133 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

utellme
post Jan 25 2008, 10:24 AM

919 posts

Hi sifu,

Recently, I noticed that my old faithful CD63SE CD player produced crippling sound when playing high pitch musical,especially "paul potts - one chance" CD. do anyone know what is wrong and any idea good repair shop ard KL and PJ. TIA
skydna
post Jan 26 2008, 05:31 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 25 2008, 10:24 AM)
Hi sifu,

Recently, I noticed that my old faithful CD63SE CD player produced crippling sound when playing high pitch musical,especially "paul potts - one chance" CD.  do anyone know what is wrong and any idea good repair shop ard KL and PJ.  TIA
for repair shop i think u should go amcorp mall for a look
most of the audio shop provide repair services
ccschua
post Feb 5 2008, 11:08 PM

1,630 posts

Is anyone using Opera Prima [edited], deep base and good penetrating soundstage ? I am so tempted to trade in my KEF cresta 10 for that, instead of adding on more woofer and mid speaker to it.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Feb 19 2008, 11:36 PM
Jason
post Feb 9 2008, 05:32 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Jan 2 2008, 05:52 PM)
i just bought a amp and CD player from frens now want to find a pair of bookshelf which is recommend i prefer more to vocal 60% detail abt 40 %

My System :
Marantz PM4001
Marantz CD5001
Chord Calypso RCA
Streetwire Stream 16/2 Speaker Wire
which speaker u guys recommend
1) AE Evo 1
2) AE Neo (abit out budget)
3) Mordaunt Short Carnival 2
4) Wharfedale Diamond 9.1
5) Mordaunt Short Avanti 902i (abit bright)

i would recommend you take PSB Alpha into consideration. sub RM800, untouchable for the price.

QUOTE(abel @ Jan 8 2008, 02:10 PM)
i think that is Chord Carnival Silver Plus RM 40m not bad the price.
this cable can bring out alot of detail ..... smile.gif actually is silver coated not pure silver.

Currently listen see ur system is lack of wut things than tune from there if lack of detail than use this silver cable will bring some detail out if ur sound bright dont use this silver cable than go for copper smile.gif

If copper i will recommend VDH Clearline abt RM 25+ per m or take VDH Skyline Hybrid RM 45 per meter but VDH cable more to analog sound n warm sound if ur sound brights or harsh sound is suitable.

Copy From The Chord Company
Chord Carnival Silver Plus is a very affordable high performance speaker cable. Designed to achieve equal and realistic dynamics throughout the frequency range, Carnival Silver Plus features a pair of six identical, silver plated oxygen free copper conductors in a semi-air spaced configuration.

This is a well-balanced speaker cable with powerful, tuneful bass and an open, expressive mid range and treble. Carnival Silver Plus will bring out the best in any hi-fi or home cinema system.

Chord Carnival Silver Plus
dear abel, are the prices for VDH clearline per pair? and where to get it for the price?

also.. i'm in the market for a sub RM2k integrated amplifier..anything i should look at? so far i've checked out the cambridge audio azur 640av2..RM1650 best price..anybody know i can get for better price and what other amps i should check out?
mugenfoo
post Feb 10 2008, 12:34 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 25 2008, 10:24 AM)
Hi sifu,

Recently, I noticed that my old faithful CD63SE CD player produced crippling sound when playing high pitch musical,especially "paul potts - one chance" CD.  do anyone know what is wrong and any idea good repair shop ard KL and PJ.  TIA
Seems like the analog stage of the Marantz is acting up. Should be an easy fix.... no need to mess with the laser/servo transport mechanism.

The analog stage is a part of the circuit board that has a bunch of caps and op-amps or transistors, before going to the RCA jacks. A decent repair shop should be able to troubleshoot and repair it.

My guess would be some bad caps. Normal with aging to go bad. Of course.. this is assuming you've tried using a different source (mebbe DVD player or a friend's CD player) to make sure its the Marantz that is the cause of the "crippling sound" and not any other part of your audio chain... hmm.gif

Who's the agent for Marantz in town presently ? Woo Kee Hong ? CMY ?

poyo
post Feb 11 2008, 03:12 AM

278 posts

Noobie here,

Planning to go HT. Sadly, like many noobies, always get the pushover. Haihs.

Anyhow, after buying my LCD tv between late March to early June, I want to go for a nice 5.1 system for a HT beginner. Receiver would be the Yamaha RX-V661. What would you guys recommend for a budget of about, let's say, between RM 2k to RM 2.5k? Should I go for a complete budget 5.1 system, or should I go slow, i.e start off with receiver + two floorstanding speakers + one sub? Will pay cash, so I hope will get a better price.

