14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Free Access to Airport Lounges with Credit Cards, KLIA, LCCT, Senai and Worldwide

TSGen-X
post Oct 1 2013, 03:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(melonlicious @ Oct 1 2013, 01:48 PM)
that's a good idea... changing new card every year and get waiver for at least 3 years. But i also would think the card priority will be based on the current promotion they have. Now Citibank PremierMiles shouting free 60k miles so get that 1st then only compare the other cards. As for HLB VS and Alliance Platinum and see who is giving good welcome gift.

But let's say that i have earn the 60k points and i convert it to Enrich Miles, can i save all my Miles into my EM account then apply other cards to accumulate more Miles?
Bro, you better go read the terms and conditions of the 60K Enrich Miles offered with the Citibank PremierMiels AMEX. It is not FREE but will cost you RM600. But then again, with 60K Enrich Miles you can redeem for one way Business Class ticket to Milan or USA smile.gif Yes, you can redeem/convert any of your credit card reward points to Enrich Miles Account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 1 2013, 03:18 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2013, 06:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Oct 2 2013, 05:06 PM)
And also Citibank prestige
that is if you don't mind forking out RM1K for the annual fee for the first year whereas the Alliance VI is FREE for the first year and subsequent years with RM30K spending yearly.
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2013, 07:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(melonlicious @ Oct 2 2013, 06:36 PM)
Itu standard sudah lain lor... but for sure Prestige card will have their own perks comparing to HLB Visa Signature or Citibank PremierMiles Amex
Well, with the Citi Prestige, you have to fork out money again when you want to contact their CS since they don't offer Toll Free Line and you need to press your phone at least 17 times (card 16 digits and select 1 for English I guess) before you get to speak to a real person, hahahaha. I tell you, I really hate contacting Citibank CS, they keep asking me for my pin when I don't even remember if I have one, hahaha.

HLB VS do offer Toll Free Line but no Free ride home from KLIA, I guess the ride back home is more worth it laugh.gif

One thing I can tell you about Citibank, they keep revising their card standard feature with time. Click here to read my previous review of the Citibank PremierMiles Visa Signature and you will understand what I mean. Now they no longer promo their PremierMiles VS but instead concentrating on the PremierMiles AMEX.

As for Alliance Bank, they are still offering the same benefit for their Plat card, i.e. cash back up to RM5K spending plus evergreen reward points, swipe 12 times for auto annual fee waiver and Unlimited access to KLIA PPL ever since I got their Plat card more than 6 years ago. So I can safely say from my experience that Alliance will not change their VI benefits in a couple years time.

And the worst case is SCB, last year revised their reward redemption program to almost as good as useless and now revoked the Unlimited FREE entries for their VI.

TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2013, 10:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(melonlicious @ Oct 2 2013, 10:04 PM)
I just called up HSBC about my Visa Signature Credit Card and that's what i just encounter that LOOOONNNG computer pressing thing before i can even talk to the CS.

Trusting with your judgement if Alliance is good enough might as well compare the 3 cards since for sure i'm getting one since i will be traveling a lot in the coming months.

I can't comment much with SCB because i only have a bank account with them parking collecting dust.
Aiyah Bro, what is there to go compare compare anymore tongue.gif

If you want Enrich Miles and KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge, just go get the Citibank PremierMiles AMEX, that is if you willing to pay RM600 and understand the other T&C plus knowing how to optimize Enrich Miles. Why I say optimize, for example, I can redeem for a return trip to Melbourne with Enrich Miles but I still have to pay RM1,140 for taxes and surcharges. And guess what, you can get a return ticket to Melbourne with Air Asia for less than RM1K! Why go waste the Enrich Miles right? I have learned my lesson and now only will use my Enrich Miles for Business Class ticket and that is only when there is a promo.

If you only want KLIA PPL only (i.e. no FREE Enrich Miles when you sign up), Alliance Plat is good. Recommend you get the MasterCard instead of the Visa because I compare it once where my wife used her Alliance Plat MC and I used my Alliance Plat Visa in SG and the conversion rate for Visa higher.

If you need a card for LCCT PPL too in addition to KLIA PPL, then get the HLB VS. But I can tell you LCCT PPL is crap. However, the HLB VS do not cost you a sen for annual fee, at least for the first year.

