6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Android general questions thread, Ask anything here!

Dannyl
post May 23 2012, 07:55 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(xLANx @ May 22 2012, 10:02 PM)
i just read this thread;

"MP3 as Ringtone, Don't Spam the threads. "

but it's already locked.

what i want to know is how do i set my folders like that guy did? do i connect to my computer first or do i just create it on the phone just like that?

thanks!

oh. by the way, i'm using samsung galaxy nexus.

and one more thing, does this phone support microsoft office?
Just create directly on your phone will do, use some file manager. Then copy some sound files there and they will appear when you select ringtones.
/mnt/sdcard/media/audio/notifications
/mnt/sdcard/media/audio/ringtones
/mnt/sdcard/media/audio/alarms

QUOTE(Thaq_Az @ May 23 2012, 12:57 AM)
how come only my Samsung earphones work with my Galaxy Ace? When I try to plug in with other earphones the sound becomes fuzzy. Is this normal?
Did you use earphones with mic? I tried that once and it was fuzzy. You need earphones with 2 black bands on the connector, not 3.
Dannyl
post May 26 2012, 04:04 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ May 25 2012, 08:56 PM)
Hi guys I have a HTC wildfire and just apply for the DIGI RM 48 internet package. It was suppose to enable internet and stuff right? But I can't get online not sure is the setting or not. Can anyone help?
Mayb provide link to digi internet settings?
Chat with DiGi on OCS and they'll send you the settings.
Dannyl
post May 28 2012, 01:35 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ May 28 2012, 10:52 AM)
which offline gps are u guys using? currently downloading papagox5 with NaviSEA but wonder is the map up to date or is there better ones such as Navfree?
X5 local maps most updated is only up to late last year. Not sure about others.
http://www.malfreemaps.com
Dannyl
post Jun 25 2012, 03:26 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(3dwin014 @ Jun 25 2012, 02:30 AM)
Ok thanks for the info. But the app data tat I move to SD card will remain in usb storage?
I think the app will be in USB storage, but since your phone is reset, your app drawer will not show the app since the phone has no link to it. The app is 'orphaned'.

You'd better use Titanium Backup to move apps + data around (between phones and ROM, and to survive factory reset).
Dannyl
post Jun 26 2012, 11:53 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(3dwin014 @ Jun 26 2012, 04:30 AM)
My phone is not rooted. Titanium needed it to be rooted right? I will try it. Tq
Yes you need root to use TB. The free version is enough for your usage. It's the best-known app to move your app+data around phones/ROM/factory reset (there may be others). It is the main reason to root for many users so they can restore their apps/games/etc on a reset phone.
Dannyl
post Jun 26 2012, 02:04 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(3dwin014 @ Jun 26 2012, 01:31 PM)
Ok. Actually I just bought the phone. And know nothing about rooting. But in time I will try it. And as u say use TB to backup the apps. Thanks for the tips.
Oh, enjoy your new phone first, root can come later. Don't worry about all these root/flash stuff. You can still move contacts and SMS easily from phone to phone using Google Contacts and SMS Backup & Restore app.
Dannyl
post Jul 2 2012, 05:09 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

How do I set a default picture for all of my picture-less contacts?
Dannyl
post Jul 10 2012, 12:24 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 9 2012, 11:59 PM)
Yeah understand the whole trouble with iTunes and no flash and that but I was thinking since I already have an android phone ... should get the iPad since you also say for now the new iPad should be 1 of the best? I'm also part going for iPad since it should not have any lag issues like android right?
Get the iPad and experience the best of both worlds smile.gif
Dannyl
post Jul 19 2012, 09:13 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Jul 19 2012, 07:47 AM)
just got my sgs3. still playing around with it. most experience i have with smartphones was jailbreaking an iphone (which was easy with all the ready made tools). should i be looking into rooting my s3? anyone know any good sites that cater to beginners like me?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/ is a good start.
Dannyl
post Jul 29 2012, 09:21 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 29 2012, 08:39 AM)
How do i set a mp3 music as a ring tone in Galaxy Advance?
I tried to choose from the incoming ringtone section but it doesnot offer the choice to choose from my music library!
Put your ringtones in /media/audio/ringtones then you will be able to browse through them when you pick ringtones.
Dannyl
post Jul 29 2012, 12:55 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 29 2012, 12:10 PM)
Thanks for the attempt but found that it doesn't work.

