127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel South Korea V2

tenten.wikuta
post Mar 14 2011, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 14 2011, 09:59 AM)
My fave drink in South Korea: Yuza Blossom Tea in Holly Cafe. Not cheap, about 4000 won or so but it definitely warms me up and it tastes really good!

[attachmentid=2093883][attachmentid=2093889]
Ok sophistafunk, the floor is yours now. Feed us with all the photos you have .
wiNd
post Mar 14 2011, 11:38 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 11 2011, 06:02 PM)
I only saw 4-pax dorm in Stay Korea II. Apparently it's the same for Stay Korea I..

http://www.staykorea.co.kr/english/03-2.html

It's really a cosy place, feels like a home smile.gif

Added on March 11, 2011, 6:25 pmI haven't been to Stay Korea I because both are located between 1-2 streets away. The owner is manning Stay Korea I and a nice gal called Noelle is managing Stay Korea II for half a day. Noelle will clean the house in the morning and leave @ 3pm daily. This gives us a lot of freedom and space to relax. Not that having someone around is bad but I felt more carefree and more at home in this way. Noelle and Sun (the owner) are friendly and speak good english. Both of them are able to recommend and suggest places to visit, eat and shop too.

Since the hostel is only a 2-sty house-size big, the place is cosy warm and easy for travelers to interact easily smile.gif We met people from HK, Netherlands, China, Thailand and France during our stay.

From Incheon Airport, take the blue line (Arex/Airport Railroad) direct train and alight at Hongik Univ station. Go to Exit 2 and you'll see 7-Eleven near/next to petrol kiosk. Walk down the street between 7-E and petrol kiosk and you'll see WA Bar. Follow the map accordingly smile.gif

http://www.staykorea.co.kr/english/04-2.html

P/S:
If you haven't been to Seoul before (like us), once you arrived @ airport - take the elevator down to B2 and walk about 5-8min to AREX station (underground). Buy T-Money at the big metal machine there or go to the counter to purchase single journey ticket (4000won) to Hongik Univ station. If you want to play safe, approach the Transportation counter in airport (arrival hall, near to tourist info desk) for help. Those men in yellow uniform can speak english to help you (that was how we found the train stn..)

T-Money:
We tried to buy from the GS25 mart in Incheon Airport but they said they don't sell.. so, how come other forumers managed to get them there? We managed to get T-Money from Hongik Univ station with the help of the staff there. We didn't even know the machine is to purchase T-Money =.= Remember to top it up right after the purchase (same as Singapore's EZLink card) either at the same machine or those next to it.
Stay Korea looks comfy and decent...btw, does it have private bathroom, etc? or we have to share all the facilities? thx
zstan
post Mar 14 2011, 12:31 PM

15,856 posts

Did u try the clubs in Hongik area?
Listiani
post Mar 14 2011, 12:50 PM

Dear Sophie,

Thank you very much for your input. I'll chk around at the Ehwa U area. Sound interesting especially shopping biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 14 2011, 09:39 AM)
I have few but most have shared bathrooms  hmm.gif

http://www.kimsguesthouse.com/eng/intro.html
  http://hongdaeguesthouse.com/index.php
  http://www.guesthouseinkorea.com/eng_intro
  http://www.annguesthouse.co.kr/
  http://www.namugh.co.kr/
  http://www.bluguesthouse.com/index.php
  http://www.heybackpackers.com/index.html

I saw a guesthouse in Ewha Women Univ area which I found thru internet before my trip but I can't remember the name now.. arghh.. I recommend staying there cos of the massive shops around and cheap food. It's much more alive than the places around Hongik Univ. You can try to search around for hostels around Ewha.

Reviews on Ewha area: http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Asia/..._Area-BR-1.html

There aren't a lot of stuff to see or shop around in Hongik area but a lot more to see in Ewha. It's only 2 subway stops between these two: Hongik - Sinchon - Ewha. Both are actually located near to each other and it's possible to walk from one point to the other.