Oh, for HSBC VS, press 2 for BM and you will get to speak to a Malaysian thumbup.gif

And last but not least, you have the FREE FOR LIFE Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX? It is the best credit card for local usage to convert reward points to Enrich Miles at RM1.40 = 1 Enrich Mile (also applies for overseas transaction if you don't have the MBB VI, UOB VI and Allaince VI). Only thing is that it won't get you FREE entries to any airport lounge.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 2 2013, 10:33 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 3 2013, 09:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(melonlicious @ Oct 3 2013, 08:13 PM)
i think a lot of us will call CS via our mobile phone, even i have a fixed line next to me i wouldn't be bother to use it
I same with you bro smile.gif not bothered with land line phones because all the CC CS contact numbers are stored in my mobile phones.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 3 2013, 09:08 PM)
I always call 1800-82-1010 every time i need to call Citibank as it is free, whether i call it from my mobile phone or TM fixed line.
Bro you Sabahan got special privileges tongue.gif Come to think of it not fair for us here in Peninsular. Wait, can we people in KL call the Toll Free line?

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 3 2013, 09:36 PM)
I once call CITI 03-2383000 thinking it was TM fixedline but unfortunately it was not and I was charged > rm7.
Wah, RM7, that's a lot... how long was the conversation? Could have saved you some money if you could have spoken to a human immediately instead of going through the press this press that thingy tongue.gif

That's my point, the Prestige card (and prior to this the Citi PremierMiles VS) being Citi highest ranked credit card but yet they don't provide Toll Free. Even AMEX provide Toll free for their entry level green card. As for HSBC they provide Toll Free for the VS (previously Platinum) but not for the Premier WMC!? SCB VI also has Toll Free.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 3 2013, 09:53 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 3 2013, 11:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 3 2013, 11:09 PM)
Can you please give me the HSBC VS toll free number ? May come in handy in case i really need to call HSBC from my mobile phone  laugh.gif
Sure Boss, it is 1800887088 ,
TSGen-X
post Oct 4 2013, 12:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Oct 4 2013, 11:41 AM)
From Amex thread. Now Amex Plat entitles to go in free for all the new PPL in Malaysia.
It has always been the case for AMEX Plat and AMEX Krisflyer cards.
TSGen-X
post Oct 4 2013, 12:28 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Oct 4 2013, 12:04 PM)
Nope, last month I was at PG Airport and I enter using PM because Amex is not in their list. wink.gif
And I got food poisoning that night...  sweat.gif
OIC, noted.

as for your food poisoning, maybe that's why AMEX at that time did not want you to enter there laugh.gif
TSGen-X
post Oct 8 2013, 10:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 8 2013, 10:33 AM)
Question - assuming if i hold 2 different cards 1 ) citi premier miles 2) Rhb plat  . can i actually use citi card for my entry and then use the rhb for my partner entry ?
Yes, I have no problems using multiple cards to gain entries for my children at LCCT or KLIA.

But not the case with my Priority Pass Membership where Skyview Lounge in Changi T1 won't allow me to use more than one PPMC, but no problems because there are many lounges in Changi. Click here to read how my son and me managed to enter airport lounge in Singapore using two PPM cards.
TSGen-X
post Oct 14 2013, 02:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Oct 14 2013, 02:14 PM)
hi does anyone know about the eligibility of rhb Platinum Debit Card?
it offers free access to lounges too
I have the RHB Platinum Debit Card but it is issued under RHB Premier Banking and there is an annual fee of RM50 unless you sign up for 3 auto debit account or spend RM5K with it. I use it mainly to jump que at RHB bank, haha. This card also offer 4 FREE combined access to PPL lounges similar to RHB VI, VS and Plat credit cards.

Click here to read about cards issued via Premier/Priority/Privilege Banking. The Alliance Premier PB Debit Card allows you FREE entries to LCCT PPL but there is a monthly quota.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 14 2013, 02:55 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 14 2013, 06:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Oct 14 2013, 05:56 PM)
@Gen-x

What's the deal with "Visa Airport Speed Pass" , any good? I see it listed as a benefit of Maybank VI card, but website it links to hardly gives any info - just gives you a quote?
To tell you the truth, I don't know laugh.gif

I guess it's the priority lane when we go thru security check and/or immigration. If you are flying Business or First Class and even Air Asia Premium Ticket (not many know this), you get to go to the shorter "priority" lane.

