4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect

finger_waverz
post May 13 2012, 02:39 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(cend @ May 13 2012, 12:22 AM)
How do? I only have SPM result of 5A,5A+.

When I look back at their old application advertistment (2011/2012) http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/pdf/20...s_PIDN_2011.pdf

I am qualified...but it states only for diploma.

And 2nd year students are not qualified to apply.  rclxub.gif

So I made a mistake taking UiTM...should've had taken UTM diploma for architecture instead...
then though luck have to refer back to uitm jpa scholar (bac sc arch)
finger_waverz
post May 15 2012, 08:35 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Apple @ May 15 2012, 12:35 AM)
RM 92k for Bachelor Science of Architecture in Taylors, RM 64K in UCSI & 56k in KLIUC -__-
92k for taylors? wow... better go study at UTAS or something
finger_waverz
post May 18 2012, 11:08 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(cend @ May 17 2012, 09:03 PM)
So I just want to share about my findings on scholarship for UiTM Sarjana Sains Senibina, whether I should take PTPTN or getting the JPA PIDN as a 2011 SPM leaver. I called JPA, and they said:

WPP (Wang Pinjaman Pendahuluan) PTPTN can be taken. 2011 SPM leavers CAN apply for PIDN (Program Ijazah Dalam Negara) for the mentioned course if acedemic qualifications are met. PIDN application will be open FOR A WEEK, between June and August. The WPP PTPTN is advised to be taken, because in some cases, the PIDN Scholaship money may be recieved a bit later maybe like 1 January 2013 (UiTM architecture degree students register on 1 September 2012). So you can use the WPP money for the fee first. After that, the loan can be closed upon recieving the JPA's scholarship and pay it back to PTPTN.
I advise you to think this through first, by taking jpa scholarship you are bound to serve in goverment office or government related company once youve graduated, from waht i see most of my friend who were JPA scholar ended up teaching in technical college or polytechnics, option to work under an architectural firm is long gone, and from what ive heard future JPA scholars will be put into gov service as mandatory, right there are few who lucky enough not to get called into service.

im just giving you a headstart for what will happen later once youve graduated, well the scholarship is tempting 5000 per semester who didnt want that?
finger_waverz
post Jun 5 2012, 11:10 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(girugaga86 @ Jun 5 2012, 10:35 PM)
I have checked with dell precision models. And they are kinda off from my budget sad.gif or you have any good recommendations? i'm not really familiar with quadro gpus, although i know they're good.
buy an asus i5 proc with 2gb ati GPU, works fine to me, im always render my works and do some ps ing, it works well, even payed diablo 3 with it, price just under 2100

finger_waverz
post Aug 7 2012, 11:22 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(cend @ Aug 3 2012, 03:51 PM)
I can draw, as in basic sketch and perspective.

But if my drawing skills not up to do criteria/not good enough for studying architecture, how do? Will I face a bit challenged to study, or it won't bother me too much?

Or our drawing skills already been reviewed during art test in interview, so that we are acceptable to study architecture?

Kinda scared if my drawings skills are too bad to study architecture, but I really love to draw.
just be confident in what you do/draw/sketch.

in time your skill will develop i can promise you this
finger_waverz
post Jan 19 2013, 10:54 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(yen2009 @ Jan 18 2013, 10:45 PM)
Ok thanks, architecture is definitely my first choice, CGPA score may be a trouble if I did not score well in some papers.
I'm still thinking how to express 'improvement' and 'progress' in portfolio, apart from setting artwork production dates and maybe application used.
do something different, ive seen a lot of juniors coming in with crappy drawings they do during their schooldays..

if all else fail try polytechnics route

This post has been edited by finger_waverz: Jan 19 2013, 10:55 AM
finger_waverz
post Feb 2 2013, 07:54 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 2 2013, 12:36 AM)
Okay, make it simple. you know there is the overall AEC industry issue right now that we have architects but yet why do they need to be highly qualified when say a drafter or P1 could do the same, just the approach are different. right.?

And, in Malaysia context, of urban planner/architect and construction worker/ contractors/builder. Who run`s the game? capitalist?
so does in IT, why you need all the qualifications and all the cert there is,
the higher you climb up on the field.

