Now sampai version 9 liao ah ?
I got a pair of Diamond III and Diamond V , still working very well .. still sounding very good!
Wharfedale's Diamond series .. a legend in its own right. Best bang for the $$$.
QUOTE(Blackhart @ Nov 25 2007, 11:05 PM)
Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!
Dec 17 2007, 10:59 PM
1,061 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
Wow .... Diamonds are still in the market!!
Now sampai version 9 liao ah ? I got a pair of Diamond III and Diamond V , still working very well .. still sounding very good! Wharfedale's Diamond series .. a legend in its own right. Best bang for the $$$. QUOTE(Blackhart @ Nov 25 2007, 11:05 PM) |
Dec 20 2007, 12:47 AM
... and remember to budget in a good pair of stands... the stands will really make a lot of difference to the sound quality of bookshelf speakers.
Literally placing them on bookshelves are actually quite bad sounding. If you got the space, a pair of 24inch or slightly higher stands would be ideal. Open-frame stands are OK as long as they're rigid. Otehrwise, go for those with hollow-tube frames, so you can sand-fill them too! The more rigid the stand, the better the speakers will sound. What kind of sand? 1st choice would be "Amang"... if you can find them from any mining location. 2nd choice, very fine silica-sand. If not, just drive around some construction sites, and ask for some of those fine sand they use to mix with the cement powder. Make sure the sand is "dry". So it would not rust the stands! Those stands one might find at Ikea are probably the absolute-worst stands anyone can use. They are light, wobbly and just overall crap. |
Dec 25 2007, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(gsdev @ Dec 24 2007, 09:20 PM) Wharfers are good for the budget minded but i would suggest you give the new PSB ALPHA B1 a listen, their a bang for the buck. They won streophile best budget speakers 2007 and second runner up as product of the year. I have the older Aplha B's and i can only say this fantastic for the price i paid a year ago. Wow .... know any shop around KL/PJ that displays the PSB B1 ?http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/story.as...audiofile/03psb http://www.stereophile.com/features/1207poty/index8.html I'm most curious to check them out , and maybe as the article suggests .. buy a pair for friends/family (or self). My guess is they should not be too finicky about equipment partnering... |
Dec 27 2007, 12:11 AM
Oh... might they have a showroom as well ?
I only noticed alot of CMY Hi-Fi shops in malls lately, apart from the usual City-Square shops and also that extreme specialist shop near Rothmans roundabout (sec. 19 to be exact) in PJ ... alot of old-timers would sure know this shop Thanks for the contact, will give them a call sometime... QUOTE(gsdev @ Dec 26 2007, 04:49 PM) |
Jan 10 2008, 02:51 AM
Cables can make a system seem to have clearer vocals but bigger factors could be the room environment ?
KimberKable & Straightwire makes really "clear sounding" cables ... but abit pricey... depending on model. Budget models worth trying: Kimber PSB Crazy price range cables: Kimber KCAG (if they still make them?), Straightwire Maestro, Virtuoso, etc... QUOTE(skydna @ Jan 8 2008, 08:06 PM) |
Feb 10 2008, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 25 2008, 10:24 AM) Hi sifu, Seems like the analog stage of the Marantz is acting up. Should be an easy fix.... no need to mess with the laser/servo transport mechanism.Recently, I noticed that my old faithful CD63SE CD player produced crippling sound when playing high pitch musical,especially "paul potts - one chance" CD. do anyone know what is wrong and any idea good repair shop ard KL and PJ. TIA The analog stage is a part of the circuit board that has a bunch of caps and op-amps or transistors, before going to the RCA jacks. A decent repair shop should be able to troubleshoot and repair it. My guess would be some bad caps. Normal with aging to go bad. Of course.. this is assuming you've tried using a different source (mebbe DVD player or a friend's CD player) to make sure its the Marantz that is the cause of the "crippling sound" and not any other part of your audio chain... Who's the agent for Marantz in town presently ? Woo Kee Hong ? CMY ? |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:59 AM |