NEXT MATCH: EPL

user posted image V. user posted image

Time: 8.25pm
Date: 10 April 2011
Venue: Bloomfield Road
Channel: ESPN (CH812) & ESPN HD (CH832) LIVE

Welcome to the Emirates, where Gooners live and breathe Arsenal!

Credit to FollowN for the new design

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Recommended sites for football and Arsenal news:
UK-based sports sites:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/default.stm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/
http://www.rockynewsnow.info/ - Its a modified version from NewsNow and concentrate solely for arsenal.. It also filtered out most crap, unreliable stuff from the blogosphere .. And best feature which still chuckled me, renamed some team/ sites to funny names .. that one you will have read yourself, it wont be much of a problem to know the original team anyway if you are an Arsenal's supporter for a while.

or follow good quality arsenal blogs which often have good insight and fan-written articles:
Arseblog ( http://www.oleole.com/blogs/arseblog ) - good old drunken arseblogger who swears at anything that's not arsenal
A Cultured Left Foot ( http://aculturedleftfoot.wordpress.com/ )- decent writeup and opinions
Gunnerblog ( http://gunnerblog.com/ ) - same as above
Goodplaya ( http://goodplaya.com/ )- probably the most accurate player analysis after a match
3rd Gen ( http://www.third-gen.com/ )- pretty good too
Arsenal Insider ( http://www.arsenalinsider.com/ )- very pro-Arsene site, but many good articles to read... great weekly TGIF, but not sure whether they still do it or not
Untold Arsenal ( http://blog.emiratesstadium.info/ )- My newest favourite arsenal site written by a die-hard old school gooner
http://www.goonernews.com - all-in-one Arsenal news web
http://arsenalist.com/ - for replays and highlights
http://myarsenalvlog.blogspot.com/ - for videos and highlights
http://arsenalanalysis.blogspot.com - technical analysis on Arsenal
http://arsenal-mania.com/
http://www.onlinegooner.com/phpbb2/index.php

For news and progress about the kids, try
Young Guns ( http://youngguns.wordpress.com/ )
Arsenal Youth ( http://arsenalyouth.wordpress.com/ )

Arsenal Players' official Twitters:

http://twitter.com/jack_wilshere
http://twitter.com/53szczesny53
http://twitter.com/nanas08
http://twitter.com/cesc4official
http://twitter.com/Persie_Official
http://twitter.com/WEDITSJET
http://twitter.com/henri_lansbury
http://twitter.com/_denilson15
http://twitter.com/EmmanuelF4
http://twitter.com/JohanDjourou
http://twitter.com/Sagnaofficial
http://twitter.com/SEBSQUILLACI
http://twitter.com/#!/aaronjramsey

Stream link to watch LIVE football matches:-

This post has been edited by liez: Apr 9 2011, 11:26 PM
TSliez
post Mar 9 2011, 06:59 AM

1,346 posts

All matches in April:-
CODE
MATCH[]DD/MM/YY[ ]HOME TEAM v. AWAY TEAM[ ]RESULTS

EPL 02/04/11 Arsenal v. Blackburn Rovers 0-0
EPL 10/04/11 Blackpool v. Arsenal
EPL 17/04/11 Arsenal v. Liverpool
EPL 20/04/11 Tottenham Hotspur v. Arsenal
EPL 24/04/11 Bolton Wanderers v. Arsenal

Fixtures:-

10/04/11 Blackpool v. Arsenal
17/04/11 Arsenal v. Liverpool
20/04/11 Tottenham Hotspur v. Arsenal
24/04/11 Bolton Wanderers v. Arsenal

01/05/11 Arsenal v. Manchester United
07/05/11 Stoke City v. Arsenal
14/05/11 Arsenal v. Aston Villa (Date and kick off time may change)
22/05/11 Fulham v. Arsenal

To Be Arranged- Tottenham Hotspur v. Arsenal

This post has been edited by liez: Apr 3 2011, 05:58 AM
TSliez
post Mar 9 2011, 07:00 AM

1,346 posts

The Emotional Highbury and The Grand Ashburton Grove

Highbury 1913-2006

For the majority of their time in south-east London, Arsenal played at the Manor Ground in Plumstead, a three-year period at the nearby Invicta Ground between 1890 and 1893 excepted. The Manor Ground was initially just a field, but the club installed stands and terracing in time for their first Football League match in September 1893. They played their home games there for the next twenty years (with two exceptions in 189495), until the move to north London in 1913.
user posted imageuser posted image

Arsenal Stadium, widely referred to as Highbury, was Arsenal's home from September 1913 until May 2006. The original stadium was designed by the renowned football architect Archibald Leitch, and had a design common to many football grounds in the UK at the time, with a single covered stand and three open-air banks of terracing. In the 1930s, the entire stadium was given a massive overhaul, with new Art Deco West and East stands constructed, opening in 1932 and 1936 respectively; in addition, the North Bank terrace had a roof added, which was later bombed during World War II and not restored until 1956.