For My USA Trip 2013 (click here to read it), my son got me FREE 1st class tickets with his United Airline Milelage Plus Silver Card account and I was showed to the "Priority Lane" in US leading to the security check before the departure hall biggrin.gif Same for my son when he flew with MAS Business Class when we departed from LA whereas I had to Q in the freaking long general line as I was in Economy!!! In USA this "Speed Pass" may be good because the line leading to the security check is usually freaking long.

But here's a joke, there has been once ot twice when I flew into Melbourne with AA, I noticed that I cleared Immigration faster in the general line than those people in "Priority" Lane because only one officer was serving that lane, hahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 14 2013, 06:19 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 14 2013, 06:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Oct 14 2013, 06:19 PM)
Yeah, the website they link you to gives a quote of $72 USD and mentions escorting you through the airport and removing language barriers etc.  doh.gif

I don't mind shorter queues but definitely wouldn't pay for the privilege !

Looks like I'll have my VI in a few weeks, so can see when I fly to Europe in Dec
Yah, it's not FREE and that is why you never see me mentioning about it as a benefit, hahaha

And by the way, in my article titled My USA Trip 2013 (click here to read it), I also posted photo of the United Airlines Lounge, called United Club, in Los Angeles. Now, here is the thing, I entered the Lounge not because I had a first class ticket with UA (the 1st class ticket I had won't allow me to enter!!) BUT I entered using my Priority Pass Membership Card thumbup.gif So next time you guys see a United Club lounge, just go ask if you can enter using your Priority Pass Membership Card nod.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 14 2013, 06:33 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 16 2013, 10:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 16 2013, 10:40 AM)
My son will be going to Jakarta on a school trip. Like to know whether it is possible for him to use my Priority card to enter the lounge (I will not be going).

Any one has tried this?

If your son is going on a school trip, he should stay with the group at all times tongue.gif

If you talking about LCCT and KLIA PPL, nowadays we need to sign a slip, so you want to teach your son it is okay to forge your signature? I am not kidding here.

And the answer to your question - usually they check the card name with the boarding pass, malu only your son if kena chase out.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 16 2013, 10:52 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 17 2013, 02:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fada @ Oct 17 2013, 01:18 PM)
for citibank platinum cardholders, is the complimentary access to the premium lounge still available? can we eat/bathe there as well or do we have to pay for those services?
Yes for KLIA, Langkawi International Airport and Sultan Ismail International Airport (Johor). You can eat and drink all you want for FREE plus take a shower (if the lounge has this facility). I can't remember if the renovated KLIA PPL has shower facility but prior to that yes.

As for LCCT, only the lounge before the Immigration has shower facility but not the one inside the departure hall (by the way, Citi Plat does not entitle you to enter for FREE but you can use your reward points to redeem for "FREE" entrance).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 17 2013, 02:24 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 17 2013, 09:27 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 17 2013, 09:23 PM)
The shower signage is still there. So they probably still provide the shower facility now.
True. I spent more than 2 hours inside KLIA PPL back in August in the late evening. The lounge was full to the brim as there were many First/Business Class passengers and also SkyTeam Elite Plus members from the Air France and KLM flight leaving for Paris and Amsterdam respectively inside the KLIA PPL that night. There were passengers from Ethiopian Airlines too and the staff did not ask me to leave. There were so many people inside the lounge then. So they probably couldn't tell who has been there for more than x hours anyway.
I think the reason why the staff at KLIA and LCCT sometimes ask for our boarding pass is to check what time is our departure so that we do not overstay and no other reason.
TSGen-X
post Oct 17 2013, 09:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 17 2013, 09:32 PM)
Good thing they never asked for my boarding pass. There were a few times that i just came off an international flight and instead of going straight the the gate my connecting flight back home (domestic) was going to leave from, i went to the PPL at the satellite terminal   biggrin.gif
if arrival I guess no problems even if you show your boarding pass because you will leave soon after makan tongue.gif Once at LCCT, after arriving from SG, I thought I stop by the PPL for a bite, the staff ask me for my boarding pass and I showed her my boarding pass from SG and she let me in laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 17 2013, 09:40 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 17 2013, 10:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Oct 17 2013, 10:33 PM)
haha.... sometimes I just brush them off saying haven't collected boarding pass so show IC instead. That is in LCCT because often I reach there to pick up families. So instead of waiting in the car, get down and enjoy some beers.
2 weeks back, I sent my wife and children to LCCT, so I took them to the lounge, I knew the staff will ask for the boarding pass so I make sure my wife showed hers. All they need to see is one boarding pass - I guess to check the departure time. Yeah, I had a beer there too smile.gif

