12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak, READ: STRICTLY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

azraeil
post Apr 26 2011, 06:46 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(iamleavingformars @ Apr 26 2011, 12:24 PM)
iPhone 4 , version 4.3 . does it have jailbreak ?
can you link me to how to jailbreak it , and is it stable already ?
and i'm using a mac btw , does that make any difference from windows in jailbreaking the iPhone ?

Added on April 26, 2011, 5:25 pmiPhone 4 , version 4.3 . does it have jailbreak ?
can you link me to how to jailbreak it , and is it stable already ?
and i'm using a mac btw , does that make any difference from windows in jailbreaking the iPhone ?
Mac actually has more options to jailbreak than using a PC (especially Pwnagetool)

As for your Q's the dev-team does not spend time jailbreaking every firmware .... they jailbreak firmware that are susceptible to the exploit they have. Once that particular firmware has been jailbroken then us users are then told to upgrade to that particular firmware at that particular time.

That is how jailbreaking works.
azraeil
post Apr 27 2011, 06:30 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Anyone has a review about ScrollingDock? Is it good/stable?
azraeil
post Apr 29 2011, 01:31 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(-j-t- @ Apr 28 2011, 06:40 PM)
do you have standby = usage time problem?
because im having this problem with 4.2.1..
i wan to know whether will 4.3.2 got this problem anot.. draining my battery till empty

and its quite dangerous for me since i need to preserve baseband via updating so i wan to know more about 4.3.2 before proceeding
It's better than 4.3.1 that's for sure. The standby time seems reasonable. Now get about 2 days before I have to do a full recharge so it's not too bad.

Good luck.
azraeil
post Apr 30 2011, 01:10 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Raitama @ Apr 30 2011, 06:11 AM)
how to change ringtone ah? I jailbreaked for the intention of able to customize my ringtone.. so now i'm there and can any sifu guide me how to load my own mp3 ringtoe without the time limitation? thx
Search AnyRing in Cydia.

Added on April 30, 2011, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 30 2011, 05:16 AM)
do I necessarily have to be in dfu mode? My phone was locked to voda au. I've unlocked it last year. (did it in voda center, and did a restore) should i be worried about basebands then? haha sorry i've read thru so many baseband websites but have absolutely no idea what is it about. just wondering , cant i just plug in iphone > press update and let it restore?
If you're positive that your phone has been unlocked, then you can do a clean restore using iTunes. What is your current baseband anyway? If it is higher than 1.59 then I think voda has unlocked it for you.

If you wish to jailbreak either via redsn0w or pwnagetool, you will need to be in DFU mode.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Apr 30 2011, 01:12 PM
azraeil
post May 1 2011, 06:33 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(fruitler @ May 1 2011, 08:00 AM)
thanks...

simple explanation : SHSH or TU is for emergency/careless caused use right?  hmm.gif

Added on May 1, 2011, 1:09 pmNewbie question again :

For after jailbreak, can i do backup at itunes then restore at itunes?

or is it mean, I can do whatever like normal?
Saving SHSH via TU is not only for downgrading (but most of the time that is what people want to have their SHSH saved for).

The MAIN objective of saving your SHSH is to enable you to restore your iPhone to a firmware that is no longer signed by Apple server. In most cases this will be the downgrading objective but in some cases, it will also be needed when you want to upgrade to a firmware that is no longer signed by Apple.

For example, if you are on 4.1 firmware and you'd like to upgrade to 4.2.1 firmware (being that most Cydia application are compatible with 4.2.1 but not with 4.3.2) you cannot simply do the Shift + restore because Apple no longer signs that firmware, you will need to have available with you the SHSH for 4.2.1 to upgrade. Without it, you will not be able to upgrade.