At its peak, Highbury could hold over 60,000 spectators, and had a capacity of 57,000 until the early 1990s. The Taylor Report and Premier League regulations forced Arsenal to convert Highbury into an all-seater in time for the 199394 season, reducing the capacity to 38,419 seated spectators. This capacity had to be reduced further during Champions League matches to accommodate additional advertising hoardings, so much so that for two seasons (199899 and 199900) Arsenal played Champions League home matches at Wembley, which could house more than 70,000 spectators.

Final moments - the emotions run high in Highbury

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

Ashburton Grove 2007-present

Expansion of Highbury was restricted because the East Stand had been designated as a Grade II listed building and the other three stands were close to residential properties. These limitations have prevented the club from maximising the revenue that their domestic form could have brought in recent seasons. After considering various options, in 2000 Arsenal proposed building a new 60,000-seater stadium at Ashburton Grove, since renamed the Emirates Stadium, about 500 metres south-west of Highbury. The project was initially delayed by red tape and rising costs, but construction was completed in July 2006, in time for the start of the 200607 season. The stadium is named after its sponsors, the airline company Emirates, with whom the club signed the largest sponsorship deal in English football history, worth approximately 100 million; however some fans refer to the ground as Ashburton Grove, or the Grove, as they do not agree with corporate sponsorship of stadium names.The stadium will be officially known as Emirates Stadium until at least 2012, and the airline will be the club's shirt sponsor until the end of the 201314 season.

Construction and completion of the Ashburton Grove

user posted imageuser posted image

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by liez: Mar 9 2011, 07:03 AM
TSliez
post Mar 9 2011, 07:00 AM

1,346 posts

The Trophy Cabinet

the invincible trophy- you'll like the taste. brows.gif

TSliez
post Mar 9 2011, 07:01 AM

1,346 posts

The players:

Goalkeepers:

Defenders:

Midfielders:

Forwards:

Manager:

Mascot:

Gunnersaurus

Draw your formation here: smile.gif
http://this11.com/

This post has been edited by liez: Mar 9 2011, 07:04 AM
TSliez
post Mar 9 2011, 07:01 AM

1,346 posts

The LYN Gooners
Updated list:
0-9 - 1809
A - atreyuangel, Angel of Deth, Andr3w, awh85, alabais, arsenal, Ah KeaT, Azurues, ahcong, aladdin, airline, afiqkhairi, aku_figo, ametzer, amz_dreamz, aaronwu, AzureOfSky
B - binary, blugear, bobotorix, broken_string, BuLLs10, beandy, bal, b4sh88, billygoh, buzzfizz, Bellatrix LeStrange, ben3003
C - ch1ck3n, chinzw, c_calvin, chika138, cyfc29, CrOmer, cry4freedom, chypher, chronic_blade, changchai
D - darnell, Darkmage12, Dashken, dcking, Daven81, darksider, DannGun, dkwan87, det3st, DWExia, denon91
E - erxier, elvenchou1987,eZeE

F - FCUK89, fo33il, Frostymocha, fcuk90, FollowN, funnyTONE, fish_hoo, FerD7, flyingteeku
G - gigalixir, garagesell, greated, Gilbert5107, gordon.engineer, Gr3yL3gion, gummer, giotto, Gr3yL3gion81
H - harrychoo, he-sham, heavenhell90, hirozq, Havock^64, heLL_bOy, Hideiki, hydrogen, hunter1012, h4dRi
I - ivanchin99, ivanau88, IsoZ, iglue, isma45, itsuki
J - jasonkwk, jam_lennon, jeffwyk, jim18992, jamallj, jameslionhart, joe405, jonrwg, jaecon, jinyu, jeff_v2, JoyLee1055jonathan1986
K - kenzo, KingHenry14, kenny B, kyser39099, kabuto rider kick, kaka91, kazek, kayent, kae7, kepalakeras, KiNA Asuki, kuai_chai, kepet, kimhoong, kevlinefm, kanelee

