12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak, READ: STRICTLY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

azraeil
post May 8 2011, 06:50 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ May 8 2011, 01:35 PM)
i want to use snowbreeze bcoz of the multigesture.
im using unlock set.
Wow, that's news to me that you can use multi-gesture via custom firmware. Sounds cool.
azraeil
post May 8 2011, 07:01 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ May 8 2011, 02:00 PM)
so i dont need to restore 1st using apple's official 4.3.3?
No. If you are using CFW, sn0wbreeze will create the 4.3.3 CFW for you and all you need to do is use Shift+Restore and select the custom firmware that was created by sn0wbreeze.
azraeil
post May 9 2011, 03:27 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Downloading the 4.3.3 IPSW as we speak. Should be done in a couple of minutes. I love my 20Mbps fibre optic line. Now need to backup my iPhone.
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 12:39 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

User have reported that after Jailbreaking their iPhone that the mute switch does not vibrate when it's set to mute (or the other way around) so I guess that's been fixed.
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 12:47 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Go for 4.3.3, since it has been jailbroken, might as well not go through all the loops to get 4.3.2 installed and get 4.3.3 instead.

Just jailbroken my friend's new iPhone 4 on 4.3.3 and also upgraded my other friend's 3Gs to 4.3.3 as well using redsn0w (these are factory unlocked phones). No problem whatsoever with the jailbreaking, the activation etc etc .... a cinch really.
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 01:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 11 2011, 07:58 AM)
i need to unlock it  sad.gif , so need to use snowbreeze.
probably just save the shsh first just in case  nod.gif
thanks  rclxms.gif
erm another thing is, i had backup the iphone before on 4.3 . this backs up everything in 4.3 or i could use later on 4.3.3? the owner said he didnt care if data/contact lost , but useful for me later  nod.gif
If you need to unlock the phone then STAY AWAY from redsn0w. Use sn0wbreeze or Pwnagetool (if you're using a Mac).

Yes, the backup from 4.3 can be restored on the 4.3.3

Added on May 11, 2011, 1:05 pm
QUOTE(eufoniusR @ May 11 2011, 07:57 AM)
I've JailBreak my iPhone using RedSnow from
iOS 4.3.2 to 4.3.3 but my device can't
detected the carrier. I've browsed to Setting
but no carrier column appeared. I'm using Celcom
iPhone unit.

Any idea what when wrong or any solutions for
this issue?
Restore the phone again and see if it can see the carrier prior to Jailbreaking using redsn0w 0.96rc16

Tell us the results.

This post has been edited by azraeil: May 11 2011, 01:05 PM
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 01:07 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(JustBe Boo @ May 11 2011, 08:06 AM)
It could be a locked phone. Before you jailbreak did u have this problem?
He mentioned that it's a Celcom iPhone unit so it should be factory unlocked.

azraeil
post May 11 2011, 06:34 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(zaxwin @ May 11 2011, 11:52 AM)
Mind to explain more?
When you run redsn0w, there is an option to enable multigesture (5 or 4 fingers swipe to do some things) and when you've done with jailbreak, you should be able to see the multigesture option in settings

I don't think it will be usefull though as the screen of the iPhone is too small. Maybe more useful for the iPad.
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 06:41 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

For those who likes to discuss piracy .... EFF You!!

Seriously, get the EFF out of here and don't disturb us. Every time the JB thread is opened, there will be one stupid frakking idiot (or two) who just can't frakking read the frakking rules.

Added on May 11, 2011, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(Feux Follets @ May 11 2011, 11:10 AM)
Really?  blink.gif rc15 was released last week too.. but i forgot the day. If there really is rc16 redmondpie have not updated it!!  mad.gif

Edit: Oooooohhh! They released rc16 is just meant for those who had the side vibration issue  doh.gif
Actually, RC16 also fixes a bug in Rc15 where it left a process running that drains the battery. So rc16 fixes that as well.

This post has been edited by azraeil: May 11 2011, 06:42 PM
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 07:39 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(eufoniusR @ May 11 2011, 02:20 PM)
That's mean even our device is officially unlock, it still depend on
baseband in order to JB rite. I'm still new in JB world.  smile.gif
No, if your device is officially unlocked (Maxis/Celcom/Digi or whatever factory unlocked location), then as long as there is an application that can jailbreak the current firmware, you're good to go.

So if you're on a factory unlocked device, you can use redsn0w, sn0wbreeze, pwnagetool ... whatever you like.

For those with LOCKED set (like AT&T set from the US, Japanese iPhone set, UK set), then you have to be extra careful with which JB program you want to use. NEVER use redsn0w if you have a locked set. It will always be either sn0wbreeze (for windows) or pwnagetool (for Mac)
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 08:39 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 11 2011, 03:22 PM)
No idea how to fix the filesystem, so IT'S TIME TO RESTORE YEAH! Hate to have to back up everything lol. Thankfully a lot of the stuff I have are  in The Cloud. That + PKGBackup = Less stress.