So moral of the story, whenever Apple comes out with a new firmware just connect your iPhone to TU and click Saved SHSH eventhough you're still on an older firmware. You'll never know when you might need the SHSH.
azraeil
post May 2 2011, 12:28 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(vallz @ May 2 2011, 04:59 AM)
When i jailbrake when want to install back snowbreze package the error 3194 is keep coming ..
I make a host.txt and drag there , and when want to install back that error still coming .. Anyone can help me ? icon_question.gif
I'm not sure what you're trying to do here? What do you mean install sn0wbreeze again? As for the host file, in the first place, it should not have the .txt extension it should be hosts and that's it. If there is any extension behind it, then Windows will not recognize it as a host file.
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 12:48 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(vallz @ May 2 2011, 07:36 PM)
Cant save .. I aready try it .. Use txt can la
You need to have administrative privilege to edit the host file.

This post has been edited by azraeil: May 3 2011, 12:49 AM
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 12:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

If you have a factory unlocked phone, I'd recommend using redsn0w as mentioned by Feux. Your issue with the signal maybe due to the fact that you're using an old baseband with a new firmware. In the factory unlocked case, we only need to worry about jailbreaking and we shouldn't be bothered about the baseband.

The only reason you'd want to maintain your baseband is if you're on a locked set and there is no other option than to stay with the old baseband.

Added on May 3, 2011, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(vallz @ May 3 2011, 07:32 AM)
4.3.1 ..
This is why you're getting the 3194 error. Unless you saved your SHSH somewhere (I doubt Cydia has it because it was having some server issues for the last couple of months), then you will not be able to restore your iPhone on this firmware as Apple no longer signs this version.

This post has been edited by azraeil: May 3 2011, 12:38 PM
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 01:54 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

This is the tricky part, if you're trying to restore to a version of firmware that is no longer signed by Apple, these are the required items

1. SHSH for your iPhone for that particular firmware either saved locally or in Cydia server
2. Modified host file -- this is different than a normal stock restore host file where you will need to make sure your computer is able to see apple server (thus you need a clean host file). This method requires you to point your host file to either Cydia or localhost
3. TinyUmbrella running the TSS Server

Even if you have a custom 4.3.1 firmware that you download from the internet, you will not be able to restore to that custom firmware unless you have the stuff I mentioned above (especially important, the SHSH)

So bottom line, if you did not save the SHSH for 4.3.1, there is no way for you to restore to that firmware.
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 03:56 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Ohhhh crap ..... WTF ... adriankhoo .... suspension of your account seems imminent.
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 06:35 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Phew, thanks David for the consideration. Now let's focus on jailbreaking shall we.
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 07:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(RitzyHoke @ May 3 2011, 02:37 PM)
Okay ... I posted this question in the pinned iPhone thread but it seems like it disappeared ... but no notification or whatsoever about it.

So, can I sync my jailbroken iPhone to my iTunes? Since I had some stuff on my previous iPod Touch that was purchased ... and the playlists and everything ...

Sorry if similar questions have been asked ... @@"
Yes you can. There should not be any issue with sync.

azraeil
post May 3 2011, 08:39 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Replace which ones? If you sync your iPhone with the apps/playlist you have in Itunes, it should appear in your iPhone. For example if you have 20-30 apps in iTunes, then those apps will appear in your iPhone when you sync.
azraeil
post May 3 2011, 08:43 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

@vallz, even if Feux gives you the IPSW, if you do not have the 4.3.1 SHSH saved, you won't be able to restore to that firmware.

Now the question is, why do you want to stay on 4.3.1? Any reasons? I remembered you were having issues with your gevey sim, is that why you want to stay with 4.3.1?

Otherwise, I would recommend you doing a snowbreeze with 4.3.2.

Just a thought.

Added on May 3, 2011, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(RitzyHoke @ May 3 2011, 03:42 PM)
I have other apps in my iPhone that isn't in my iTunes ... will those be wiped off? Or will those apps acquired after jailbreaking be included in my iTunes?
Ahhh, what you need to do is to "Transfer your Purchase" from your iPhone to your iTunes first. Then go to the Apps tab and choose which apps you want to Sync to your iPhone. This way, everything in your iPhone would sync-up properly with your iTunes library.

