Dunno
3,542 posts

Why you need it? having wedding there?
lexy
post May 7 2011, 11:38 PM

29 posts

hi stimix,

huh, i thought it is a normal thing to do in Korea =.= Try the traditional clothing.
As far as i have surveyed. They have it in M Plaze in Myeong Dong and Namsan Hanok Village.

rsralf
post May 8 2011, 10:51 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ May 7 2011, 11:14 PM)
Hi, did any of you tried hanbok (korean traditional wear)? Where you guys tried it and how much the price was?
Hi Lexy, I did try it for free at Deoksugung Palace.. They had a promotional booth next to the entrance..
Look at the attached pic.. Originally i thought the girl who's taking pic with the guard, and the guard taking the pic are part of the palace personnel.. maybe it was the last day they were there, so they took pictures.. how silly of me, coz later i realised that they are also tourist when i saw them changing out of the dress.. lol!

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 8 2011, 10:52 AM
lexy
post May 8 2011, 11:31 AM

29 posts

hi rsralf, wow, thats funnny...hahaha...
zstan
post May 8 2011, 12:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ May 7 2011, 11:38 PM)
hi stimix,

huh, i thought it is a normal thing to do in Korea =.= Try the traditional clothing.
As far as i have surveyed. They have it in M Plaze in Myeong Dong and Namsan Hanok Village.
if you are following the tour the will bring you to this place where you learn to make kimchi and you can get the chance to try out the traditional clothing as well.
sfwong1
post May 8 2011, 04:47 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 8 2011, 12:54 PM)
if you are following the tour the will bring you to this place where you learn to make kimchi and you can get the chance to try out the traditional clothing as well.
same i made the kimchi so simple,just put the red sauce inside then fold fold kau tim. but i dint try the traditional clothings though,too lazy to take out my jackets so thick.
lexy
post May 8 2011, 05:19 PM

29 posts

Thanks sfwong1 smile.gif

Guys, I have another question....I see there are a lot people renting mobile phones in Seoul. Is it that our Malaysia phone (Maxis, Digi, Celcom etc...) cant do roaming in Korea??
TSstimix
post May 8 2011, 08:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Can-lah. The reason why ppl rent pnone bcos can call back cheaper & also using it as walkie talkie in Korea incase one member lost. Cheaper that way. We can't use their SIM card there.
michaelyii1988
post May 8 2011, 08:12 PM

:)
1,291 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ May 8 2011, 05:19 PM)
Thanks sfwong1 smile.gif

Guys, I have another question....I see there are a lot people renting mobile phones in Seoul. Is it that our Malaysia phone (Maxis, Digi, Celcom etc...) cant do roaming in Korea??
wondering the same thing too..if can roaming..wad code do we need to add in front? how's the charges? hmm.gif (Digi)
TSstimix
post May 8 2011, 08:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Can roam-lah as I explained earlier. Just check wth digi for promotional rate. Normally I use skype incase I want to call back when I'm in oversea. No need to buy SIM card or rent phone. You only need to be in free wifi enable area...The best, the hotel you stay

Call back M'sia the code is +6 follow by the number for eg +6012-33446655 or +603-51548888

This post has been edited by stimix: May 8 2011, 08:23 PM
lexy
post May 8 2011, 08:53 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 8 2011, 08:21 PM)
Can roam-lah as I explained earlier. Just check wth digi for promotional rate. Normally I use skype incase I want to call back when I'm in oversea. No need to buy SIM card or rent phone. You only need to be in free wifi enable area...The best, the hotel you stay

Call back M'sia the code is +6 follow by the number for eg +6012-33446655 or +603-51548888
I see, thanks Stimix...
zstan
post May 8 2011, 11:36 PM

15,856 posts

No roaming lar for GSM phones. Koreans all using CDMA.

Our lines technically cannot be used there that's why people are renting phones.

Even if you wanna use blackberry, you have to go to your operator (Maxis/Digi) and ask them to activate roaming for you. Same case for Japan i think.

Added on May 8, 2011, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ May 8 2011, 08:10 PM)
Can-lah. The reason why ppl rent pnone bcos can call back cheaper & also using it as walkie talkie in Korea incase one member lost. Cheaper that way. We can't use their SIM card there.
Last time no sim card one, only when iphone was launched then only they provide GSM lines.

power of apple. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: May 8 2011, 11:38 PM
Kayne
post May 8 2011, 11:53 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

I am heading korea on 14-21st June this year. Anyone going around that time?