When you're visiting/staying in Ewha, don't forget to visit the lifestyle store called Kosney - cute stuff, facial products, stationery, home products and even vintage goods too!

http://www.kosney.co.kr/ksn/pm/shop/PMProd...il?PC=MALL_MAIN

Added on March 14, 2011, 9:42 amSpring is in early April...
divasweet_77
post Mar 14 2011, 01:45 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 11 2011, 11:55 AM)

Our 11-day trip also expanded to Jeju and Gyeongju. Absolutely love Gyeongju and wish I can live in Jeju! Total cost for the trip is a lot more than expected but it's mainly due to transportation and food. We spent less on shopping except for souvenirs. Our main agenda is to sightsee and try their food smile.gif

Hi.. where did you stay in Jeju? planning to go there in September..
sophistafunk
post Mar 14 2011, 02:15 PM

Lol... lemme load to flickr first...

QUOTE(tenten.wikuta @ Mar 14 2011, 12:07 PM)
Ok sophistafunk, the floor is yours now. Feed us with all the photos you have .

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:19 pmIt doesn't have private bathroom.. there are 2 shared bathrooms (upstairs & downstairs). Initially I was against shared facilities but Stay Korea II is very cozy like a home.. the bathrooms are clean, well decorated, well maintained and everyone keep it clean too. Maybe it's off-season now, we don't have to wait for ppl to finish their business in the bathroom at all.. lol.

QUOTE(wiNd @ Mar 14 2011, 12:38 PM)
Stay Korea looks comfy and decent...btw, does it have private bathroom, etc? or we have to share all the facilities? thx

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:27 pmI had been walking around Hongik area almost everyday during my stay in Seoul; mostly to walk back to Stay Korea hostel from Ehwa (E-dae area) or to walk to/fro to Hongik station. Day and night time, I only see restaurants, cafes, convenience stores, PC Bang, KTV.. and 1-2 pubs there. The whole atmosphere wasn't that lively though.

We went to a pub in Sinchon (can't remember the name cos we ran in there to escape the cold wind) and it was full of happy students.. lol. Nice ambience, not too rowdy.. they played english songs and serve snacks like chicken wings, grilled cuttlefish etc. We had 1 pint of CASS beer (i like it!) only. That was the only time we visited pub in Seoul. Most of the time we either drink soju or makgeolli in the room or had it in the restaurant tongue.gif

When asked, the guesthouse owner said Sinchon is the known area to drink, eat and have fun. E-dae is for women to shop and Hongdae is for cheap food. I find that E-dae has cheap food too.. hmmm..

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 14 2011, 01:31 PM)

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:29 pmU're welcome smile.gif
Ehwa is really interesting.. I like it better than Namdaemum and Dongdaemum tongue.gif

QUOTE(Listiani @ Mar 14 2011, 01:50 PM)
Dear Sophie,

Thank you very much for your input. I'll chk around at the Ehwa U area. Sound interesting especially shopping  biggrin.gif

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:42 pmHi divasweet!

We stayed in Tae Gong Gak Inn, it's a very nice guesthouse with 4-star service and room. I've written a review in Tripadvisor - http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g2...po_Jeju_do.html

What others wrote are true; the owners are really helpful, warm, friendly and kind. They won't push you to go for this or that but they will give very good advices on where to go, what to eat..etc. Knowing our language barrier, they will write down food order, road directions, instructions to taxi driver or bus driver in korean language for us without prompting. I was surprised by their hospitality at first but they're genuinely nice!

Their website: http://www.lepotel.kr/eng/index.html

Other ppl recommend Jeju Hiking Inn in Tripadvisor, it was our secondary choice that time and it's cheaper than Tae Gong Gak. Not sure if they're as helpful as TGG owners though..

