Enquiries/Recommendations Tablet Computing - Android 3.0(Honeycomb) V1.0, Discussion for Android 3.0 based Tablets
biggie
Jun 12 2011, 09:03 AM
after trying many tablets; I think that I'm more inclined to use tablets for mobility; so I have to wait for 7inch tablet, as the current 10inch is too big. I have yet to try the 8.9inch? Is it available. Just want to hold it and see how good does it feel.
may be waiting for asus memo and acer i100. Will HTC flyer get android 3.1?
astria
Jun 12 2011, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(biggie @ Jun 12 2011, 09:03 AM) after trying many tablets; I think that I'm more inclined to use tablets for mobility; so I have to wait for 7inch tablet, as the current 10inch is too big. I have yet to try the 8.9inch? Is it available. Just want to hold it and see how good does it feel. may be waiting for asus memo and acer i100. Will HTC flyer get android 3.1? only 8.9" in market, LG Optimus Pad and Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9... former is only available in US (for some reasons unknown), the latter is currently plagued by monitor glass panel problem... Flyer will get Honeycomb, unless HTC wanna shoot themselves in their own legs... but 1 interesting point is that Google currently only want Honeycomb to go with 1280x800, and Acer cited that as the reason for delaying Iconia A100... it will be interesting if Flyer can get it earlier than Iconia... i think Galaxy Tab 10.1 is worth a shot... it's currently the lightest 10" tablet in the market... even lighter and slimmer than iPad2... This post has been edited by astria: Jun 12 2011, 11:01 AM
myasiahobby
Jun 12 2011, 11:50 AM
Can android 3.0 support Java?
Fantasia
Jun 12 2011, 11:54 AM
iirc, java is 1 of the main programming language for android
astria
Jun 12 2011, 12:13 PM
for Transformer owners with the dock, u can now know the battery level in the tablet and the dock... http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/06/10/tr...l-of-your-dock/
lefty85
Jun 12 2011, 06:30 PM
hi there,does anyone here come across a acer iconia case?been searching for it for a while already
astria
Jun 12 2011, 11:54 PM
Asus is shipping 300k Transformers in June, as opposed to previously assumed 200k... that makes a total of 400k units shipped in 2 mths... in other news, Acer has reduced it's target of tablet shipment from 7.5-10 million to 5 million Motorola is estimated to have moved a total of <500k tablets by the end of the mth... http://www.digitimes.com/news/a20110609PD227.html
Jeffrey1987
Jun 13 2011, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(lefty85 @ Jun 12 2011, 06:30 PM) hi there,does anyone here come across a acer iconia case?been searching for it for a while already  I have being searching for one too. Any 3rd party case out there?
biggie
Jun 13 2011, 01:55 PM
what about Asus EEEPad Memo. Any news? I just cannot find a shop with 8.9 tablet for me to try whether it suits the way that I hold the tablet or not. With Ipad or other 10.1, most of the time I need a table. After playing with samsung galaxy tab 7, I realise that I can use it without the need for a table for a period of time, and many tasks. QUOTE(astria @ Jun 12 2011, 11:00 AM) only 8.9" in market, LG Optimus Pad and Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9... former is only available in US (for some reasons unknown), the latter is currently plagued by monitor glass panel problem... Flyer will get Honeycomb, unless HTC wanna shoot themselves in their own legs... but 1 interesting point is that Google currently only want Honeycomb to go with 1280x800, and Acer cited that as the reason for delaying Iconia A100... it will be interesting if Flyer can get it earlier than Iconia... i think Galaxy Tab 10.1 is worth a shot... it's currently the lightest 10" tablet in the market... even lighter and slimmer than iPad2...
astria
Jun 13 2011, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(biggie @ Jun 13 2011, 01:55 PM) what about Asus EEEPad Memo. Any news? I just cannot find a shop with 8.9 tablet for me to try whether it suits the way that I hold the tablet or not. With Ipad or other 10.1, most of the time I need a table. After playing with samsung galaxy tab 7, I realise that I can use it without the need for a table for a period of time, and many tasks. nope, Asus did not set any price or release date for MeMo 3D... as for original Galaxy Tab, i won't really suggest it... Samsung has no plans (or at least they never announce any) to update it past Gingerbread... Flyer or Iconia A100 would be a better choice.. for me that's really a deal breaker, especially if u already own a smartphone... but if u own a dumb phone (like my dad), that is a good complement... This post has been edited by astria: Jun 13 2011, 02:01 PM
biggie
Jun 13 2011, 02:19 PM
I love to get the Flyer where I can use the magic pen to due notes etc, although from the review it does work that well.
