133 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

hushymushy
post May 14 2015, 11:53 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 14 2015, 11:46 PM)
Basically, it is a horn cum a dust collector cum satellite dish. Ya, looks weird but some of the others in the market looks far weirder. Good reviews though but one can never believe what the reviewers say. Best I think is for you to listen to it but I think it is kinda hard to find one to audition here. From what I read of it, it is "super-position-critical". For me, I like speakers to sound great wherever I place it.  Just because it will sound better if placed two feet from the back wall doesn't mean I will do so (sorry hushymushy) cos I like things in order and speakers should be heard and seldom seen as an obstruction. From the GT Gen2's many reviews, these speakers need space at the rear to bring out the bass - not my cup of tea. Another thing, it depends on what kind of source you are hooking it up to. Regardless of how good your speakers are, a lousy source will mean a lousy sound. Garbage in, Garbage out. Bro, this GT Gen2 is a garage project from a messy warehouse in downtown LA. You look at how they packed this stuff? If you ask me, I'd rather stick to the mainstream brands. At least there is such a thing as after sales service (unless you buy speakers from Alvin from Perfect Hifi). For the kind of moolah you would expect to pay for the GT Gen2, you might as well look somewhere else and at speakers you can actually touch, feel, smell, look and listen to here in Malaysia. At least if it doesn't sound as good after you have hooked it up at home, there is no one to put the blame on (hahahaha).
taikor...one can't have best of every thing ler....

and i do agree with you about speaker positioning.....
but if you can achieve best position and still look nice....that would perfect world....

my recent audio room....haiyah.....messed up abit...the screen forced my cremonas out abit......but ok lar....sound not much impacted
wim1983
post May 15 2015, 12:08 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ May 14 2015, 10:49 PM)
It is a waveguide driver and with closure. Still subject to directional and Thiel paramaters. What innovative to you?
The most innovative point is, it looks so weird, but people prefer the sound of it, and even compare it to dozens of multigrand speakers...hmm brows.gif
Sentinel92
post May 15 2015, 12:14 AM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 15 2015, 12:08 AM)
The most innovative point is, it looks so weird, but people prefer the sound of it, and even compare it to dozens of multigrand speakers...hmm brows.gif
There are idiots out there who compare the over priced JH Layla IEM having bigger soundstage than the obviously miles better HD800 full sized headphone. Don't buy into the hype man. Try the damn things first, then only decide if you wanna buy it.

For that price you might be better off with the DALI Rubicon bookshelves.

wim1983
post May 15 2015, 12:22 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 15 2015, 12:46 AM)
Basically, it is a horn cum a dust collector cum satellite dish. Ya, looks weird but some of the others in the market looks far weirder. Good reviews though but one can never believe what the reviewers say. Best I think is for you to listen to it but I think it is kinda hard to find one to audition here. From what I read of it, it is "super-position-critical". For me, I like speakers to sound great wherever I place it.  Just because it will sound better if placed two feet from the back wall doesn't mean I will do so (sorry hushymushy) cos I like things in order and speakers should be heard and seldom seen as an obstruction. From the GT Gen2's many reviews, these speakers need space at the rear to bring out the bass - not my cup of tea. Another thing, it depends on what kind of source you are hooking it up to. Regardless of how good your speakers are, a lousy source will mean a lousy sound. Garbage in, Garbage out. Bro, this GT Gen2 is a garage project from a messy warehouse in downtown LA. You look at how they packed this stuff? If you ask me, I'd rather stick to the mainstream brands. At least there is such a thing as after sales service (unless you buy speakers from Alvin from Perfect Hifi). For the kind of moolah you would expect to pay for the GT Gen2, you might as well look somewhere else and at speakers you can actually touch, feel, smell, look and listen to here in Malaysia. At least if it doesn't sound as good after you have hooked it up at home, there is no one to put the blame on (hahahaha).
Yes, all speakers need some kind of positioning to get the best of the sound to be flowed into our ears. I'm thinking rationally based on the idea, how the speaker control the sound, which is could be what most high-end speakers is being designed, but as you know auditions, magazine reviews, marketing hype, all comes with a layer of thick snake oil or being injected with tons of snake oil, I'm sad to say that though, if I'm going to audition the speakers, how am I ensure I'm listen to the real sample of products, that's the fishy thing, also the room setup with acoustic management is another trap. More practically, consider you have thousands of song, even it takes 20 to 30 tracks, the process can be tiring and not really wise to make a decision. After all I'm still back to the same question, with limited budget how can get a reference bookshelf that is powerful and dynamic enough with balanced and accurate tone, if assume I buy a highly recommended brand of speakers, there is also no guanrantee I can get what I want, also there is no return policy in bolehland. The Grand Teton Gen2 got 40 days return policy, which in case I just need to pay the shipping cost though. Talking about garbage in garbage out, I'm absolutely fine with it, as I always go for transparent setup. USA really a heaven for HiFi and music enthusiast, there are tons of affordable speakers with good return policy. In BOLEHLAND, with same price, I'm just buying a traditional designed speakers, no state of the art technology, so I would rather buy a really "high end" bookshelf speakers. If not the Grand Teton Gen2, what else would you all recommend? KEF R300? Joseph Audio Pulsar is neverland but dreamland to me drool.gif
wim1983
post May 15 2015, 12:23 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2015, 01:14 AM)
There are idiots out there who compare the over priced JH Layla IEM having bigger soundstage than the obviously miles better HD800 full sized headphone. Don't buy into the hype man. Try the damn things first, then only decide if you wanna buy it.

