126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

wan_109
post Apr 18 2011, 02:46 PM

741 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 02:24 PM)
@alister,
wads GA10? >.>
@somebody going to mars,
i would recommend SGSL over ALM
SGSL ori current cost 1.2k~1.3k only o.O [according to my pricelist & LYN garage sales]

Added on April 18, 2011, 2:34 pm
i think you can get LG Optimus One  hmm.gif
How is it compared to Xperia X8 and HTC Wildfire?
alister88
post Apr 18 2011, 02:59 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 02:44 PM)
oic

SGSL vs SGS
Super AMOLED is replaced by SuperClear LCD [NOT S-LCD by SONY, 2 total different thing]
smaller internal memory [4GB vs SGS's 8/16GB]
slightly weaker GPU

EDIT: u edited post huh? tongue.gif
ah... u got me... tongue.gif
so SGS good deal? smile.gif
I dont wanna turn to iPhone cos Im planning to get iPod Touch... hmm...
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 03:32 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:59 PM)
For the better GPU yes. I'll recommend the HTC Desire S instead for better future support, the aluminium build and also there is a flash for the camera unlike the SGS. AP sets of the Desire S going for around 1550.
adrianccseng
post Apr 18 2011, 03:41 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:59 PM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9003_gala...eview-562p2.php
see the display comparison

some people like S.AMOLED, some prefer SCLCD due to the colour is more natural & unlike super amoled which is saturated[as u can c the white color is like light blue]

well, Super AMOLED still wins in terms of sunlight legibility & better battery efficiency biggrin.gif

AP or ORI is up to u...
cuz most people got their phone spoil/repair needed after warranty EXPIRED tongue.gif [if u take good care which is like 3-5 years after u 1st using]

Added on April 18, 2011, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(wan_109 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:46 PM)
How is it compared to Xperia X8 and HTC Wildfire?
X8 should not be considered due to outdate OS & the screen reso just the same as LG O1

HTC Wildfire wins for having flash support[not full 10.1] in the web browser, Gorilla Glass & HTC Sense UI
but as i said, the low screen resolution will limit the choice of apps
v2.1, ugradeable to 2.2

LG Optimus One, v2.2, ugradeable to 2.3
better screen resolution & newer OS to date [hence got more apps choice than Wildfire]
slightly better proc..
DivX/XviD video support

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Apr 18 2011, 03:54 PM
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 03:58 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 03:41 PM)

HTC Wildfire wins for having flash support[not full 10.1] in the web browser, Gorilla Glass & HTC Sense UI
v2.1, ugradeable to 2.2

better screen resolution & newer OS to date [hence got more apps choice than Wildfire]
slightly better proc..
DivX/XviD video support
Wildfire supports CM7(2.3) so i guess that is another upside of it. The flash support thing can be nulled by using Skyfire anyway. Not worth of mentioning unless you mean full flash 10.1 support. The Higher screen reso on the O1 is an upside because the difference is quite significant.
adrianccseng
post Apr 18 2011, 04:23 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Apr 18 2011, 03:58 PM)
Wildfire supports CM7(2.3) so i guess that is another upside of it. The flash support thing can be nulled by using Skyfire anyway. Not worth of mentioning unless you mean full flash 10.1 support. The Higher screen reso on the O1 is an upside because the difference is quite significant.
wildfire official upgradeable to 2.3 oso?
eh wad is CM7? blush.gif

oic...
alister88
post Apr 18 2011, 04:29 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Apr 18 2011, 03:32 PM)
For the better GPU yes. I'll recommend the HTC Desire S instead for better future support, the aluminium build and also there is a flash for the camera unlike the SGS. AP sets of the Desire S going for around 1550.

some people like S.AMOLED, some prefer SCLCD due to the colour is more natural & unlike super amoled which is saturated[as u can c the white color is like light blue]

well, Super AMOLED still wins in terms of sunlight legibility & better battery efficiency biggrin.gif

AP or ORI is up to u...
cuz most people got their phone spoil/repair needed after warranty EXPIRED tongue.gif [if u take good care which is like 3-5 years after u 1st using]
hmm.. I think I'll go SGS instead. Desire S seems nice but somehow off budget.
Try to get something as budget as possible. smile.gif
Btw new batch SGS comes with Froyo and upgradable to Ginger? and lastly...
RAM is the memory that we store our Apps while ROM is the speed right...? biggrin.gif
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 04:32 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 04:23 PM)
wildfire official upgradeable to 2.3 oso?
eh wad is CM7?  blush.gif

oic...
CyanogenMod. One of the most popular custom roms.
nothing_nth
post Apr 18 2011, 06:06 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

galaxy SL vs X10... which 1 better ? after root etc and which 1 more all rounded? will SL got 2.3?