Staying with 4.2.1 though, I NEED Actionmenu and Celeste which IINM doesn't work with 4.3.x.
If you have the SHSH saved then you should be able to restore to 4.2.1 without any issues via TSS server (or by pointing your host file to Saurik's server)
azraeil
post May 11 2011, 08:52 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(noobie123 @ May 11 2011, 03:44 PM)
Sorry..Noob question. The word "Apple is signing SHSH for 4.3.2 at the moment" means I cannot save my SHSH if I'm using 4.3.3?
If Apple is still signing 4.3.2, then you should be able to save the 4.3.2 SHSH (even if you're running 4.3.3) because TU will run through all the firmware version that is currently being signed by Apple.

What I usually see is the statement "Apple No Longer Signing Firmware 4.x.x and there is no way for Cydia or Tiny Umbrella to get them" or something to that effect
azraeil
post May 14 2011, 04:09 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

samlee, you got power to open meeeh ... hebat hebat ...

Thanks bro.
azraeil
post May 14 2011, 04:17 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Based on my observation those frakkers really cannot tahan to sabotaj this thread. Paling lama I've seen this thread open is 3 days, after that some dumba$$ will come in with their frakkin' piracy stuff ..

Nak menunjuk la konon that they are pirates .... as I keep saying "You cannot fix Stupid"
azraeil
post May 14 2011, 08:18 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(nanalurvee @ May 14 2011, 02:10 PM)
Last time only half day, now i think almost 8 hour..
yup already install and uninstall still crash..
will try ur method thanks.
You need to find the right repo for the Mobile terminal. I think the repo is called ijailbreak.com/repo but I can't be sure so lemme get back to you.

David, have fun in Tioman! I've never been there ....

Added on May 14, 2011, 8:27 pmHere's the repository location. Should be stable and should be version 5.27 IIANM

http://www.ijailbreak.com/repository/

This post has been edited by azraeil: May 14 2011, 08:27 PM
azraeil
post May 15 2011, 12:27 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(rizfield @ May 14 2011, 04:48 PM)
a noob question,

can i use redsnow rc16 to jb to other ver of ios, for example 4.2.1. 4.3.1 or 4.3.2

or is it each redsnow release is only meant for the specific ios ver, example, rc15-16 is for 4.3.3, rc 12 13 n 14 for 4.3.2... and so on..

just want a clarification.. thx
redsn0w is firmware specific. Here's a link and a guide from BigBoss on all version of redsn0w. Hope it helps

http://thebigboss.org/guides/jailbreak-with-redsn0w
azraeil
post May 15 2011, 03:37 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ May 15 2011, 08:22 AM)
What about the baseband thingy? I still don't understand till today doh.gif
You only need to worry about baseband if you own a locked set (USA version AT&T model, Japanese version and some UK version). You do not need to worry if you bought an iPhone from Maxis, Digi, Celcom or if you know you have a factory unlocked iPhone.

Why worry about baseband, well if you are on a locked set, baseband is the one that controls which carrier you can use with your iPhone. So for AT&T phone, the baseband will not allow you to use any other simcard with your iPhone.

The baseband can be unlocked (using ultrasn0w) which will allow you to use the iPhone with any simcard you want

BUT

ultrasn0w can only unlock certain versions of the baseband (1.59 and below for the iPhone 4 and 5.14 IIANM for the 3Gs) so if you have updated your iPhone using stock Apple firmware, your baseband will be upgraded and your carrier unlock will be dead (you have to use the original simcard that comes with the iPhone)

SO

That is why if you have a locked phone, you need to either use sn0wbreeze (windows) or pwnagetool (Mac) to create a custom firmware which allows you to PRESERVE your baseband (meaning, it will not upgrade the baseband)

Those with factory unlocked set will only need to worry about jailbreaking.

azraeil
post May 15 2011, 07:28 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

@DJveej ...

same thing happened to my friend as well. He bought it in Low Yat and the guy said his 3Gs is factory unlocked, can use with any SimCard. He went and upgraded his to 3.1.2 and lo and behlod, it was locked.

Lucky I was around and managed to downgrade his iPhone, jailbreak it using blackra1n at the time and unlock it using ultrasn0w.

Even now, with 4.3.3 out with a pwnagetool he still refused to upgrade his phone. He has sworn off buying locked set (or buying from shady people in Low Yat). His next iPhone will be from the carrier here where it is factory unlocked.
azraeil
post May 15 2011, 08:08 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

boblp is correct. If the filename is downloaded as a zip file. Just rename the zip file to xxx.ipsw insetad of xxx.zip
azraeil
post May 16 2011, 06:47 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mat_min @ May 16 2011, 12:02 PM)
modem firmware:4.10.01
version: 4.3.3
and it's a local set, buy it from celcom
Any reason why you wouldn't want to use redsn0w instead of sn0wbreeze? redsn0w is much simpler to use and since you're on a factory unlocked set, I don't see any reason to use sn0wbreeze.

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:47 PM