133 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

mugenfoo
post Dec 17 2007, 10:59 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

Wow .... Diamonds are still in the market!!

Now sampai version 9 liao ah ? rclxms.gif

I got a pair of Diamond III and Diamond V , still working very well .. still sounding very good!

Wharfedale's Diamond series .. a legend in its own right. Best bang for the $$$.

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Nov 25 2007, 11:05 PM)
I got my Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 some months ago for RM800-900 forgotten exactly how much.No regrets on this purchase,even to this day I'm still thrilled every time I listen to these diamonds thumbup.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 18 2007, 01:15 AM

727 posts

Me too i had Wharfedale 8.3 and honestly it is one of the best bang for buck in terms of value and the sound well.....it was really really good so much so that it could beat others 2 to 3 times costing more. I would highly recommend Wharfedale speakers to anyone on a budget!!! smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
gabanyayaya
post Dec 18 2007, 11:18 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Dec 18 2007, 02:15 AM)
Me too i had Wharfedale 8.3 and honestly it is one of the best bang for buck in terms of value and the sound well.....it was really really good so much so that it could beat others 2 to 3 times costing more. I would highly recommend Wharfedale speakers to anyone on a budget!!! smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
Bang-for-a-buck heh..... Just wait until it all bang to you untill you burn your wallet........You never told me that you had a Wharfedale before?????? hmm.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 18 2007, 02:48 PM

727 posts

Haha you never asked lol:P It was my first OWN system. For the $ i paid worth all the while until the hifi bug bit me and i gatal change. But it is all trial and error maa......hehe now damn happy with what i have. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
gabanyayaya
post Dec 18 2007, 04:36 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Dec 18 2007, 03:48 PM)
Haha you never asked lol:P It was my first OWN system. For the $ i paid worth all the while until the hifi bug bit me and i gatal change. But it is all trial and error maa......hehe now damn happy with what i have. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
I never happy..... moneyflies.gif
nocar
post Dec 18 2007, 04:55 PM

752 posts

I'm still using my first-ever hifi setup bought circa 95-96. After economic downturn in 97, lost interest in upgrading due to the astronomical price after that.

now gatal ear already after hearing KEF Q at Tong Lee.
skydna
post Dec 19 2007, 12:57 AM

236 posts

Hi all sifu here i am considering to buy a pair of bookshelf
Most of the song i love are japanese/chinese pop and vocal like ovilia ong and emi fujita. Over 80% of song is Female.
i am finding a speaker have very clear high,sweet mid and average bass
Monitor Audio Bronze BR2 / BR1 ,Wharfedale Diamond 9.1, B&W CM1,KEF Q1 /Cresta 10
my budget is about rm1k any 1 know the price for those speaker?Any recomment shop to get those?
Which will most probably will stuitable for me?
Thinking to go Amcorp mall for a look, do the audio shop there provide amp repair service?my old sansui have some problems also hehe...
MadZiZ
post Dec 19 2007, 01:58 AM

727 posts

Yes the shops at AmCorp do service faulty equipments....do ask around. Hmm budget of 1k....i would recommend you bookshelf but which one depends on taste. Wharfedale would be an option. Tip...second hand market got loads of choices if your patient and dun mind 2nd hand route. Look at star audiophile and other places selling 2nd hands. Good luck on your search smile.gif
mugenfoo
post Dec 20 2007, 12:47 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

... and remember to budget in a good pair of stands... the stands will really make a lot of difference to the sound quality of bookshelf speakers.

Literally placing them on bookshelves are actually quite bad sounding.

If you got the space, a pair of 24inch or slightly higher stands would be ideal. Open-frame stands are OK as long as they're rigid. Otehrwise, go for those with hollow-tube frames, so you can sand-fill them too! The more rigid the stand, the better the speakers will sound.

What kind of sand? 1st choice would be "Amang"... if you can find them from any mining location. 2nd choice, very fine silica-sand.
If not, just drive around some construction sites, and ask for some of those fine sand they use to mix with the cement powder.