This post has been edited by azraeil: May 3 2011, 08:45 PM
azraeil
post May 4 2011, 12:40 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(sopol @ May 3 2011, 04:45 PM)
Hi all, my unit is a locked version to at&t and jailbroken. Ios 3.0.1. Modem 4.26.08. It seems that my iphone has been lagged and unable to download new apps.

My problem is i dont know how to jailbreak and unlocking if i upgrade the software to the latest version. Moreover i am too busy to read and learn the processes which are too complicated for a non-IT person like me. Appreciate if you guys could advise me the fastest and easiest way to get out of the problem..
I supposed you're using a 3Gs?

Whatever you do, you will need to preserve your baseband so DO NOT use redsn0w.

You will need sn0wbreeze if you're on Windows or pwnagetool if you're using a Mac.

These 2 programs is used to create a custom firmware where it will strip out the part where the baseband is updated.

I think for sn0wbreeze tutorial, the best site would be redmondpie and if you're using a mac, the best tutorial for pwnagetool would be iClarified.com

The tutorial are simple to follow. Any problems just post it here.

Good Luck.
azraeil
post May 7 2011, 12:35 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Lucky it's the weekend in my place when this thread is closed. These buggers never learned one.

Have downloaded redsn0w 0.96rc15 but haven't had the time to do the upgrade. Maybe later/

BUT .... SAVE THE 4.3.3 SHSHs so that you will have the option to downgrade or upgrade to this firmware when Apple no longer signs it in the future.
azraeil
post May 7 2011, 04:12 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ May 7 2011, 08:43 AM)
i cant manage to save my 4.3.3 shsh
is it tinyumbrella cant support it yet?
cause the latest tinyumbrella is support 4.3.2 only
That could be it. Usually semaphore will update his TU once Apple comes out with a new Firmware.

azraeil
post May 8 2011, 12:51 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

This is from my post (Page 55 #1095)

Saving SHSH via TU is not only for downgrading (but most of the time that is what people want to have their SHSH saved for).

The MAIN objective of saving your SHSH is to enable you to restore your iPhone to a firmware that is no longer signed by Apple server. In most cases this will be the downgrading objective but in some cases, it will also be needed when you want to upgrade to a firmware that is no longer signed by Apple.

For example, if you are on 4.1 firmware and you'd like to upgrade to 4.2.1 firmware (being that most Cydia application are compatible with 4.2.1 but not with 4.3.2) you cannot simply do the Shift + restore because Apple no longer signs that firmware, you will need to have available with you the SHSH for 4.2.1 to upgrade. Without it, you will not be able to upgrade.

So moral of the story, whenever Apple comes out with a new firmware just connect your iPhone to TU and click Saved SHSH eventhough you're still on an older firmware. You'll never know when you might need the SHSH.

That is why saving the SHSH is extremely important. Some people do not wish to upgrade just yet, so if they don't have SHSH and Apple has updated to a newer firmware, these people will need to have the SHSH to upgrade as well.

azraeil
post May 8 2011, 02:14 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I saved all my SHSH in my Skydrive after I saved it locally using TU. I find that Cydia server is not as reliable with regards to saving the SHSH. Sometimes it says taht it's pending and sometimes it can't even connect to Cydia to save the SHSH. So I save it locally and then upload the SHSH to my Skydrive. At least I am in control rather then getting stressed out when Cydia doesn't work.
azraeil
post May 8 2011, 06:15 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ May 8 2011, 12:23 PM)
mine is 4.3.2 jb.
i want to upgrade to to 4.3.3 and jb.
do i have to fresh upgrade 4.3.3 1st?
or i can upgrade to 4.3.3 directly using ipsw build by snowbreeze without upgrading iphone's official 4.3.3?
It depends on why you want to use a sn0wbreeze firmware. If your phone is factory unlocked, then I don't see the need for a sn0wbreeze firmware. You usually use a custom firmware to preserve your baseband. If you have a factory unlocked iPhone, I'd go for redsn0w using stock firmware.

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:57 AM