L - Lowyat, little_mozart, linkinstreet, leinnz, Liuism, Laine85, laica, locomotion, lhy88, lipkhin, linuxskate, Lynixx, leymar7, lonelysoldierboy, liez, low7, lazarus7247
M - Mie, muhdhafiz, matju, maximus85, ManLivArs, mukissmyarse, mengdez, mruzian, Meis, muhdhan, MISHUGINA
N - ncool15, nerd, nkw1987, Nostalgia, necrox77, nightdrifter, noir7559, nimala05
O - ocz, opjust
P - Phalanx, playerseeker, pukarix, punditski, pmtan, paopiak, Phonzy
Q - Quick`, QuickFire
R - RedSky21, ROTiJOHN, RyanAtwood, realman, Roux, ReBeLLioN, rastablank, raven143, rickrick, rifasha, rebel_azri

S - skod, s|dE, s3liparjepon, sabmeen, sakaito, sandcool, Sarbath, Scramblershazzmania, sickx, slashie, sOuLx, sr_reyes, StarGhazzer, sufyian, syahrulz, shah_mechy, spirit of demon, synchromess, super messi, syafri88, SilentSerpent, syedakmal
T - tapirus, teyjohn tkh_1001, throx, toshio14, tyc03, taufik054, taukekia, tenno
U - udin_014
V - Vanquish, villevalo, Vinci777 vivi99, vutsi, vandennis, vandetta_10, vcxv
W - waynewong79, waruna, watever77
X - xakemx
Y - yingchai, yogurt7, yuchankit, youloong118, ys2719
Z - zhixin, zenox0123, zstan

etc - - JaY -, -Y-, '62jaguar
CREDITS to previous LYN Arsenal Street Talk TS:

This post has been edited by liez: Mar 20 2011, 01:22 AM
TSliez
post Mar 9 2011, 07:02 AM

1,346 posts

last 8 posts from previous thread:-

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 9 2011, 06:49 AM)
duh..
so you expect a 90% fit cesc do to a 120% work?
who we gonna 'rely' on if we dont play him? denilson? diaby? or rosicky?

our key players are cesc, rvp and nasri.
1 not fit, 1 just back from injury and only 1 fit vs. messi, iniesta and xavi+villa.
1 substituted, 1 red and 1 remained. couldnt expect more.
QUOTE(prelude23 @ Mar 9 2011, 06:51 AM)
That's i'm trying to say for all the time lol.
QUOTE(coolio2199 @ Mar 9 2011, 06:53 AM)
we are football fans afterall despite which team we are supprting,am i right?

Arsenal used to be the team of holding possesion next to Barca previously when King Henry,Flamini and a few others (sorry i can't recap who the heros are :SWEAT)
QUOTE(abepaih @ Mar 9 2011, 06:56 AM)
good. almunia is up yawn.gif
sokernet
QUOTE(outsiders_86 @ Mar 9 2011, 07:00 AM)
[attachmentid=2083810]
QUOTE(kanelee @ Mar 9 2011, 07:00 AM)
There is nothing we can do but hope for the best this weekend la..We must not let those ppl think we are some weaklings.I will still proudly wear my Arsenal jersey tomorrow.
QUOTE(fish_hoo @ Mar 9 2011, 07:02 AM)
referee, injuries, under-par subs and fitness
these facts are killing Arsenal

it's understandable on 1st half when AW played a def tactic with high def-line. with 2-1 on hand, jz def n counter attack
they went to attack on 2nd half but RVP gt send off by a Joker-referee

shame on Barca and their fans, indeed.
when our player injured, they jz urged to get them off n play on
when their player injured, they take their time
this is absolutely no sportsmanship
u might wins all the trophies, but u might not wins all the respect
QUOTE(judojuddy @ Mar 9 2011, 07:04 AM)
woj is out. cry.gif  looking forward to nxt season.
This post has been edited by liez: Mar 9 2011, 07:08 AM
PedoChan
post Mar 9 2011, 07:04 AM

