Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

carcrazy
post Jun 18 2014, 05:07 PM

189 posts

Sometimes vintage speakers might sound even better than current models..u will be surprise.
nowadays some models r good for the eyes but not good for the ears..
There is a saying ' wat happen to the audio industry in d last 80years....'
carcrazy
post Jul 31 2014, 11:40 PM

189 posts

U can also consider open frame speaker stand..they do sound different
carcrazy
post Aug 24 2014, 06:04 PM

189 posts

Congrats on the new cables.
Spades is a good thing as u can control how tight u wanna lock it(preferably juz tight but not overtighten at binding post as it causes stress, will sound different).
Banana plug even though is easier, at times the binding post can be loosen or lost its grip.
carcrazy
post Sep 30 2014, 09:51 PM

189 posts

Diatone are awesome vintage..
carcrazy
post Nov 6 2014, 01:48 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Nov 4 2014, 04:38 PM)
i plan to visit SG to view the speaker but if i like the speaker, i dont think i will be able to bring it back to malaysia due tot he size. Anyone have any experience importing speaker from SG or oversea? any tax involved?
Sgp dealer will kowtim for u
carcrazy
post Nov 18 2014, 09:22 AM

189 posts

sharing a pics of new owner of Skogrand Tchaikovsky cables - Puchong

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Nov 18 2014, 09:35 AM
carcrazy
post Nov 18 2014, 03:36 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 18 2014, 01:44 PM)
how's the sound like?

now i don't hv moo to look at hifi ler....why u put poison up like this
Lol..fast dynamic yet sweet..like a 17yr old gal

carcrazy
post Nov 18 2014, 03:39 PM

189 posts

another sexy gal..wired with Skogrand Tchaikovsky - also in Puchong

carcrazy
post Nov 18 2014, 09:10 PM

189 posts

Cable choreography..beautiful mess - subang area
wired with multiple pairs of Skogrand Tchaikovsky

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Nov 18 2014, 11:05 PM
carcrazy
post Nov 20 2014, 12:07 AM

189 posts

Ur welcome GI Jie..hehe
His rack is otw actually. Room is kind of small. Future consideration on breaking down the walls.

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Nov 20 2014, 01:01 AM
carcrazy
post Nov 24 2014, 12:59 PM

189 posts

Sharing a pics of system wired by Skogrand SCI Tchaikovsky Interconnect and SC Tchaikovsky speakers cables - Cheras
carcrazy
post Dec 15 2014, 12:20 PM

189 posts

Sharing a pics setup done recently
Arpeggio Loudspeaker + Magnet + Vermouth Cables
* racks & acoustic treatment soon

carcrazy
post Jan 26 2015, 03:49 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 26 2015, 01:19 PM)
Ya...that is what I will be doing. In fact I will be putting in four different parallel lines into my study. Two will be utilised for each monoblock whereas I will use the third one for the preamp and the CD player and the lights whilst the fourth one will be for my aircon.

At the sitting room where the entertainment console will be, I will also be putting in four parallel lines to accommodate the TV, Astro, BR player & my Krell integrated amp, preamp & CD player. Lucky the Maxis Fibrenet socket is located somewhere else.

Bro, any special wall sockets I need to look at?
standard wire awg for wall outlet is 2.5mm. if possible up to 10mm cable for wall outlet.
best option:
a dedicated phase for hifi wall outlet with a sub db(at hifi room) as recommended by hushymushy
or
a dedicated DB to all ur hifi wall outlet. u can upgrade to a better DB switch

* kindly check the wall outlet phase after reno is done. preferably its NOT terbalik phase

US wall outlet is recommended as most better aftermarket power cords are US plug

carcrazy
post Jan 27 2015, 10:01 AM

189 posts

Rega RP3..simply cant wrong.
carcrazy
post Jan 27 2015, 01:42 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 27 2015, 10:07 AM)
carcrazy....since you r sifu in this....why Rega RP3??

i'm still trying to understand turntables....why the huge price difference??
and will the sound change tremendously between an entry level and say a sub 10k or 20k phono system?

let's not even talk about those god level turntables
RP3 cost around RM3K+/-....not much issues. juz spin and enjoy d music

RM10K below vs RM20K above turntable.usually the earlier lack the following:
1. lack of resolution
2. lack of inner details
3. sometimes 'floaty' imaging
4. lack of dynamics
5. high noise floor and etc..

