Gouki
post Mar 7 2011, 04:34 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 7 2011, 04:18 PM)
IwanAGP: the sony center there sold over 400 units of alpha, (some upgrading)... the headcount should be around 300+, and around 100 very active shooter(they just went tatau yesteday for a model strobist shot out). there are 30+ attended yesterday workshop, 20ppl first time(16 unit of A55!). the last workshop during last year got up to 80 people attend! why? add me in fb and u will know. imanayAieR at gmail dot com. smile.gif
Gouki: last minute got thing also must come, u better come, else i scratch ur car like jealous gf.... (rotflmao)
lan_86: www.shashinki.com they ship to ur doorstep.
errr, see 1st. laugh.gif
lwliam
post Mar 7 2011, 04:38 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 7 2011, 04:33 PM)
Newbieeeee : What diffuser you using? The white ones that cap onto the flash head? Should really throw it away lar... It makes your shots look like direct flash shots!!

Better to leave the flash as it is and strap a small namecard sized white card to it to throw light in front. Stupid diffuser eats up your flash power and don't work correctly.

totally agree..
furthermore, when i was using my f42 last time, its more than enough power most of the time.. indoors have no issue..
only problem is when subject is far, ie. stage/catwalks (which rarely uses flash anyway) its a matter of where you direct the flash head and how u use a bounce card. those white plastic caps diffuser really eats up a LOT of power, i dont use it unless im in a tight room, where light from the 'back' side of the diffuser have place to bounce back to the front..
zstan
post Mar 7 2011, 04:46 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Mar 7 2011, 04:26 PM)
TTL. Damm my F42. Really this time I feel it doesn't have enough power.
Yes boss. I understand. I'm using bounce. With a diffuser, Cause without the diffuser the face alot of shadows. My F42 not enough power lah. Many shots underexposed. I also dun know how. The pillow shot you were right. I ter-potong-potong.

Thanks for yr comments! biggrin.gif
throw the diffuser away la..i find it so useless & inconvenient now...if it was useful it would come with the flash anyway.. my noob 2 cents... tongue.gif

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 7 2011, 03:52 PM)
Photospam! Since some of you guys went for the wireless flash workshop in KL recently, I thought I would like to share some wireless flash photos with you guys. tongue.gif

p/s: All 4 units of HVL-F58AM are positioned using VAL.  laugh.gif
the two guys in the background is distracting blush.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Mar 7 2011, 04:47 PM
ahpingko
post Mar 7 2011, 04:58 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

Shootkk and zstan: u normally shoot without that cap on diffuser?..i also gt DIY a bounce card..it is better to use that way?..my card is around the size of the f42 head..enough??..lol..and point flash upwards even high or no ceiling?
zstan
post Mar 7 2011, 05:04 PM

15,856 posts

buy f58 la... already got built in bounce card.. tongue.gif

depends la..you will learn through experience:

bounced 90 degrees with bounce card.
kysham
post Mar 7 2011, 05:06 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 7 2011, 04:46 PM)
the two guys in the background is distracting  blush.gif
yeah, unfortunately only saw those two guys at the back after i uploaded this photo! shocking.gif talk about ignorance and blindness on my part! doh.gif I would have "photochop" these 2 guys out in the final photo to the model lah.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(joejoe2004 @ Mar 7 2011, 04:33 PM)
kysham, I just notice the "devilish" shadow of the car bumper........ errr macam ada hantu or syaitan?!  unsure.gif ......**ruuuunnnn**.......
laugh.gif Yeah, I noticed that when I shot this photo. Kinda distracting as well, but also at the same time, interesting. I believe it is a devil's car. laugh.gif No lah. I think it is from the shadows of the car's bumper. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kysham: Mar 7 2011, 05:10 PM
applemango
post Mar 7 2011, 05:17 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 7 2011, 05:06 PM)
yeah, unfortunately only saw those two guys at the back after i uploaded this photo! shocking.gif talk about ignorance and blindness on my part!  doh.gif I would have "photochop" these 2 guys out in the final photo to the model lah....  sweat.gif
laugh.gif Yeah, I noticed that when I shot this photo. Kinda distracting as well, but also at the same time, interesting. I believe it is a devil's car.  laugh.gif No lah. I think it is from the shadows of the car's bumper.  sweat.gif
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
kysham
post Mar 7 2011, 05:20 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

on the issue regarding the cap on diffusers. i had used them before. they are not the best solution for softening out shadows but they do improve the shadows a bit. however, like shootkk & lwliam had mentioned, this thing do eat up a substantial amount of power. but i don't think the issue is 100% due to your F42 not having enough power. i believe it is also a matter of your camera's TTL system not knowing that the cap is there in the first place. what you need to do is:

1) shoot at a higher ISO. if you were shooting normally at ISO200, try ISO400 or ISO640 instead. This will compensate for the loss of power due to the cap. Also, it helps to lengthen the life of your flash's battery (higher ISO, lower flash output required, hence less battery power consumed per flash fired).