reserved
judojuddy
post Mar 9 2011, 07:14 AM

265 posts

1st..yeszaa!!
ProbMan
post Mar 9 2011, 07:14 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(taingonghai @ Mar 9 2011, 06:41 AM)
Look man, you're beating a dead horse here. If a defender does all fancy shit and loses the ball, he gets flame grilled. Look when clichy made mistakes trying to be fancy defender back then, he was flame grilled.
Defenders are defenders for a reason. I don't get why u keep bashing on Sagna when we had a passenger right winger for 70 minutes of the game.
If u watched so much football as you say, back when we were a dominant force, Lee Dixon didn't do any fancy shit. Lauren Bisan didn't do any fancy shit, and we licked other teams all over the pitch.
Sagna has been brilliant all season long, and over ONE situation in ONE totally lopsided game, ur grilling him? Dude get a grip. Move on. He did well tonight.
One thing is I never flame grilled Clichy. 2nd is Lee Dixon & Lauren Bisan time, we prolly don't have any Astro yet and you trying to conclude that "they're good defenders which don't do fancy stuff"...Thirdly, Sagna of course has been brilliant but is the same old predictable moves 2/3 yards from penalty box and pass the ball to a 2-man tightly marked striker. When he did that, you prolly would have notice the passenger right winger already cover for him at the back. At least, if he bring the ball abit forward inside the penalty box, there's a threat there...If he did passing like that, our midfield would have been empty by then and switch to defense. That's my observation on our failure in attacks.
funnyTONE
post Mar 9 2011, 07:18 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Its a wonder why on earth cesc fabregas switched off his game. He was so bad that Arsene took him off instead of Diaby. Nevermind the back pass that contributed to the first goal, most of the time our captain was no where to be found. I dare not say its probably due to the hamstring problem, but is it just me or is cesc putting too much respect to nou camp?
Again, I wanna say again that Diaby had a really bad game tonight. Yes, I know Arsenal has not much choice in that position. Its either Denilson or Diaby. If I had it my way, I'd rather place Eboue because Diaby probably did nothing to deserve his place. Not only he is leaving Wilshere alone to deputize the mid field, he also slows down the tempo whenever Arsenal is holding the possession. Worst, his terrible control allowed Arsenal to be exposed during the counterattack. If you guys willing to look back at the game, you'll see that in the last dying minute when barca was coming down through the left flank, Diaby simply jog down ALONG with barca. wtf was that?! Arsene was shouting everyone to press the ball up and pry away the ball, but diaby had other plans instead. One thing diaby contributed was to jump highest on corner kicks and block busquet's view that lead to our only goal.

Wilshere and Koschielny were both amazing. They both continued their aggression and spirit even when the other players were down, and that was apparent after RVP send off. I don't know where to begin with the refeering. Yes, they're really easy to give away yellow cards. RVP second yellow wasn't deserving, but the first one was rvp's doing nonetheless. But I too feel that if abidal didn't choke on rvp, he wouldn't have retaliated like that towards alves.

Kudos to barca for consistently playing well and controlling their tempo. They've won the tactical game this time and they've controlled the midfield with ease. Although Song's presence was highly missed, we have to remember that he has one booking from the first leg. If he were to be included, we might see the same 10 vs 11 men happening still. Nasri had a tough time, but he did his best with what he has. Too bad he didn't have any support from midfield at anytime during his offense.

Arshavin's introduction did induce some potency, but it was a little to late for the russian to make any impact. I wouldn't blame bendtner for the big miss. That was like only his second touch in the game and javier mascherano was breathing down his neck like an argentine bull. Seeing how mascherano even pulled a cramp after the tackle, I can see why bendtner can be such a difficult opponent to cover.

To sum it up, we've lost our UCL chance this year. But its not like we're the eventual winners already. After barcelona, it'll take a lot more to fight to the finals. At the moment, arsenal can lift off another burden off their shoulder and concentrate on the league. Yes, its a devastating blow, and it may also effect the team's morale. But in the long run, we avoided any injuries and fatigue drawing up to the finals in wembley. So I say suck it up, Gunners!