P1>P2>P3

the bigger the responsible is. and each of the job have their own scope of work for example

Draughtsman - draw up plans, CAD, they might have no knowledge on how to design a proper building with necessary services and requirements. but then you'll Technical Assistant who knows more about technical stuff, requirement for Building Submission to the local authority. UBBL (universal Building by Law) all that stuff.

Part 1 (Assistant Architect) - most of them help Part 2 architects in their task, helping to do a 3d massing of a building for example, prepare presentation boards to the client. CAD up floor plans, do an architectural visualization.

Part 2 Architect - this is the main power house of every architectural firms. they responsible in solving problem given from client. responsible in managing a project or more. liase with building material supplier, liase with local authorities. all that stuff

Part 3 architect/ Associate Architect - Their main job is mostly to secure a client or projects. The boss of the firm.

i hope my explanation is enough. might missed one or two point here.

to design a building is not a 1 man show you know, it's easy to design anyone with skill to move cursor and make a plane in sketchup can design, but to make it work and feasible you need all the expertise there is and it doesnt only includes architects you have other professionals, engineers, quantity surveyors, project manager.

so to say that any P1 or P2 can be a certified architect means that you know nothing about the industry whistling.gif

This post has been edited by finger_waverz: Feb 2 2013, 08:04 PM
finger_waverz
post Feb 2 2013, 07:56 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 2 2013, 12:36 AM)
Okay, make it simple. you know there is the overall AEC industry issue right now that we have architects but yet why do they need to be highly qualified when say a drafter or P1 could do the same, just the approach are different. right.?

And, in Malaysia context, of urban planner/architect and construction worker/ contractors/builder. Who run`s the game? capitalist?
BANKERS
finger_waverz
post Feb 7 2013, 11:49 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 3 2013, 04:45 PM)
If bankers run the Architecture future`s, might as well be bankers right? laugh.gif can earn while designing, not design yet have to work with other or under other yet cant get sufficient income.  wink.gif
that all-in-one package wont work unless you want to save cost or for other particular reasons, for that we have IBS systems, but still it need architects and other consultants to be involved in.

finger_waverz
post Feb 7 2013, 12:06 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 3 2013, 04:45 PM)
If bankers run the Architecture future`s, might as well be bankers right? laugh.gif can earn while designing, not design yet have to work with other or under other yet cant get sufficient income.  wink.gif
that all-in-one package wont work unless you want to save cost or for other particular reasons, for that we have IBS systems, but still it need architects and other consultants to be involved in.

finger_waverz
post Mar 26 2013, 02:33 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(hs_clover @ Mar 25 2013, 10:27 PM)
hi, my stpm cgpa is 2.92. I think i have a bit interest in architecture, but i don't think i'm creative enough to involve in this field sad.gif
is there any courses that is similar but doesn't require creativity?
try quantity surveyor or any civil engineering courses
finger_waverz
post Apr 26 2013, 11:15 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(tzeen @ Apr 24 2013, 10:37 AM)
If you are from Art stream in SPM, you do Foundation in Arts lor...if got foundation in science, later suffer.....
just keep yourself inform about the industries.
even if you got A in your art doesnt guarantee your success later
applied either way
finger_waverz
post Jun 13 2013, 08:47 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(chiealle @ Jun 13 2013, 06:43 PM)
Hi, I came across an architectural event called Archidex 2013. I checked the webpage http://www.archidex.com.my/index.php but I'm not very sure about some details. What is this exhibition actually about? and must I own a company and register first to enter this exhibition?Thanks
go for the datum talks. best
finger_waverz
post Jun 16 2013, 11:05 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 16 2013, 02:09 AM)
where most msia architects and many other Intl architects come and talk or show off their stuffs.

this year different from last year, this year they only start to include the Design industry.. arts installation and seperate the professional developments.

