121 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

kueyteowlou
post Aug 25 2011, 09:23 AM

4,093 posts

this wave make gold become more popular in malaysia... everyone around me keep asking where to purchase gold.. from which bank..

they see the potential there.. it might lead more people to invest in gold..
trencher10
post Aug 25 2011, 09:27 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

I blame the news for that. It's always harping about gold anyways.
xproc
post Aug 25 2011, 09:31 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

public bank update
1 gram RM 172.4800 RM 165.5300

good... waiting for 2000
DM3
post Aug 25 2011, 09:36 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

i think not only msians are keen to buy gold, reports says asian as whole recently into buyin frenzy
xproc
post Aug 25 2011, 09:36 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

online price
Gold purchases and sales are offered at a discounted price.

RM 172.2779 /gram RM 165.6560 /gram

Added on August 25, 2011, 9:38 amonline trading = smaller spread than go counter? 6.6219 vs 6.95

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 25 2011, 09:38 AM
prophetjul
post Aug 25 2011, 09:39 AM

12,273 posts

Guess where Gold is in the Boom/Bust phases.....................

xproc
post Aug 25 2011, 09:42 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 25 2011, 09:39 AM)
bull trap??

Added on August 25, 2011, 9:42 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 25 2011, 09:42 AM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Aug 25 2011, 09:44 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

waiting for despair phase... tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Aug 25 2011, 09:45 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 25 2011, 09:42 AM)
bull trap??

Added on August 25, 2011, 9:42 amuser posted image
We havent even seen mania yet! biggrin.gif
SUSsoundsyst64
post Aug 25 2011, 09:47 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

I thought mania already passed, right? hmm.gif
OneBuck
post Aug 25 2011, 10:20 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Aug 25 2011, 09:47 AM)
I thought mania already passed, right? hmm.gif
Mania will happen when Pakcik Guard saying his gold account had increase 100% and all his friend taxi driver now becoming full time PG dealer.
Jutawan
post Aug 25 2011, 10:26 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(OneBuck @ Aug 25 2011, 10:20 AM)
Mania will happen when Pakcik Guard saying his gold account had increase 100% and all his friend taxi driver now becoming full time PG dealer.
PG Dealer... you are really funny. biggrin.gif

Gold price is making correction today.. make your buy now. blush.gif Gone to Maybank to top up my GIA account.
xproc
post Aug 25 2011, 10:35 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Aug 25 2011, 10:26 AM)

Gold price is making correction today.. make your buy now. blush.gif Gone to Maybank to top up my GIA account.
top up how much...

almost reach pay day... should many will go buy it....

OneBuck
post Aug 25 2011, 10:40 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Aug 25 2011, 10:26 AM)

haha.. joking. No offence please. tongue.gif

I am waiting price to go down further until USD1650 to 1700 before making any move.
nick.woocs
post Aug 25 2011, 10:58 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 25 2011, 09:39 AM)
we are now currently in bear trap? i think gold still have far to go for it to burst.. property imho will burst first. land appreciation will always win but i think property will burst b4 gold even burst..
cybermaster98
post Aug 25 2011, 11:09 AM

4,440 posts

Interesting article and associated graphs:
http://www.bullionbaron.com/2011/08/goldoi...it-heading.html

(The following article was written in Nov 2010 when gold prices were at RM 140 per gram)

Reading Dr. Jean Paul Rodrigue's Chart

Stealth Phase - "Smart money" gets in often quietly and cautiously. Prices gradually increase, but often go completely unnoticed by the general population. Larger positions are established as smart money investors start to understand the well-grounded fundamentals and realize that this asset is likely to experience significant future valuations.

Awareness Phase - Realizing the momentum many investors start bringing in additional money in and pushing prices higher. There can be a short lived sell off phase taking place as few investors cash in their first profits (there could also be several sell off phases each beginning at a higher level than the previous one). In the later stages of this phase the media starts to notice.

Mania Phase - Price rise catches everyone's attention and the public jumps in for this "investment opportunity of a lifetime". Floods of money come in creating even greater expectations and pushing prices to stratospheric levels. Fairly unnoticed from the general public caught in this new frenzy the smart money as well as many institutional investors are quietly pulling out and selling their assets to eager future bag holders. The market gradually becomes more exuberant as "paper fortunes" are made and greed sets in. At some point statements are made about entirely new fundamentals implying that a "permanent high plateau" has been reached to justify future price increases the bubble is about to collapse.

Blow-off Phase - A trigger arrives and everyone roughly at the same time realizes that the situation has changed. Confidence and expectations encounter a paradigm shift. Many try to unload their asses to a greater fool but there are few takers; everyone now expects further price declines. Prices plummet at a rate much faster than the one that inflated the bubble. Many over-leveraged bag holders go bankrupt, triggering additional waves of sales. The general public at this point considers this sector as "the worst possible investment one can ever make". This is the time when the smart money starts acquiring assets at bargain bottom prices.

So, in the rarest of rare likelihoods that gold is pursuing the path of turning into a bubble, using Dr.Rodrigue's chart, we could be staring at only the "Awareness Stage" in future.

Earlier, we noticed some smart money enter the gold market, creating big positions and using much of the declines to increase allocations. This current stage we are in looks like the Stealth Stage.

Currently, trends observed reveal a lot of institutional participation coming in - central banks are adding gold to their reserves, while institutional participants like pension funds, wealth funds are considering allocations to gold.

The interest in gold doesn't yet qualify for the mania stage, since public participation hasn't been much to speak about, and nor has the media gone gung-ho about gold being the only asset one should invest in. And contrary to bubble behavior, the increase in price has been a gradual and steady appreciation over a number of years. At the most, we just have seen some smart retail money allocate to gold considering its strong fundamentals.

If at all, this bull market is following course of being a bubble then we still are way off from reaching the new paradigm. Gold investors can continue to sing as strong fundamentals suggest that we are in a bull market which is currently nowhere close to being a bubble.

monsta2011
post Aug 25 2011, 11:24 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(nick.woocs @ Aug 25 2011, 10:58 AM)
we are now currently in bear trap? i think gold still have far to go for it to burst.. property imho will burst first. land appreciation will always win but i think property will burst b4 gold even burst..
Property burst liao.
chengcheng
post Aug 25 2011, 11:25 AM

294 posts

I will say its the bear trap phase...

Media attention is slowly coming in... but in countries like HK, China... already buying like mad...

malaysia... still slow...

nod.gif nod.gif
monsta2011
post Aug 25 2011, 11:28 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 25 2011, 11:09 AM)
Interesting article and associated graphs:
http://www.bullionbaron.com/2011/08/goldoi...it-heading.html

(The following article was written in Nov 2010 when gold prices were at RM 140 per gram)

The article was written in Nov 2010. Now we perhaps have entered the mania stage.

Got a chart here (Gold ETFs in AUD)

This post has been edited by monsta2011: Aug 25 2011, 11:40 AM
cybermaster98
post Aug 25 2011, 11:43 AM

4,440 posts

So based on the above, i would say wait till the price drops more before loading up. This would ensure you stand a chance of a bigger profit later. Gold investment is all about timing.

121 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:15 AM