Their website: http://www.hikinginn.com/

My thoughts: At 65,000won/nite (double-bed) in TGG, we had bottled mineral water, fresh clean towels, toiletries, big bed, duvet cover, extra winter blanket, slippers, tv, spacious room and large bathroom, unlimited supplies of food (noodles, bread, snacks, coffee, tea, water) in pantry, free tangerines.. good recommendations on food (cheap&delicious), walking distance to Cheonjiyeon Falls.. and bonus point on the fact that the owners know a lot of ppl in Jeju so you can find help very easily.. so yea, I will go back to TGG again - not for freebies but for its warmth, I felt at home and being taken care of properly; I didn't feel so lost thanks to the owners!

QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Mar 14 2011, 02:45 PM)
Hi.. where did you stay in Jeju? planning to go there in September..
This post has been edited by sophistafunk: Mar 14 2011, 02:42 PM
divasweet_77
post Mar 14 2011, 04:18 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 14 2011, 02:15 PM)
Lol... lemme load to flickr first...

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:19 pmIt doesn't have private bathroom.. there are 2 shared bathrooms (upstairs & downstairs). Initially I was against shared facilities but Stay Korea II is very cozy like a home.. the bathrooms are clean, well decorated, well maintained and everyone keep it clean too. Maybe it's off-season now, we don't have to wait for ppl to finish their business in the bathroom at all.. lol.

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:27 pmI had been walking around Hongik area almost everyday during my stay in Seoul; mostly to walk back to Stay Korea hostel from Ehwa (E-dae area) or to walk to/fro to Hongik station. Day and night time, I only see restaurants, cafes, convenience stores, PC Bang, KTV.. and 1-2 pubs there. The whole atmosphere wasn't that lively though.

We went to a pub in Sinchon (can't remember the name cos we ran in there to escape the cold wind) and it was full of happy students.. lol. Nice ambience, not too rowdy.. they played english songs and serve snacks like chicken wings, grilled cuttlefish etc. We had 1 pint of CASS beer (i like it!) only. That was the only time we visited pub in Seoul. Most of the time we either drink soju or makgeolli in the room or had it in the restaurant tongue.gif

When asked, the guesthouse owner said Sinchon is the known area to drink, eat and have fun. E-dae is for women to shop and Hongdae is for cheap food. I find that E-dae has cheap food too.. hmmm..

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:29 pmU're welcome  smile.gif
Ehwa is really interesting.. I like it better than Namdaemum and Dongdaemum tongue.gif

Added on March 14, 2011, 2:42 pmHi divasweet!

We stayed in Tae Gong Gak Inn, it's a very nice guesthouse with 4-star service and room. I've written a review in Tripadvisor - http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g2...po_Jeju_do.html

What others wrote are true; the owners are really helpful, warm, friendly and kind. They won't push you to go for this or that but they will give very good advices on where to go, what to eat..etc. Knowing our language barrier, they will write down food order, road directions, instructions to taxi driver or bus driver in korean language for us without prompting. I was surprised by their hospitality at first but they're genuinely nice!

Their website: http://www.lepotel.kr/eng/index.html

Other ppl recommend Jeju Hiking Inn in Tripadvisor, it was our secondary choice that time and it's cheaper than Tae Gong Gak. Not sure if they're as helpful as TGG owners though..

Their website: http://www.hikinginn.com/

My thoughts: At 65,000won/nite (double-bed) in TGG, we had bottled mineral water, fresh clean towels, toiletries, big bed, duvet cover, extra winter blanket, slippers, tv, spacious room and large bathroom, unlimited supplies of food (noodles, bread, snacks, coffee, tea, water) in pantry, free tangerines.. good recommendations on food (cheap&delicious), walking distance to Cheonjiyeon Falls.. and bonus point on the fact that the owners know a lot of ppl in Jeju so you can find help very easily.. so yea, I will go back to TGG again - not for freebies but for its warmth, I felt at home and being taken care of properly; I didn't feel so lost thanks to the owners!
TQ soo much for the info..
shinchan^^
post Mar 14 2011, 04:41 PM

K66
21,256 posts

[quote=samforte,Mar 13 2011, 07:54 PM]
[quote=shinchan^^,Mar 12 2011, 09:55 PM]
I m going on March 21st
shocking.gif shocking.gif
what if on 21st week?