This post has been edited by nothing_nth: Apr 18 2011, 06:08 PM
ChaosSixth
post Apr 18 2011, 06:36 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

when is the coming android phone with dual core reach malaysia?? i dunno i should buy the HTC desire HD or wait for the dual core phone..
iamleavingformars
post Apr 18 2011, 07:03 PM

13 posts

personal thought's required on which one would you choose ,

1.motorola defy
2.SE Xperia x10
3.acer liquid metal
TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 07:43 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Apr 18 2011, 06:06 PM)
galaxy SL vs X10... which 1 better ? after root etc and which 1 more all rounded? will SL got 2.3?
x10. Better camera and confirmed to have 2.3 "sometime" soon.
SL has less ram and a camera with no flash. Also has a nerfed GPU. The only upside is the SC-LCD screen.

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Apr 18 2011, 06:36 PM)
when is the coming android phone with dual core reach malaysia?? i dunno i should buy the HTC desire HD or wait for the dual core phone..
LG Optimus 2x but i wouldn't recommend it because it has a few issues. Constant reboot, yellow tint below the screen, and a few others. It is already here btw. Selling for RM1899

QUOTE(iamleavingformars @ Apr 18 2011, 07:03 PM)
personal thought's required on which one would you choose ,

1.motorola defy
2.SE Xperia x10
3.acer liquid metal
Defy for being shock proof, water proof, and the Q7230 with 512mb ram. Stupid Motoblur is present though.
x10. Better camera and confirmed to have 2.3 "sometime" soon. 1ghz snapdragon.
ALM. Sub par camera, Q7230 processor, 512mb ram, Stock android, but has no custom support. Aluminium battery cover.

Performance wise: ALM/Defy
Camera wise:x10
Durability wise: Defy
Custom rom wise:x10
Value wise:ALM
Screen wise: ALM uses an OLED screen IINM/Defy Gorilla glass
Personal recommendation: Defy if you tend to infuse physical damage on your phone frequently. x10 if you tend to use the camera alot. ALM if you're not any of these.
adrianccseng
post Apr 18 2011, 07:55 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Apr 18 2011, 06:36 PM)
oledi got LG Optimus 2X original, Motorola ATRIX [AP]..
G K Lai
post Apr 18 2011, 09:25 PM

839 posts

Hi all,

I thought of getting a phone for my son, and at the same time I can have the chance to try out Android phone.

I am quite interest in Sony Ericsson X10 Mini, can anyone tell me what is the market price (roughly, original set)?
Does this phone any good if I would like to try out this and that (maybe flashing custom ROM, some modding?)

If X10 Mini isn't any good, can anyone recommend something close to this price range?
Do you recommend Samsung?
By the way, not really interest in Motorola.

My background:
I am totally new to Android but am interest to explore and discover more on this platform.
Was a long time Nokia smartphone user, which also flashing hack/flashed custom firmware.
Recently jumped ship to iPhone 4 when it released in Malaysia, because my last Nokia N97 disappoint me badly!
I hate slow and lagging operation of phone, which N97 does exactly! shakehead.gif
I saw Sony Ericsson X10 Mini on YouTube and the operation are quite smooth. smile.gif

Thank you all in advance~ notworthy.gif
adrianccseng
post Apr 18 2011, 09:57 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Apr 18 2011, 09:25 PM)
Hi all,

I thought of getting a phone for my son, and at the same time I can have the chance to try out Android phone.

I am quite interest in Sony Ericsson X10 Mini, can anyone tell me what is the market price (roughly, original set)?
Does this phone any good if I would like to try out this and that (maybe flashing custom ROM, some modding?)

If X10 Mini isn't any good, can anyone recommend something close to this price range?
Do you recommend Samsung?
By the way, not really interest in Motorola.