Make sure the sand is "dry". So it would not rust the stands! smile.gif

Those stands one might find at Ikea are probably the absolute-worst stands anyone can use. They are light, wobbly and just overall crap.
MadZiZ
post Dec 20 2007, 01:38 AM

727 posts

I so agree with you bro stand is quite important after getting a good set of speakers, cable, cd player, interconnects and etc etc. LOL got so many thing to get....hihi very posionous hobby smile.gif sad.gif tongue.gif
skydna
post Dec 20 2007, 02:46 AM

236 posts

Ou thx sifu but i think i need seriously think about the speaker sound signiture 1st.Then i need to find a shop to try the speaker..
Any 1 know where got sell USHER speaker? seems very popular in taiwan HI-FI audio
MadZiZ
post Dec 22 2007, 02:19 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Dec 18 2007, 11:18 AM)
Bang-for-a-buck heh..... Just wait until it all bang to you untill you burn your wallet........You never told me that you had a Wharfedale before?????? hmm.gif
Hahahaha you never asked why shud i tell rite? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif doh.gif
gsdev
post Dec 24 2007, 09:20 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(skydna @ Dec 19 2007, 12:57 AM)
Hi all sifu here i am considering to buy a pair of bookshelf
Most of the song i love are japanese/chinese pop and vocal like ovilia ong and emi fujita. Over 80% of song is Female.
i am finding a speaker have very clear high,sweet mid and average bass
Monitor Audio Bronze BR2 / BR1 ,Wharfedale Diamond 9.1, B&W CM1,KEF Q1 /Cresta 10
my budget is about rm1k any 1 know the price for those speaker?Any recomment shop to get those?
Which will most probably will stuitable for me?
Thinking to go Amcorp mall for a look, do the audio shop there provide amp repair service?my old sansui have some problems also hehe...
Wharfers are good for the budget minded but i would suggest you give the new PSB ALPHA B1 a listen, their a bang for the buck. They won streophile best budget speakers 2007 and second runner up as product of the year. I have the older Aplha B's and i can only say this fantastic for the price i paid a year ago.

http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/story.as...audiofile/03psb

http://www.stereophile.com/features/1207poty/index8.html
LittleCow
post Dec 24 2007, 10:07 PM

185 posts

Just bought the Yamaha E700 mini -fi (piano craft)....below RM1.5K....sounds great...love it for my small space....
mugenfoo
post Dec 25 2007, 12:49 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Dec 24 2007, 09:20 PM)
Wharfers are good for the budget minded but i would suggest you give the new PSB ALPHA B1 a listen, their a bang for the buck. They won streophile best budget speakers 2007 and second runner up as product of the year. I have the older Aplha B's and i can only say this fantastic for the price i paid a year ago.

http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/story.as...audiofile/03psb

http://www.stereophile.com/features/1207poty/index8.html
Wow .... know any shop around KL/PJ that displays the PSB B1 ?

I'm most curious to check them out , and maybe as the article suggests .. buy a pair for friends/family (or self). thumbup.gif

My guess is they should not be too finicky about equipment partnering...

ape
post Dec 25 2007, 03:14 PM

849 posts

Hi all sifus here,

Can recommend me a decent HTIB set budget <RM3k? Thanks.
craven dusk
post Dec 25 2007, 10:35 PM

241 posts

HI all,

Upon much researching and soul searching, finally placed my money on Yamaha RXV-1800 receiver. I had a pair of Diamonds 9.1. Initially I wanted speakers with deeper and tighter bass, hence I thought of PSB Alpha B1. They are real good. Alpha made me notice of them.

However, as surround speakers do not need so much vocal and mid range prowess that was Alpha B1, Diamond 9.1 is the tick. Diamond 9.1 is very clear, highs are crisp, seperation is much more distinctive however, the vocals are much fuller with PSB Alpha B1. I gonna get PSB Image B25 if nothing else comes up within range - looking for punch and livelier for fronts. Any suggestions?

nocar
post Dec 26 2007, 01:31 PM

752 posts

Looking for punch then you need speakers that can really punch the mids on your face. hehehe... try demo some floorstander!
gsdev
post Dec 26 2007, 04:49 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Dec 25 2007, 12:49 PM)
Wow .... know any shop around KL/PJ that displays the PSB B1 ?

I'm most curious to check them out , and maybe as the article suggests .. buy a pair for friends/family (or self).  thumbup.gif

My guess is they should not be too finicky about equipment partnering...
Give A&L AUDIO STATION (Tel: 03-2141 3884 / 2142 9884) a call, if not mistaken they are in K.L. and also in P.J.
mugenfoo
post Dec 27 2007, 12:11 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

Oh... might they have a showroom as well ?

I only noticed alot of CMY Hi-Fi shops in malls lately, apart from the usual City-Square shops and also that extreme specialist shop near Rothmans roundabout (sec. 19 to be exact) in PJ ... alot of old-timers would sure know this shop wink.gif

Thanks for the contact, will give them a call sometime...

QUOTE(gsdev @ Dec 26 2007, 04:49 PM)
Give A&L AUDIO STATION (Tel: 03-2141 3884 / 2142 9884) a call, if not mistaken they are in K.L. and also in P.J.

133 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:25 AM