Ya, I get what you mean, I plan to have some chats with Grand Teton Gen2 owners first, private investigation executing... laugh.gif
GI Jie
post May 15 2015, 12:28 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2015, 12:14 AM)

Ya...trust your own ears, not someone else's ears.
hushymushy
post May 15 2015, 12:38 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 15 2015, 12:28 AM)
Ya...trust your own ears, not someone else's ears.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif yup.......no one knows how you want to hear it except yourself....

next month i might be travelling to Bangkok....if i have the time...i might go HiFi Plaza again....

fx20
post May 15 2015, 05:52 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 15 2015, 12:22 AM)
Yes, all speakers need some kind of positioning to get the best of the sound to be flowed into our ears. I'm thinking rationally based on the idea, how the speaker control the sound, which is could be what most high-end speakers is being designed, but as you know auditions, magazine reviews, marketing hype, all comes with a layer of thick snake oil or being injected with tons of snake oil, I'm sad to say that though, if I'm going to audition the speakers, how am I ensure I'm listen to the real sample of products, that's the fishy thing, also the room setup with acoustic management is another trap. More practically, consider you have thousands of song, even it takes 20 to 30 tracks, the process can be tiring and not really wise to make a decision. After all I'm still back to the same question, with limited budget how can get a reference bookshelf that is powerful and dynamic enough with balanced and accurate tone, if assume I buy a highly recommended brand of speakers, there is also no guanrantee I can get what I want, also there is no return policy in bolehland. The Grand Teton Gen2 got 40 days return policy, which in case I just need to pay the shipping cost though. Talking about garbage in garbage out, I'm absolutely fine with it, as I always go for transparent setup. USA really a heaven for HiFi and music enthusiast, there are tons of affordable speakers with good return policy. In BOLEHLAND, with same price, I'm just buying a traditional designed speakers, no state of the art technology, so I would rather buy a really "high end" bookshelf speakers. If not the Grand Teton Gen2, what else would you all recommend? KEF R300? Joseph Audio Pulsar is neverland but dreamland to me drool.gif
I think your better bet is still stick with Sierrra-1. whistling.gif
wim1983
post May 15 2015, 07:30 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ May 15 2015, 06:52 AM)
I think your better bet is still stick with Sierrra-1. whistling.gif
Yeah, quite tempting to get Ascend Acoustic Sierra-1, it looks gorgeous, the Grand Teton Gen2 looks like a joke or mad scientist experiment...
fx20
post May 15 2015, 07:57 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 15 2015, 07:30 AM)
Yeah, quite tempting to get Ascend Acoustic Sierra-1, it looks gorgeous, the Grand Teton Gen2 looks like a joke or mad scientist experiment...
When buying speaker, you need to look at the engineering aspects: part used, driver used, design, SPL, on- and off-axis, cabinet, decaying and definitely the the designing goal of the speaker.

Relying on reviews also can be misleading as there are alot of paid reviews or bribed reviews. Even auditioning before purchase sometime can be misleading as they are difference in room space, gears, and most importantly, your mood (haha, this can be easily influenced).