Which hotel did you book? For how many nights?

Added on March 13, 2011, 8:57 pmAny cheap hotel/motel/guesthouse recommendations near dongdaemun area?

[/quote]

new boolim hotel
missytan
post Mar 14 2011, 07:08 PM

17 posts

Going to Seoul end of April - any idea what the weather will be like ? I know it is spring but for a tropical bum like me, should I bring winter jacket ?
samforte
post Mar 14 2011, 10:07 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 14 2011, 04:41 PM)
new boolim hotel
I've booked 1st night in Sangwangsimni 2C House & another 3 nights in Flower Hotel...anybody know how long if walk to Dongdaemun Market?
sfwong1
post Mar 14 2011, 10:09 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 14 2011, 12:31 PM)
tried but mission failed,they say korean only sweat.gif

Added on March 14, 2011, 10:10 pmsophista,shower us with more pics pls!

This post has been edited by sfwong1: Mar 14 2011, 10:10 PM
smallp0tat0
post Mar 15 2011, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(samforte @ Mar 14 2011, 10:07 PM)
I've booked 1st night in Sangwangsimni 2C House & another 3 nights in Flower Hotel...anybody know how long if walk to Dongdaemun Market?
when are you going to korea? i plan to book 1 night at flower hotel also but the location seems quite far from the subway station from goocle map.
anyone here can give more info about the location?
samforte
post Mar 15 2011, 09:45 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(smallp0tat0 @ Mar 15 2011, 09:23 AM)
when are you going to korea? i plan to book 1 night at flower hotel also but the location seems quite far from the subway station from goocle map.
anyone here can give more info about the location?
Going on 28 March, booked this because it is one of the cheapest around that area...

smallp0tat0
post Mar 15 2011, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(samforte @ Mar 15 2011, 09:45 AM)
Going on 28 March, booked this because it is one of the cheapest around that area...
i'm going on 12/4, i signed up with ground tour package and my last day (own arrangement) i plan to stay in Flower hotel as its nearer to attraction.
Can you please share with me the direction once you come back....
many thanks
Listiani
post Mar 15 2011, 12:34 PM

What at the nearby attraction to Flower Hotel?? Can u share with us??

QUOTE(smallp0tat0 @ Mar 15 2011, 10:17 AM)
i'm going on 12/4, i signed up with ground tour package and my last day (own arrangement) i plan to stay in Flower hotel as its nearer to attraction.
Can you please share with me the direction once you come back....
many thanks
This post has been edited by Listiani: Mar 15 2011, 12:35 PM
laily enelya
post Mar 15 2011, 02:25 PM

181 posts

hi people! just came back from korea...so much fun!!! rugilah if don't go backpack style....
tenten.wikuta
post Mar 15 2011, 02:55 PM

I'm going this Friday 18th. The 4th reactor at the Fukushima just blew up. South Korea is close to Japan. Great. Just great.
samforte
post Mar 15 2011, 03:11 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(laily enelya @ Mar 15 2011, 02:25 PM)
hi people! just came back from korea...so much fun!!! rugilah if don't go backpack style....
Where did you stay? Best place for shopping makan etc......share lah..your info
divasweet_77
post Mar 15 2011, 04:49 PM

55 posts

I guess most people went to Korea ended going there again.. hahaha.. going for my 6th time in September..
zstan
post Mar 15 2011, 09:38 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Mar 15 2011, 04:49 PM)
I guess most people went to Korea ended going there again.. hahaha.. going for my 6th time in September..
You really hardcore notworthy.gif

127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:06 AM