63 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect

TSazarimy
post Jan 12 2017, 11:49 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(mii89 @ Jan 12 2017, 10:45 PM)
good the hear that.

the requirements for public unis are quite high.thats why i just go for private unis.

thanks again,sir.  thumbsup.gif
what's the plan after that? for part 2, i mean?
TSazarimy
post Jan 13 2017, 08:50 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(unoobla @ Jan 13 2017, 08:36 AM)
Whoa! Thanks for telling me! Should post this disadvantages in the first page of this forum to WARN those choosing unaccredited school.
Noted. I will do that in the future.

BTW, part 1 exam date is in October 2017? Or any time after I can apply and wont missed out the time set by LAM? BTW, i will graduate finish on May 2017, in the application form, it need my certificate details( is it mean i need to wait my convo day (sep/oct) to have the copy of certified certificate detail in order to apply exam?
The date is just an example. Please check with LAM directly. U can apply any time, and will usually be assigned to the nearest exam.

Regarding certs, u need to check with ur uni. Most unis have convos 3-4months after finish studies, meaning u'll waste time there. But they can issue a letter that certifies i have finished studies and waiing for convocation.

U can use this letter to apply.
TSazarimy
post Jan 14 2017, 08:41 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(unoobla @ Jan 14 2017, 08:23 AM)
Sir,

I want to ask something regarding the school fee internationally. In your experience, which school is most affordable in UK and AUS (accredited school only)? So that at least we have basic research on the school. biggrin.gif
australian is currently one of the most expensive place to study in. the fees are high in AUD, so conversions will kill u immediately. then comes the living costs, which in total is even more expensive than the UK.

if u want cheap, try EU schools like germany. of course they're not accredited by LAM. but we've had many graduates from there and they had no problem passing the LAM exams when they get back here.
TSazarimy
post Jan 15 2017, 07:51 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(mii89 @ Jan 14 2017, 03:14 PM)
maybe working for a while before going for part 2..  smile.gif
i mean after that. because ur decision in part 1 can affect where u can end up with (or even limit ur choices) for part 2.
TSazarimy
post Jan 17 2017, 06:57 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(cend @ Jan 17 2017, 04:35 AM)
Hello MR. Azarimy.

I already grad like 6 months ago with a part 1, but now I have sudden change of heart to become an academician instead of pursuing Part 3 in the Architect career path. I don't know why UiTM suddenly sent me an offer letter to further my studies in Building Conservation despite not applying for any postgrad programme (its not for Part 2 Masters).

How is the job market to pursue to become an Associate Professor or research career specifically in Architecture? Is it really tough to land a permanent position?
there are generally two ways u can become a successful professor of architecture:

a. garnering enough experience as a professional (part 3);
b. becoming an expert with a PhD.
(or combination of both)

most IPTAs nowadays will only entertain candidates with either part 3 or a PhD to become their fulltime academic staff. of course, there are IPTAs that are still growing who are willing to take part2 with masters, but those positions are filling up fast.

despite what people think, there are literally hundreds of people currently taking PhD in architecture all over malaysia. it'll spawn about 20-30 PhD holders per year, enough to cover the needs of architecture academician in the next 10-15 years.

if u really wanna go down this path, i recommend going for either of the two (part 3 or PhD), whichever u can get faster or for certain. the demand for those will remain high for the next 10 years or so, as i see that many lecturers in various schools will be retiring soon.
TSazarimy
post Jan 17 2017, 12:16 PM

10,672 posts

It's here! The long awaited M.Arch (Part-Time) is now open for intakes. UTM have been working hard in converting and revamping the old B.Arch (LAM Part 2) SPACE programme, and now it's finally available.

The interview will be conducted on 27 January 2017 (Friday) in UTM KL Campus Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra (old: Jalan Semarak). Apply online at the link below. The code of the programme is MBESA1BKA (remember to get this right or else you'll be applying to the wrong programme!).

http://admission.utm.my/

The UTM M.Arch PT spans 3.5 years (7 semesters), with the programme mirrors the Full-Time programme. However, the running of the studio differs slightly where students are required to be attached to a practice and conduct their studies integratively.

The programme will be conducted in part-time mode where classes/studios will be on weekends (Saturday/Sunday) in KL Campus. This is not a distance-learning or online programme; you have to be physically in UTM.

Basic Requirements:
a. Meets the general university requirements (SPM Credit in BM and Maths);
b. Holds a recognized undergraduate degree in architecture with at least 3.00cgpa**;
c. Certified with LAM Part 1***;
d. Have fulfilled at least 6 months working experience in related industry;
e. Must be attached to a practicing architecture firm through the duration of the studies; and
f. Passing the Intake Interview (27 January 2017).