the problem is price, it 2.4k+ for a flyer compared to 1.5k for Ipad2. that why I'm patiently waiting for acer 100 or galaxy 8.9
yop da great
Jun 13 2011, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(biggie @ Jun 13 2011, 02:19 PM) I love to get the Flyer where I can use the magic pen to due notes etc, although from the review it does work that well. the problem is price, it 2.4k+ for a flyer compared to 1.5k for Ipad2. that why I'm patiently waiting for acer 100 or galaxy 8.9 i think htc flyer is way overpriced. single core to be priced at that extent? HTC is overcharging people just for the pen. and you'll get a crappy laggy SENSE ui
biggie
Jun 13 2011, 04:26 PM
any notable chinese based tablet can be considered other then the branded ones?
astria
Jun 13 2011, 04:26 PM
well, considering that original Galaxy Tab was at that price too when launched so i think that's fair... hardware and overall experience is good actually... Snapdragon 1.5GHz has plenty of performance to offer, and Sense is one of the best (if not already the best) UI around for those who are new to Android...
have to depends on carrier subsidy to bring the price down... but honestly i am not too comfortable with being locked down to 2yrs contract on a tablet...
TSRayKazansky
Jun 13 2011, 05:00 PM
Guys, after playing around with the original 7inch galaxy tab and transformer,... i'm leaning towards the 7-inch device due to it's size. Would it be considered outdated to buy one?
astria
Jun 13 2011, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jun 13 2011, 05:00 PM) Guys, after playing around with the original 7inch galaxy tab and transformer,... i'm leaning towards the 7-inch device due to it's size. Would it be considered outdated to buy one? yes... as i ve said, Samsung has not announced any plans to update it beyond Gingerbread, so u won't be able to use the Honeycomb specific apps... plus since it's Gingerbread, for myself i feel more like using a phone than a tablet... it's great if u dun ve a smartphone, otherwise u may find the functions of the Tab overlapping with a phone...
Fantasia
Jun 13 2011, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(yop da great @ Jun 13 2011, 03:33 PM) i think htc flyer is way overpriced. single core to be priced at that extent? HTC is overcharging people just for the pen. and you'll get a crappy laggy SENSE ui  really? i read some review said it even smoother than many dual core tablet...
astria
Jun 13 2011, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 13 2011, 06:07 PM) really? i read some review said it even smoother than many dual core tablet... afaik the problem lies with Snapdragon... apparently it's not very well designed compared to the rest, namely Samsung Exynos (Galaxy S II), Texas Instrument OMPA4 (LG Optimus 3D) and Nvidia Tegra 2 (tablets and LG Optimus 2X, Motorola Atrix)... some reports even go as far as saying that single core Snapdragon is better than dual core... feels a bit like wat Intel did with Pentium D and AMD with Athlon x2... This post has been edited by astria: Jun 13 2011, 06:21 PM
[PF] T.J.
Jun 14 2011, 10:11 AM
http://www.notebookcheck.net/ASUS-Transfor...in.55766.0.htmlKudos to Asus  QUOTE(notebookcheck) the Transformer 2 will be a cross between the current model and the Eee Pad Slider, and will result in a thinner, sleeker and more powerful device. In addition, it seems ASUS is planning on releasing two versions of the tablet; one running standard Android and the other running a tablet version of Windows 8. This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 14 2011, 10:12 AM
astria
Jun 14 2011, 10:29 AM
Toshiba Thrive is available for pre-order in Toshiba Direct website: http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/tablet.toof course, they ship to US address only...  there are also a wide range of accessories available, such as docks, back plate, etc... each backplate sets u back for US$20, and a capacitative stylus costs US$15 (a far cry from Flyer's US$80 stylus) This post has been edited by astria: Jun 14 2011, 10:32 AM