Although I am not going to buy my HT stuufs now, I would love to have as much help as possible, so that when I go around auditioning, I only need to audition a small collection, for as a rea noobie, I need all the help I can get. cry.gif

Here's my thread : Noobie in HT. Thanks fellas!

ccschua
post Feb 20 2008, 08:00 PM

1,630 posts

Aiyo why is there no Opera Prima loadspeaker users. I really loss now ..

should I let go my KEF cresta 10, and then go for Aegis... I want to play all kinds of music. right now with my soundstage 1.5 to cresta, I am happy with classical, jazz, vocal. I hope later when my Zero DAC comes in, I would like to upgrade my speaker, 1 step higher.
miliardo83
post Feb 23 2008, 04:28 PM

683 posts

Where can get the Eclipse TD series??

htkaki
post Feb 23 2008, 07:04 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 20 2008, 08:00 PM)
Aiyo why is there no Opera Prima loadspeaker users. I really loss now ..

should I let go my KEF cresta 10, and then go for Aegis... I want to play all kinds of music. right now with my soundstage 1.5 to cresta, I am happy with classical, jazz, vocal. I hope later when my Zero DAC comes in, I would like to upgrade my speaker, 1 step higher.

How about KEF iQ3 or MA Bronze BR2?

miliardo83
post Feb 24 2008, 01:30 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 23 2008, 07:04 PM)
Vote for MA BR2...
ccschua
post Feb 24 2008, 12:40 PM

1,630 posts

manage to find the review for bronze BR2

http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/story.as...iofile/22bronze

by the way, how is this BR2 compared, with say Mission M71, Aegis, cresta 10. all about RM 1k - RM 1.4k. the line should be

1. bass, does it know its limit? can it punch with weight and dedication and yet control
2. treble. is it done with over exuberant and color, over detail.
3. vocal. natural, illusion, clear, imaginery or real.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Feb 24 2008, 12:51 PM
mnkh27
post Feb 25 2008, 02:57 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jan 10 2008, 02:51 AM)
Cables can make a system seem to have clearer vocals  but bigger factors could be the room environment ?

KimberKable & Straightwire makes really "clear sounding" cables ... but abit pricey...  depending on model.

Budget models worth trying: Kimber PSB

Crazy price range cables: Kimber KCAG (if they still make them?), Straightwire Maestro, Virtuoso, etc...
hmm.gif
I have Straigtwire Maestro speaker cables terminated with WBT banana plugs going for really cheap. Anyone interested please PM me.
mnkh27
post Feb 25 2008, 02:57 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jan 10 2008, 02:51 AM)
Cables can make a system seem to have clearer vocals  but bigger factors could be the room environment ?

KimberKable & Straightwire makes really "clear sounding" cables ... but abit pricey...  depending on model.

Budget models worth trying: Kimber PSB

Crazy price range cables: Kimber KCAG (if they still make them?), Straightwire Maestro, Virtuoso, etc...
hmm.gif
I have Straigtwire Maestro speaker cables terminated with WBT banana plugs going for really cheap. Anyone insterest please PM me.
clngu
post Feb 25 2008, 12:45 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

I am going to trade-in my Pioneer AV Receiver VSX-915 and Pioneer DVD Player DV-989AVi ... to Pioneer AV Receiver VSX-LX60 and Pioneer Blu-Ray Player BDP-LX70A

The retail price for ...

Pioneer AV Receiver VSX-LX60 > RM6499

Pioneer Blu-Ray Player BDP-LX70A > RM6999

All black colour ... should be cool smile.gif

This post has been edited by clngu: Feb 25 2008, 12:47 PM
miliardo83
post Feb 25 2008, 01:00 PM

683 posts

Can i know how much the price of B&W 685 stereo speakers sell??

ccschua
post Feb 26 2008, 11:16 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 23 2008, 07:04 PM)
wonder what is the new price for MA BR2. How about RM 1,400 for a pair of used demo unit? Normally speakers have no problem right.
nocar
post Mar 2 2008, 03:05 PM

752 posts

i'm thinking of selling my oldies hifi stuff. anyone knows the market price for the stuffs below:
1. Micromega Stage1 CD Player - bought in 1996. Still in running condition with the CD transport replaced in 2004.
2. Arcam Alpha6+ Amplifier - bought in 1996. Still in running condition - nothing being changed.

htkaki
post Mar 2 2008, 06:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 26 2008, 11:16 PM)
wonder what is the new price for MA BR2. How about RM 1,400 for a pair of used demo unit? Normally speakers have no problem right.

RM1,400 for demo unit? Try to haggle for a bit more. Normally, if the speakers got problem, you could detect it right away when you audition it.

ccschua
post Mar 2 2008, 11:25 PM

1,630 posts

Basically to sum up, I notice the popularity in the following with reasonable price

Monitor Audio
PSB (alpha is out of market ? cheap ?)
KEF
B&W
Paradigm

deep pocket items

ProAC
ATC
Sonus faber concerto
Opera super pavarotti

Can someone giv me the league..
I am thinking to drop by and audition the speakers, before decide. I am very tempted on the KEF IQ series. heard it is Hong Kong based now.

This post has been edited by ccschua: Mar 5 2008, 12:45 AM
MadZiZ
post Mar 3 2008, 01:54 PM

727 posts

A fren of mine just got the ATC SCM7 (8ohm).....he is telling me that it is singing so well......smile.gif Makes me just wanna change my current speakers but i shall wait and save more $$$ then hehe try and get a ProAc. Sometimes penny wise = pound foolish. Guys here is a tip: if you wanna get the great sound, save your money dun waste with minimal upgrades. Once you have the amount needed, then go get a good set of speakers or electronics. Unless can get 2nd hand at bargains la kan kan???? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

133 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:56 PM