But overall, you can see how they show off their work to other architects to inspire Malaysia architects  laugh.gif

Yet sadly, they still cant answer the issues with wat is Malaysia Architecture. laugh.gif of its culture and others. laugh.gif
dont put so much hope in creating "Malaysia Architecture" our culture are not as widely diverse as our neighbour indonesia.

even if, to put in a comparison. is there any "Singapore Architecture". so we are way pass that question.
i think right now the main issues is how we can erect a great building with an army of unskilled construction workers.
IBS? robot? that the way to think forward man

This post has been edited by finger_waverz: Jun 16 2013, 11:06 AM
finger_waverz
post Jun 25 2013, 11:09 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(chinhong60 @ Jun 25 2013, 04:36 PM)
Thanks, however i think i will go for UTM part time architecture if already opened. because if go for poly and then go for the 1st part, i think also need at least 5 years, which if not mistaken also the part time of UTM also is 5 years.

My condition not allow me to not work for 5 years. At the same time, also searching other alternative to achieve my dream maybe work in an architecture firm etc..
have you had any skills to work in a firm? if no better not,
polytechnic is not always a bad route to start your dream.
often i see those who go through poly have a better grasp of skills and technical knowledge rather than their matric/stpm counterparts.

those years you spend in poly will serve you well. trust me

This post has been edited by finger_waverz: Jun 25 2013, 11:13 PM
finger_waverz
post Jul 13 2013, 02:40 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 12 2013, 09:11 PM)

BArch vs MArch

professionally, there's absolutely no difference. a part 2 is a part 2 regardless if it's a diploma, degree or masters.

at the moment all part 2 MArch programmes are considered taught course, with a substantial amount of elemental research. so there's no difference between the BArch format and the MArch. however, being a masters level, the credit count is considerably higher (120 creds for masters, about 90++ for degree). so more subjects to learn, more depth and more time spent.
and more money spent too.
im glad, my Part II is still a bachelor degree.

finger_waverz
post Jul 14 2013, 09:16 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Tal @ Jul 13 2013, 08:33 PM)
Do you mind to share with me your experiences / view for party II studies?

Actually, I notice the syllabus studies subject in USM are wider than syllabus studies subject in UM,
however, UM is recognize as a master and RIBA too while USM does not. Can someone tell me about thing issue?

Base on the link below
http://www.ips.usm.my/index.php/programme/...iedSciences/hbp
http://fbe.um.edu.my/?modul=programmes&pil..._(Architecture)
Some more, i notice UPM's (UPM website) only need 60 credit hr to fullfill B.Arch studies (PArt II) within 2 years..
i dont know about other uni, but as for UPM

part II subject cover topic on sustainable architecture, architectural practice and research apart from studio

the 4th year we spent our studio subject on 4 projects while on 5th we are focusing the whole year for one architectural design thesis project. which we will pick up our own site.location and our own brief. I think this one is almost the same for all part II regardless of master's degree or bachelor's degree.
finger_waverz
post Jul 14 2013, 11:04 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Tal @ Jul 14 2013, 12:50 PM)
Its mean that all Part II studies are research base regardless the B.Arch or Master's Degree?
Let say, If i wan to join to UPM part II, may I know who/where should i need to refer?
School of postgraduate or just direct to the school of Design and architecture UPM?

btw, I finished my part I from IPTS

Actually, What i notice are all IPTA's  part II studies are covered sustainable / green architecture topic.
I think its all the same, just a different of the 'title' of your qualification.

Please correct me if Im wrong.
there will be no more Bach Degree for Part II in UPM. after this it will be as other public U, master's degree for P2.

i dont think the credit hour will be more than what it is now. probably the marking of courses will be a little stricter.
If your aim is to work in practical firm it wouldnt matter whether its degree or master's.

finger_waverz
post Jul 15 2013, 01:18 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jul 15 2013, 01:09 AM)
Out of curiosity, is laser cut popular among students in Malaysia?  Back in the days ie. 6 years ago students still handcut and paste every piece of model but as I progress further to master in uk, we slowly lean towards laser cut model because it's less time consuming (more time could be used for other area) and the model could be more detailed and aesthetically pleasing.
Just wondering if students nowadays still enjoy making models by hand or have they been enslave by technology?
its now time for 3d printing flex.gif flex.gif
finger_waverz
post Aug 18 2013, 07:20 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(DAEBAK @ Aug 18 2013, 02:00 PM)
May i  know, for Architecture in UPM, part 2, when will be the intake and when will be application registration and interview?
It wont be until next year.april or may probably

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0951sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:08 PM