105 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Pumping Petrol with your Credit Cards, What cards reward you?

Alec.Yong
post Mar 21 2011, 08:41 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 21 2011, 08:18 PM)
IINM the answer is YES.
Because I recalled a content of MBB Petronas card talking about "Earn extra Mesra point everytime you use MBB petronas card at Petronas stations".

However, things may have changed.

Added on March 21, 2011, 8:20 pm
1L = 1 Mesra point is very stingy  laugh.gif
Best petrol loyalty card now is SMILES card thumbup.gif
This is why I finally change to Esso/Mobil, unless there is 10X point again for MBB Petronas card... tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2011, 08:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Mar 21 2011, 08:41 PM)
This is why I finally change to Esso/Mobil, unless there is 10X point again for MBB Petronas card... tongue.gif
so how many Mesra Points required to redeem say RM10 fuel?

With MBB Petronas 5X TP, it gives us about 2.5% in return. Well actually can be more during MBB Treats Fair and if I not mistaken if we go redeem it at MBB outlet at 1U.
ch_teo
post Mar 21 2011, 09:11 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 21 2011, 08:58 PM)
so how many Mesra Points required to redeem say RM10 fuel?

With MBB Petronas 5X TP, it gives us about 2.5% in return. Well actually can be more during MBB Treats Fair and if I not mistaken if we go redeem it at MBB outlet at 1U.
100 points to redeem RM1 fuel.
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2011, 09:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Mar 21 2011, 09:11 PM)
100 points to redeem RM1 fuel.
Thank you. So if 1 liter fuel cost Rm1.90 then we get back 0.526%. Add this to MBB Petronas CC 5X TP, we can get more than 3% in return.

By the way I do have both MBB Petronas card and Mesra card but I never bothered to check the mesra card as I only use petronas on the Plus highways.

Now combining OCBC Titanium MasterCard with Mesra card, we do get more than 5.5% in returns thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 21 2011, 09:32 PM
xavi5567
post Mar 23 2011, 09:28 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

i thought esso smile card also can redeem other stuff wa.. http://www.esso-mobil-smiles.com.my/en-my/..._household.aspx
TSGen-X
post Mar 23 2011, 09:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 23 2011, 09:28 PM)
i thought esso smile card also can redeem other stuff wa.. http://www.esso-mobil-smiles.com.my/en-my/..._household.aspx
yup, andrekua mentioned that earlier, go to 1st page.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 23 2011, 09:54 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 23 2011, 09:55 PM

52,874 posts

How to redeem stuffs from Mesra card?

I found out that MyMesra page is kind of useless. No product redemption catalogue.
Human Nature
post Mar 23 2011, 09:57 PM

- student of human nature -
26,503 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 23 2011, 09:55 PM)
How to redeem stuffs from Mesra card?

I found out that MyMesra page is kind of useless. No product redemption catalogue.
I just use the mesra points for petrols.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 23 2011, 09:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 23 2011, 09:57 PM)
I just use the mesra points for petrols.
Mind educate me on how to do that? Do I need to fill in any form?
Human Nature
post Mar 23 2011, 10:00 PM

26,503 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 23 2011, 09:58 PM)
Mind educate me on how to do that? Do I need to fill in any form?
Just walk to the counter and ask the cashier to check how many points or how much (in ringgit) are stored inside your card. If you want to use them for petrol, just tell them so. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 23 2011, 10:01 PM
SUSdestiny6
post Mar 23 2011, 10:24 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 23 2011, 10:00 PM)
Just walk to the counter and ask the cashier to check how many points or how much (in ringgit) are stored inside your card. If you want to use them for petrol, just tell them so.  smile.gif
you can also slot the cd in the self service card terminal will do....provided u have lots of points to change for petrol smile.gif
Human Nature
post Mar 23 2011, 10:38 PM

26,503 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Mar 23 2011, 10:24 PM)
you can also slot the cd in the self service card terminal will do....provided u have lots of points to change for petrol  smile.gif
ah yes, that too doh.gif
simplesmile
post Mar 24 2011, 12:02 AM

