Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

xproc
post Aug 9 2011, 01:34 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

just openned public GIA yesterday, today found out UOB have smaller spread, should i switch to it?
xproc
post Aug 9 2011, 01:51 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(DeaDLocK @ Aug 9 2011, 01:37 PM)
Up to you. Sometimes convenience factors (branch near you, less queues, easy parking) overcome minor differences in spread. And if you are buying a lot, around 300g and above, you can nego the rate.
convenient is a factor coz i already had a public bank account as its my payroll account, last year when 4300/oz i said too expensive, wait and see la, wait till now 5300/oz.. i dont want to wait d then go open it, its convenient for me coz got online transaction, does UOB got online transaction, if got then is ok for me too coz i seldom go to the bank?

and i wont buy 300g 1 shot la, i just will buy 20g every 2 to 3 months.

at first my friend told me to buy physical gold; after thinking then i still thinking GIA better lor, but they say holding the gold in habd is more secure and the feeling more syok... what you view in this
xproc
post Aug 9 2011, 02:19 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Aug 9 2011, 01:45 PM)
one day it will be revised with a difference of more than RM2/gram  biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 1:46 pm
if U stay near UOB branch then switch lah, no need to think already.
uob not far just 5 min drive, but public bank just 1 minute drive...

uob can online buy/sell? coz i just starting can switch if wan... just more procedures and need take leave to do it...

Added on August 9, 2011, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(OneBuck @ Aug 9 2011, 02:10 PM)
My friend, if you got physical (coin or bar), the shiny reflection will go deep into your heart.......
Don't believe me? Buy some at GoldChan and try it by yourself.
ya, tot of buy at poh kong or uob, but dont know where i put

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 9 2011, 02:21 PM
xproc
post Aug 9 2011, 04:17 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Aug 9 2011, 03:08 PM)
I would go for OUB due to 3 reason.
(1) Cheaper  - Poh Kong sell at RM190/gm for 999 on last Sunday
(2) Lower spread - UOB less than 4%. Poh Kong is 11%
(3) International gold coin - UOB = Australian & Canada while Poh Kong issuing Bunga Raya

However, Poh Kong have 1 major advantage. 12 mths free interest instalment plan. Should worth 6%.
erm, next time i will buy some gold coin or bar, which is better in terms of investment, kinebar / pamp gold /gold maple /nuggets? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
xproc
post Aug 10 2011, 06:04 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Aug 10 2011, 08:29 AM)
hidden charges? just that opening account requires 20GM, higher than PBB / MBB.

also, the product is still new for UOB msia , not 1yr yet if not mistaken.
PBB also 20 g... same starting, just UOB not let you withdrawn in form of physical gold (its up to thier decision)

UOB GIA from year 2010 if i not forget.

Added on August 10, 2011, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 10 2011, 04:20 PM)
Of course you need to do your own research. I didnt mean dont analise. Just look at some of the comments here. These are not ppl who are analysing. These are doubters. These are ppl who are waiting for all the indicators to look perfectly good before moving into it. Yes i too analysed but i surely didnt spend a few years doing that. Sometimes we wait too long for the perfect chance and when it comes, we end up waiting for something even better.

Many of those who said that buying at 131.55 at that point in time was a mistake are also those who are saying that 172.34 today is also too high. Believe me, they will also say the same thing when the price hits RM 180 and above. In the end, they just wont buy but they will continue 'analysing' repeatedly.

Ppl must realise that gold investment is highly volotile. There is no such thing as a perfect time. You may get a better time than others but there's a certain element of luck involved. When i bought mine in May last year, the following week it dropped to below RM 130 so yes that was a better time but the only thing that means is less income compared to those who bought at the later price. But what 'irritates' me are ppl who continue to doubt and dont bother investing and then as the price goes up they keep saying its too high.  vmad.gif
agree, i keeep looking at rm 130 i think its high and i told myself i should wait,

wait until now i opened at public bank GIA this monday at 170. its not worth waiting at all

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 10 2011, 06:13 PM
xproc
post Aug 10 2011, 06:58 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Aug 10 2011, 06:24 PM)
I do got price at 148 and 152 for GIA Maybank. When i want to increase my savings last week.. the price already shoot up to RM172.

p/s : I have already grab the opportunities, how about you... don't just ask...ask...ask... blush.gif But no action???
i brought at 170...
xproc
post Aug 11 2011, 01:44 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Aug 11 2011, 01:42 PM)
go to jewellery shop and buys lots and wear them on your body
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
xproc
post Aug 14 2011, 07:34 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

only PBB have online transaction?

xproc
post Aug 14 2011, 07:58 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

great, thats makes me stick to it... even UOB have smaller spread... i lazy go bank everytime

offtopic.... PBB got online stock trading?

