QUOTE(songbo @ Jun 30 2008, 08:43 PM)
But how will the speakers work without an amp? Sorry, still beginner here.My understanding of Hifi is that CD Player is transport to Amp which powers the speaker and woofer to the Speaker and woofer itself.
Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!
Jul 1 2008, 09:44 AM
1,827 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Miri, Sarawak |
Jul 1 2008, 10:41 AM
1,029 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 千里之外 |
QUOTE(dlyz @ Jul 1 2008, 09:44 AM) But how will the speakers work without an amp? Sorry, still beginner here. correct. u can get a cheapo amp first. then slowly upgrade. no point u get a high end amp but no speaker/lousy speaker rite?My understanding of Hifi is that CD Player is transport to Amp which powers the speaker and woofer to the Speaker and woofer itself. |
Jul 4 2008, 06:07 PM
127 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Serdang, Sg.Long, Seremban |
anyone can recommend for around 2k hifi system?
where it can suit for any types of song...ty^^ |
Jul 4 2008, 08:07 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Well if I were you, I will do proper study first and then ask some relevant questions. What u have provided 'all types of songs' will be too general. I would recommend you to buy used unit, and u can visit hifi4sale blog.
http://hifi4sale.blogspot.com/ check thestar hifi review. This post has been edited by ccschua: Jul 4 2008, 08:08 PM |
Jul 5 2008, 09:48 PM
12 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
can anyone recommend me an amp less than 1.5k...
minimum 4 channel.... thanks in advance... |
Jul 15 2008, 07:55 PM
1,850 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Im getting a new sony bravia 46" X series... But now wondering what hifi system to match with it..
I see Sony have lots of Hifi theater system.. but not sure how each of them performs... I prefer Sleek design. of course with good sounds. 1 thing i like to point out is my mum loves karaoke.. I notice that nowadays surround theather system cant support or not as good as for Karaoke.. any suggestion? |
Jul 15 2008, 11:15 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 15 2008, 07:55 PM) Im getting a new sony bravia 46" X series... But now wondering what hifi system to match with it.. Seriously, if you are getting such a premium lcd tv, go for separate HT system (not HTiB). Karaoke system starts from RM1K+ to few K. IMHO, BMB is overrated. Try to allocate RM6-7K for the bgt entry setup. If you can afford more, then it would be better. I see Sony have lots of Hifi theater system.. but not sure how each of them performs... I prefer Sleek design. of course with good sounds. 1 thing i like to point out is my mum loves karaoke.. I notice that nowadays surround theather system cant support or not as good as for Karaoke.. any suggestion? |
Jul 16 2008, 01:22 AM
1,850 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 15 2008, 11:15 PM) Seriously, if you are getting such a premium lcd tv, go for separate HT system (not HTiB). Karaoke system starts from RM1K+ to few K. IMHO, BMB is overrated. Try to allocate RM6-7K for the bgt entry setup. If you can afford more, then it would be better. Seriously, U mean for a good karaoke system u need to allocate 6-7 k I dont understand why is the surround theather system cannot be use for karaoke..? Can I just add an amplifier (donno wat it called...those adjusthing microphone volume+ echo those system) to the theather system and wooalla can play?? |
Jul 16 2008, 01:53 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
Hi guys,
Quad 11L is good for orchestra and acoustic? Thanks! |
Jul 16 2008, 07:24 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 16 2008, 01:22 AM) Seriously, U mean for a good karaoke system u need to allocate 6-7 k No, I meant HT system. The important thing in Karaoke system is the mixer with those keys to adjust. RM1K+ would suffice.I dont understand why is the surround theather system cannot be use for karaoke..? Can I just add an amplifier (donno wat it called...those adjusthing microphone volume+ echo those system) to the theather system and wooalla can play?? |
Jul 16 2008, 09:39 AM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Have anyone heard of the good review of Usher Audio? Usher S520 vs Monitor Audio Br2. Which one prefer?