**For candidates below 3.00, they must have at least 2 years of working experience in the related industry to compensate.
***Either automatic accreditation or passing independent exams.

Intake Interview Requirements:
i. Original personal documents
ii. Original certificates
iii. Portfolio of professional works as well as during studies (including anything else that might interest us)
iv. Reference letter from the current employer/practice indicating their support and endorsement.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask here.

TSazarimy
post Jan 17 2017, 01:27 PM

10,672 posts

In case you guys are still interested, the UTM M.Arch (Part time) is now open for business!

kazasho
tomaserif
vincci.vince
TSazarimy
post Jan 19 2017, 04:19 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 19 2017, 03:47 PM)
Wow, azarimy, you've certainly been keeping this thread alive for a long time. Are you by any chance, part of the BeAR team?
hi there.

no, i'm not part of BeAR, but im acquainted with the people who runs them. one of the founder, Ar. Suhainy, is my ex-classmate.

the plan is, he controls the practice, i control academia. muahahahhaha
TSazarimy
post Jan 20 2017, 02:04 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jan 20 2017, 01:07 PM)
Cool
As in part 2?
Yes. Accreditation pending the 1st batch of graduates.
TSazarimy
post Feb 3 2017, 02:14 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(JapanKid89 @ Feb 3 2017, 02:08 PM)
I went to find the course details, but the webpage shows only full time.
the part time programme is the same with the fulltime. at the moment, it has still yet to make its way to the website. but if you go to admissions and apply, the course code for the part time programme will be there (MBESA1BKA).

is there anything i can help u with?
TSazarimy
post Feb 3 2017, 02:50 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Feb 3 2017, 02:46 PM)
En Azarimy, is it still open?

btw I got a lot of question to ask, will PM you later. Appreciate if you have the time to reply. Thanks!
You missed the Feb 2017 window. We already interviewed last week. You could still apply for Sep 2017 intake though.
TSazarimy
post Feb 6 2017, 10:17 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Leonoell @ Feb 6 2017, 08:17 PM)
@azarimy
Hello can you briefly explain what's the difference between Sains Seni Bina, Perancangan Bandar dan Wilayah and Ukur Bangunan?
(oh gosh I just realized that there is a lot of name for Architecture in Malay)
and I wonder do lecturers use Malay as their teaching language?
Thanks smile.gif
hello there. lets go straight to the point:

i. senibina or seni bina = architecture
ii. perancangan bandar dan wilayah = town and regional planning
iii. ukur bahan = quantity surveying
iv. ukur bangunan = building surveying

all of these sound very similar. and for a good reason. these are professions in the built environment and they have different roles in the construction industry. architects design buildings, advises the clients directly on socio-cultural, impact and legal matters pertaining the building.

town planners, as its name sake, deals with large scale developments. they decide where the roads go, the infrastructure, zoning and the whole lot. they determine what buildings can be built on a lot.

quantity surveying is basically the accountants and auditors in the built environment.

building surveying is more like forensic detectives that deals with the life of a building AFTER it's been built. they do life cycle cost analysis, check for wear and tear and the lot.

regarding language, the only architecture school that uses predominantly malay (as far as i know) is UKM. even UiTM is 80% english already.
TSazarimy
post Feb 8 2017, 12:05 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Feb 7 2017, 10:02 PM)
When is the Sept 2017 intake opened for application? I meant Masters Part 2 full time.
it's open all year round. but we prefer if you apply anytime between march and june.
TSazarimy
post Mar 2 2017, 11:40 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(eugenelim88 @ Mar 2 2017, 08:40 PM)
Hi En Azarimy, could you kindly share some info in regards to the passing rate for part 2 accreditation exam for master graduates that studied at overseas universities that are not recognised by LAM. does it have a low passing rate like the Part 3 exams? are the examination criterias clearly defined or is it constantly being revised? maybe you can give examples of those examination criterias that are most critical? thank you so much for your time.

Regards, Eugene
i dont have the data. but so far i've never heard anyone repeat more than twice. the examination is clear: u need to be up to par with any schools with part 2. and it is outlined in the accreditation manual. just look at any part 2 programmes and make sure u match their standards. that's all i can say.

the repeaters are usually really, really weak: they went overseas because they couldnt secure a place locally, but then could only enroll in schools that are only interested in their money. so in the end, money speaks, that the school let them graduate even if they're below par.
TSazarimy
post Mar 21 2017, 04:41 PM

10,672 posts

Latest paths to architecture (March 2017)

New schools have been added to the list.

