Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

ktek
post Mar 10 2014, 02:11 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Mar 8 2014, 04:03 PM)
The amp threw away d I guess. Maybe last time gave the seller d..lol..so many years back. Now looking for new AVR set.
yup, a new avr will able to connect your speaker set.
dunno what to look for? Try denon mid range thumbup.gif

QUOTE(yuan415 @ Mar 10 2014, 11:56 AM)
i have seen a type of intergrated amp in a shop at my place, which has 2 vacuum tube, with cd n usb player altogether. power is about 30-40w. the brand is from china and not any popular brand around. the selling price only around 1k+. what do u all think of it? im thinking of matching a bookshelf.
not sure worth the price 1k? Unless u know the characteristic of this tube amp.
not accounting internal DAC chip and cd player yet
ktek
post May 6 2014, 09:14 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 6 2014, 02:47 AM)
hmm looks great but how am I suppose to connect a sub and the additional 2 speakers I have, and not very budget friendly is it xD
suppose u buy a active sub, choose the one support high level (speaker) input + output, it will go thru crossover to separate out bass.
u will need additional cable

another way is buy a component crossover, it support all the connections you need

what is ur speaker ohm value? maybe one NAD amp is enough to push both set brows.gif
ktek
post Jun 17 2014, 02:09 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

recently i acquired a marantz CR503 cd receiver from garage sales, pair up with aego m satelite without subwoofer.
the characteristic is plenty of warm depth and detail separation. vocal opens very up front & sings the best.

i bring it out at work place & let a few friends test it. well their impression were jaw dropping biggrin.gif the power is enough to fill a medium sized room.
haha never under estimate this mini setup.

4" aego sure has limitation of bass lacking at lower frequency, but can be solved by connecting to a spare sub i have.
ktek
post Jun 18 2014, 05:57 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Jun 18 2014, 05:07 PM)
Sometimes vintage speakers might sound even better than current models..u will be surprise.
nowadays some models r good for the eyes but not good for the ears..
There is a saying ' wat happen to the audio industry in d last 80years....'
dynamic compression (like handphone sound shakehead.gif ) and then mediocre built quality to fight price
ktek
post Jul 14 2014, 10:42 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(xernix_ice @ Jul 6 2014, 06:42 AM)
Hi, Looking for speaker / soundbar for my TV W60B Sony, for movie and music ...
With budget less than 2.5K ...
So far, had gotten suggestion on ... Audioengine 5+, JVC mini hifi series .. Denon M39 with mission speaker .. Yahama 401 ...
@@ so need some suggestion and opinion .. Open to other options too smile.gif

audio engine 5+ is fine, take DM39 if u listen to standalone CD and radio a lot.

QUOTE(junsuke @ Jul 14 2014, 02:06 PM)
Hi guys,
Looking to get a hifi system with a budget of rm2k - 3k (max). Mainly using it for playing CDs and USB filled with instrumental and vocal oriented music files to be put in a medium sized living room. Please help me out? biggrin.gif
Currently have no idea for the amp and speakers (going for 2.0 setup). But i heard that the Denon D-M39DAB is a decent micro hifi system. Any opinions on this matter? Thanks!
Apart from that, do you have any shops in KL/Selangor region to recommend to purchase these items.

yup, DM39 is decent system. newer CEOL models (with network function!) from Denon also within ur budget.
ktek
post Jul 15 2014, 09:10 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(junsuke @ Jul 14 2014, 11:40 PM)
Thanks for your opinion. Besides that, if you were to recommend me an amp as well as a set of speakers around rm2k-3k budget, what would it be? was having a look around, the x-ls encore speakers have some pretty good reviews as well.
this looks like a all rounder set, when u buy at new unit roughly in 2-3k range
just follow the recipe
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3276137

This post has been edited by ktek: Jul 15 2014, 09:11 AM
ktek
post Jul 15 2014, 09:26 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 15 2014, 02:41 AM)
Please recommend me a set up for my Living room + dining area.

