning bout the so called 'credit card service centre' and I never heard bout such a thing.. Then she revealed it was a company name kembara something.. There I was somehow feel very pissed off and ask them to never call me again..
JonnY
post Apr 23 2012, 02:47 PM

Beginner
584 posts

Receive a call from 0102209671 and 0102209672. Claimed to be from MBBservice card center. She said everyone will receive this kind of service card for credit card holder and you cannot say you don't want that service.. And the registration fee is RM499. Registration fee will be in installment. About RM20-30++ permonth.

At first she straight away asked for visa details for confirmation. Later on only brief me with the details.

I'm so stupid to provide the visa details... Had called MBB and she help me block my visa card from any use and will send me a new visa card to my preference maybank branch.

They provide some sort of service card, touchngo and free insurance coverage for 1 year by RHB. After I heard RHB i feel something not right but before that she already ask for visa details to confirm. After she said RHB only she said there will be a registration fees of RM499.

Then she called again with 0102209672 but I didn't answer. Then she call again with 0102209671 and explained again and ask for confirmation again because my visa seems like deactivated. This time she pass to her manager which is female also and she explained to me again. End up I say I will call maybank to verify and she said there is no need to do so. I just hang up.
TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 05:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Updated post#1 for report by danieltan and for mobile numbers see post#11

if you note below two reports, the syndicate must have bought a bunch of prepaid numbers is series..

0102209673 post#248.. claiming to call from 'credit card service centre' for all credit cards. Claiming want to send me some discount card or something.. Ask me to give one of my credit card no and expiry for validation.. there I start questioning...Then she revealed it was a company name kembara something..ZiNKaK

0102209671 and 0102209672 post#249. Claimed to be from MBBservice card center...everyone will receive this kind of service.. and you cannot say you don't want... the registration fee is RM499 ..in installment... About RM20-30++ permonth....asked for visa details for confirmation.
I'm so stupid to provide the visa details... Had called MBB and she help me block my visa card.They provide some sort of service card, touchngo and free insurance coverage for 1 year by RHB.... After I heard RHB i feel something not right...JonnY

They must be changing prepaid numbers very frequent, now it starts with 010. Last time, we need to go to Telco Centre and register prepaid number with our IC. Nowadays it seems it is not the case. Our government agencies sometimes do come out with good policies but as usual Malaysia Boleh and what is said today can change tomorrow.

And why are LYN members still being conned? You guys should share this thread with other fellow members at other sections.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 23 2012, 05:48 PM
cyra
post May 10 2012, 04:04 PM

just got this call about 15 mins ago.

number: 03 21741515

first, he wants to confirm whether my cards are still active

claim he is from service card centre kl, offering me some special protection card for credit card holders due to good credit record. The offer doesn't sound tempting, but since it is free and they offer to courier it to my office address, i was ok, thinking of checking it out later when it came.

Initially he only asked for: office address and ic number for verification

at this point, am still OK, telling myself, if he starts asking for credit card info, this got to be a scam

then, he asked for my card expiration date (darn, these scammers never give up, do they?), i told him i left my wallets and he said he will call me back tomorrow.

after the call ended, i call bank negara and they confirm it is a scam.

ah yes, the scammer even generous enough to give the so called Service Card Centre KL number : 03 22825786

AND his cell phone number 012 2359657 (alif)
wodenus
post May 10 2012, 07:24 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(cyra @ May 10 2012, 04:04 PM)
just got this call about 15 mins ago.

number: 03 21741515

first, he wants to confirm whether my cards are still active

claim he is from service card centre kl, offering me some special protection card for credit card holders due to good credit record. The offer doesn't sound tempting, but since it is free and they offer to courier it to my office address, i was ok, thinking of checking it out later when it came.

Initially he only asked for: office address and ic number for verification

at this point, am still OK, telling myself, if he starts asking for credit card info, this got to be a scam

then, he asked for my card expiration date (darn, these scammers never give up, do they?), i told him i left my wallets and he said he will call me back tomorrow.

after the call ended, i call bank negara and they confirm it is a scam.

ah yes, the scammer even generous enough to give the so called Service Card Centre KL number : 03 22825786

AND his cell phone number 012 2359657 (alif)
03-22825786 is the famous "Prestige Dairy Farm" number smile.gif

zr125
post May 18 2012, 04:20 PM

780 posts

0193202952 asking me if still active using visa / mastercard.
Said from Touch 'n Go or something.

After i said which card i'm actively using, suddenly phone call dropped. Then no call me back.

Anyone facing this situation like this?
doczul
post May 23 2012, 01:41 PM

26 posts

just got call from 0192712873 asking still using visa
then he told about discount card n Touch n Go.
After that he tell 8 digit number n asked for another 8 digit, i was so dumb give him. after that i realize something was wrong. he told to pay rm499 for posting discount card and i said i'm not interested he said thank q n suddenly phone call dropped. i call MBB n they said it was scam n they can't take ur money cause u didnt give 3 digit no at back.
ozone9
post Jun 6 2012, 08:28 PM

230 posts

receive a call fr 03-2691-2046 claiming fr makahmah that i setup a company & became guarantor for Tan ..something...He have my correct IC nos!!That`s puzzle me.I ask for his name n he claim he is Wong..something!!but clearly a malay voice.
Claims that he sent 2 letter to my hse but unable to give me address when i demand for it.Angry n told him if he serve the letter,my lawyer will be ready n hang his line!!
Call back..fax line sound!!

Pls beware!!
kurtangle78
post Jun 13 2012, 11:02 AM

25 posts

got call yesterday, damn kena pukau, give them everything, but dont want to pay rm 499, they hung up, charge my cc, got thank you sms, call bank block card, call agent no, no answer, call hq no, pls refer to agent, dam kena tipu la....make police report, amout floating, once charge, i go dispute and tribunal and bnm.....i'm such and idiot....dam dam dam
azam_halim
post Jun 18 2012, 05:20 PM

451 posts

i receive a phone call from maybank. he call me using this no. 03-58855100 claiming from maybank shah alam. he say that maybank is offering me maybank2card...the thing is, i own maybank2card since feb last year!..how come maybank didnt know this? what is the point of offering another set of maybank2card if the credit limit is definately shared, and i have to pay extra gst???
LordChaos
post Jun 21 2012, 11:13 AM

15 posts

+60 19 675 0068, malay lady asking about my CC maybank expiry date, haven't even picked up the cards yet. Stupid maybank can't event secure their customer's data.
Zaman85
post Jun 21 2012, 12:01 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(LordChaos @ Jun 21 2012, 11:13 AM)
+60 19 675 0068, malay lady asking about my CC maybank expiry date, haven't even picked up the cards yet. Stupid maybank can't event secure their customer's data.
it also happen to me...how they get our info...with the same number
TSGen-X
post Jun 21 2012, 12:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LordChaos @ Jun 21 2012, 11:13 AM)
QUOTE(Zaman85 @ Jun 21 2012, 12:01 PM)
it also happen to me...how they get our info...with the same number
Lets do some detective work:

Answer the following:

1. Where did both of you apply the card?
a. Location and Date (approximately).

IF not at a Maybankard Centre, please answer question 2 to 4.
2. Was it thru a agent or a Maybank Staff?
3. Got the name of the agent(s) you applied the card with? You should have asked for name card.
4. Name of the agent company?

If you answer Q1 Not at Maybankard Centre and Q2 to Q4 don't know, then you were asking for trouble in the first place.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 21 2012, 12:38 PM

36 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:17 PM