133 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

Fusion
post Nov 4 2014, 03:09 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

Do you guys know where can i test out Von Schweikert speaker in Malaysia?

very interested in their VR35 speaker but havent had the chance to audition this model. I have heard of their previous VR4 and vr5 anniversary and its very nice. hopping to get similar sound signature for their smaller speaker.
hushymushy
post Nov 4 2014, 04:10 PM

1,708 posts

heard them once while i was in SG....fantastic highs....especially those with the ribbon and scanspeak's ring radiator tweeters....
i remembered their high range was so smooth, airy and musical....love it

in malaysia......errr probably have not heard of anyone bringing in...but you can drop by SG.....
Fusion
post Nov 4 2014, 04:38 PM

1,201 posts

i plan to visit SG to view the speaker but if i like the speaker, i dont think i will be able to bring it back to malaysia due tot he size. Anyone have any experience importing speaker from SG or oversea? any tax involved?

This post has been edited by Fusion: Nov 4 2014, 04:39 PM
GI Jie
post Nov 5 2014, 01:09 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Nov 4 2014, 04:38 PM)
i plan to visit SG to view the speaker but if i like the speaker, i dont think i will be able to bring it back to malaysia due tot he size. Anyone have any experience importing speaker from SG or oversea? any tax involved?
7% GST is unavoidable but you can claim it back if you are either flying out of Singapore OR shipping the item out BUT you must first register with the Kiasu Customs when you first land there. Secondly, the Malaysian Customs might hit you with an import tax when you get back. My advice is for you to get a forwarding agent to do everything for you. No hassles. Either that or mail it back. The SG post office is actually quite efficient.

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Nov 5 2014, 01:10 AM
butt
post Nov 6 2014, 08:15 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Nov 4 2014, 03:09 PM)
Do you guys know where can i test out Von Schweikert speaker in Malaysia?

very interested in their VR35 speaker but havent had the chance to audition this model. I have heard of their previous VR4 and vr5 anniversary and its very nice. hopping to get similar sound signature for their smaller speaker.
Hi Fusion,

Maybe you can try to ask DT Sound at Ipoh for the Von Schweikert speakers.

(I'm not in any way affiliated with the company).

carcrazy
post Nov 6 2014, 01:48 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Nov 4 2014, 04:38 PM)
Sgp dealer will kowtim for u
Fusion
post Nov 7 2014, 05:50 PM

1,201 posts

ok ...i will try out the Ipoh dealer first.

its always a hassle to deal with malaysia Custom department. Will try to avoid them if possible. if the Ipoh dealer is selling around 5%-10% higher, it would still be a better option than trying my luck with Malaysia custom. Our Custom is quite "Hungry" nowadays....
bananalow
post Nov 9 2014, 11:47 AM

1,547 posts

Hi, can someone recommend me a amplifier set to connect to my panasonic plasma TV? Can't stand with the lousy speakers of my TV. Budget around 1k...can stretch rm 100 to 200 on top of that. All recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced.

hushymushy
post Nov 9 2014, 05:29 PM

1,708 posts

if your TV has HDMI ARC, then you can try out many sound bars like Sony, JBL, Yamaha and etc
GI Jie
post Nov 9 2014, 06:03 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 9 2014, 05:29 PM)
if your TV has HDMI ARC, then you can try out many sound bars like Sony, JBL, Yamaha and etc
Ya lor...a sound bar would be ideal cos you are not allocating moolah to your system.
bananalow
post Nov 9 2014, 09:48 PM

1,547 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 9 2014, 05:29 PM)
I think My st60 tv have HDMI ARC. Any sound bars can recommend to me? XD I have no idea or knowledge in home theater, need someone experience user to give me some model which best buck to bang . notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bananalow: Nov 9 2014, 09:50 PM
hushymushy
post Nov 10 2014, 09:00 AM

1,708 posts

honestly speaking.....i tend to lean to Sony......but i think the model i listened is not cheap

the other is JBL.....i think selling at 3499....i remember they do have something along the 1k range

best to go sample them out....Harvey Norman has most of the models...not that I'm suggesting you to buy there...but at least you can try them out

with HDMI ARC, you can turn on the speakers when you on the tv and the playback of the sound follows when you change channel.

my friend has a philip sound bar....not bad either....but i'm not sure of the price

usually those with HDMI ARC, the price is not the cheapest
scouser7
post Nov 13 2014, 07:08 PM

233 posts

Complete noob here. Looking a decent home theater system to connect to my Panasonic th-p50u20k plasma tv(it has hdmi arc). Im looking for something where the front speakers could fit on top of my TV cabinet and not placed on the floor. I don't need rear speakers coz cant stand seeing the long wires and due to space constraints. Please see attachment. Budget : RM3K. Im from Cheras. Txs in advance icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by scouser7: Nov 13 2014, 07:09 PM

ktek
post Nov 13 2014, 07:55 PM

小喇叭
13,216 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 13 2014, 07:08 PM)
Complete noob here. Looking a decent home theater system to connect to my Panasonic th-p50u20k plasma tv(it has hdmi arc). Im looking for something where the front speakers could fit on top of my TV cabinet and not placed on the floor. I don't need rear speakers coz cant stand seeing the long wires and due to space constraints. Please see attachment. Budget : RM3K. Im from Cheras. Txs in advance  icon_question.gif
yourr tv has headphone port or rca output?
as i know you can maximize the 3k budget getting a pair of good qquality bookshelf spkr and stereo integrated amp by analog connection.
it is better than spending hdmi arc device or other half baked technology stuff