In US, they offer 30 more days in home audition, because the best place to test out is probably your home. biggrin.gif

wim1983
post May 15 2015, 08:15 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ May 15 2015, 08:57 AM)
When buying speaker, you need to look at the engineering aspects: part used, driver used, design, SPL, on- and off-axis, cabinet, decaying and definitely the the designing goal of the speaker.

Relying on reviews also can be misleading as there are alot of paid reviews or bribed reviews. Even auditioning before purchase sometime can be misleading as they are difference in room space, gears, and most importantly, your mood (haha, this can be easily influenced).

In US, they offer 30 more days in home audition, because the best place to test out is probably your home.  biggrin.gif
The weird and freaky thing is the Grand Teton Gen2 is being put together with those big brand expensive speakers, really looks like a joke, haha...
fx20
post May 15 2015, 08:36 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 15 2015, 08:15 AM)
The weird and freaky thing is the Grand Teton Gen2 is being put together with those big brand expensive speakers, really looks like a joke, haha...
There is nothing wrong with marketing positioning.
You can come out with a strange design and position your product along with Wilson Audio, the problem is how to convince others to give you $$$. You can do paid reviews, design nice ads in magazine, and sponsor review website etc, be good friend with editors and give him a free pair, give out your speakers in lucky draw, or work with proton edar to install your speaker into their Honda clone etc.
GI Jie
post May 15 2015, 08:58 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 12:38 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif yup.......no one knows how you want to hear it except yourself....

next month i might be travelling to Bangkok....if i have the time...i might go HiFi Plaza again....
For sure you got no time to visit Hifi Plaza when in BKK cos you spend too much time inside the urut centres cool2.gif
GI Jie
post May 15 2015, 09:06 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 14 2015, 11:53 PM)
taikor...one can't  have best of every thing ler....

and i do agree with you about speaker positioning.....
but if you can achieve best position and still look nice....that would perfect world....

my recent audio room....haiyah.....messed up abit...the screen forced my cremonas out abit......but ok lar....sound not much impacted
Eh...take picture of your newly renovated sound room and show us a bit lah.
What you mean by the screen forcing your Cremonas out a bit ler?
hushymushy
post May 15 2015, 09:20 AM

1,708 posts

pix is here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/412500/+1520
GI Jie
post May 15 2015, 10:11 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 09:20 AM)
Enuf juice meh? How many dedicated power points you ran into the room?
My new place got 5 at the place I am setting up my tv & existing system but I haven't checked if they are dedicated or parallel wiring

The new setup will be in my study and I am sure I gotta run a few more dedicated lines to it. Minimum 4 I think. Existing only 2 and at different corners of the room. Will be partitioning it up. Trouble is it is about 30 feet away from my junction box.

This post has been edited by GI Jie: May 15 2015, 10:22 AM
hushymushy
post May 15 2015, 10:28 AM

1,708 posts

@GI Jie , i have one dedicated phase going into the audio room....from there i have a dedicated DB power for the room

from the DB, each equipment has a dedicated power line

1 for my amp running on 4mm cables
1 for my av amp running on 4mm cables
1 for cdp running on 2.5mm
1 for bluray running on 2.5mm
1 for projector
1 for sub
and another spare for future second sub

my screen, aircond and lights are wired from the main db which is separated from my audio db.....

should be enuf juice lar
fx20
post May 15 2015, 10:44 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 15 2015, 10:28 AM)
@GI Jie , i have one dedicated phase going into the audio room....from there i have a dedicated DB power for the room

from the DB, each equipment has a dedicated power line

1 for my amp running on 4mm cables
1 for my av amp running on 4mm cables
1 for cdp running on 2.5mm
1 for bluray running on 2.5mm
1 for projector
1 for sub
and another spare for future second sub

my screen, aircond and lights are wired from the main db which is separated from my audio db.....

should be enuf juice lar
Nice. I wish I have room like this.
GI Jie
post May 15 2015, 10:52 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ May 15 2015, 10:44 AM)
Nice. I wish I have room like this.
Ya, me too. My (soon to be partitioned) room only measures 19' X 15'. Gonna partition it with 2 concrete slabs with steel wool in between.
hushymushy
post May 15 2015, 11:32 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ May 15 2015, 10:52 AM)
Ya, me too. My (soon to be partitioned) room only measures 19' X 15'. Gonna partition it with 2 concrete slabs with steel wool in between.
based on Cardas recommendation....your room is slider wider....but nevertheless....having a room is better than none....
can't wait to see your room!!!

133 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:54 PM