2) dial in a +ve flash compensation. this is a bit of a hit and miss, depending a lot on your cap, but try +1.0ev flash compensation to begin with and continue to adjust from there.

Hope this help you to take better photos with your existing gear, before you go out and search for a better bounce / diffusing accessory. wink.gif
joejoe2004
post Mar 7 2011, 05:35 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 7 2011, 06:20 PM)
Hope this help you to take better photos with your existing gear, before you go out and search for a better bounce / diffusing accessory. wink.gif
May I suggest Demb diffuser .... http://www.dembflashproducts.com/diffuser/
Google around, you'll see the agent of this product here..... smile.gif
zstan
post Mar 7 2011, 05:40 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 7 2011, 05:20 PM)

1) shoot at a higher ISO. if you were shooting normally at ISO200, try ISO400 or ISO640 instead. This will compensate

my dinosaur don have iso 640 D:

QUOTE(joejoe2004 @ Mar 7 2011, 05:35 PM)
Google around, you'll see the agent of this product here.....  smile.gif
trust me, in the long run, all these extra accessories are a pain to store and carry. laugh.gif

kysham
post Mar 7 2011, 05:40 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(joejoe2004 @ Mar 7 2011, 05:35 PM)
Google around, you'll see the agent of this product here.....  smile.gif
whoar.... you straightaway wanna hantam people with strong poison meh? laugh.gif
fansoption
post Mar 7 2011, 05:44 PM

3,065 posts

anyone can teach me how to slove the F-- error specially is tele lens
ieR
post Mar 7 2011, 05:47 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

my opinion, demb diffuser, same like other stofen (cap) or garyfong toilet bowl, all is just marketing gimmick and waste of time(ur real flash learning become off track) and money. i only find them useful when i do not have a ceiling to bounce. F42 can bounce even a 3 story ceiling (grand church), and shoot as far as 10 meter away. but with all those ojibala modifier on ur flash, ur effective distance become less then 8 meter at fullpower. useless.

This post has been edited by ieR: Mar 7 2011, 05:49 PM
joejoe2004
post Mar 7 2011, 05:48 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 7 2011, 06:40 PM)
my dinosaur don have iso 640 D:
trust me, in the long run, all these extra accessories are a pain to store and carry.  laugh.gif
So light, where got pain one (except for the cash to buy lar), some more can fold-fold one..... sweat.gif

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 7 2011, 06:40 PM)
whoar.... you straightaway wanna hantam people with strong poison meh?  laugh.gif
Dun say like that lar....poison=investment? I also sweat.gif

ieR
post Mar 7 2011, 05:48 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

fanoption: under warranry or no? no, find me in Alpha Convention, or contact CJlai tell him ur contact misalign.

This post has been edited by ieR: Mar 7 2011, 05:48 PM
zstan
post Mar 7 2011, 05:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(joejoe2004 @ Mar 7 2011, 05:48 PM)
So light, where got pain one (except for the cash to buy lar), some more can fold-fold one.....  sweat.gif
Dun say like that lar....poison=investment? I also  sweat.gif
that thing will only be useful in pc fairs model shooting la. pointless to spend over rm100 for it. smile.gif
kysham
post Mar 7 2011, 05:57 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 7 2011, 05:50 PM)
that thing will only be useful in pc fairs model shooting la. pointless to spend over rm100 for it.  smile.gif
i thought got OEM 3rd party options? hmm.gif
shootkk
post Mar 7 2011, 05:57 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Mar 7 2011, 04:58 PM)
Shootkk and zstan: u normally shoot without that cap on diffuser?..i also gt DIY a bounce card..it is better to use that way?..my card is around the size of the f42 head..enough??..lol..and point flash upwards even high or no ceiling?
Yup. Have you seen the F58AM's bounce card? That size is already enough. Point the flash head upwards when there's a ceiling. No ceiling then where to bounce the light wor...

Diffuser will come in handy when there is no ceiling or other surface to bounce light from but when I am faced with that situation I will use a blank, white A4 paper and fold it into half and strap that to my F42's flash head. Shot one wedding that way.
fansoption
post Mar 7 2011, 06:03 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 7 2011, 05:48 PM)
fanoption: under warranry or no? no, find me in Alpha Convention, or contact CJlai tell him ur contact misalign.
under warranty. mean i need to send back to sony again fix misalign? what mean is misalign?

This post has been edited by fansoption: Mar 7 2011, 06:05 PM
joejoe2004
post Mar 7 2011, 06:17 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 7 2011, 06:57 PM)
i thought got OEM 3rd party options?  hmm.gif
Got ah? Can DIY or use A4 (as suggested by shootkk or the like...) cheaper and can get the result! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joejoe2004: Mar 7 2011, 06:19 PM

127 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:49 AM