2,991 posts

Anybody use Bonuslink? Seems like it's not a good card for pumping petrol in terms of returns %.
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 06:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 24 2011, 12:02 AM)
Anybody use Bonuslink? Seems like it's not a good card for pumping petrol in terms of returns %.
I use Bonuslink when I have no choice but to go to Shell, but I don't know how the points are awarded. Anyone care to explain in detail about the returns we get from Bonus Link.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 24 2011, 07:51 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 24 2011, 06:50 AM)
I use Bonuslink when I have no choice but to go to Shell, but I don't know how the points are awarded. Anyone care to explain in detail about the returns we get from Bonus Link.
For Shell with Bonuslink:

http://www.bonuslink.com.my/participant/pa...ils.asp?id=0001

Points Structure
1L Shell fuels = 1 Point
25% Bonus Points with Shell V-Power Racing

Bonus Points Chart
Monthly Purchase (litre) | Bonus Points
>500 | 150
251 - 500 | 75
125 - 250 | 25

RM1 = 1 Point (for all lubricants)
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 08:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 24 2011, 07:51 AM)
For Shell with Bonuslink:

http://www.bonuslink.com.my/participant/pa...ils.asp?id=0001

Points Structure
1L Shell fuels = 1 Point
25% Bonus Points with Shell V-Power Racing

Bonus Points Chart
Monthly Purchase (litre) | Bonus Points
>500 | 150
251 - 500 | 75
125 - 250 | 25

RM1 = 1 Point (for all lubricants)
Bro, I ask you for details on returns. Looks like I have to work it out myself. I have checked and can't redeem for fuel. So I 'll base on voucher 4950 bonuslink points = RM50 Parkson

If 1liter fuel = RM1.90 which equates to 4950 liters x RM1.90 = RM9405 on fuel to get RM50 Parkson voucher or 0.53%

Therefore with both OCBC Titanium and Citibank Plat Casb Back (as zenquix pointed out) we get approximately 5.5% cash back at Shell when use together with BonusLink.
simplesmile
post Mar 24 2011, 11:09 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 24 2011, 08:29 AM)
Bro, I ask you for details on returns. Looks like I have to work it out myself. I have checked and can't redeem for fuel. So I 'll base on  voucher 4950 bonuslink points  = RM50 Parkson

If 1liter fuel = RM1.90 which equates to 4950 liters x RM1.90 = RM9405 on fuel to get RM50 Parkson voucher or 0.53%

Therefore with both OCBC Titanium and Citibank Plat Casb Back (as zenquix pointed out) we get approximately 5.5% cash back at Shell when use together with BonusLink.
So, this means if Shell accepts Amex. Then I use MBB2 Amex to pay during weekend... get 5% rebate + 5xTP (equivalent to 2.5%) + 0.5% from Bonuslink = total 8% return?
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 11:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 24 2011, 11:09 PM)
So, this means if Shell accepts Amex. Then I use MBB2 Amex to pay during weekend... get 5% rebate + 5xTP (equivalent to 2.5%) + 0.5% from Bonuslink = total 8% return?
yes that should be the case
simplesmile
post Mar 24 2011, 11:53 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 24 2011, 11:15 PM)
yes that should be the case
Wow... can you imagine how much people are losing out when they pay cash? Sometimes I read comments people say they prefer to use cash for everything, and that cash is king, can get cash discounts etc.
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 06:52 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 24 2011, 11:53 PM)
Wow... can you imagine how much people are losing out when they pay cash? Sometimes I read comments people say they prefer to use cash for everything, and that cash is king, can get cash discounts etc.
that's why we have this new sub section called Credit Cards & Debit Cards and this thread to share with all.

would be nice if you guys can post at below thread and say this new sub-section is helpful
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1788138/+20

and support to make this sub-section Credit Card & Debit Card tidy but supporting for a new Mod at link below:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1805994

105 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:41 AM