4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Sony Alpha Thread V51!, The Orange Legion

kysham
post Feb 28 2011, 10:45 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Continue with the old photos sharing then....

I shot this during a Canon EOS workshop (!) laugh.gif

Nicole:
Sony A700 + Sigma 24-70 F2.8 DG. 1/320s, F5.0, ISO200, 70mm, AWB.
kysham
post Feb 28 2011, 11:22 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Want to share one photo with you guys:

This photo was shot at the Mengkabong Bridge, which runs across the Mengkabong river here in Sabah. It was threatening to rain, with light drizzle coming down already. But, it never happened. Instead, the heavens began to clear up and I got this shot of the cloud curtains beginning to unfold itself:

Sony A850 + Minolta 17-35mm F2.8-4. 1/160s, F14.0, 17mm, ISO200, AWB. Photo was shot in cRAW and processed in Capture1 & CS4.

I was so lucky to get this shot. Some of you guys might had already seen this photo either in my facebook or my flickr page. But I thought I wanna share it with the rest of you guys who haven't seen it yet. wink.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 12:12 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 12:08 AM)

I've always loved this shot of yours, William. thumbup.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 12:38 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 28 2011, 11:30 PM)
wow! kysham thumbup.gif

stunningly beautiful.
thanks, Newbie.... smile.gif

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 1 2011, 12:32 AM)
sham,
from ur pix,..
i can see the KM17-35 f2.8-4 are identical to the SAL11-18 / KM11-18 in terms of corner softness..both lens share the same structure and the same hood..the KM17-35 act different on APSC in term of corner sharpness,but in FF,we can see the softness at corners..

now need to buy 16-35cz for landscape if ur on FF.. rclxub.gif
laugh.gif Coming from you, I will consider that as a hostile poisoning attempt.... bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif

(tangkis, tangkis, tangkis!!!)
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 08:40 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 01:10 AM)
blush.gif  blush.gif thanks...

u coming over during the convention or not?
Yeah, kambing lah.... will be in KL from 10-14 March, but registered slots only for 11 & 12 March nia... tongue.gif

QUOTE(Soony @ Mar 1 2011, 08:36 AM)
Wassuuup People! Havent hang around here for quite awhile!
Soony! Have not seen you around in a while. What had you been up to? Jumped ship? whistling.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 10:25 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

More old pics to share:

Kota Kinabalu at night. Long shutter speed:
Sony A100 + SAL1870DT. 25 seconds, F10.0, 55mm, ISO80 brows.gif , AWB. Camera mounted on a tripod.

Somehow I misses the colors on my old A100 cry.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 11:16 am
QUOTE(shukrie @ Mar 1 2011, 10:23 AM)
sunray

This one I like, a lot..... smile.gif

This post has been edited by kysham: Mar 1 2011, 11:16 AM
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 11:19 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Melv @ Mar 1 2011, 11:16 AM)
Guys, i also wanna post pic here to get some feedback and comment to improve myself....but i have my pics only in fb...still can post arr???
why not? as long as you can link it to here, then I believe members will comment & feedback. thumbup.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 11:33 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(shukrie @ Mar 1 2011, 11:22 AM)
kysham : later me di sabah kita pegi tempat tu shoot ray of light .. biggrin.gif
bila mari? hmm.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 11:53 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

keluar lah..... but sayang your sampan had been cropped out & your horizon is not straight.... sad.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 03:30 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 01:55 PM)

Camera Sony DSLR-A700
Exposure 0.017 sec (1/60)
Aperture f/1.4
Focal Length 85 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Looks like a very familiar lens...... hmm.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 03:38 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Melv @ Mar 1 2011, 03:06 PM)
Wow...200-400mm??? Awesome!!! thumbup.gif  I have never tried wide landscape though! Never been a fan of wide lens....dunno why.... hmm.gif
You don't like wide landscape????? shocking.gif

This is wide landscape for you:

Sony A850 + Minolta 17-35mm F2.8-4. 1/125s, F14.0, ISO200, 17mm.

Wide angle (in the above case, this is an ultra wide angle - UWA) have a tendency to "stretch" the perspective, giving you that wide, expanding view that is one of the more dominant format for landscape photography. I'm not saying no one does any telephoto landscape (quite on a contrary, it is quite popular too), but the wide angle is more dominant. As a landscape photographer, you should be familiar with both methods of shooting landscapes because both offers a different view. A different perspective. smile.gif
kysham
post Mar 1 2011, 07:23 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Mar 1 2011, 07:19 PM)
oic, lol...self poison.....
whn is the TT session at kl ? nid pay any fee ??
TT usually at a coffee shop or kedai mamak. usually you will have to pay for your own drinks & meal. but you do have the option of paying for whoever you want.... laugh.gif
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 12:02 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Mar 1 2011, 10:58 PM)
UWA HDR

wow! i absolutely was stunned by that UWA HDR shot! that was awesome! thumbup.gif
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 08:43 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 2 2011, 08:24 AM)
Thankiu thankiu. Was learning and playing with the flash till almost late 2 class @.@

But overall it is awesome. Well, going to read up more and more.

Anyway, the manual states that when the Test light goes green, means the flash is properly exposed.

Izzit true?
No. When the test light goes green, it means the flash is completely refreshed and ready for the next burst of flash. The flash works by storing energy from the batteries in a temporary holding capacitor. when you press the shutter release, the flash draws power from this capacitor (not directly from the batteries). after that, it will draw power from to the batteries to recharge this capacitor. you may ask why such a hassle? because the capacitor can hold more power for a big burst of flash and also it will allow the flash to regulate the drawing of power from your batteries, ensuring the batteries don't overheat too fast and also to ensure the batteries don't die too quickly.
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 09:52 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

a bit out of topic, but.... anyone of you guys using SSD in your computer / laptop? might wanna consider swapping out my 500GB HDD in my laptop for a SSD to decrease the boot-up time & increase the battery life. the only draw-back i am thinking now is the significantly lower storage capacity (160GB) for the SSD.

my question is: Do you guys think it is worth the trade-off?
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 10:20 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

i got a quote for 160GB SSD (Intel X25-M Gen2, OEM --> is this good?) for RM600. Quite pricey, if you compare to regular HDD. The max capacity I found was 256GB, but that is too expensive for me.
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 11:07 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Mar 2 2011, 10:58 AM)
wat is this mean sifu " 160GB SSD (Intel X25-M Gen2, OEM "...??
hdd external ?? ssd internal ???
please use google. it is very useful. smile.gif i was talking about a computer's hard disk.
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 11:23 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(shukrie @ Mar 2 2011, 11:21 AM)
imagine ...

shoo... shoo.... this is photography related thread, not photoshop related thread... laugh.gif

*run fast fast away from shukrie!*
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 11:28 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

don't want to comment anymore liao.... tongue.gif
kysham
post Mar 2 2011, 02:51 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

oi, what the heck is all this commotion? stop being hostile to one another in the alpha thread lah woi.... we are brothers. this is not the canon / nikon thread. you wanna gaduh, go there. tongue.gif

make an effort to be courteous to one another. flex.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:01 AM