2.1 satelite-sub system has advantage of save space while giving satisfying bass.
weakness... poor detail due to small satelite given, crossover design etc..

go audition a few pair 5" or 6.5" size speaker. with proper stand or table positioning, they will give plenty of details in low-mid volume (amp dependand).
not recommended to hanging on ceiling sweat.gif
ktek
post Jul 25 2014, 07:36 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jul 25 2014, 04:34 PM)
sorry if i offended you. dunno what happened to me.
but as i said, you guys are to high end already. should have made a separate thread. icon_rolleyes.gif
dont worry, i guess mushy has no intention of offend or the other way round...
audio engine a5 is fine, but my personal fav small system is krk rokit 5 powered monitor
ktek
post Oct 23 2014, 04:05 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(TheGardener @ Oct 23 2014, 11:08 AM)
Ic. Thanks. Any models recommended from Onkyo?
840 got support dvd video playback, i think onkyo, denon, marantz and other brands only play audio cd, mp3.

maybe can compare with pioneer got

ktek
post Nov 13 2014, 07:55 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 13 2014, 07:08 PM)
Complete noob here. Looking a decent home theater system to connect to my Panasonic th-p50u20k plasma tv(it has hdmi arc). Im looking for something where the front speakers could fit on top of my TV cabinet and not placed on the floor. I don't need rear speakers coz cant stand seeing the long wires and due to space constraints. Please see attachment. Budget : RM3K. Im from Cheras. Txs in advance  icon_question.gif
yourr tv has headphone port or rca output?
as i know you can maximize the 3k budget getting a pair of good qquality bookshelf spkr and stereo integrated amp by analog connection.
it is better than spending hdmi arc device or other half baked technology stuff

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 13 2014, 07:56 PM
ktek
post Nov 13 2014, 10:40 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:03 PM)
whoosh!! just just flew over my head...lol.
Im interested to know more if you dont mind explaining a bit what you mean. I mentioned HDMI ARC coz sumone mentioned it in an earlier post. Sorry for the trouble  blush.gif
Anyway, confirm my TV has RCA output and headphone jack  icon_rolleyes.gif

got plenty choices, hard to recommend directly. anyway i'll make it short, hopes u can catch up...

HDMI-ARC function is transfer audio data to a decoder, then play using external speakers. RCA does the same for 2 channel (left and right sound). whats make the different between HDMI versus RCA is extra ability to carry 5.1 surround.

in your case dont need surround, so why not buy speaker that able to fit on table + stereo amp. thats the best combination for sound quality.
the size is smaller and setup as easy as plug & play.

the weakness, because all in analog connection (RCA), tv has to receive all hdmi cable.
do you planning to add other video player? if true i affraid ur tv may run out of hdmi port...

the 2nd choice would be AV receiver. a.k.a. home theater amplifier with many hdmi ports. got HDMI-ARC !!
all are digital connection (non-RCA) and support latest movie codecs like Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA and plenty more like do-re-mi-fa-so...
entry level can drive 5 channel speakers. better ones give 7 channel, network (for music streaming & remote apps), usb port and auto calibration.

it takes more space and u might wasted the additional channel because you dont plan to have rear speaker.

for speaker, need to know the depth measurement of cabinet first icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 13 2014, 10:47 PM
ktek
post Nov 15 2014, 07:53 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ Nov 15 2014, 12:14 AM)
Hi all, i'm looking for bookshelf speaker to pair with Marantz PM6005.
Acoustic Energy 301 vs Kef Q300 which is more suitable?
i mostly listening to indie, electronic music.

budget below rm3000, or any others speaker you guys can suggest?
if size is not a problem, take Q300 or latest R series
ktek
post Nov 18 2014, 02:39 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 17 2014, 09:47 PM)
I think I found the solution..."Wireless/Bluetooth Speaker Adapter".  rclxms.gif This Adapter allows you to turn just about any set of speakers/surround sound system into Bluetooth/wireless capable speakers. Saw this on youtube http://youtu.be/3Am9psYGt2E.
Anyone using this device on their sound system? Good idea/bad idea? If this works then i'll ditch the idea of gettin a soundbar  brows.gif

thats a bluetooth audio transceiver. its using the same concept as wireless sound bar u have seen, so the advantage is enable playback on better quality speakers instead of tiny sound bar.
ktek
post Nov 20 2014, 02:35 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Nov 20 2014, 11:43 AM)
Could someone sifus out there pls help me choose a beginner's AVR and bookshelf combo just to upgrade tv sound. Its for movies and light radio listening. Planning to use 2 bookshelf speakers and maybe a subwoofer for phase 1, then add-on a central speaker in phase 2. Not going for 5.1 as this is an apartment with space constraints. Budget for the AVR is RM2k and another RM1K for the bookshelves. Thanks a lot in advance.
go most of ur budget to speaker (estimate 1600-1800) then balance for avr.
ktek
post Nov 20 2014, 05:29 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Nov 20 2014, 05:02 PM)
Xls encore ? Read some great reviews on it, but i'm afraid its not within my budget. Guess I need to find a suitable AVR first, and then take it from there. Do you know any budget AVr that has all the "necessary" functions in the Rm1.5-2k bracket?
yamaha 477, denon x1000, pioneer & onkyo im not sure the models
ktek
post Nov 21 2014, 09:37 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Nov 21 2014, 08:35 AM)
Thanks a lot.. thumbup.gif  Its a good starting point for me. Any users/ex-users of these models here care to share their personal experience ?