Maybe we can share our info=)
terryykf
post May 9 2011, 06:30 AM

175 posts

Hey guys,春川明洞 and 明洞 are two diff place is it?
TSstimix
post May 9 2011, 07:21 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Huh? all my digi & Maxis lines can roam there wor..no problem of receiving calls.. I'm not sure on calling out bcos i only used skype hmm.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ May 8 2011, 11:36 PM)
No roaming lar for GSM phones. Koreans all using CDMA.

Our lines technically cannot be used there that's why people are renting phones.

Even if you wanna use blackberry, you have to go to your operator (Maxis/Digi) and ask them to activate roaming for you. Same case for Japan i think.

Added on May 8, 2011, 11:38 pm

Last time no sim card one, only when iphone was launched then only they provide GSM lines.

power of apple.  biggrin.gif
Listiani
post May 9 2011, 09:26 AM

Just wondering if anyone knows if Gyeonggi do and Mt Sorak area got guesthouse like in Seoul??
lexy
post May 9 2011, 10:14 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 9 2011, 07:21 AM)
Huh? all my digi & Maxis lines can roam there wor..no problem of receiving calls.. I'm not sure on calling out bcos i only used skype  hmm.gif
Stimix, were you using iphones in South Korea?
TSstimix
post May 9 2011, 10:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

All phones from M'sia can roam lah but you just can't use their SIM Card (if any) Their phones are on diff platform as mentioned by zstan. So you can use your own phone for roaming purpose and probably call out too (?). However, to use their system, you need to buy or rent their phone as they are having diff system.

I'm using 1 Nokia & 2 SE phones there smile.gif But dun really used it except skpye. I already bought US$10 credit since ~2007..still left US$6 after years..haha biggrin.gif
QUOTE(lexy @ May 9 2011, 10:14 AM)
Stimix, were you using iphones in South Korea?
lexy
post May 9 2011, 10:34 AM

29 posts

I see, once again...confusion cleared.
rsralf
post May 9 2011, 11:20 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ May 9 2011, 09:26 AM)
Just wondering if anyone knows if Gyeonggi do and Mt Sorak area got guesthouse like in Seoul??
Gyeonggi-do is large.. which area specifically?
Yes, there is a guesthouse at Mt Sorak area, can't remember the name coz I didn't sleep there.
laily enelya slept at House Hostel which is located in Sokcho. Do check with her for full details.
As for myself, after my trip to Mt Sorak, I returned to Gangneung & slept at a guesthouse there..

Added on May 9, 2011, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(namie90 @ May 7 2011, 12:04 PM)
maybe you can let all the forumers see how does your itinerary looks like?  if you don't mind  tongue.gif ...I'm a bit curious also about Auraji rail bike course goes. How did you go there? and all how much is your budget for the whole trip?

Thanks in advance.
My itinerary is quite tight.. I spent about RM2,700 (exclude shopping & food) for my 10 days there..
Yeah, it's quite expensive but looking at my choice of transportation, it is quite cheap, coz I choose the most fastest way to get to a destination..

My itinerary is as below:
Day 1: Flight touched down in Incheon. Overnight in Seoul.
Day 2: Walk around Yeouido & depart to Jeju. Walked to Cheonjiyeon Waterfall which is near to the guesthouse.
Day 3: Jeju (Jeongbang Waterfall + Trick Art Museum + Seongeup Folk Village + Seopjikoji + Seongsan Ilchulbung + Manjanggul Lava Cave)
Day 4: Jeju (Oedolgae Rock + Jusanggeolli + Teddy Bear Museum + Jeju Folklore & Natural History Museum) - Seoul - Busan (overnight)
Day 5: Busan (Jagalchi Market + PIFF Square + Book Street) - Gyeongju - Busan (overnight)
Day 6: Busan - Seoul - Gangneung to Jeongdojin (Sea Train) - Mt Sorak - Gangneung (overnight)
Day 7: Gangneung - Yeoryang (Auraji Railbike) - Jeongseon - DongSeoul + Myeongdong + Cheonggyecheon Stream
Day 8: Nami Island + Itaewon
Day 9: Everland + N Seoul Tower + Myeongdong + Namdaemun
Day 10: Namsan Park - (Deoksugung + Kyobo Bookstore + Gwanghwamun Square + Gyeongbokgung + National Folk Museum + Bukchon Hanok Village + Insadong--> These 7 places are within walking vicinity) & flight back to Malaysia.

But in all, I spent less than RM4,000 (inclusive shopping & food), maybe i'm not a shopper.. The only shop that make me broke is The Saem shop, which I contributed about RM600 to them.. lol!

This post has been edited by rsralf: May 9 2011, 12:01 PM

127 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:36 PM