Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V52!, The Orange Legion

lwliam
post Apr 25 2011, 09:39 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(CyaNide27 @ Apr 25 2011, 01:29 AM)
just out of curiosity, which sony alphas are full frame and which are apsc? i still duno how to differentiate between the two types....  blush.gif

how to interprete the numbers stated on those zoom lenses?
The focal lengths stated on lenses are all based on 35mm film conversion aka full frame values. When you put a lens on a full frame body, what you see in the viewfinder will represent the correct view stated for on the lens, another words, you will see the actual 50mm view as according to proper mathematical calculations for focal length (wiki it for further info).

As for an APSC body which typically have a 1.5x crop factor, when you put a 50mm lens on it, what you see in the viewfinder will only LOOKS LIKE what you will see with a 75mm lens on a fullframe, due to the crop factor.

There's not much effect of the focal length numbers to what you are shooting, they are just a reference number to know roughly what angle you will get, and subsequently what effect you will achieve. You don't have to crack your head over the numbers, slowly you will get a grasp on the implications of the numbers, no rush on it wink.gif
cjlai
post Apr 25 2011, 10:06 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Apr 24 2011, 08:42 AM)
cjlai : nice , like mirror already  biggrin.gif
thanks bro.... calm sea water....
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Apr 24 2011, 11:35 AM)
cjlai: u use ND filter to take those photos ar? damn nice. biggrin.gif
u dun need ND for this.... not much light at that time and easy to do long exposure....

ReasonsofThanatos
post Apr 25 2011, 10:17 AM

256 posts

dudes, wanna ask if any1 here has a Sigma 50mmF1.4...planning to get 1 but my 1st choice would be SAL50F14 if d image quality is comparable...been reading lots of reviews bout Sigma outperforms SAL... But I did tried playing with d Siggy on my fren's cam (Nikon D7000) and it's sharpness is wayyyyyy impressive, even wide open it's still pin sharp. But I wonder if it's good for portrait...
cjlai
post Apr 25 2011, 10:25 AM

1,631 posts

The Nature "S" in Maraetai Beach by cjlai76, on Flickr
Soony
post Apr 25 2011, 10:27 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Apr 25 2011, 12:55 AM)
haha wait till come out 24mp APS-C compare to a850/a900 can aa ? laugh.gif
true yes, but now there are those functions to add bokeh like 'Background Defocus' or some just play the tilt shift function (me on ipod touch  laugh.gif ). but how's among DSLR fullframe and APS-C bodies ?
I've seen background defocus on the NEX before , doesnt it only change the aperture for you automatically? its not really useful at night though. haha.. I might be wrong.

Added on April 25, 2011, 10:31 am
QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Apr 25 2011, 10:17 AM)
dudes, wanna ask if any1 here has a Sigma 50mmF1.4...planning to get 1 but my 1st choice would be SAL50F14 if d image quality is comparable...been reading lots of reviews bout Sigma outperforms SAL... But I did tried playing with d Siggy on my fren's cam (Nikon D7000) and it's sharpness is wayyyyyy impressive, even wide open it's still pin sharp. But I wonder if it's good for portrait...
I've read a few reviews about the sigma 50mm F1.4 .. yes it is very good for crop sensor bodies.. HSM motor and very smooth bokeh rendition . Downside is the weight and the size of the filter which is 77mm. Full frame bodies it doesn't work as expected. But technically I never really tried one before , though sigma has its QC issues.

Yes , 50mm F1.4 is always good for potrait with that price. Unless you have the budget to go for CZ85mm F1.4

This post has been edited by Soony: Apr 25 2011, 10:31 AM
eddybeh
post Apr 25 2011, 10:45 AM

830 posts

cjlai: very nice!! like 2 beaches top n bottom. XP
ReasonsofThanatos
post Apr 25 2011, 10:54 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 25 2011, 10:27 AM)
I've read a few reviews about the sigma 50mm F1.4 .. yes it is very good for crop sensor bodies.. HSM motor and very smooth bokeh rendition . Downside is the weight and the size of the filter which is 77mm. Full frame bodies it doesn't work as expected. But technically I never really tried one before , though sigma has its QC issues.

Yes , 50mm F1.4 is always good for potrait with that price. Unless you have the budget to go for CZ85mm F1.4
yeah this is also 1 of my concern, d QC issue...but I heard Sigma's QC has been improved over d years n isn't bad nowadays. But pin sharp at F1.4 is still a very attractive point...but does it worth the extra $$ it's everybody's guess. Thanks a lot for d infor dude! rclxms.gif
shootkk
post Apr 25 2011, 11:33 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Apr 25 2011, 10:25 AM)
Wow, such freaky clouds! Is the scene like that to the eye or just the camera? By the way, it's a cool shot! thumbup.gif
cjlai
post Apr 25 2011, 11:46 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Apr 25 2011, 11:33 AM)
Wow, such freaky clouds! Is the scene like that to the eye or just the camera? By the way, it's a cool shot!  thumbup.gif
to the eyes mostly.... for camera they dun hv such dynamic range to c both sky and ground.... so i need to push it up abit to bring out the color on the ground tongue.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Apr 25 2011, 12:10 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

cjlai: can share ur settings for those night shots? biggrin.gif
fansoption
post Apr 25 2011, 12:10 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Apr 25 2011, 10:25 AM)
Awesome!
cjlai
post Apr 25 2011, 12:56 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Apr 25 2011, 12:10 PM)
cjlai: can share ur settings for those night shots? biggrin.gif
bro, u can get the settings from the exif in flickr.... btw, which pic are u referring to?

Added on April 25, 2011, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(fansoption @ Apr 25 2011, 12:10 PM)
Awesome!
thanks bro smile.gif

This post has been edited by cjlai: Apr 25 2011, 01:02 PM
Mikeshashimi
post Apr 25 2011, 02:15 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Apr 25 2011, 12:56 PM)
bro, u can get the settings from the exif in flickr....  btw, which pic are u referring to?

the docklands Melbourne one. with the bridge and its reflection.
cjlai
post Apr 25 2011, 02:30 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Apr 25 2011, 02:15 PM)
the docklands Melbourne one. with the bridge and its reflection.
Docklands
Camera Sony DSLR-A700
Exposure 3.2
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 10 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Bolte Bridge
Camera Sony DSLR-A700
Exposure 15
Aperture f/16.0
Focal Length 20 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias +0.7 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

both not using any ND filter

This post has been edited by cjlai: Apr 25 2011, 02:31 PM
Mikeshashimi
post Apr 25 2011, 02:38 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

cjlai: thanks bro. biggrin.gif
mastering89
post Apr 25 2011, 07:08 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

today USD is rm1 = 2.99$. good time to shop lolz laugh.gif
yuhi
post Apr 25 2011, 07:38 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Apr 25 2011, 08:38 PM)
today USD is rm1 = 2.99$. good time to shop lolz laugh.gif
Tarak A77 on the market yet... Show me the link to pre-order it please blush.gif
post Apr 25 2011, 08:16 PM

304 posts

Anyone Planning to sell their sOny DT 50mm f1.8?? I wan!!
boyzone
post Apr 25 2011, 09:49 PM

124 posts

All sifu,

between 70-400G vs 500m F8 reflex mirror lens,
which one is more suit for birding interm of IQ and focus speed?
Pls advise.. Thx.
fansoption
post Apr 25 2011, 10:13 PM

3,065 posts

Sentul Park