TSazarimy
post Apr 4 2017, 04:12 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Apr 4 2017, 11:27 AM)
Encik azarimy - can PM me your opinion on Univ Malaya MArch program?
Just PM me ur questions.
TSazarimy
post Apr 16 2017, 04:16 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Alpha.1 @ Apr 16 2017, 11:52 AM)
Mr azarimy, im wondering would it be possible to submit for both part and full time at the same application? I mean for Utm M.arch, as I hv yet to decide which path to choose
yes.
TSazarimy
post Apr 24 2017, 09:58 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Skisz @ Apr 24 2017, 05:51 PM)
Mr. Aza,

I'm wondering, do you by any chance know if studio hours affects the accreditation of a university? Bcs where I'm studying right now, the studio only opens on weekdays (8am-10pm) and sunday (10am-10pm), close on saturday and public holiday, also on university holiday like midterm and etc.

The rules are very tight here, we are not allowed to stay in the faculty to do our work after 11. The police bantuan will come and force us to leave. We don't have much time to do our work bcs you know, we also have classes on weekdays. Its kinda restricted our working hour and also the quality of work produced. I kinda miss our previous campus where the studio opens for 24 hours. I find it a little bit hard to adapt.
hello there.

no, studio hours (beyond normal office hours) do not affect the accreditation. LAM requires students to be allowed access to dedicated spaces within suitable working hours. the suitability is up to the school to interpret based on Student Learning Time (SLT) defined in the curriculum.

for example, a school that loads the studio with 8 credits would be interpreted as

(8credits x 40hours) / 14 weeks in a semester

320 / 14 = 22 working hours per week.

that 22 working hours per week is the total load you should spend in the studio, including normal studio meetings, crits, presentations and assessments. so if your school allows access 14 hours in week days (70 hours) + 12 hours on sundays, that's already 82hours per week. even if you subtract 3 hours per day (for makan, rest etc) and 12 hours per week for other subjects/classes, you'll still end up with 52 hours.

so by definition, the school have provided not just the required hours for you to access your studio, but had provided extra as well.

in UTM, we play by similar rules. studio closes at 11pm for logistical purposes. you're not paying the bills. the security cant be responsible if anything happens during that time. so students have to work efficiently, maximize the time they had, and later go back, rest, and come in early. but we do allow 24 hours studios when submissions are approaching.

we also allow a single 24 hour studio (that can house 30 students) where anyone who needs to use it can apply, regardless of year of study. because lets face it, in a studio of 15 students, not everyone will work 24 hours. there's no point opening up a studio with lights, aircond and internet only for ONE student to use, right? so for these students, they can pool in the 24 hour studio.

here's the catch: if the guards came and check and you're not at your station, you'll be dropped out of the 24 hour studio to make way for other students who needs it.
TSazarimy
post Apr 25 2017, 07:41 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Skisz @ Apr 25 2017, 03:36 AM)
I see. To have one 24 hours studio for the students to do their work would be really nice especially if submissions are approaching. We had one or two before but sadly the admin (or who ever made the choice) decided to close it down because according to them, we don't need them. I get that the admin is trying to cut down the cost due to limited budget. But yeah, I get what you're saying.
Just remember that architects negotiate everything.

Time to put that skill to use.

And by negotiating, it means that you have to bring something to offer on the table too. If you dont, then that's not negotiating. That's demanding.
TSazarimy
post Apr 25 2017, 06:42 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(harryhl @ Apr 25 2017, 06:37 PM)
Hi Mr. azarimy, first off I would just like to say that I think it's very kind and thoughtful of you to dedicate the time and effort to provide information and answer questions about architecture courses and architecture in general from students like usĀ  thumbup.gif

I have a few questions myself,
So it is possible for a UTM diploma holder to shorten his study time from a total of 7 years to 6 years? (Archi diploma (3 years) + Degree (1 year) + Master's (2 years)

And what exactly are the requirements for an outstanding UTM diploma holder to skip to the 3rd year degree?
Hi there. Sorry that information is outdated. We upgraded our programme recently, and starting 2014 all intakes from diploma will join at 2nd year level, regardless of previous performance.

In addition to that, they will need to add another semester after their 3rd year to complete the subject requirements, making the entire duration 2.5 years for B.Sc.Arch.

This is the standard practice set by MQA regulation on maximum credit transfers between programmes. In UTM u will join at 2nd year, but in some schools u join at 1st year. Whichever it is, all diploma holderd will have to do 2.5years for degree.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Apr 25 2017, 06:43 PM

63 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0896sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:01 PM