Samsung Galaxy SL I9003, Price Revised to RRP RM1299!!
Wengsoo
May 6 2011, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(Tookia @ May 6 2011, 09:01 AM) Agree with you. I've a replacement phone after first one became VERY HOT when doing tasks and making calls/answering calls. Hanged and rebooted once when I first got the new set also. Yesterday phone was on full charge. This morning..message said "Battery Low"! Aiyah how come so fast! Wifi was on..so turned it off today and see whether battery charge lasts longer. Checked with Task Manager but saw no applications running. Are there some serious issues with this phone?  i try to use hands free to talk on the phone. and try not to hold the phone in my palm but lay it down on table when playing games.. ha ha. ya my battery also yesterday fully charge, morning low batt. Maybe play games or something use a lot of battery gua.
xsaintzx
May 6 2011, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(CammGate @ May 6 2011, 11:09 AM) can pm me for the link too ? Thanks  I've posted that link somewhere in this thread. Use the search box at the bottom.
N33d
May 6 2011, 12:34 PM
i do not encounter any heat issue just that the battery max only last a day, more precisely 21 hrs for me..
btw, anyone here solve the duplicate contacts prob when i use the message app?
Hunz
May 6 2011, 12:56 PM
This phone will lag when browsing menu or game?
i'm going to get this phone soon. please advise.
can use android 2.3?
EmeraldKeng
May 6 2011, 01:26 PM
lol.. big issue le.. phone get hot.. o.O
nwy5633
May 6 2011, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(CammGate @ May 6 2011, 11:09 AM) can pm me for the link too ? Thanks  can pm me the link too? lol btw now i got my papagox5 installed but the gps never locked, so i thought mayb is the app problem.. wanna try reinstall with others.
N33d
May 6 2011, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(Hunz @ May 6 2011, 12:56 PM) This phone will lag when browsing menu or game? i'm going to get this phone soon. please advise. can use android 2.3? so far still no news for android 2.3 for i9003 finger crossed
nietz
May 6 2011, 02:49 PM
hmm....anyone know any SD card good for SL? 8gb or 16? brand?
Tookia
May 6 2011, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(nwy5633 @ May 5 2011, 08:16 PM) the salesgirl quote RM1200 at 1st, then i ask for 16GB sd card.. then add to RM1275, after tat + screen protector and leather pouch become 1295.. suddenly she ask want to get high speed sd card o not, coz just now is medium speed one.... in the end become RM1335! =( Waah! That's how they make extra $$$! I guess with all that price seems ok. I usually fix what I want then pay when I agree upon, including micro SD card, screen protector, etc. I use my old 4G micro SD card from my Nokia E72. Screen protector and casing seems not in market. Will wait. Added on May 6, 2011, 3:32 pmQUOTE(EmeraldKeng @ May 6 2011, 01:26 PM) lol.. big issue le.. phone get hot.. o.O Seems to be a common issue. I suspect some applications are still running in the background. Checked with Task Master but it said 0 application running but when I cleared the RAM, a message came up: "two applications stopped"...????? What's going on? Now I cancelled packet data, wifi and use only GSM. Heating up seems to have stopped. Can anyone post an observation/comment on this? This post has been edited by Tookia: May 6 2011, 03:32 PM
EmeraldKeng
May 6 2011, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(Tookia @ May 6 2011, 03:27 PM) Waah! That's how they make extra $$$! I guess with all that price seems ok. I usually fix what I want then pay when I agree upon, including micro SD card, screen protector, etc. I use my old 4G micro SD card from my Nokia E72. Screen protector and casing seems not in market. Will wait. Added on May 6, 2011, 3:32 pmSeems to be a common issue. I suspect some applications are still running in the background. Checked with Task Master but it said 0 application running but when I cleared the RAM, a message came up: "two applications stopped"...????? What's going on? Now I cancelled packet data, wifi and use only GSM. Heating up seems to have stopped. Can anyone post an observation/comment on this? GSM stands for? anyone else facing heating too? (cause i want get this phone but.. this issue really make me "ALAMAK!"  )
N33d
May 6 2011, 04:39 PM
i have yet to use this phone for long duration calling so didnt experience any hearing issue so far the only thing i dislike is lame battery life n my weird, faulty magnetometer
Tookia
May 6 2011, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(EmeraldKeng @ May 6 2011, 04:10 PM) GSM stands for? anyone else facing heating too? (cause i want get this phone but.. this issue really make me "ALAMAK!"  ) 2G service. check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GSM Basic connection as opposed to 3G which the Telcos will charge you a fortune for surfing! Friend of mine was happily surfing with his post paid account as the I9003 was fast. After a week, got hit with a RM200 bill! I hear some people kena higher. Check your package with the Telcos. That's why I disable 3G and use only wifi. The heating issue maybe due to some applications still running in the back ground. After I disable packet data transfer, phone appears cool like normal and so far battery still appears blue after charging this morning. Still monitoring the phone.
andydemarco
May 6 2011, 07:27 PM
If you turn on wifi and connect all the time for sure it will heat up. Try turn the wifi off and talk for a long time on the phone it wouldnt heat up that bad.
meGATron77
May 6 2011, 08:31 PM

guys, i baru beli micro sd card. must format @hp or pc ek? Tq
EmeraldKeng
May 6 2011, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(Tookia @ May 6 2011, 04:53 PM) 2G service. check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GSM Basic connection as opposed to 3G which the Telcos will charge you a fortune for surfing! Friend of mine was happily surfing with his post paid account as the I9003 was fast. After a week, got hit with a RM200 bill! I hear some people kena higher. Check your package with the Telcos. That's why I disable 3G and use only wifi. The heating issue maybe due to some applications still running in the back ground. After I disable packet data transfer, phone appears cool like normal and so far battery still appears blue after charging this morning. Still monitoring the phone. o.. kk thx for the info. so.. i think i would be okay with this phone larh..
cashboy
May 7 2011, 02:17 AM
I get this phone today  may i ask how to set my directory to my SD card? like my songs, and games ? Im first time using android phone =)
Tookia
May 7 2011, 07:42 AM

QUOTE(grumpywhites @ May 7 2011, 01:56 AM) I'm now the proud owner of Samsung Galaxy SL I9003  Welcome to the club! It is a nice phone but I think that there are still some issues with the phone until Samsung updates the firmware. I have used the task manager to clear the RAM (which also closes down active applications) last night and the battery level has stayed above 90% this morning. It has also stayed cool. So you may have to tweak the phone a bit like disabling functions you don't need...unless you don't mind the battery charge running out in less than a day.
Hunz
May 7 2011, 10:34 AM
Add me in. just bought at 1200 (:
Added on May 7, 2011, 12:11 pmcan anyone tell me the ORI full set inside got what?
This post has been edited by Hunz: May 7 2011, 12:11 PM