With defeat comes maturity and experience. We may lost our chance of winning an european cup, but we're just within reach of the bpl cup 2011. Cheer up lads. The season isn't ending just yet, and you'll still have a chance to prove the critics wrong.
abepaih
post Mar 9 2011, 07:19 AM

38 posts

lol. i have never read the first page of arsenal thread. good to know.
judojuddy
post Mar 9 2011, 07:22 AM

265 posts

the thing with our fullback is they are too predictable. doesnt matter whether they can dribble or not. but being a fullback u need to be good at crossing and intercepting which our fullback is not really doing great ATM.

how i wish we could have leftback like baines.
-Nos-
post Mar 9 2011, 07:23 AM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

well said. nod.gif

This post has been edited by -Nos-: Mar 9 2011, 07:23 AM
padisawah
post Mar 9 2011, 07:24 AM

104 posts

Arsenal always lose liao. HAHA. wub.gif

This post has been edited by padisawah: Mar 13 2011, 03:23 AM
abepaih
post Mar 9 2011, 07:26 AM

38 posts

"Arsenal defended very, very well but they didn't make more than three passes [in succession]," he said. "It was difficult with ten against 11 and after the situation with the second yellow, I can understand the reaction.

"We created a lot of chances, we played a perfect game. We're so, so happy about our performance. Over the two legs, we were better than them."

guardiola, soccernet.

dislike this comment.
funnyTONE
post Mar 9 2011, 07:30 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(judojuddy @ Mar 9 2011, 07:22 AM)
the thing with our fullback is they are too predictable. doesnt matter whether they can dribble or not. but being a fullback u need to be good at crossing and intercepting which our fullback is not really doing great ATM.

how i wish we could have leftback like baines.
I rarely see Arsenal playing high balls and crossings. Most of the time, its penetrative passes. Barca's game was no different. To whom should the crosses go to? Rvp? He was basically alone up front. If it was chamakh, then the crosses would probably mean something. Personally, I think sagna crosses are much better compared to last season. Granted interception aren't really sagna/clichy's forte, they make it up with speed and quick defending.
taingonghai
post Mar 9 2011, 07:31 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(ProbMan @ Mar 9 2011, 07:14 AM)
One thing is I never flame grilled Clichy. 2nd is Lee Dixon & Lauren Bisan time, we prolly don't have any Astro yet and you trying to conclude that "they're good defenders which don't do fancy stuff"...Thirdly, Sagna of course has been brilliant but is the same old predictable moves 2/3 yards from penalty box and pass the ball to a 2-man tightly marked striker. When he did that, you prolly would have notice the passenger right winger already cover for him at the back. At least, if he bring the ball abit forward inside the penalty box, there's a threat there...If he did passing like that, our midfield would have been empty by then and switch to defense. That's my observation on our failure in attacks.
please don't talk bollocks. We don't have astro yet? I've had astro since 1996 watching the Atlanta Olympics. And Lauren time no Astro? WHere have u been hiding? Under a rock? I don't conclude anything I didn't watch mind you.

And yes Rosicky may have been behind him. But did you see him intercept any play from the mid? Or put in any decent defensive effort? Come on man. It's been one game. And out of a sudden Sagna's predictable. Give it a rest. Sagna's best improvement this season has been on his crossing. U can't expect one player especially a right back to have changed the situation this morning.We were chasing the game from the first whistle and the defender was the problem u indentified as an ATTACKING problem. geez

The game's done and dusted, so have I with this discussion. Few of us including Barca fans having been trying to make a point to u from the previous thread till now. They've given up. Now's my turn. U win. Sagna's rubbish and predictable. And from ur comments the last thread, he should now play smart like the spaniards, take people one on one and do a little "diving" to win us many penalties.

Ok I get it.

This post has been edited by taingonghai: Mar 9 2011, 07:49 AM
funnyTONE
post Mar 9 2011, 07:38 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

On a bad note, it seems our rising gk sczesny is out for the season claiming a ruptured tendon on his fingers. Kudos to almunia for successively blocking barca's countless shots. I think there were three shots on goals that almunia fended off quite bravely. Had it been in, we'd seen the same fate barca did to malaga.

So I suppose almunia is back in radar for our team eh? Yes, he is no world class gk, but I do missed this guy. I hope he still have something left to contribute for Gunners this season. Its probably going to be his last, so I heard.
barca96
post Mar 9 2011, 07:40 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(abepaih @ Mar 9 2011, 07:26 AM)
"Arsenal defended very, very well but they didn't make more than three passes [in succession]," he said. "It was difficult with ten against 11 and after the situation with the second yellow, I can understand the reaction.

"We created a lot of chances, we played a perfect game. We're so, so happy about our performance. Over the two legs, we were better than them."

guardiola, soccernet.

dislike this comment.
why dislike that comment?
wasnt that the truth?

my guess is that it was a mistake for wenger to rush cesc and rvp.

112 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:03 AM