Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC
besaid
Jul 20 2012, 03:20 PM
Got another scam attempt on me again. 012-3160030 to offer me some card penjimatan. MBB cards user here. Getting sick of receiving so many scam calls everyday.
gabby
Jul 24 2012, 07:13 PM
I oso got call from This number 03-79501177 many times, today 3x cos I didnt pick up d phone, curious with the no, I google-ed.... to my surprise, appear up that is no many said from Hong Leong Tele Marketer ?!!!  I have got many call fr HLB regarding personal loan  this is after EON Bank merge with Hong Leong (I was existing EON Bank CC holder)
mynameisjetto
Aug 7 2012, 03:47 PM

After I wash my face, I received a called form this number : 0162180475 from Tasha, claimed she called from Zest Leisure Sdn Bhd
Then she talked, and talked about discount card and as a visa card holder, I oblige to take the card. And because a lapse of concentration and moment of my stupidity, I accidently gave her my card number and valid tru.
She keep talking, and I sit in front of my computer, googled about visa zest leisure, and bring me to this thread. Realize my mistake, I asked her if I don't want to accept the card and she said it's a must and the payment already made rm499 for lifetime. So, after few words, she said thanks and sms me her number.
Then, I called Maybank and ask them is it a must for me to take Zest Card and they said I'm just being scammed and I ask her to cancel my current card and give me a new one since they Tasha already know the details of my card. The Maybank representative ask me to do the police report and I think I will make one.
I texted the number that Tasha called me and the number she gave it to me because she didnt answer my calls. I sent another message said why she dont answer my calls? Then, she called me back, and I said I just confirm with Maybank and Visa(lie) about the card and I'm not oblige to take the discount card. Then this Tasha perli me said usually poor people reject the card. I said you are the one who tricked me from the first place, said it is a must for me to accept this card.She told me they cant cancel the payment since already submitted, I said I already blocked the transaction,and I don't want this card but you are the one who proceed my application. She said to me if I want to cancel I don't need to create havoc etc, she can cancel the payment. I asked her, you said you can't cancel before and after I keep insisting I will make a police report, so say can cancel now? She suddenly hung up and I received a sms said the transaction is void.
To confirm, I called Maybank and talk to the same person when I called the first time, I wanna check is it really this Tasha cancel the payment? Maybank person said yes, and do I would like to continue with my new card application and I said yes since Tasha the bad girl and know my card details already. So, I said thanks and hung up
Tasha, Zest Leisure, 0162180475,012667390
I hope others can learn from my mistake.Thank you
fly126
Aug 8 2012, 01:22 AM
Edited
This post has been edited by fly126: Aug 14 2012, 05:14 PM
ftptwistedclown
Sep 3 2012, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(LordChaos @ Jul 3 2012, 11:30 PM) theĀ people calling are offering this card http://citytrendz2u.net/main/. Very freaking aggressive, i rejected like 4 times and they are still calling each day. From what i can understand from the website, for 399 bucks you will be getting a touch and go card. Other services seems bogus, unknown clinic. Online air ticket booking is a picture.... Sweet talk you saying they are working with Visa/Bank, calling the card supplementary (kad sampingan) and can earn points etc etc then straight ask for your CC 3 digit number. woah i just got a call from their agents. All very desperate similar like zest.com.my agents. This post has been edited by ftptwistedclown: Sep 3 2012, 03:28 PM
fly126
Sep 3 2012, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ Sep 3 2012, 12:15 PM) woah i just a call from their agents. All very desperate similar like zest.com.my agents. Just tell them you don't have /use any Credit Card now.. why need this useless card... our credit card offer best privileges/promotion anytime just a TOTO(Tipu Orang -Tipu Orang) Card This post has been edited by fly126: Sep 3 2012, 01:46 PM
ftptwistedclown
Sep 3 2012, 03:26 PM

OMG 2nd call today!
- Unkown caller ID - She call me and said she from Maybank Berhad. Then she ask me whether I have activated my card yet or not. I replied I still havent activate. Then asking me when I want to activate. I say I have no time to activate. Then she asked me expiry date of my card. I replied I left my cc at house. Then she say ok she will call again tomorrow.
Possible scam?
hatvher
Sep 3 2012, 03:50 PM