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 13 2014, 07:56 PM
scouser7
post Nov 13 2014, 08:03 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 13 2014, 07:55 PM)
yourr tv has headphone port or rca output?
as i know you can maximize the 3k budget getting a pair of good qquality bookshelf spkr and stereo integrated amp by analog connection.
it is better than spending hdmi arc device or other half baked technology stuff
whoosh!! just just flew over my head...lol.
Im interested to know more if you dont mind explaining a bit what you mean. I mentioned HDMI ARC coz sumone mentioned it in an earlier post. Sorry for the trouble blush.gif

Anyway, confirm my TV has RCA output and headphone jack icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by scouser7: Nov 13 2014, 08:22 PM
ktek
post Nov 13 2014, 10:40 PM

小喇叭
13,216 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:03 PM)
Im interested to know more if you dont mind explaining a bit what you mean. I mentioned HDMI ARC coz sumone mentioned it in an earlier post. Sorry for the trouble  blush.gif
Anyway, confirm my TV has RCA output and headphone jack  icon_rolleyes.gif

got plenty choices, hard to recommend directly. anyway i'll make it short, hopes u can catch up...

HDMI-ARC function is transfer audio data to a decoder, then play using external speakers. RCA does the same for 2 channel (left and right sound). whats make the different between HDMI versus RCA is extra ability to carry 5.1 surround.

in your case dont need surround, so why not buy speaker that able to fit on table + stereo amp. thats the best combination for sound quality.
the size is smaller and setup as easy as plug & play.

the weakness, because all in analog connection (RCA), tv has to receive all hdmi cable.
do you planning to add other video player? if true i affraid ur tv may run out of hdmi port...

the 2nd choice would be AV receiver. a.k.a. home theater amplifier with many hdmi ports. got HDMI-ARC !!
all are digital connection (non-RCA) and support latest movie codecs like Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA and plenty more like do-re-mi-fa-so...
entry level can drive 5 channel speakers. better ones give 7 channel, network (for music streaming & remote apps), usb port and auto calibration.

it takes more space and u might wasted the additional channel because you dont plan to have rear speaker.

for speaker, need to know the depth measurement of cabinet first icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 13 2014, 10:47 PM
hushymushy
post Nov 14 2014, 10:39 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:03 PM)
Im interested to know more if you dont mind explaining a bit what you mean. I mentioned HDMI ARC coz sumone mentioned it in an earlier post. Sorry for the trouble  blush.gif

Anyway, confirm my TV has RCA output and headphone jack  icon_rolleyes.gif
it really depends what you want out of your system

3k can get you basic stereo amplifiers and bookshelf speakers. basic amps nowadays have at least 4 to 5 analog inputs which is more than enough

so newer amps can even connect digital connection direct, ie; NAD D3020 where you have optical and coaxial inputs

your source can connect to the stereo amp via normal analog cables directly or via tv (which i don't recommend)

I mentioned about ARC in previous post was bcoz someone asked what could he get for 1k.....sort off not much of a choice

speakers.....plenty choices with 1k +/- budget
in my list now....XLS Encore....local made from Sarawak......honestly speaking....kinda great sounding speaker for that price
of coz you have the usual lists of speakers like KEF, Mission, Wharfedales and etc

if you are into futuristic plus a little lifestyle wanna look fancy, KEF X300A with or without wireless is one good choice

if you are thinking into future expansions for home theatre system....you can start with a basic pioneer HT amp and basic speakers.

at the end of the day.....its what are your expectations of your sound system and what features is a must....

there's plenty of second stuffs going around....some are a bargain....

head down to few shops like Highway Laser @ SS2, Amcorp mall, Desa Home Theatre and etc.....they have packages as well

if you need to understand connectivity....let me know...be glad to help
bryanyz
post Nov 15 2014, 12:14 AM

292 posts

Hi all, i'm looking for bookshelf speaker to pair with Marantz PM6005.
Acoustic Energy 301 vs Kef Q300 which is more suitable?
i mostly listening to indie, electronic music.

budget below rm3000, or any others speaker you guys can suggest?

nikaizad
post Nov 15 2014, 05:48 AM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

Hi. i want to play music. using computer
ktek
post Nov 15 2014, 07:53 AM

小喇叭
13,216 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ Nov 15 2014, 12:14 AM)
Hi all, i'm looking for bookshelf speaker to pair with Marantz PM6005.
Acoustic Energy 301 vs Kef Q300 which is more suitable?
i mostly listening to indie, electronic music.

budget below rm3000, or any others speaker you guys can suggest?
if size is not a problem, take Q300 or latest R series

133 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:28 AM