Bro, for a real good relaxing time, I really like SkyView Lounge at Changi T1. Besides the FREE beers. they have FREE liquor, red wine and champagne too thumbup.gif And if you go upstairs, they have a "quite room" where they have those chairs where you can put your feet up thumbup.gif I am going there very soon biggrin.gif

QUOTE(b00n @ Oct 17 2013, 10:33 PM)
Too bad no smoking lounge in there which I know you will be wishing for it too.   rolleyes.gif
hahaha, you know me too well. I will say that the LCCT lounge before immigration is more spacious and got a toilet but I need to walk damn freaking far to smoke. So usually I go to the one at the departure hall where there is a smoking room next to the escalator but the exhaust fan there is always not working and we smokers there is like puffing 10 sticks all the time doh.gif Want to die faster, that's the place to be.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 17 2013, 10:58 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 25 2013, 01:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(urbanite @ Oct 25 2013, 12:39 PM)
Why should PPL care. The CC company will be paying for it.

Quota will be used up faster.

Bona fide card holders will be turned away once quota is finish.

In the worst case, CC company will discontinue arrangements if abuses are rampant.

When will Malaysians become more civil!!!!
True, very true for cards that have quota like Alliance Premier Debit Card, HSBC WMC & VS and HLB Co-Brand Cards. So why bother with those cards when there's a solution. I.e. go get cards that don't have quota like CIMB VI-i; Citibank Plat, PMiles and Prestige; Alliance Plat & VI; HLB VS; RHB Plat, VS & VI; UOB Plat & VI; and AMEX KrisFlyer & Plat biggrin.gif

As to when we Malaysians will become more civil, I guess not during our lifetime. But one thing for sure, we get smarter by the day smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 25 2013, 02:05 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 28 2013, 02:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 5 2013, 06:40 PM)
Hi Gen-X so now there are 3 cards which can be categorized as the ultimate airport lounge card as per your first post right?
Bro, as you know SCB VI title of Ultimate Airport Lounge credit has been revoked. As of yesterday, 3 cards share the title of Ultimate Airport Lounge Credit Card, i.e. Citibank Prestige, Alliance Bank Visa Infinite and UOB PB Visa Infinite. Well, today I officially bestowed the title of Ultimate Airport Lounge Credit Card to CIMB Visa Infinite i.

Click here to my credit card Ultimate Showdown 2014 and read about the newly knighted CIMB i Ultimate Airport Lounge credit card laugh.gif
TSGen-X
post Oct 29 2013, 03:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(namh @ Oct 28 2013, 11:38 PM)
sifu Gen-X, do you have any comment or review about middle class card (gold class or entry platinum) that offer free lounge at least in KLIA?? from some of your article, what i saw is only VI, WM & Premium level card only which is out of my range  cry.gif

From my reading, i can only find AEON new Gold Card that give 6x access per calendar year to KLIA PP Lounge.. it come with annual fee rm90 and bonus of this card is 0% BT for 6 months.. is there any card around this level??
Bro,

as mentioned by fly126 HLB Matta card allow FREE entries to KLIA PPL; but, with first come basis for 50 people including Supp cards, I guess it is useless by mid of the month. So I would recommend you forget about this HLB Matta card. Actually this card is not even worth mentioning unless you go to MATTA fair.

But I got good news for you, the AMEX KrisFlyer card is an Entry Level Gold card that grants you unlimited access to PPL including LCCT thumbup.gif See Post#1.

As for Platinum, bearbear mentioned Alliance Platinum credit card. This card is good for KLIA PPL only and best of all the annual fee is auto waived with 12 swipes.

Other options are RHB Platinum which offer 4 combined entries or American Express Platinum which offer unlimited entries to PPL nationwide. But these 2 cards you need to spend substantial sum in order for them to consider annual fee waiver.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 29 2013, 03:15 AM

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:20 PM