RCCB/ELCB 100mA still nuisance trip!, during lightning storms

ozak
post Jun 28 2017, 09:59 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Octopuz @ Jun 28 2017, 09:09 AM)
another or replace current 100mA 40A RCD with 30mA sensitivity.

so as for the RCD current rate, i shouldn't change it to 63A type right? what's the gain of installing higher current rate (e.g. 100A)?

SPD is for nuisance trip prevention during raining season and proctect my computer stuffs.

Correct me if my understanding is wrong.
You can replace to a more sensitive RCD. But you probably will get nuisance trip more frequent.

You can change the RCD to 63A rate. 40A or 63A is a max load on the device.

Having SPD is good. But it is not 100% protected to all your device.

Lightning can be come from many way. From the main supply, wire around the wall, service provider network (Lan wire) etc.

Important is to check your earth is sufficient. And additional SPD nearer to your sensitive device. Lan network too.
Kiding
post Jun 28 2017, 03:43 PM

1,135 posts

There are type 1, 2, 3 SPD,

Type 1 SPD protects from the directly lightning strike to your power supply line.
Type 2 SPD protects from indirectly lightning strike, this type of SPD is the one you install at your DB, it has less discharge current rating
Type 3 SPD protects sensitive equipment such as computer, AV equipments or electronic devices, type 3 SPD must install nearby your electronic devices.

In Malaysia, you will need type 3 SPD, if you stay at high ground or frequently lightning strike area, you will need type 2 SPD, if the power line is hanging in the air and connect to your house and your house is at the highest point, you better get type 1 SPD.
halcyon27
post Jun 28 2017, 03:51 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jun 28 2017, 03:43 PM)
There are type 1, 2, 3 SPD,

Type 1 SPD protects from the directly lightning strike to your power supply line.
Type 2 SPD protects from indirectly lightning strike, this type of SPD is the one you install at your DB, it has less discharge current rating
Type 3 SPD protects sensitive equipment such as computer, AV equipments or electronic devices, type 3 SPD must install nearby your electronic devices.

In Malaysia, you will need type 3 SPD, if you stay at high ground or frequently lightning strike area, you will need type 2 SPD, if the power line is hanging in the air and connect to your house and your house is at the highest point, you better get type 1 SPD.
Good tip
Octopuz
post Jun 30 2017, 10:46 PM

61 posts

Richard, ozak and Kiding,

thanks for the inputs...
aeiou228
post May 21 2018, 12:10 AM

5,867 posts

Yesterday's thunderstorm nuisance tripping forced me to cut short my out station trip to return home to switch the RCD back on in order to prevent refrigerator from foul smell. Such pain !
Is there any device out there where I can turn on the RCD remotely without electricity and WiFi network?
Richard
post May 21 2018, 01:16 AM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 21 2018, 12:10 AM)
Yesterday's thunderstorm nuisance tripping forced me to cut short my out station trip to return home to switch the RCD back on in order to prevent refrigerator from foul smell.  Such pain !
Is there any device out there where I can turn on the RCD remotely without electricity and WiFi network?
The residual current device (RCD) trips to tell you there is a problem with your wiring. Somewhere in the house one or more circuit wires Live or N insulation is damaged (bitten by rats, cut or too old) leaking a residual electric current.

If you imagine that water pipes are the electric wires and water is electricity than the lighting storm is a higher voltage(think higher pressure) forcing a leak in the water pipe.
I am not very good at explaining but I will advice you get a wireman to do an insulation testing on all Live and Neutral circuits in your electrical DB to find out which circuit has the damaged wiring.

Do not ignore the RCD tripping as damaged wires cause many electric fires. Please pay the wireman and get an insulation test done soonest and rewire that damaged circuit.

Be safe.
ozak
post May 21 2018, 09:47 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 21 2018, 12:10 AM)
Yesterday's thunderstorm nuisance tripping forced me to cut short my out station trip to return home to switch the RCD back on in order to prevent refrigerator from foul smell.  Such pain !
So far non.

But there is a motorize auto reset device for RCD. It will auto reset few time before totally off. Don't recommend to use. Not safe.

What I do is, change the RCD. The nuisance trip prevent type. I m using ABB.