Added on August 14, 2011, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(trencher10 @ Aug 14 2011, 07:56 PM)
Actually I didn't understand what PBB meant by discounted gold purchases and sales. They talking bout their physical gold charges right, not their pasbok gold spot rates?
ya... does that mean the discount gold puchase and sales rate means the rate shown at website abit differ than actuall deal price?

This post has been edited by xproc: Aug 14 2011, 07:59 PM
xproc
post Aug 16 2011, 05:11 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(AhToi @ Aug 16 2011, 04:29 PM)
jus open today at UOB 20g smile.gif
congrats
xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 11:54 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

update from public bank

Gold Investment Account as at 19/08/11 11:15 AM

Selling Price Buying Price
1 gram RM 180.4700 RM 173.4100

i brought 20g last week at RM170.20
xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 11:56 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Aug 19 2011, 11:53 AM)
so once i open the account, need min 20g. I heard public allow open the account 1st without buying the gold
no... they even lazy to bother you... before i go press money at atm the counter told me is 169.7 per gram... after i pressed money (in about 2-3 minutes), its 170.20.... mad.gif mad.gif

no locking price until the money the pressed on their screen and you pay

xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 12:20 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(nick.woocs @ Aug 19 2011, 12:01 PM)
public bank gold raise from 170.2 to 180.4 in 1 week..but u need 2 c the buying price. even if the gain is rm10, but u only earn rm3.2 due to spread..but still congrats!! good earning nontheless!
if i sell... i earn that 3.2.... but why sell it?

i planned buy 20g in 2-3 months, even at that time the price is rm 190, 200, or 210 whatsoever...
xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 12:39 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Aug 19 2011, 12:28 PM)
Bought a few mini lots of Gold/USD 2 days ago, just closed my position for a good profit. Waiting for a nice retrace before longing again.
mind share brought at where?

xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 01:51 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Aug 19 2011, 12:45 PM)
I have a forex account with IBFX Australia and they just recently added Gold/USD and Silver/USD to the pairs we can trade. Gold/USD is now at 1840 and is probably seeing 2000 very soon. Waiting for probably bad US news or a good retracement before longing again.
is ibfx australia good? minimum deposit how much... withdrawal easy or not? .... i tested instaforex but many things duno when goes to others currency, but xauusd xagusd i guess is ok for me
xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 02:43 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Aug 19 2011, 02:37 PM)
Yeah I do trade Forex primarily. So, I'm considered fairly new to XAUUSD. IBFX Australia is good so far, but they are definitely a nono for news trading as they do slip you a lot, even off their servers during news. But apart from this, everything is good. I forgot their minimum deposit, go check their website.

They are also quite efficient, wiring them money takes less than a day to fund your account but I have yet to withdraw my profits as I just started using IBFX in March. My previous broker is FXOpen. =)
is it wise to open account to buy/sell xauusd? i not yet have time to explore other currency , nor knowing to read charts whatsoever. if you are free , mind explaining what is news trading. i been trolling forex section sometime but not much people/info there...
xproc
post Aug 19 2011, 04:12 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Aug 19 2011, 02:58 PM)
You should head over to http://www.forexfactory.com/ and check out the forums there. I learnt most of my stuff from www.babypips.com when I started 2 years+ ago!

I think it is ok to open an account just to trade gold. Why not? As it is much more convenient and everything is at your fingertips. You can then start exploring into Forex as well. 

News trading is basically trading the spike of a currency pair the moment a news for that country comes out. Risky, but very profitable if done properly.
ok thanks for your info.... if i start i wont go to forex.... maybe will buy gold

what if you have that pair currency and they shut the server down when the news come out....
xproc
post Aug 21 2011, 12:45 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

do plan to buy and sell to earn profit in short term, the best for me is buy it and forget it..... buy when you have spare cash... as long as our currency keep down, economy keep low, i dont see any worry there

xproc
post Aug 22 2011, 09:34 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Aug 22 2011, 09:10 AM)
anyone bought 1g/5g/10g gold wafer/bar e.g. pamp, perth mint, bunga raya, etc, recently? bought other than gold shops?
personally imo 1 2 5 10 not worth buying if we look at the price and the spread..... i think physical gold better buy at least 20g and up...

anyone agree?
xproc
post Aug 22 2011, 10:38 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(ppguy2006 @ Aug 22 2011, 10:36 AM)
Is it too late to buy now? either from maybank or Public bank?
wait next month you regret what you say today...

never late to buy... if you have spare cash and looking for long term investment

0.0806sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:00 PM