QUOTE(mynameisjetto @ Aug 7 2012, 03:47 PM) After I wash my face, I received a called form this number : 0162180475 from Tasha, claimed she called from Zest Leisure Sdn Bhd Then she talked, and talked about discount card and as a visa card holder, I oblige to take the card. And because a lapse of concentration and moment of my stupidity, I accidently gave her my card number and valid tru. I hope others can learn from my mistake.Thank you i got called and the lady asked for my valid tru..i only gave her that..but no other things..just now i check my maybank2u and still ok..i didnt proceed with any registration..so nothing is going to happen to my account rite?
afiqms
Sep 3 2012, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ Sep 3 2012, 03:26 PM) OMG 2nd call today! - Unkown caller ID - She call me and said she from Maybank Berhad. Then she ask me whether I have activated my card yet or not. I replied I still havent activate. Then asking me when I want to activate. I say I have no time to activate. Then she asked me expiry date of my card. I replied I left my cc at house. Then she say ok she will call again tomorrow. Possible scam? Yes indeed~
Saustic
Sep 6 2012, 12:22 PM
Would MBB call you from a private number? Ever since I get numerous fake calls regarding my credit card, I made the habit of saying I don't have a credit card (thus cutting the conversation short), but this person said, "Eh, if you don't have a credit card then why do I see transactions here? If that's the case, I'm going to block this card." Realizing I may have made a mistake, before I could say anything, she hung up. lol?  Just wanted to clarify with you guys onthe private number from MBB before I call their CS to check back.
TSGen-X
Sep 6 2012, 12:26 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(Saustic @ Sep 6 2012, 12:22 PM) Would MBB call you from a private number? Ever since I get numerous fake calls regarding my credit card, I made the habit of saying I don't have a credit card (thus cutting the conversation short), but this person said, "Eh, if you don't have a credit card then why do I see transactions here? If that's the case, I'm going to block this card." Realizing I may have made a mistake, before I could say anything, she hung up. lol?  Just wanted to clarify with you guys onthe private number from MBB before I call their CS to check back. You should call CS and confirm. Even if the call was genuine, not a problem. Better be safe than sorry. And you can always instruct them to reacitivate the card if it was really suspended. Maybe always tell us they won't call or email us asking for personal details mah. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 6 2012, 12:27 PM
ah_ken
Oct 6 2012, 12:47 AM
Today I received a call from 052415188, they claim that they are from maybank. They got all my information included workplace, address, salary, and so on. They said to give me credit card, but I don't want they said can't. Just ask me the branch I can collect credit card. Anyone have this experience? I do not know where they got my information. What should I do now? In conversation they asked my mother name and I told them because I thought they really from maybank since they got all my information. But I called to maybank and they said the number was not in their list.
Human Nature
Oct 6 2012, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(ah_ken @ Oct 6 2012, 12:47 AM) Today I received a call from 052415188, they claim that they are from maybank. They got all my information included workplace, address, salary, and so on. They said to give me credit card, but I don't want they said can't. Just ask me the branch I can collect credit card. Anyone have this experience? I do not know where they got my information. What should I do now? In conversation they asked my mother name and I told them because I thought they really from maybank since they got all my information. But I called to maybank and they said the number was not in their list.  Do you have any credit card now? Usually mother's name is used as one of the security question, and if it is a call to offers cards, why they need such info? I think you better keep track of your cards if you currently holding any.
ah_ken
Oct 6 2012, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 6 2012, 06:23 PM) Do you have any credit card now? Usually mother's name is used as one of the security question, and if it is a call to offers cards, why they need such info? I think you better keep track of your cards if you currently holding any. I currently dont have any credit card. they know everything so i thought is true. btw already i told them my mother's name. i worry they use to call bank to do anything because they even have my mother's name. btw how do i keep track? Is it possible they use my details to get my account? or i should close my account and change another?
Human Nature
Oct 6 2012, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(ah_ken @ Oct 6 2012, 08:52 PM) I currently dont have any credit card. they know everything so i thought is true. btw already i told them my mother's name. i worry they use to call bank to do anything because they even have my mother's name. btw how do i keep track? Is it possible they use my details to get my account? or i should close my account and change another? Try to call back the number and pretend asking for details (example, you want to apply for a card from a different bank) without revealing your name. Also, maybe you can email/call maybank (accounts) and state what happen so that they will raise alert if something suspicious occurs or use a diff security question. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 6 2012, 09:57 PM
idoblu
Oct 7 2012, 09:07 AM
Just remember one thing. Banks never calls!
TSGen-X
Oct 7 2012, 10:47 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(ah_ken @ Oct 6 2012, 12:47 AM) Today I received a call from 052415188, they claim that they are from maybank. Any number that does not start with area code 03 is a sign that it is most probably a fake call. If people call you using mobile phone to offer credit cards or personal loans, one should be extremely cautious and should not even entertain them. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 7 2012, 10:48 AM
Human Nature
Oct 7 2012, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 7 2012, 09:07 AM) Just remember one thing. Banks never calls! I do receive calls from banks, but only as a follow up to my queries/complaints. In this case, they know the specific details  On the other hand, scam calls are different. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 8 2012, 06:05 PM
Human Nature
Oct 8 2012, 06:05 PM
Received a call from 03-23801905 offering credit re-structure plan from Hong Leong. I asked how he got my name and number and he said I may have a credit card with Hong Leong. I pointed out that I have no credit card or any relation with Hong Leong, and he said he is not from Hong Leong but an outcource centre for many banks
TSGen-X
Oct 9 2012, 10:04 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 8 2012, 06:05 PM) Received a call from 03-23801905 offering credit re-structure plan from Hong Leong. I asked how he got my name and number and he said I may have a credit card with Hong Leong. I pointed out that I have no credit card or any relation with Hong Leong, and he said he is not from Hong Leong but an outcource centre for many banks  I received a similar call yesterday from a mobile line claiming to be a company outsourced by RHB for offering lower interest rate for outstanding balance. As usual, they got my name correct but call the wrong phone. (I have many phones with active numbers and one number specifically for banks only which is not disclosed to others). And the best part is he asked if I got a RHB credit card  Told him nicely not interested and ended the call.