Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

MadZiZ
post Oct 24 2007, 11:40 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Aug 24 2007, 03:22 PM)
I still hold Marantz CD63 series (SE, or KI Sig) with very high regard and better sounding than its successors, even better when modded with change of opamps and diodes. Reclocking (can be expensive) will push it into a higher realm throwing its nearest competitors out the window.
There's also the Audiolab 8000S..conservatively rated at 60w/channel but I've experienced its power more like 75 to 80W music power and poise. No doubt these are rather dated and can be found as used sets, but they're excellent choice for most purpose and intent. Just don't match these with cheap speakers.
bsl555 what do you mean by reclocking the cd player? Where can i send my Rotel 1072 to be reclocked? Around how much would (expected) this cost may i ask? Thanks...... notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif whistling.gif
MadZiZ
post Oct 24 2007, 07:26 PM

727 posts

Thanks for the above mentioned explaination bsl555, much appreciated and i have been TRYING to understand what reclocking means on the net smile.gif smile.gif LOL

Added on October 24, 2007, 7:26 pmAny tips on who or where does this service here in Klang Valley? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MadZiZ: Oct 24 2007, 07:26 PM
MadZiZ
post Oct 24 2007, 10:59 PM

727 posts

If you do have the time and would consider the plea of a noobie, grateful shall i be of your kindness smile.gif But if i am imposing, just point the way to someone/company that can do it. But this i shall KIV until i gather enough knowledge to why reclocking is done and its benefits. No point rushing until i fully know what i am getting myself into, right? LOL smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Oct 27 2007, 10:53 PM

727 posts

Nice but i wonder it is just for looks or do they match in terms of sound for the looks??? I hope so smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Nov 7 2007, 06:27 PM

727 posts

Haha yes i prefer Audiolab amps more....can drive almost all speakers smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Nov 8 2007, 11:54 AM

727 posts

Almost all mid-range speakers la.....dun go into crazy ones tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Nov 12 2007, 02:00 PM

727 posts

Waaah your really a treasure mine huh BSL......if your coming to Ikea area let me know...got "lobo" lp to give to you. As promised and kept smile.gif Just for you!!!! tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Nov 14 2007, 08:16 AM

727 posts

Your welcome BSL....but right now really tied up so can't make it to your area. I hope to pay you a visit once i have settled with some personal stuffs and finish some of my client's work. No promises but when i have free space sure to call one. smile.gif tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Nov 22 2007, 06:03 PM

727 posts

Bro do you mind shopping for used items??? Do look around....surely can get better equipment if your patient and willing to open up your eyes smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Nov 24 2007, 02:11 PM

727 posts

Haha have to be as if not you will end up buying and then selling and again and again......end up more lui spent. LOL tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 18 2007, 01:15 AM

727 posts

Me too i had Wharfedale 8.3 and honestly it is one of the best bang for buck in terms of value and the sound well.....it was really really good so much so that it could beat others 2 to 3 times costing more. I would highly recommend Wharfedale speakers to anyone on a budget!!! smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 18 2007, 02:48 PM

727 posts

Haha you never asked lol:P It was my first OWN system. For the $ i paid worth all the while until the hifi bug bit me and i gatal change. But it is all trial and error maa......hehe now damn happy with what i have. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 19 2007, 01:58 AM

727 posts

Yes the shops at AmCorp do service faulty equipments....do ask around. Hmm budget of 1k....i would recommend you bookshelf but which one depends on taste. Wharfedale would be an option. Tip...second hand market got loads of choices if your patient and dun mind 2nd hand route. Look at star audiophile and other places selling 2nd hands. Good luck on your search smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 20 2007, 01:38 AM

727 posts

I so agree with you bro stand is quite important after getting a good set of speakers, cable, cd player, interconnects and etc etc. LOL got so many thing to get....hihi very posionous hobby smile.gif sad.gif tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Dec 22 2007, 02:19 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Dec 18 2007, 11:18 AM)
Bang-for-a-buck heh..... Just wait until it all bang to you untill you burn your wallet........You never told me that you had a Wharfedale before?????? hmm.gif
Hahahaha you never asked why shud i tell rite? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif doh.gif
MadZiZ
post Mar 3 2008, 01:54 PM

727 posts

A fren of mine just got the ATC SCM7 (8ohm).....he is telling me that it is singing so well......smile.gif Makes me just wanna change my current speakers but i shall wait and save more $$$ then hehe try and get a ProAc. Sometimes penny wise = pound foolish. Guys here is a tip: if you wanna get the great sound, save your money dun waste with minimal upgrades. Once you have the amount needed, then go get a good set of speakers or electronics. Unless can get 2nd hand at bargains la kan kan???? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Mar 3 2008, 11:26 PM

727 posts

Added on March 3, 2008, 9:30 pm
Eh? upgrading again? hahaha....

[/quote]

Haha nope very the happy me with my current system tongue.gif smile.gif
MadZiZ
post Mar 8 2008, 02:15 AM

727 posts

Yes it is true the dude from ML has parts to do with micromega. Sadly, micromega stage(s) have had many unfavorable reviews....ie mostly software issues and skipping. Really a nice looking player, supposedly memorizes the whole disc this to be better at fast changes through the cd. Would be nice for a transport though smile.gif As for the stage 5 bro.....it is the sellers choice to price.....if someone really wants it sure bet it will sell smile.gif Surely to get bites if priced a lil more better. Just my 2 cents worth of thoughts smile.gif tongue.gif Happy not voting lol......
MadZiZ
post Mar 10 2008, 12:13 AM

727 posts

Haha size doesn't matter. LOL. smile.gif tongue.gif
MadZiZ
post Mar 30 2008, 09:46 AM

727 posts

Bro i would suggest going to HIFI shops to listen to demo systems. Matching is the key to getting the right kind of sound suitable for yourself. It also depends on cables and interconnects. Your budget will allow you for a decend new system, but 5k is great and will yield better options if you were to go the 2nd hand route ie star audiophile/hifi for sale blog. Just my two cents worth of thoughts, good luck smile.gif

0.0254sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:57 PM