My background:
I am totally new to Android but am interest to explore and discover more on this platform.
Was a long time Nokia smartphone user, which also flashing hack/flashed custom firmware.
Recently jumped ship to iPhone 4 when it released in Malaysia, because my last Nokia N97 disappoint me badly!
I hate slow and lagging operation of phone, which N97 does exactly!  shakehead.gif
I saw Sony Ericsson X10 Mini on YouTube and the operation are quite smooth.  smile.gif

Thank you all in advance~  notworthy.gif
x10 mini ? dropped till like 550~650 [ori]
not really recommend u to go for x10 mini

screen small [do u personally tried it? u may find its difficult to type with that small screen], outdate OS [stuck @ 2.1 while now is 2.3/3.0 era]

please state ur budget?
if within 1k, can consider to get Acer Liquid Metal, bootloader unlocked hence can do complete custom stuff..
its 3.6" WVGA screen, android 2.2 officially, 800mhz proc [like the Desire Z ones]
G K Lai
post Apr 18 2011, 11:01 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 18 2011, 09:57 PM)
x10 mini ? dropped till like 550~650 [ori]
not really recommend u to go for x10 mini

screen small [do u personally tried it? u may find its difficult to type with that small screen], outdate OS [stuck @ 2.1 while now is 2.3/3.0 era]

please state ur budget?
if within 1k, can consider to get Acer Liquid Metal, bootloader unlocked hence can do complete custom stuff..
its 3.6" WVGA screen, android 2.2 officially, 800mhz proc [like the Desire Z ones]
Oh yes, my budget is below 1K... tongue.gif
Thanks for your recommendation of Acer Liquid Metal, just watched a few videos of this phone on YouTube and it is indeed a very nice phone.

I will do some searching to find out what is bootloader unlocked and how it benefits me, as I said, I'm totally new to this Android thing... blush.gif
I will keep checking back here to learn more... laugh.gif

TSxDarkKnightx
post Apr 18 2011, 11:11 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Apr 18 2011, 11:01 PM)
Oh yes, my budget is below 1K...  tongue.gif
Thanks for your recommendation of Acer Liquid Metal, just watched a few videos of this phone on YouTube and it is indeed a very nice phone.

I will do some searching to find out what is bootloader unlocked and how it benefits me, as I said, I'm totally new to this Android thing...  blush.gif
I will keep checking back here to learn more...  laugh.gif
It benefits you how so, your son can learn how to customize his own stuff but in the process there is a chance of him screwing up the whole thing and spoiling it so its not recommended unless you're an enthusiast.
G K Lai
post Apr 18 2011, 11:30 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Apr 18 2011, 11:11 PM)
It benefits you how so, your son can learn how to customize his own stuff but in the process there is a chance of him screwing up the whole thing and spoiling it so its not recommended unless you're an enthusiast.
Hahaha... laugh.gif You are right, he will definitely screwed things up if I let him touch the heart/core of the phone.

I think I can consider myself enthusiast, I applied Nokia hacks, flashed custom firmware, jailbroke iPhone etc... I like customization...
but I know ZERO about Android, so maybe I can say, this is to replace his phone while at the same time I have a chance to "experiment" on it. brows.gif
It's ok if the current purchase not 100% customizable because when the time I'm ready to go more serious, I might buy one suitable model for myself. laugh.gif

I've seen many Android phone's hands on review on YouTube and, I can say, almost all of them operate very smoothly, this is what I like about this "system".

What about HTC? Do they have a under 1K model that worth looking at? hmm.gif

wan_109
post Apr 19 2011, 12:02 AM

741 posts

AP or ORI is up to u...

Added on April 18, 2011, 3:54 pm
X8 should not be considered due to outdate OS & the screen reso just the same as LG O1

v2.1, ugradeable to 2.2

slightly better proc..
DivX/XviD video support
I thought X8 can upgrade until Eclair?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=941458

and Froyo too. http://www.dt2.in/2011/04/tutorial-install...-xperia-x8.html

How much is HTC Wildfire nowadays? Below RM800, perhaps?

This post has been edited by wan_109: Apr 19 2011, 12:07 AM
waquesantau
post Apr 19 2011, 01:07 AM

1. Brand. (Any)
2. Budget. (Below RM700 coz want to buy 2 unit for my twins)
3. Specs. (Processor / RAM / OS Version / screen size)
4. What you need in the phone (can facebooking easily, camera, video, gps)

Any recommendation where to buy within Klang Valley? Thanks

This post has been edited by waquesantau: Apr 19 2011, 01:07 AM

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:00 AM