this is debate-able but this is my honest opinion
RM25K CDP will sound much better than a RM25K turntable.
* by comparing juz the resolution & noise floor, CDP wins!!

but
RM100K turntable will sound much better than a RM100K CDP + DAC..its in a 'league' of its own

* i guess its diff to manufacture a good TT at low price due to highly use of mechanical parts and highly accuracy precision cut. CDP is juz about transport, PCB board, chassis

A good turntable has the following criteria:
1. platter rotate at the near exact speed(33.3rpm or 45rpm) without any 'variation' due to different load. sub TT usually have issues with this area

2. immune to vibration and resonance
* borne noise
vibrating floor due to music played, energy transferred to hifi rack into TT. or any other vibration reaching the mounting area of TT
* airborne noise
* energy transferred by the moving of air due to speakers playing. 'sound' is a variation of air pressure or 'force' interacts with the tiny info in the grooves, tonearms, stylus causing 'feedback' hence 'wheezing sound'

3. noise produced when playing a LP
* noise generated by rotating platter, motor, bearing of d motor, bearing of d platter
* resonance generated the d music playback at the stylus. 'energy' need to be channelled

in general, there's a few type of TT in d market
1. mass platter
2. suspension
3. spring suspension
4. air suspension
belt drive or direct drive n etc..

Final pricing & sound quality output on analog rig depends on d following:
1. Turntable
2. Tonearm
3. Cartridge (MM/MC)
4. Phono amp/pre
* i prefer MC but important to get a high gain 65-80db phono with low 'noise'. usually doesnt come cheap if u wann extreme low noise

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Jan 27 2015, 02:10 PM
carcrazy
post Jan 27 2015, 01:58 PM

189 posts

Gi Jie

A QRD diffuser comprises wells of different depths, causing a mixture of phase shifts that diffuse reflected sound. They are used to control reflections in the listening environment.

Advantages of QRD N17 broad-band:
1. add width to your sound stage, so your music will sound like it is coming from farther left and farther right of your actual speaker positions
2. effectively reduce flutter echoes and standing waves
3. excellent alternative to sound absorption(foam type) because they do not remove sound energy, hence ‘live sounding room’ as opposed to ‘dead room’
4. add sense of ‘air’ and retains natural ambience
5. giving the impression of being in a much larger room

note: proper built room acoustics can be up to 70% of final SQ..plug n play hardware with 4 'kosong' walls wont do.
the room is the bigger speaker of ur speaker!!

my favourite material.
solid wood maple..'classy' and has the best sound properties

carcrazy
post Jan 28 2015, 10:33 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jan 28 2015, 12:58 AM)
carcrazy,

Bro, how much time and money to do the ceiling of a 12' X 13' room? Pay before April (but install after April) can forget about GST?
sorry for late reply. kindly sms me your contact no as i need more info on ur room finish n etc..
Victor 012 296 2799

see ya

carcrazy
post Jan 28 2015, 10:42 AM

189 posts

Gi Jie

pic above is a 2D skyline diffuser. total of 8 panels, installation was tiring & long hrs. this is at puchong, atmosfera condo 1600sqft.

for ceiling recommended to build 2D skyline diffuser. made of solid wood. per panel is 2 X 2feet. weight about 20kg+ per panel. installation will required time.

wood diffuser has 2 types
1D diffuser - diffuse sound to left & right - horizontal (previous pic)
2D diffuser - diffuse sound to top, bottom, left, right - vertical & horizontal

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Jan 28 2015, 10:43 AM
carcrazy
post Mar 25 2015, 01:43 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Mar 24 2015, 11:22 AM)
Hifi stuff will go up 12% minimum. 6% increase when items are being imported and another 6% when they sell it to us.
Current:
Import tax + sales tax(10%)

With GST implementation, sales tax is abolish

so,
Import tax + GST(6%)
carcrazy
post Mar 25 2015, 10:36 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Mar 25 2015, 08:52 AM)
so in the nut shell the price will go down?
but local retailers won't be honest enough to declare a lower price
landed cost will go down slightly for distributor/supplier (10% sales tax to 6% GST)
But if trading in USD, then prices will be up. from 3.3 to 3.75 currency

Customer Selling Price + 6% GST = prices will be higher for sure, as 6% is tax on the selling price.

0.0471sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:54 PM