myself was using yamaha rx-v463.

damn good feature set for beginner, such as auto room calibration and dolby trueHD, dts master audio, speaker A-B, plenty of RCA as well as legacy connection like spdif, no hdmi hand shaking issue (version 1.2a). usb playback, rare titanium colour, long lasting and low power consumption.

no network support back then, everything need to control from the unfriendly tight packed remote. no hdmi overlay for GUI settings.

i learned from many sifu here, it is not always the best to buy latest model, but aim higher range as long it fulfill the feature you need. that will rewards u with stronger amp section and built quality.

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Nov 21 2014, 08:45 AM)
"Necessary".. honestly I am so clueless at present, thus the ''..''. So many features with a diverse nomenclature.. rclxub.gif  I was hoping to define that from feedback from you guys.. wink.gif
Thank you nm7 for the info on Unicorn, will drop by and see. On that point, I'd like to reiterate that im looking for bookshelf speakers and not towers or floorstanders. I managed to find a list of speakers below 1k? from a previous posting by fx20 at https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1995757/all. The few I have picked out are :
Mission M31i, Whaderdale Diamond 10.1, Monitor Audio BR2 and Aviano 1.
Can you/anyone tell me which is preferable? Much appreciated

u wont go wrong with any of the british brands. mordaunt short > wharfedale diamond for movie.
BR2 win all if you dont use subwoofer, given 6.5" cone size

rear bass port =Mission M31i, diamond 10.1, MS Aviano 1
front port =BR2

necessaty for basic avr are just hdmi port and 5 channel surround. buy some cable u can start enjoy liao.

additional features for modern avr are:
network remote control (using apps) and dlna streaming, bluetooth wifi even better!
usb port to load flac and other lossless codecs
front side hdmi port and MHL devices
auto calibration with multiple seat & subwoofer eq
house sound tuning (by xxx studio, yyy endorsed, zzz gurantee)
beefy powderful amplifier
high quality separate DAC, decoder
multi zone 2,3,4,5...
integrate with smart home automation system
full channel pre-out for external amplifier
going 7 or 9 channel surround add front height and wide speakers

not to forget the "atmos" brows.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 21 2014, 10:01 PM
ktek
post Nov 24 2014, 02:50 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Nov 24 2014, 12:59 PM)
Sharing a pics of system wired by Skogrand SCI Tchaikovsky Interconnect and SC Tchaikovsky speakers cables - Cheras
the giant towers makes me wow !
ktek
post Dec 3 2014, 07:23 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Dec 3 2014, 07:18 PM)
Hi all sifus,

I have a budget between 2-3k and I want to start with a 2.1 setup or maybe 2.0.

With this budget, am i stuck only to HTIB? My usage are mainly for movies and gaming. I will be connecting a PS4 and a PC as well to this setup.

Also, where's the best place to test the setups?

Thanks!
actually u are looking for home theater, not hifi stereo,when u mention movie and games.

3k is good budget to start from a pair of bookshelf speaker and av receiver. Additional cost like cable have to count too
ktek
post Dec 18 2014, 07:33 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Dec 18 2014, 07:09 PM)
How would you categorize Marantz PM6005 if compare to NAD D3020 or NAD stereo integrated series? Warm? Neutral & transparent but with musical feel? And in terms of volume & power control, which amp would you recommend? notworthy.gif

marantz is not warm (a.k.a. midbass centric), more to voice, realistic and tame down aggresive speakers.
depends la, if u match with laid back speakers, it may sound a bit closer to warm tone

nad new model need to ask owner to give listening experience. but i see nad dont have treble bass tone control and speaker A + B function

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 18 2014, 07:51 PM
ktek
post Jan 7 2015, 06:06 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 7 2015, 04:24 PM)
Anyone using wharfedale diamond 10.1 speaker here  ?
Just to check does the speaker comes with the speaker cable or just the speaker unit only .
no cable, just speaker and front grillz

0.0428sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:28 PM