Jul 16 2008, 10:58 AM
572 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(eastlife @ Jul 16 2008, 09:39 AM) Have anyone heard of the good review of Usher Audio? Usher S520 vs Monitor Audio Br2. Which one prefer? There are many review for this Usher S520.http://www.audioreview.com/cat/speakers/bo...30_4290crx.aspx http://www.stereophile.com/standloudspeakers/1205usher/ Some people prefer it more than B&W 601/600 S3 . |
Jul 16 2008, 11:33 AM
158 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 16 2008, 07:24 AM) No, I meant HT system. The important thing in Karaoke system is the mixer with those keys to adjust. RM1K+ would suffice. I've got one of those mixers. A Sony one. But its not being used. Would anyone know how much it could fetch? Anyone interested? I'll probably take a pic and post it up for sale one day soon. |
Jul 16 2008, 08:39 PM
44 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Budget about RM5K. Looking for 5.1 home theatre + easy music listening. If possible, an AV receiver as well. I saw an offer for the below ar Hi-Way.
1 Pair Q-Acoustics 1020 Main Speakers 1 Pair Q-Acoustics 1010 Surround Speakers 1 Unit Q-Acoustics 1000C Centre Speaker 1 Unit Q-Acoustics 1000S Woofer. 1 Pioneer VSX-517 or Marantz SR-301. RM4290. 1. Anyone using this set? Is it worth buying? 2. Av receiver, whats the difference between a HDMI and a non-HDMI? 3. Anyone bought stuff from Hi-Way before? Thanks all sifus! |
Jul 16 2008, 10:08 PM
236 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Halo sifu here i am looking for a low end stero amp for my mordaunt-short carnival 2.
Now i am wondering to go Denon PMA-700AE or Rotel RA-04. My budget is about rm1k, some audio shop boss had recommend me for Denon but i draw back cause some bad feed back from some online review. i am a female vocal lover and some jpop which a sweet vocal clear sound is needed. Any recommendation which should i go for or any other good amp? |
Jul 16 2008, 11:47 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
If you like vocal with sweet and warm sound, you want to try tubes. Tubes give you the air of the female vocalist. Put in those old school Mullard tubes or the Amperex Holland bugle boy and let her sings.
This post has been edited by ccschua: Jul 16 2008, 11:54 PM |
Jul 17 2008, 02:24 AM
153 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Bukit Beruang |
just saw a Pioneer 6.1 Home Theater Unit at SenQ for RM2899...
AVR - Pioneer VSX-917V 6 Pioneer Speakers 1 Roger SW hmmm... want to buy it or not? anybody can help me here... better get it from SenQ or there is other place sell cheaper? |
Jul 24 2008, 02:15 PM
84 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
just bought onkyo TX-SR506 black + jamo s606 HS3 series at senQ, got it for RM2599 event don buy LCD tv, they can cowteam..sound nice at high volume, 2 8inch wofer lor...no need sub for time being, but this set came with no cable, bought act audio speker cble from CMY @ RM190..(banana terminated)..
Jul 24 2008, 11:06 PM
8,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 16 2008, 11:47 PM) If you like vocal with sweet and warm sound, you want to try tubes. Tubes give you the air of the female vocalist. Put in those old school Mullard tubes or the Amperex Holland bugle boy and let her sings. Tubes have warmth, thats a known fact, but each brand or batch of tube have its own unique presentation and tonality. Even then a given tube will not meet expectation or perform differently as it depends on the rest of the combination of amplification tubes. Most if not all tube gear owner will mix and match various compatible tubes to achieve best sonic presentation. Its not always the case of old school or NOS tubes that'll guarantee the best sonic quality. I myself use a combination current production tubes from JJ Electronic (which some I think are excellent), and a pair of "little known and currently sold for very cheap" RCA microphone preamp tubes which have lowest microphonics and noise floor. My 2 sen. This post has been edited by bsl555: Jul 24 2008, 11:08 PM |
Jul 25 2008, 12:05 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Hi Sifus,
I just bought an used tube pre amp , namely Antique Sound Labs to partner with my SS dual mono power amp. I love the warm tube sound. However, I find this tube amp ( about 10 years old ) is giving loud hum sound. On top of that, after 3 hours of testing, it started to produce some electricity current noise ( woo sound ) through speakers. Since this is the first time I am using tube amp, I wonder it is a norm for tube amps. No problems with my other SS amps I am having. I am using 2 12au 7 (EH ) new and 1 12ax 7 tube ( 66% ) used Sovtek tube. Any comments from any sifus are much appreciated. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jul 25 2008, 09:27 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0317sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:29 PM |