I plunge another ground rod at the right side of the house in the garden. Original ground rod and wired on the left. 3 pcs connected rod totally 6m. 6mm earth wire into the AV cabinet and distribute to others wall socket. The wall socket is inside the cabinet. So the earth wire cannot see. I confirm the earth wire is running good by the Belkin earth led light up. Before that, it either no light or fade blinking.

Doing this 2 thing solve my 80% of nuisance trip.

Remaining thing I would like to do is install SPD in the DB. Already brought but haven't install yet. Plan change all the MCB and install together. Distribute more new earth wire to others wall socket. If can, plunge another ground rod behind the house and more SPD far from DB.

The main goal is, shorten the earth wire into the ground.

What I always do for the fridge is, I freeze more ice in the bottle/container/gel before long holiday. In case it trip, extra ice prolong the cold. My experience is it last about 3days.
ozak
post May 21 2018, 09:56 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 14 2016, 01:56 PM)
I bought it around RM430, local seller quote me RM800+, my.rs-online.com selling around RM680
So expensive the SPD ?

Local have many such SPD sell. Pretty common device. Sheineider, Hager, ABB etc

ABB cost RM275. Hager cheaper.
FrankieSiow
post Oct 17 2018, 10:40 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Jan 6 2016, 08:11 PM)
SPD Class 2 (for 3 phase) - RM477 incl. GST
Installation RM150 - local electrician. This installation cost include SPD & auto Reset RCCB.
Hello, may I know what brand and model of SPD that you using?
keyz
post Oct 25 2018, 08:23 AM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(FrankieSiow @ Oct 17 2018, 10:40 AM)
Hello, may I know what brand and model of SPD that you using?
DuvalĀ® Class 2 Surge Protection Device (DUVAL D40C-275/3 + NPE)
FrankieSiow
post Oct 25 2018, 09:41 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Oct 25 2018, 08:23 AM)
DuvalĀ® Class 2 Surge Protection Device (DUVAL D40C-275/3 + NPE)
Thank you for the info. biggrin.gif
hisashi84
post Feb 8 2019, 10:13 AM

i saw "Maxguard 40kA 4P Surge Protection Device " from lazada.. about rm262. what is the different btw 40kA 4P and 40kA 2P?
sonerin
post Feb 8 2019, 12:29 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(hisashi84 @ Feb 8 2019, 10:13 AM)
i saw "Maxguard 40kA 4P Surge Protection Device " from lazada.. about rm262. what is the different btw 40kA 4P and 40kA 2P?
4P = 4 polarity and 2P= 2 polarity
SUSslimey
post Feb 8 2019, 12:30 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(hisashi84 @ Feb 8 2019, 10:13 AM)
4p for 3 phase electric: red, yellow, blue, neutral.
2p for single phase: phase, neutral.
macgy
post Feb 20 2019, 12:17 PM

The Max Guard SPD is only a 4 modes protection SPD, go for at least 7 modes protection SPD, there are a few brands in the market, I installed a 10 modes protection SPD. probelm solved
ajizaimi
post May 21 2019, 07:35 AM

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 14 2016, 11:30 AM)
Hager is the RCCB, ABB is the SPD

[attachmentid=6645471]
Boleh ke guna kabel 10mm dari main switch ke spd, spd ke rccb. Kabel asal 16mm. Kalau guna 16mm tak muat untuk looping di spd. Rumah saya 3 fasa 63A

wordplay
post Mar 16 2022, 06:55 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(macgy @ Feb 20 2019, 12:17 PM)
The Max Guard SPD is only a 4 modes protection SPD, go for at least 7 modes protection SPD, there are a few brands in the market, I installed a 10 modes protection SPD. probelm solved
What brand is it the 10 mode protection SPD?
jchong
post Jun 11 2022, 06:16 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(wordplay @ Mar 16 2022, 06:55 AM)
What brand is it the 10 mode protection SPD?
He mentioned it was Sine Tamer brand.
wordplay
post Jun 11 2022, 10:49 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 11 2022, 06:16 PM)
He mentioned it was Sine Tamer brand.

Thanks For The reply Chong.

Maras Power Surge Protector also can be considers . Its Local made & price wise its quite expensive .

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.1292sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:25 AM