After many many search, found that have to go to the music folder, select by press long that music, then will have a pop up that will give that options.
Strange, worked for all the Android phones I had before hmm.gif
Dannyl
post Aug 1 2012, 12:49 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Tommy Chang @ Aug 1 2012, 09:23 AM)
Dear all Sifu,
I own a Samsung Galaxy S Advance. I bought it months ago. Recently I feel that the battery is drain very very fast compare to 1st few weeks a got the phone. Eg: Before I sleep i see the phone battery life still have 70%, when wake up next morning the battery life already dropped to 30% (which I preset it Battery Saving Mode on 30%). Izzit normal? Before that I just need to re-charge the battery every 2 days. (Light usage, received & call out not more than 10 times per day, call out or received call seldom more than 3 minutes, most of the time is sms, average received or sent 20 sms/day. Use the phone online not more than 30 minutes per day.) Thanks...
Install CPU Spy to see if your phone goes to sleep when it's not being used.
Dannyl
post Aug 1 2012, 05:55 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Aug 1 2012, 02:15 PM)
how to install this thing??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1764974

didnt understand with

Download and install it manually [push through "system\app"] using root explorer or similar app. Make sure to backup first.
You need root access.

1) Download file.
2) Put the file in a temp location on your memory card.
3) 'Copy' the file.
4) Use a file explorer like Root Explorer (or others) and browse to \system\app, and mount as R/W (read/write).
5) 'Paste' the file.
6) Set permission for the file you copied (check other files in \system\app to see what permission they have) using the file explorer.
7) Reboot

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Aug 1 2012, 05:55 PM
Dannyl
post Sep 3 2012, 09:45 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Sep 2 2012, 09:44 PM)
it back the shit out of everything...

ts just advanced restore and choose data only
Too risky... even CWM version may be different.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Sep 3 2012, 09:46 AM
Dannyl
post Sep 15 2012, 03:10 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Sep 15 2012, 02:58 PM)
hey guys, symbian user here. wanna ask about android stuff, is rooting a phone without installing custom rom possible? and if rooted will i still get ota update from manufacturers?
yes to both
but after ota update from manufacturer, your root will likely be gone, but just root again
Dannyl
post Sep 15 2012, 03:54 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Sep 15 2012, 03:16 PM)
thanks! If so why don't all of them just root it? and since they can use stock rom, warranty won't be an issue  sweat.gif
You mean manufacturers root all phones? Then users hand itchy try this try that will accidentally delete system files, etc, phone hang, claim warranty, more work for service center, more money spent by manufacturers. It's better to root only if owners know what they're doing.
Dannyl
post Sep 16 2012, 08:37 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Sep 16 2012, 01:59 AM)
Hi guys, I have some question about Google Play.

My friend just brought a Lenovo A698T which runs on Android 4.0.

The problem here is, there is no Google Play found in the phone and also Android Market. So I have no idea where can I download applications sad.gif

Hope that somebody can help me out here.

Thanks a lot.
Maybe you can install it manually or push it into the system folder. Google for 'play store apk' and you can start from there.
Dannyl
post Sep 23 2012, 01:00 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Sep 20 2012, 10:12 PM)
Is there any apps where my text documents and others will require password to access?
Try Catch Notes. I put my work stuff there like logins and passwords.
Dannyl
post Sep 27 2012, 08:38 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Sep 26 2012, 06:54 PM)
why do samsung fanboys still think galaxy s2 is better than xperia s?i just don get it,the specs CLEARLY shows that xperia s is better,yet most of the samsung fanboys STILL say that galaxy s2 is the best and give alot of excuses
S2 only better in terms of popularity, custom ROM availability and dev support. To some users, that is the ultimate reason.

Since both have MIUIAndroid official support, I prefer the Xperia S.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Sep 27 2012, 08:39 AM
Dannyl
post Oct 28 2012, 08:43 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Try alternative apps like QuickPic and see if the problem lies with your Gallery. Or maybe rescan your SD with apps like SD Rescan.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:02 PM